Glossary

Compare, cancel and switch health insurance


In Switzerland it is possible to change your health insurance after cancelling your previous policy. Different terms apply to the changing of basic insurance and supplemental insurance. You can cancel basic insurance every year by the end of November. Read on to find out how it's done.

Compare and change health insurance

  • Compare the premiums and benefits in our Health Insurance Comparison and find out how much money you can save every year.
  • Check if choosing a different deductible for your basic insurance policy would pay off for you and whether an alternative insurance model might be an option. Plenty of money can be saved by choosing the right deductible or an alternative insurance model.
  • Request one or several quotes from the health insurance providers of your choice. Retrieving quotes is easy and can be done directly online in our health insurance premium comparison.
  • Check the quotes received and apply with a new insurer using the enclosed application form. The health insurers are obliged to accept you for basic insurance without any restrictions. To be accepted for supplemental insurance, however, you need to apply for admission by submitting a health questionnaire. The health insurance providers are not obliged to admit you.

 

How to cancel health insurance

Cancelling basic insurance

How to cancel your basic insurance policy by 30th November 2018

  1. Compare health insurance providers, models and deductible levels using the Comparis Health Insurance Comparison.
  2. Request a free, no-obligation quote directly.
  3. Cancel your basic insurance policy by 30th November 2018 (date of receipt by the provider counts) using the cancellation form and sending the letter by registered mail.
  4. Take out a new basic insurance policy by 30th December 2018.
  5. Your basic insurance is switched on 1st January 2019.

Please note that your existing insurer must receive your notice of cancellation by 30th November. You can also give notice on your basic insurance before having received the confirmation of acceptance from your new provider. Your state of health doesn't matter for basic insurance – you may even change your insurance if you are already receiving medical treatment.

Changing insurance with effect from 1st January

The insurance companies must communicate their new premiums by 31st October. In that letter, they must also inform policyholders of their right to cancel. The existing policy may be cancelled until 30st November. Example: If you wish to cancel your basic insurance policy, your notice of cancellation must be received by your current insurer by 30th November at the latest. It doesn’t matter whether the premium is being raised or whether you hold a special form of insurance (healthcare network, HMO, family doctor model, medical helpline, optional deductible level, bonus insurance). What is important is that your health insurer communicates the new premium as approved by the Federal Office of Public Health by 31st October. Note: The cancellation letter must reach your insurer before the cancellation deadline is over. It is the date on which the insurer receives the letter that counts, and not the one on the postmark. The cancellation deadline is met if the notice is received by the insurer by the last day of the statutory period (31st March, 30th November) during regular office hours. Registered mail deposited in the P.O. box is considered as delivered in the moment in which it is picked up at the post office. Since delays cannot be ruled out, we recommend sending the cancellation letter by registered mail until mid-March or mid-November, respectively, so that you can prove that you have given notice in due time.

Changing insurance with effect from 1st July

Holders of a basic insurance policy with a regular deductible (adults 300 francs/children 0 francs per calendar year) and free choice of care providers may cancel their health insurance with effect from 30th June with three months’ notice. This means that your previous insurance provider must receive your notice of cancellation by 31st March. Cancelling insurance mid-year is not possible if you have a basic insurance policy with a higher deductible (adults 500 to 2,500 francs/children 100 to 600 francs per calendar year) or with a limited choice of care providers (healthcare network, HMO, family doctor model, medical helpline) or with bonus insurance.

Policyholders whose premiums are increasing mid-year must be informed by their insurance provider by the end of April. In this case, you have until the end of May to cancel the contract and switch to another insurance provider to commence on 1st July.

If you have a bonus insurance policy with your current provider

You may cancel a bonus policy only five years after the start of the contract and for the end of a calendar year with three months' notice. Should premiums rise, the cancellation period is reduced to only one month, though the five-year rule for contract length still applies.

NB: Outstanding monthly premiums may prevent you from being allowed to change insurance.

Cancelling supplemental insurance

How to cancel your supplemental insurance policy in 2018

  1. Compare health insurance providers and benefits using the Comparis Health Insurance Comparison.
  2. Request a free, no-obligation quote directly.
  3. Check the period of notice of your existing supplemental insurance policy (usually by 30th September).
  4. Don't cancel your existing insurance policy until your new provider has confirmed your admission.
  5. Cancel your supplemental insurance policy by 30th September 2018 (date of receipt by the provider counts) using the cancellation form and sending the letter by registered mail.

The insurance companies are free in determining the cancellation periods for supplemental insurance. The cancellation periods are often longer than for basic insurance (e.g. three months before the end of the year, i.e. the deadline is the end of September). If you wish to take out supplemental insurance with a cheaper provider, make sure you wait until your new provider confirms your acceptance, as insurers are not obliged to accept all applicants for supplemental insurance. If you cancel your basic insurance policy, but wish to keep your supplemental insurance with your existing provider, you must point this out very clearly. The best way to do this is to make a note in your cancellation letter: “This cancellation only applies to my basic insurance policy. My supplemental insurance shall remain with your company.”  

