Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

InsuranceHealth insuranceGlossaryBasic health insurance benefits
Glossary

Basic insurance – benefits under mandatory health insurance (KVG/LAMal)

Out-of-pocket expenses under basic health insurance

The annual maximum out-of-pocket amount consists of a fixed annual amount – the so-called deductible (or “franchise”) – and the coinsurance. Up to the amount of the selected deductible, policyholders have to pay the cost of medical services out of their own pocket. After that, they must pay 10% of the costs exceeding this deductible themselves (coinsurance) up to a maximum of 700 francs per year (350 francs per year for children). Maternity-related benefits are not subject to the deductible and coinsurance.

Basic insurance benefits

The cover provided under basic insurance is specified in the Health Insurance Act (KVG/LAMal) and is therefore the same from all health insurers.

Overview of benefits

The complete texts can be found in the Health Insurance Act (KVG/LAMal), in the Health Insurance Ordinance (KVV/OAMal) and in the Health Insurance Benefits Ordinance (KLV/OPAS) (not available in English).

1. General benefits

  • 1.1 Hospital stay in a general ward of a recognized hospital in the canton of residence
    Exception: Should policyholders be compelled for medical reasons to undergo treatment not performed in their canton of residence (complex operations such as organ transplants, etc.) or if they need to undergo emergency treatment outside their canton of residence, the resulting costs will also be covered by the canton of residence. Policyholders must contribute CHF 15 per day to the costs of staying in hospital.

    Tip: For more privacy in a 1-bed or 2-bed room, the right to choose your doctor freely or for a general ward cover throughout Switzerland, you can apply for the relevant supplemental insurance.

  • 1.2 Outpatient hospital treatment
    This includes semi-inpatient eye clinics and psychiatric day clinics. In these cases, patients stay in the clinic for a few hours after treatment, but not overnight.

  • 1.3 Examinations, treatment and nursing care performed on an outpatient basis, at the patient's home, in hospitals or nursing homes by:

    - physicians

    - chiropractors (without medical prescription)

    Patients are generally allowed to consult the doctor and/or chiropractor of their choice for outpatient treatment, unless they are insured according to the Telmed, family doctor or HMO model. Nowadays, over 60% of policyholders are insured according to a model that restricts the choice of service provider and must first either call a hotline (Telmed model), consult a general practitioner (family doctor model) or visit a group practice (HMO model). This enables them to enjoy a premium reduction while maintaining the same standard of medical treatment. There are also models that specify the pharmacy as the first point of contact in the event of health problems or restrict the purchase of medication to certain pharmacies only.

    Services prescribed by a doctor in the following areas of healthcare:

    – Physiotherapy (with a doctor's prescription)
    Costs minus out-of-pocket expenses are covered as long as the treatment is performed by a licensed therapist. Health insurance covers nine sessions per prescription; the first treatment must occur within five weeks of the date of issue of the medical prescription. For the reimbursement of further sessions, a new medical prescription is required. If the treatment is not completed after 36 sessions and reimbursement of further treatment is required, the treating physician must send a report to the insurance company's medical adviser.

    – Occupational therapy (with a doctor's prescription)
    Costs minus out-of-pocket expenses are covered as long as the treatment is performed by a licensed therapist. A maximum of nine sessions per prescription; the first treatment must occur within eight weeks of the date the prescription was issued. For reimbursement of further sessions, a medical prescription is required. If the treatment is not completed after 36 sessions and reimbursement of further treatment is required, the treating physician must send a report to the insurance company's medical adviser. 

    – Nursing care
    On an outpatient basis or in a nursing home. Costs covered only with a medical prescription or doctor’s referral and if provided by healthcare professionals, nursing homes or nursing care and home help organizations. More information can be found in the Health Insurance Benefits Ordinance (Art. 7).

    – Nutrition counselling (with a doctor's prescription)
    Cover includes up to six consultations as prescribed or referred by a doctor. Should further consultations be necessary, the doctor can renew the prescription. After 12 consultations, the treating doctor must consult one of the insurance company's medical advisers and suggest how the patient's treatment should continue. Health insurance covers nutrition counselling only in case of certain medical conditions and allergies.

