Health insurance

Newcomers (immigrating to Switzerland)


Useful information about basic health insurance

Once you have registered at the residents' registration office, you have 3 months to take out mandatory basic health insurance. If you apply for insurance within this period, you are covered as of the date you took up residence in Switzerland. Premiums for this time must also be paid retroactively within this period. If you miss the deadline, coverage will not start until after conclusion. Additionally, an extra charge will be levied for late registration.

Basic insurance benefits are consistent among all health insurance providers. With a few exceptions, dental treatment is not covered by basic insurance.

Savings opportunities:
  • If already insured for accidents by an employer, accident coverage can be withdrawn.
  • Besides standard basic insurance, some providers also offer savings models such as the Telmed, family doctor or HMO model. These models allow you to save up to 25% on premiums.
  • You can also save by raising your deductible.
  • Furthermore, in Switzerland individuals with a low income are entitled to a premium reduction.
  • The amount of premiums you will have to pay generally depends on your future place of residence. Please note that Switzerland uses the system of per-capita premiums. This means that the premium for a family of four is composed of two adult and two child premiums.
  • You can make a personal premium comparison for basic insurance here.
What you need to know about supplemental insurance

Unlike with basic insurance, benefits of supplemental insurance vary depending on the provider. There are two categories: supplemental outpatient insurance and supplemental hospital insurance. For supplemental health insurance, providers may set their premiums according to risk, i.e. depending on the holder's age and gender. They may also impose provisos.

Supplemental outpatient insurance may include additional coverage for alternative medicine, medication not covered by basic insurance and psychotherapy performed by therapists without medical training. Furthermore, there are supplementary insurance products covering:

  • measures to promote health such as memberships or passes for gyms, swimming pools, etc.
  • immunisation and travel vaccinations
  • balneotherapy and convalescent care
  • home nursing services and domestic help
  • glasses and contact lenses
  • medical accessories and devices
  • emergency transport and transfer transport as well as rescue and salvage costs
  • cost of dental treatment, corrective dentistry and maxillofacial surgery
  • treatment abroad (also temporary during holidays)

All of these benefits are usually limited to a certain maximum amount per calendar year.

Hospital insurance covers inpatient treatment:

The supplemental insurance for general ward throughout Switzerland covers any extra costs incurred during a stay at a hospital outside the canton of residence. On 1 January 2012, a new hospital financing regime was introduced. Since then, basic insurance and the canton of residence have fully covered hospital treatment in another canton if the hospital in question is on a hospital list and the costs (per-case flat rate) are no higher than they would have been in the canton of residence. If the per-case rate exceeds the corresponding rate in the canton of residence, it has to be paid by the patient or his/her supplemental insurance. This supplement may still be worthwhile for inhabitants of cantons with low hospital costs who wish to be treated in another canton. As before, basic insurance still covers all treatment that is not available in the canton of residence (transplants, for instance) as well as emergency treatment.

Supplemental insurance for semi-private care throughout Switzerland covers the policyholder for a two-bed room. In public hospitals, it is usually the senior physician who is responsible for the treatment of semi-privately insured policyholders.

Supplemental insurance for private care throughout Switzerland covers the policyholder for a one-bed room. In public hospitals, it is usually the chief physician who is responsible for the treatment of privately insured policyholders.

Flex models: alternatives to hospital insurance. Holders choose a ward upon admission. This supplemental health insurance covers all treatment in the general ward throughout Switzerland; if private or semi-private treatment is desired, patients have to pay a previously specified amount or percentage out of pocket.

Hotel models offer the comfort of a one- or two-bed room without free choice of doctor.

Some insurance models limit the choice of hospitals to a list defined by the insurance company, which leads to lower premiums.

Comparis
Newsletter
fr

Assurances

Auto & moto

Immobilier

Crédit & hypothèques

Comparateur de prix

Santé & prévoyance

Autres services

Comparis

Menu

AssurancesAssurance maladieGlossaire

Arrivants se domiciliant en Suisse

L'assurance de base en bref

Vous devez vous affilier à l'assurance maladie de base obligatoire dans les trois mois qui suivent votre inscription au service du contrôle des habitants. En vous affiliant dans ce délai, vous serez rétroactivement assuré à partir de la date à laquelle vous avez élu domicile en Suisse. Les primes devront également être versées rétroactivement. Si vous dépassez ce délai, vous ne serez assuré qu'à partir de la date d'affiliation. Vous devrez en outre verser un supplément pour affiliation tardive.