Cancellation periods if premiums rise

The terms stated in the General Conditions of Insurance apply (e.g. one month from notification of higher premiums or per year end). It also possible to cancel your policy if your premiums increase because you enter a higher age group.

Cancellation periods if premiums remain unchanged

The cancellation periods for supplemental insurance vary. Some supplemental insurance policies have a minimum duration of several years and six months’ notice. The cancellation periods of supplemental insurance are stated in the General Terms and Conditions of the individual supplemental insurance policies:

Tips

  • Don’t cancel your current supplemental insurance until you have received an unconditional confirmation from your new insurer. Otherwise it is recommended to cancel only your basic insurance.
  • Health insurance providers can place a temporary or permanent qualification (i.e. restriction) on supplemental insurance if they consider an applicant's state of health to be an unfavourable risk. This means that the policyholder will not be covered for treatment for an illness addressed in the qualification.
  • Answer the questions in the application form accurately and completely. Health insurance providers have the right to make retroactive exclusions if it is later determined that false or incomplete information was provided on the application form.

Glossaire

Résilier la caisse maladie : comparer et en changer


En Suisse, il est possible de changer de caisse maladie en résiliant l’ancienne. Pour passer d’une assurance de base ou complémentaire à une autre, différentes règles s’appliquent. La résiliation de l’assurance de base est possible chaque année, jusqu’à fin novembre. Voici tous les détails sur la marche à suivre.

Comparer les caisses maladie et en changer

  • Dans un premier temps, comparez les primes et prestations dans notre comparatif d'assurances maladie et voyez votre montant annuel d’économies potentielles.
  • Vérifiez également pour votre assurance de base si un changement de franchise peut être intéressant et si des modèles d'assurance alternatifs entrent ou non en ligne de compte. Il est possible de réaliser des économies importantes sur les primes, tant au niveau de la franchise que du modèle d'assurance.
  • Faites-vous envoyer une ou plusieurs offres par les caisses maladie que vous aurez sélectionnées. Vous pouvez en faire la demande en ligne simplement et directement dans notre comparatif des primes d’assurance maladie.
  • Consultez les offres qui vous seront envoyées et affiliez-vous auprès d’une caisse maladie au moyen du formulaire joint. Les caisses maladie sont tenues de vous admettre sans aucune restriction dans l’assurance de base. L’affiliation à une complémentaire, en revanche, est soumise à examen : les caisses maladie n’ont pas l’obligation de vous admettre à l’assurance complémentaire.

 

Résilier la caisse maladie

Résilier l’assurance de base

Résilier l'assurance de base jusqu’au 30.11.2018 : marche à suivre

  1. Comparez les caisses maladie, modèles et franchises dans le comparatif d'assurances maladie de comparis.ch.
  2. Demandez directement des offres gratuites, sans engagement.
  3. Résiliez votre assurance de base par courrier recommandé via la lettre de résiliation jusqu’au 30.11.2018 (la date de réception fait foi).
  4. Souscrivez votre nouvelle assurance de base jusqu’au 30.12.2018.
  5. Votre assurance de base changera au 01.01.2019.

Veuillez noter que la résiliation doit être parvenue à votre caisse maladie actuelle d’ici au 30 novembre. Vous pouvez également résilier l’assurance de base avant d’avoir reçu la confirmation d’affiliation de la part de la nouvelle compagnie d’assurances maladie. Dans le cadre de l'assurance de base, votre état de santé ne joue aucun rôle, vous pouvez aussi changer de caisse maladie alors que vous suivez un traitement médical.

Changement d'assurance au 1er janvier

L'assureur est tenu de communiquer la nouvelle prime au plus tard le 31 octobre. Dans son courrier, il doit en outre vous informer quant à votre droit de résiliation. Vous avez alors jusqu’au 30 novembre pour résilier votre assurance. Exemple : si vous souhaitez résilier votre assurance de base auprès de votre assureur actuel, ce dernier doit avoir reçu la résiliation le 30 novembre au plus tard. Le fait que la prime ait été augmentée ou qu’un type d’assurance spécifique (réseau de santé, HMO, médecin de famille, télémédecine, franchise à option) ait été souscrit n’a aucune importance. Ce qui est déterminant, c’est que l’assureur ait communiqué la nouvelle prime approuvée par l’OFSP avant le 31 octobre. Important : la résiliation doit être parvenue à l’assureur avant la fin du délai de préavis. La date faisant foi n’est pas celle du cachet de la Poste mais bien celle à laquelle l'assureur reçoit la résiliation. Le délai de préavis a été respecté lorsque la résiliation parvient à l’assureur au plus tard le dernier jour du délai légal (31 mai, 30 novembre) aux heures de bureau habituelles. Un courrier envoyé par recommandé et déposé dans une case postale est considéré comme remis au moment où il a été retiré dans le bureau de poste. Comme il n’est pas exclu que des retards se produisent, il est conseillé d'expédier sa résiliation au plus tard à la mi-mars, ou à la mi-novembre, par envoi recommandé de sorte à avoir une trace que la résiliation a été effectuée dans les délais.