    – Diabetes counselling (with a doctor's prescription)
    Cover includes up to ten consultations, prescribed by a doctor. Should further consultations be necessary, the doctor can renew the prescription. The amount reimbursed by the insurer varies according to the valid tariffs for your place of residence or work.

    – Speech therapy (with a doctor's prescription)
    Cover includes up to 12 consultations per prescription, which must be completed within a period of three months. For reimbursement of further sessions, a medical prescription is required. After 60 one-hour consultations within a period of one year, the treating doctor must consult one of the insurance company's medical advisers and suggest how the patient's treatment should continue.

    – Psychiatric therapy
    Health insurance only covers the cost of psychiatric therapy if there is scientific evidence for the efficacy of the methods applied. At most, 40 evaluation and therapy sessions are covered. If psychiatric therapy requires more than 40 sessions, the treating doctor must make a well-founded suggestion to the medical adviser of the health insurance company about how the therapy should continue.

    Tip: You will need supplemental insurance for outpatient treatment if treated by psychotherapists without a medical degree, unless they treat you in a practice of a specialist doctor trained in psychotherapy under medical supervision (psychotherapy delegated by a physician).

  • 1.4 Cover abroad
    Outside Switzerland, only emergency treatment is covered. Basic health insurance will only pay up to twice the amount the same treatment would cost in Switzerland. Basic cover is sufficient for travel within Europe, but for certain overseas areas – notably the USA, Canada, Australia and Japan – it is highly recommended to buy additional insurance. Usually, basic health insurance will not cover transportation costs back to Switzerland (repatriation). It only covers 50% of the total cost of emergency transportation to the nearest hospital abroad (no more than 500 francs per year). Bear in mind that if you undergo medical treatment in any EU or EFTA states, you cannot take advantage of the fact that your deductible has already been met by services performed in Switzerland, should that be the case.

    Tip: If necessary, buy adequate supplemental insurance or separate holiday and travel insurance.

  • 1.5 Transport and rescue missions
    Basic health insurance pays for 50% of the cost of medically necessary rescue missions (up to CHF 5,000 per year). For transportation in non-life threatening situations, 50% of costs, but no more than CHF 500 per year will be paid. However, transportation costs due to hospital transfers are fully covered by basic health insurance.

  • 1.6 Spa therapies
    Contribution of up to CHF 10 per day towards the cost of balneotherapy in a health resort or spa for up to 21 days per calendar year if prescribed by a doctor. The cost of medical examinations, medication and recognized forms of therapy are covered by basic health insurance minus the policyholder's out-of-pocket amount.

  • 1.7 Nursing services
    Contribution towards treatment costs in a recognized nursing home. Cover of fees for nursing care at home (Spitex) and in nursing homes by basic health insurance varies from canton to canton. Doctors may generally prescribe up to 60 hours of home care (Spitex) per quarter, but this must be approved by the insurer. The scope of the required benefits influences the amount the patient must pay out of pocket for care in a nursing home. However, the patient must the pay the cost of room and board in full.

  • 1.8 Medical rehabilitation treatment performed or prescribed by a doctor

  • 1.9 Alternative medicine
    Since August 2017, five treatment methods (anthroposophic medicine, homeopathy, neural therapy, phytotherapy and traditional Chinese medicine) may be reimbursed under certain conditions. Based on the Federal Council's decision of 16 June 2017, basic compulsory healthcare insurance will continue to reimburse these types of complementary medicine indefinitely. Services will be covered if performed by doctors having obtained a qualification in the listed therapies.

2. Analyses and medicines

Cover is based on the list of analyses, the list of medicines and the specialities list (in German, French and Italian only). The list of analyses and medicines can be found in the Health Insurance Benefits Ordinance (KLV/OPAS, Art. 28, Appendix 3 and Art. 29, Appendix 4). Orders may be placed at: EDMZ, 3003 Bern.

3. Medical aids and devices

Medical aids and devices necessary to perform examinations or treatment covered by mandatory basic insurance are listed in the Health Insurance Benefits Ordinance (KLV/OPAS, Art. 20, Appendix 2). Orders may be placed at: EDMZ, 3003 Bern.

