All you need to know about insurance and provision for your child


A child's birth is one of the most beautiful moments in a parent's life. However, it may not be long before various questions arise regarding the protection of your child and your family. comparis.ch has summarised the key topics for you.

These are the following:

Health insurance

  • Basic health insurance

    With the birth of your child behind you, your family now has a new little member. You should apply for health insurance for your baby within three months of its birth. If you register it too late, there is a risk of the insurance benefits being cut. Health insurance basically covers all necessary medical expenses (minus the maximum out-of-pocket), e.g. many vaccinations and preventive check-ups. Since your child does not need to be insured with the same provider as you are, it is worth retrieving free quotes from other insurance companies on comparis.ch – it's easy! More...

  • Supplemental insurance

    Conventional or alternative medicine? Maybe you prefer trying a more gentle treatment approach with your child. In that case, you might want to consider taking out a supplemental insurance for alternative medicine as basic insurance only covers certain treatment methods. Dental insurance is also advisable. Not all children are blessed with a naturally healthy and straight set of teeth. Orthodontic treatment can easily cost way over 10,000 francs. We recommend taking out dental insurance shortly after birth. The latest possible moment to do this is before the child's first dental appointment.

Property insurance

  • Personal liability insurance

    For now, your baby is still very dependent on you – but soon it will start to discover the world on its own, using all its senses. It is perfectly normal that it will also break a few things in the process. To hedge your bets in case the damage caused by your offspring affects third parties, you can include your child in your personal liability insurance. Usually, it is enough to notify your insurance provider without having to pay an additional premium. More...

  • Contents insurance

    Home contents insurance covers damage to household items, furniture, clothes and sports gear caused by fire, water, theft or glass breakage. If you already hold a contents insurance policy, you might want to recalculate and, if necessary, adjust your sum insured. Otherwise, you risk being under-insured. More...

Life insurance

You may want to contemplate buying life insurance to make sure that your family does not encounter financial problems should the bread-winner become disabled or die. Even if only one parent is working, life insurance makes sense for both: if something happens to the parent taking care of the children, this usually entails higher expenses for child care and housekeeping. More...

Assurance et prévoyance pour votre enfant : ce qu'il faut savoir


La naissance d'un enfant fait partie des plus beaux moments de la vie. Néanmoins, dès les premiers jours, de nombreuses questions se posent en ce qui concerne la protection de votre enfant et de votre famille. comparis.ch vous indique, en quelques minutes, les principaux points à observer.

Points importants :

Caisse maladie

  • Assurance de base

    Passé l'accouchement, bébé fait maintenant partie de votre famille. Dans les trois mois après sa naissance, il doit être affilié auprès d'une caisse maladie. Passé ce délai, vous ne serez couverts qu'à partir de la date d'affiliation. De plus, sans raison valable pour votre retard, vous devrez payer un supplément sur la prime. La caisse maladie prend en charge pratiquement toutes les dépenses médicales nécessaires comme par exemple de nombreux vaccins ou des examens de contrôle, après déduction de la participation aux coûts. Et comme il n'est pas obligatoire que votre enfant et vous soyez assurés auprès de la même caisse, il est intéressant de comparer les assureurs en faisant des demandes d'offre, simplement et gratuitement, sur comparis.ch. Plus...

  • Assurance complémentaire

    Médecine conventionnelle ou alternative ? Il peut arriver que l'on préfère essayer une thérapie douce pour son enfant. Dans ce cas, il sera intéressant d'avoir une assurance complémentaire qui couvrira les prestations de médecine alternative, sachant que l'assurance de base ne prend que certains traitements en charge. Une assurance dentaire est également conseillée. Tous les enfants ne disposent pas naturellement d'une dentition parfaite et les frais d'orthodontie peuvent vite dépasser les 10 000 francs suisses, et de loin. Dans l'idéal, on conclura une assurance dentaire peu de temps après la naissance, au plus tard toutefois avant le premier rendez-vous chez le dentiste.

Assurances de choses

  • Assurance responsabilité civile privée

    Votre enfant n'est pas encore autonome, et pourtant il va bientôt partir à la découverte du monde de son propre chef et à sa manière. Et qu'il y ait parfois un peu de casse, fait partie du cours des choses. Si vous souhaitez prévenir de mauvaises surprises financières en cas de dommages causés à des tiers, pensez à assurer votre enfant dans votre assurance responsabilité civile privée. En règle générale, une annonce auprès de la compagnie d'assurance suffit, sans que cela n'entraîne une augmentation de la prime. Plus...

  • Assurance ménage

    L'assurance ménage couvre les dommages subis par les objets de la maison, le mobilier, les vêtements et le matériel de sport du fait d'un incendie, d'un dégât des eaux, d'un vol ou de bris de verre. Si votre foyer dispose déjà d'une assurance ménage, il vaut la peine de recalculer et, le cas échéant, d'ajuster la somme assurée pour éviter de vous retrouver sous-assuré. Plus...

  • Assurance vie

      Pour que la famille soit couverte en cas d'invalidité ou de décès de la personne subvenant à la plus grande partie des revenus du ménage, il est conseillé de conclure une assurance vie. Celle-ci s'avère utile pour les deux parents même lorsque seul l'un d'entre eux exerce une activité lucrative. Car s'il arrive quelque chose à un parent ayant les enfants à charge, il faudra compter avec des dépenses supplémentaires pour la garde des enfants et la gestion du ménage. Plus...