Changement d'assurance au 1er juillet

Les assurés disposant d’une assurance de base avec franchise ordinaire (adulte 300 francs/enfants 0 francs par année civile) et libre choix du prestataire ont la possibilité de résilier leur assurance maladie au 30 juin sous réserve d’un préavis de trois mois. Cela signifie que l’assureur actuel doit avoir reçu votre résiliation au plus tard au 31 mars. Le changement d’assurance en cours d’année n'est pas possible pour les assurés disposant d’une assurance de base avec une franchise plus élevées (adultes de 500 à 2500 francs/enfants de 100 à 600 francs) ou d’une restriction du choix du prestataire (réseau de santé, HMO, médecin de famille, télémédecine) ou encore d’une assurance avec bonus.

Cependant, en cas de hausse de prime en milieu d'année, les assurés concernés, qui doivent en être informés par leur caisse à la fin avril au plus tard, ont jusqu'à fin mai pour résilier leur contrat à compter du 1er juillet et pour changer de caisse.

Vous avez souscrit une assurance avec bonus auprès de votre caisse maladie actuelle

La résiliation de ces assurances ne peut être effectuée que pour la fin de l’année civile sous réserve d’un préavis de trois mois, et ce uniquement après écoulement d’une période de cinq ans consécutive à la souscription. Lorsqu’une augmentation de prime est signifiée, le délai de préavis est alors ramené à un mois mais la durée contractuelle de cinq ans demeure inchangée.

Attention : des primes impayées peuvent vous empêcher de changer de caisse.

Résilier l’assurance complémentaire

Résilier la complémentaire 2018 : marche à suivre

  1. Comparez les caisses maladie et leurs prestations dans le comparatif d'assurances maladie de comparis.ch.
  2. Demandez directement des offres gratuites, sans engagement.
  3. Vérifiez le délai de résiliation de votre assurance complémentaire (normalement jusqu’au 30.09.2018).
  4. Ne résiliez pas votre assurance avant de recevoir la confirmation d'affiliation de la nouvelle caisse maladie.
  5. Résiliez votre assurance complémentaire par courrier recommandé via la lettre de résiliation jusqu’au 30.09.2018 (la date de réception fait foi).

Pour ce qui des assurances complémentaires, les caisses maladie ont toute liberté de fixer le délai de préavis. Bien souvent, le délai de préavis y est plus long que dans l’assurance de base (p. ex. trois mois pour la fin de l'année, c'est-à-dire fin septembre). Ne résiliez aucune assurance complémentaire que vous souhaitez poursuivre auprès d’une assurance plus avantageuse avant d’avoir reçu une confirmation d'affiliation de la part de la nouvelle caisse. En effet, les assurances complémentaires ne sont pas tenues d'accepter votre affiliation. Si vous résiliez votre assurance de base mais que vous souhaitez conserver vos assurances complémentaires auprès de l’ancienne caisse maladie, vous devez l’indiquer de manière tout à fait explicite. Pensez par exemple à ajouter une mention comme : « Cette résiliation concerne l’assurance de base uniquement. Je tiens à conserver mon assurance complémentaire auprès de votre caisse maladie. »  

Délais de résiliation en cas d'augmentation des primes

La résiliation est soumise aux dispositions des conditions d'assurance (p. ex. un mois à partir de la notification ou en fin d'année civile). Il est également possible de résilier en cas d’augmentation de la prime du fait du passage à une tranche d'âge plus élevée.

Délais de résiliation lorsque le montant de la prime reste inchangé

Les délais de préavis pour les assurances complémentaires sont variables. Certaines assurances complémentaires ont une durée contractuelle minimale de plusieurs années et un délai de préavis de six mois. Les délais de résiliation des assurances complémentaires figurent dans les conditions générales d'assurance de l'assurance complémentaire concernée.

Conseils

  • Ne résiliez votre assurance complémentaire que lorsque la nouvelle caisse vous aura fourni une confirmation d'affiliation sans aucune réserve. Faute de quoi, il est recommandé de ne résilier que l'assurance de base.
  • Dans le cadre des demandes d'affiliation à une assurance complémentaire, les caisses maladie peuvent poser des réserves, limitées ou non dans le temps, si elles estiment que le demandeur présente un risque médical défavorable. Pour l'assuré, cela signifie que les traitements des maladies mentionnées dans les réserves ne seront pas couverts.
  • Répondez consciencieusement et de façon correcte à toutes les questions du formulaire de souscription. Les caisses maladie ont le droit d'émettre des réserves même à posteriori s'il s'avère que l'assuré a fourni des réponses inexactes ou que ses indications étaient incomplètes.