4. Birth defects

Costs arising due to birth defects not covered by disability insurance are covered by basic health insurance. A list of birth defects can be found in the Health Insurance Benefits Ordinance (in German, French and Italian only).

5. Additional benefits in case of maternity

Examinations performed by doctors or midwives and examinations prescribed by doctors during and after pregnancy. Mandatory basic health insurance covers the cost of 7 routine examinations (2 of which may be ultrasound scans, between the 11th and 14th as well as between the 20th and 23rd week of pregnancy, more in case of a high-risk pregnancy) and a post-natal examination (6 to 10 weeks after giving birth).

Non-invasive prenatal test (NIPT): Screening for trisomies 21, 18 and 13 for single pregnancies only and from the 12th week of pregnancy.

Childbirth either at home, in a general hospital ward in the canton of residence or in a semi-inpatient situation, including preparation and aid provided by doctors or midwives as well as up to three breastfeeding consultation sessions.

Prenatal care: Insurers will contribute 150 francs towards antenatal classes led by a midwife on a one-to-one basis or in a group, or towards a consultation with a midwife covering the birth, the planning and organization of postnatal care at home and breastfeeding advice.

Note: Maternity benefits are subject to neither the deductible nor the coinsurance. On 1 March 2014, a legal amendment initiated by the Federal Council took effect. It stipulates that women who fall ill during or after pregnancy (e.g. in case of complications) are no longer liable to any out-of-pocket payments starting from the 13th week of pregnancy until 8 weeks after birth. This includes, for example, hospitalization to avoid premature birth, treatment of gestational diabetes and infections or psychotherapy due to post-natal depression.

Tip: Women who wish to be able to choose their gynaecologist freely for giving birth either at the hospital or at home will need private or semi-private supplemental insurance, which must be purchased in good time.

6. Legal abortion

Legal abortion (Art. 120 of the Swiss Criminal Code) is covered by mandatory basic health insurance.

7. Dental treatment

Compulsory basic insurance only covers the treatment of serious, unavoidable diseases of the masticatory system and dental treatment arising in the context of a serious general medical condition (list – in German, French and Italian only) and its consequences. It also bears the cost of dental treatment after an accident if the claim is not covered by any other insurance. The cost of dental fillings, removal of wisdom teeth, amalgam replacement and corrective dentistry is not covered by basic health insurance.

Tip: Braces for straightening children's teeth can be insured by purchasing the appropriate supplemental cover. However, it must be purchased early enough.

8. Medical prevention

Basic health insurance covers the cost of certain examinations for early detection of diseases as well as the cost of preventative measures for policyholders who are at a higher risk of certain diseases. These examinations or preventive measures must be performed or prescribed by a doctor. They include:

  • Up to 8 examinations of state of health and normal development for children at pre-school age
  • Screening for phenylketonuria, galactosaemia, biotinidase deficiency, adrenogenital syndrome, hypothyreosis and vitamin K prophylaxis
  • HIV tests for infants of HIV-positive women
  • HIV tests for persons at a higher risk of contracting HIV
  • Gynaecological examinations (two annual examinations, after that one examination every 3 years)
  • Colonoscopy if there is a history of colon cancer in the family
  • Various protective and preventative vaccinations, e.g. against diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis, poliomyelitis, measles, mumps and rubella for children and adolescents up to 16 years of age
  • Booster vaccination: Diphtheria and tetanus for adults (every 10 years)
  • Tetanus booster shot following injury
  • Haemophilus influenzae vaccination for children up to 5 years of age
  • Flu vaccination for persons above the age of 65 or suffering from a severe disease
  • Pneumococcal vaccination for babies and children between the ages of 2 months and 5 years and according to the 2016 vaccine schedule
  • Hepatitis B vaccination generally for all age groups, for infants of positive mothers and persons at higher risk of contracting the disease. The main focus is on vaccination programmes for 11-to-15-year-olds
  • Skin examinations if a family member has had melanoma
  • Mammogram if a family member has had breast cancer
  • Preventative mammograms for women over 50 (every 2 years; yearly for women whose mother, daughter or sister has had breast cancer)
  • Additional vitamin D for rachitis prevention during the first year of life
  • Sonographic hip screening according to Graf for newborns (up to the age of 6 weeks)

9. Glasses and contact lenses

Mandatory basic health insurance contributes to the cost of glasses for children. For adults, part of the cost is covered only in the presence of certain medical conditions or following eye surgery.