Les prestations de l'assurance de base sont les mêmes quelle que soit la caisse. Les soins dentaires ne sont pas couverts par l'assurance de base, sauf quelques exceptions.

Possibilités d'économie
  • Les personnes déjà assurées contre les accidents par leur employeur, peuvent renoncer à souscrire une couverture accident à titre personnel.
  • Les caisses proposent, outre le modèle standard d'assurance de base, d'autres modèles plus économiques tels que les modèles Telmed, médecin de famille ou HMO. Ces formules permettent d'économiser jusqu'à 25 % sur les primes.
  • D'autres économies sont possibles en augmentant la franchise.
  • En Suisse par ailleurs, les personnes avec un faible revenu peuvent demander une réduction des primes.
  • Les primes dépendent du futur lieu de résidence. Notez que le système en vigueur en Suisse est un système de primes individuelles. La prime d'une famille de 4 personnes comprendra ainsi deux primes pour adultes et deux pour enfants.
  • Faites le calcul avec le comparateur de primes de l'assurance de base.

Assurances complémentaires

Contrairement à l'assurance de base, les prestations proposées par les assurances complémentaires varient d'une caisse maladie à une autre. On distingue les complémentaires ambulatoires et hospitalières. Pour les assurances complémentaires, les caisses maladie peuvent fixer les primes en fonction du risque encouru, c'est à dire en fonction de l'âge et du sexe de l'assuré. Les caisses peuvent en outre émettre des réserves.

Les complémentaires ambulatoires incluent par exemple la médecine alternative, les médicaments non remboursés par l'assurance de base ou les psychothérapies fournies par des thérapeutes non médecins. Il existe une multitude de complémentaires couvrant tout type de frais :

  • Mesures de prévention tels qu'un abonnement à une salle de sport ou une piscine
  • Vaccinations préventives ou précédant un voyage
  • Cures balnéaires et de convalescence
  • Aides ménagères et soins à domicile
  • Lunettes et lentilles de contact
  • Moyens auxiliaires
  • Transports d'urgence et de transfert ainsi que frais de sauvetage et de rapatriement
  • Soins dentaires, frais d'orthodontie et prestations de chirurgie maxillo-faciale
  • Prise en charge à l'étranger (aussi temporairement lors d'un séjour en vacance)

Ces prestations sont généralement plafonnées à un certain montant par année.

Les assurances hospitalières prennent en charge les prestations stationnaires :

La complémentaire division commune Suisse entière couvre tous les frais supplémentaires lors d'une hospitalisation en dehors du canton de résidence. Depuis l'entrée en vigueur du nouveau financement des hôpitaux le 1er janvier 2012, les séjours hospitaliers en dehors du canton sont entièrement pris en charge par l'assurance de base et le canton de résidence dès lors que l'établissement en question figure sur la liste des hôpitaux et que les coûts (forfaits par cas) ne dépassent pas ceux du canton de résidence. Si, au contraire, le forfait par cas appliqué est supérieur à celui du canton de résidence, la facture sera à la charge du patient ou de son assurance complémentaire. Cette option est surtout intéressante pour les personnes qui habitent un canton où les frais hospitaliers sont bas et qui souhaitent se faire soigner dans un autre canton. Comme précédemment, les traitements de l'assurance de base sont remboursés s'ils ne peuvent pas être fournis dans le canton de résidence (p. ex. les transplantations) ou s'ils sont effectués en urgence.

La complémentaire division semi-privée Suisse entière rembourse l'hospitalisation dans une chambre à deux lits. De plus, dans les hôpitaux publics, les soins sont généralement dispensés par le médecin-chef.

La complémentaire division privée Suisse entière rembourse l'hospitalisation dans une chambre individuelle. Dans les hôpitaux publics, les soins sont généralement dispensés par le médecin-chef de clinique.

Modèles Flex : le choix de la division n'a lieu qu'au moment de l'entrée à l'hôpital. L'assuré est entièrement remboursé en division commune Suisse entière et contribue aux frais à hauteur d'une part fixée par la caisse maladie s'il choisit la division semi-privée ou privée.

Modèles hôtellerie : le confort d'une chambre individuelle ou à deux lits sans libre choix du médecin.

Pour certains modèles, le choix de l'hôpital est limité à ceux figurant sur une liste établie par la caisse maladie, ce qui permet de bénéficier de primes plus intéressantes.

Assurance maladie de base ou complémentaire

Trouvez la caisse optimale
Comparez