Many types of supplemental insurance for outpatient treatment cover corrective eyewear.

Whether basic or supplemental insurance...

...find the health insurer that's best for you
Compare now

Assurance maladie

Catalogue des prestations de l'assurance maladie de base obligatoire (LAMal)


Participation aux coûts dans l'assurance de base

La participation aux coûts se compose d'un montant annuel fixe appelé franchise et d'une contribution dite « quote-part ». Les assurés paient eux-mêmes le coût des prestations médicales perçues jusqu'à ce que la limite de la franchise choisie soit atteinte. Dès lors, ils assument en général 10 % des coûts excédant la franchise, c’est ce que l’on appelle la quote-part, mais au maximum 700 CHF par an (350 CHF par an pour les enfants). Cette règle ne concerne toutefois pas les prestations liées à une maternité.

Prestations couvertes par l'assurance de base

Les prestations de l'assurance de base étant clairement définies par la loi sur l'assurance maladie (LAMal), elles sont les mêmes chez toutes les caisses maladie.

Aperçu des prestations

Les textes peuvent être consultés en intégralité dans la loi sur l'assurance maladie (LAMal), l'ordonnance sur l'assurance maladie (OAMal) et l'ordonnance sur les prestations de l'assurance des soins (OPAS).

1. Prestations générales

  • 1.1 Hospitalisation en division commune dans un hôpital reconnu du canton de domicile
    Exception : si l'assuré nécessite, pour des raisons médicales avérées, des prestations qui ne peuvent être fournies dans son canton (opérations complexes comme des transplantations d'organes, par exemple) ou des soins en urgence en dehors de son canton de domicile, ces prestations seront aussi remboursées par le canton de domicile. Les assurés participent à hauteur de 15 CHF par jour aux frais de séjour en hôpital.

    Conseil : il existe des complémentaires pour plus d'intimité dans une chambre individuelle ou à deux lits, le libre choix du médecin ou l'extension de la couverture division commune à la Suisse entière.

  • 1.2 Traitements hospitaliers ambulatoires
    Les cliniques de jour ophtalmologiques ou psychiatriques font par exemple partie de cette catégorie. Après leurs soins, les patients restent encore quelques heures dans l'établissement mais n'y passent pas la nuit.

  • 1.3 Examens, traitements et soins ambulatoires dispensés à domicile, à l'hôpital ou dans un établissement médico-social par des...

    - médecins

    - chiropracteurs (sans prescription médicale)

    Pour un traitement ambulatoire, il est en principe possible de choisir son médecin ou son chiropracteur sauf pour les assurés ayant opté pour un modèle Telmed, médecin de famille ou HMO. Aujourd’hui, plus de 60 % des assurés disposent d’un modèle limitant le choix du prestataire, les obligeant préalablement à la consultation à appeler (modèle Telemed), à se rendre chez leur médecin de famille (modèle du médecin de famille) ou dans un cabinet groupé (modèle HMO). Cela leur permet de bénéficier d’une réduction de prime sans toutefois être contraints d'avoir recours à une médecine de moins bonne qualité. Il existe également des modèles dans lesquels la pharmacie représente le premier interlocuteur en cas de maladie ou qui limitent l’achat de médicaments à certaines pharmacies.

  • Prestations fournies sur prescription ou sur mandat d'un médecin dans les domaines suivants :

    - Physiothérapie (sur prescription médicale)
    Remboursement après déduction de la quote-part dès lors que le traitement est pratiqué par un thérapeute agréé. Sur prescription, la caisse maladie rembourse jusqu'à neuf séances, dont la première doit être effectuée dans les cinq semaines suivant l'avis médical. Pour la prise en charge de séances supplémentaires, une nouvelle prescription médicale est nécessaire. Lorsque le traitement s'étend au-delà de 36 séances tout en restant à la charge de l'assurance maladie, le médecin traitant doit faire parvenir un rapport au médecin-conseil de la caisse maladie.

    - Ergothérapie (sur prescription médicale)
    Remboursement après déduction de la quote-part si le traitement est pratiqué par un thérapeute agréé. Jusqu'à neuf séances par prescription, dont la première doit être effectuée dans les huit semaines suivant l'avis médical. Pour la prise en charge de séances supplémentaires, une nouvelle prescription médicale est nécessaire. Lorsque le traitement s'étend au-delà de 36 séances tout en restant à la charge de l'assurance maladie, le médecin traitant doit faire parvenir un rapport au médecin-conseil de la caisse maladie. 

    - Soins infirmiers
    En ambulatoire ou dans un établissement médico-social. Remboursement uniquement sur prescription médicale ou sur avis médical pour des prestations fournies par des soignants, établissements médicaux-sociaux ou organismes de soins et d'aide à domicile. Vous trouverez plus d'informations à ce sujet dans le texte de loi (OPAS, art. 7).

    - Consultations diététiques (sur prescription médicale)
    Remboursement de 6 séances sur prescription médicale ou avis médical. L'ordonnance peut être renouvelée en cas de besoin. Au-delà de 12 séances, le médecin traitant doit faire parvenir un rapport à un médecin-conseil de l'assureur maladie en lui soumettant une proposition quant à la poursuite du traitement. Les assurances maladie ne prennent en charge les consultations diététiques que pour des maladies ou allergies spécifiques.

    - Consultations pour les diabétiques (sur prescription médicale)
    Remboursement de 10 séances sur prescription médicale ou avis médical. L'ordonnance peut être renouvelée en cas de besoin. Le remboursement des frais par la caisse maladie dépend du tarif valable pour le domicile ou le lieu de travail.

    - Logopédie (sur prescription médicale)
    Remboursement de 12 séances par prescription devant être effectuées dans une limite de trois mois. Pour la prise en charge de séances supplémentaires, une nouvelle prescription médicale est nécessaire. Au-delà de 60 séances d'une durée d'une heure au cours d'une année, le médecin traitant doit faire parvenir un rapport à un médecin-conseil de l'assureur maladie en lui soumettant une proposition quant à la poursuite du traitement.

    - Psychothérapie médicale
    L'assurance ne rembourse que les coûts de psychologie médicale suivant des méthodes dont l'efficacité est attestée scientifiquement. La prise en charge n’excédera pas 40 séances diagnostiques et thérapeutiques. Lorsqu'une psychothérapie nécessite plus de 40 séances, le médecin traitant doit adresser au médecin-conseil de l'assurance maladie une proposition dûment motivée quant à la poursuite de la thérapie.

    Conseil : pour les traitements effectués par un psychothérapeute non médecin, une assurance complémentaire ambulatoire est nécessaire, à moins que celui-ci n'effectue le traitement sous contrôle médical dans le cabinet d’un médecin formé à la psychothérapie (psychothérapie médicale déléguée).

  • 1.4 À l'étranger
    Les prestations à l’étranger ne sont remboursées que s'il s'agit d'une urgence. Pour les soins reçus à l'étranger, l'assurance de base rembourse au maximum le double du coût du même traitement en Suisse. Si ces prestations sont suffisantes pour l'Europe, la souscription d'une couverture supplémentaire est absolument nécessaire pour les États-Unis, le Canada, l'Australie et le Japon, notamment. L'assurance de base ne couvre généralement pas les frais de transport pour le retour (rapatriement) en Suisse et ne couvre que 50 % des frais de sauvetage et de transport à l'étranger vers l'hôpital le plus proche (max. 500 CHF par an). Un patient qui a recours à des prestations médicales fournies dans les États de l’UE ou de l’AELE doit dans tous les cas en supporter les frais – qu’il ait entièrement épuisé sa franchise et la quote-part ou non.

    Conseil : au besoin, souscrire une assurance complémentaire appropriée ou une assurance voyage séparée.

  •  1.5 Transports et opérations de sauvetage
    L'assurance de base obligatoire paie 50 % des frais de sauvetage médicalement nécessaire ; max. 5000 CHF par an. 50 % également mais max. 500 CHF/an pour les frais de transport si la vie de l'assuré n'est pas en danger immédiat. Les transferts entre hôpitaux sont toutefois couverts par l'assurance de base.

  • 1.6 Cures balnéaires
    Contribution aux frais des cures prescrites par un médecin à hauteur de 10 CHF par jour pendant max. 21 jours par an. Les frais de médecin, de médicaments et les thérapies reconnues sont remboursés après déduction de la quote-part.

  • 1.7 Soins
    Contribution aux coûts des soins dans un établissement médico-social (EMS) reconnu. Selon les cantons, l'assurance de base englobe différentes prestations pour les soins à domicile (Spitex) ou en EMS. Le médecin peut en principe prescrire jusqu'à 60 heures de Spitex par trimestre ; il doit toutefois demander l'autorisation de la caisse maladie. La participation aux frais d'EMS dépend du volume de prestations nécessaires. Le séjour et les repas sont à la charge du patient.

  • 1.8 Rééducation médicale sur ordonnance ou effectuée par un médecin

  • 1.9 Médecine alternative
    De 2012 à 2017, cinq médecines complémentaires, outre l'acuponcture, sont indemnisées sous certaines conditions : médecine anthroposophique, homéopathie, thérapie neurale, phytothérapie et médecine chinoise traditionnelle. Sont remboursées les prestations fournies par les médecins attestant d'une formation à ces méthodes thérapeutiques.

2. Analyses et médicaments

Selon liste des spécialités, des analyses et des médicaments. Les listes des analyses et médicaments se trouvent dans l'ordonnance sur les prestations dans l'assurance obligatoire des soins en cas de maladie (art. 28, annexe 3 et art. 29, annexe 4). Ces listes peuvent être commandées à l'adresse suivante : EDMZ, 3003 Berne.

3. Moyens et appareils

Les moyens et appareils servant aux examens ou aux traitements couverts par l'assurance de base obligatoire figurent dans l'ordonnance sur les prestations dans l'assurance obligatoire des soins en cas de maladie (art. 20, annexe 2). Ces listes peuvent être commandées à l'adresse suivante : EDMZ, 3003 Berne.  

4. Infirmités congénitales

Les infirmités congénitales non couvertes par l'assurance invalidité, sont couvertes par l'assurance de base obligatoire. Une liste des infirmités congénitales figure dans l'ordonnance sur les prestations dans l'assurance obligatoire des soins en cas de maladie.

5. Prestations supplémentaires en cas de maternité

Examens de contrôle prescrits et menés par un médecin ou une sage-femme pendant et après la grossesse. L'assurance de base obligatoire prend alors en charge les coûts de 7 examens de routine (dont 2 échographies, une entre la 11ère et la 14ème semaine de grossesse ainsi qu'une entre la 20 ème et la 23 ème semaine ; en cas de grossesse à risque, prise en charge d'examens supplémentaires) et de l'examen post-natal (entre la 6ème et la 10ème semaine).

Test prénatal non invasif (TPNI) : uniquement aux fins du diagnostic d’une trisomie 21, 18 ou 13 lors d’une grossesse unique. À partir de la 12e semaine de grossesse.

Accouchement à la maison, en division commune d'un hôpital du canton du domicile ou dans un environnement semi-hospitalier, y compris l'aide et la préparation à la naissance par le médecin ou la sage-femme et maximum trois séances de conseil en allaitement.

Préparation à l’accouchement : L'assurance prend en charge une contribution de 150 francs pour un cours collectif de préparation à l'accouchement donné par une sage-femme ou pour un entretien-conseil avec une sage-femme portant sur l'accouchement, sur la planification et l’organisation de la période post-natale au domicile et sur la préparation à l’allaitement.

Attention : aucune franchise ou quote-part n'est retenue pour des prestations liées à la maternité. Un amendement du texte de loi effectué à la demande du Conseil fédéral est entré en vigueur au 1er mars 2014. Le texte prévoit que les femmes malades (p. ex. avec des complications) entre la 13e semaine de grossesse et les 8 semaines suivant l'accouchement n'ont plus à payer de participation aux coûts. Cela recouvre par exemple l'hospitalisation destinée à prévenir une naissance prématurée, le traitement d'un diabète gestationnel et d'infections, ainsi que la prise en charge psychothérapique des dépressions post-natales.

Conseil : pour pouvoir choisir le gynécologue qui l'accouchera à l'hôpital ou à domicile, la future mère doit avoir souscrit suffisamment à temps une assurance complémentaire privée ou semi-privée.

6. Interruption de grossesse non punissable

En cas d'interruption de grossesse non punissable (art. 120 CP), les prestations sont prises en charge par l'assurance de base obligatoire.

7. Traitement dentaire

L'assurance de base obligatoire couvre uniquement les soins en cas de maladie grave et inéluctable du système de la mastication et dans le cadre d'une autre maladie grave généralisée (liste) ou des séquelles de celle-ci. Si aucune autre assurance n'entre en jeu, l'assurance de base prend également en charge le traitement des suites d'un accident. Les obturations dentaires (plombages), l'extraction de dents de sagesse ainsi que le traitement d'amalgames ou l'orthodontie ne sont pas remboursés.

Conseil : l'orthodontie des enfants peut être couverte par une assurance complémentaire correspondante. Elle doit toutefois être conclue assez tôt.

8. Prévention médicale

L'assurance de base obligatoire rembourse certains examens destinés à dépister de façon précoce les maladies ainsi que les mesures de prévention en faveur des assurés présentant un risque élevé. Les examens et les mesures de prévention doivent être effectués ou prescrits par un médecin. Il s'agit des prestations suivantes :
  • Contrôle de l'état de santé général et du bon développement de l'enfant d'âge préscolaire (max. 8 examens).
  • Dépistage de phénylcétonurie, galactosémie, déficit en biotinidase, syndrome adrénogénital, hypothyroïdie et prophylaxie à la vitamine K.
  • Test VIH pour les nouveaux nés de mère séropositive.
  • Test VIH pour les personnes exposées à un danger de contamination.
  • Examens gynécologiques (les deux premiers examens à un an d'intervalle, puis tous les 3 ans).
  • Coloscopie en cas de cancer du colon familial
  • Vaccinations diverses et immunisations, p. ex. contre la diphtérie, le tétanos, la coqueluche, la poliomyélite, la rougeole, les oreillons et la rubéole pour les enfants et les adolescents jusqu'à 16 ans.
  • Vaccin de rappel : contre la diphtérie et le tétanos pour les adultes (tous les 10 ans).
  • Vaccin de rappel contre le tétanos après une blessure.
  • Vaccination contre l'haemophilus influenzae pour les enfants de moins de 5 ans.
  • Vaccination contre la grippe pour les plus de 65 ans et pour les personnes souffrant d'une maladie grave.
  • Vaccin contre les pneumocoques pour les nouveaux-nés et les enfants à partir de 2 mois jusqu’à 5 ans, conformément au plan de vaccination 2016.
  • Vaccination contre l'hépatite B quel que soit l'âge. Pour les nourrissons de mère contaminée et les personnes exposées à un danger de contamination. La vaccination systématique concerne avant tout les 11-15 ans.
  • Examen de la peau en cas de risque élevé de mélanome familial.
  • Mammographie en cas de cancer du sein familial.
  • Mammographie de dépistage à partir de 50 ans (tous les deux ans ; chaque année pour les femmes, dont la mère, la fille ou la sœur souffre d'un cancer du sein).
  • Vitamine D contre le rachitisme pour les bébés pendant la première année de leur vie.
  • Échographie selon la méthode Graf pour les nouveaux nés (de 0 à 6 semaines).

9. Lunettes et lentilles de contact

L'assurance de base obligatoire couvre les corrections de la vue pour les enfants. Les adultes, en revanche, ne bénéficient que d'une couverture partielle et ce en présence de certaines maladies ou après une opération des yeux.

 

Cependant, de nombreuses assurances complémentaires indemnisent les traitements correctifs de la vue.