Five tips for cheap car insurance

  • Optimal coverage – what do you need?

    Mandatory insurance 
    Every car holder must have liability insurance. It is well worth comparing premiums, though.

    Optional insurance
    Unlike motor vehicle liability insurance, which covers damage that you cause to third parties, comprehensive and collision insurance (the combination of which is called full casco insurance) are optional and cover damage to your own car. It is advisable to buy casco insurance. However, full casco insurance only makes sense for newer cars. You should therefore not forget to convert your full casco insurance into a partial casco insurance (i.e. without collision cover) when your car becomes older.

    Lower premium thanks to deductible
    You can choose your deductible for casco insurance yourself and thus lower your premium.

    Choose the right supplements
    The leaner your insurance policy, the cheaper it is. You should therefore carefully consider which supplements you really need. Occupants insurance, for instance, only makes sense in very few cases as persons living in Switzerland must have accident insurance anyway. Breakdown insurance is not always necessary, either. It may be handy, but roadside assistance is often already covered through another insurance such as the ETI accident and breakdown cover or through membership with a touring club. And certainly not everybody needs insurance for damage while parked. Besides, this is usually only available for new cars and for a limited amount of time. Read more about the topic of insurance for damage while parked.

  • Benefit from reductions

    Take advantage of online offerings
    You will find the cheapest offerings on the Internet.

    Buy the right car
    The premiums for your car insurance may vary depending on the type of vehicle. Some insurance providers grant an eco-reduction, for example. Furthermore, cheaper cars with a less strong motor are usually also cheaper to insure.

    Lower premium thanks to saving models
    You can save money by committing to certain conditions (e.g. repair at a partner garage, zero-alcohol level). It is therefore important to think about what you need and what you can do without.

    Profession
    Some insurance companies grant discounts to professionals in certain fields or members of academic associations.

  • Damage – what to do?

    Report the damage immediately
    It is best if you report the damage to your insurance company right away. This way, you avoid hassle over insurance matters later on. Troubles may arise especially if you have already had the damage repaired in the meantime. Insurance companies usually first want to have the damage inspected by an expert and only then decide upon the further course of action.

    Damage or bonus loss
    Check which option would be more expensive for you. Sometimes, it may be cheaper to pay for the damage out of pocket. This is the case if the deductible and the bonus loss are higher than the costs caused by the damage. If you decide to pay for the damage yourself, you can also notify the insurance company of your intention later on.

  • Fulfil responsibilities

    Pay your premiums on time
    If you pay your premiums late or not at all, you risk incurring reminder fees and plenty of trouble. The insurance company may also cancel coverage after the payment deadline. This means that you would have to pay potential damage out of pocket. If you do not act upon the payment reminder, you also risk confiscation of your number plate by the police, which entails considerable costs and trouble.

  • Changing insurance

    Benefit from cheap premiums 
    You can only benefit from new and low premiums if you are willing to take out a new insurance. If you do not cancel your existing one, the policy is automatically renewed for another year.

    Observe the period of notice 
    The period of notice is usually three months. It is only possible to cancel on shorter notice if your premium is increased, following a claim or in case of a change of vehicles. Use our template for the cancellation letter.

    Flexibility with a short term of contract 
    Only sign one-year contracts or negotiate an annual cancellation right. This is the only way for you to be able to benefit from new, low prices. The bonus level remains the same with every change of insurance.

Ask a question

If you have not found an answer to your question on this page, you can ask it here.

Cinq astuces pour une assurance auto moins chère

  • Comment s'assurer de façon optimale ?

    Assurances obligatoires
    La responsabilité civile est incontournable, certes, mais il vaut la peine de comparer les primes.

    Assurances facultatives
    Contrairement à l'assurance responsabilité civile couvrant les dommages causés à des tiers, les assurances casco partielle et collision (constituant ensemble l'assurance casco complète) sont facultatives et couvrent les dommages causés à sa propre voiture. Il est conseillé de se procurer une assurance casco. Toutefois, la casco complète est uniquement recommandée pour les voitures plutôt récentes. Au fur et à mesure que votre véhicule prend de l'âge, n'oubliez pas de changer votre casco complète en casco partielle.

    Réduisez vos primes grâce à la franchise
    Vous pouvez choisir la franchise de l'assurance casco vous-même et ainsi faire baisser les primes.

    Choisissez les complémentaires adaptées
    Moins vous en aurez, moins votre assurance vous reviendra cher. Réfléchissez donc bien aux garanties qui vous seront réellement utiles. Par exemple, une assurance passager n'est pas recommandée pour les personnes résidant en Suisse, puisqu'elles sont déjà assurées contre les accidents par l’assurance de base. En outre, l'assurance dépannage ne s’avère pas toujours indispensable. Elle est pratique, mais souvent une autre assurance, telle que le livret ETI ou une éventuelle affiliation auprès d'un Touring Club, remplit déjà les mêmes fonctions. La garantie dommages de stationnement n'est pas non plus conseillée à tout le monde. De toute manière, elle ne peut, la plupart du temps, être souscrite que pour des voitures neuves et pour une durée limitée. Vous trouverez ici davantage d'informations sur la garantie dommages de stationnement.

  • Profiter des rabais

    Consultez les offres en ligne
    Vous trouverez les meilleures offres en ligne.

    Achetez la bonne voiture
    Les primes d'assurance automobile varient selon le type du véhicule. Certaines assurances proposent, par exemple, un rabais écologique. Les conducteurs de voitures moins chères au moteur moins puissant profitent en général également de prix plus avantageux au niveau de l'assurance.

    Payez moins grâce à des modèles d'économie de prime
    Vous pouvez également économiser en vous engageant à respecter certaines conditions (garage agréé, zéro pour mille, par exemple). Qu'est-ce qui est important pour vous ? Et de quoi pouvez-vous vous passer ?

    Secteurs professionnels
    Certaines assurances accordent des rabais aux membres de secteurs professionnels ou d'associations académiques définis.

  • Comment procéder en cas de sinistre ?

    Déclarez immédiatement le sinistre
    Mieux vaut déclarer tout de suite le sinistre à votre compagnie d'assurance. Ainsi, vous évitez des complications après coup avec l'assurance, surtout si entre-temps vous avez déjà fait réparer la voiture. Parfois, les assurances préfèrent d'abord faire analyser le sinistre par un expert, et décider ensuite de la façon de procéder.

    Sinistre ou perte de bonus
    Examinez bien ce qui vous coûtera plus cher. Il est parfois préférable de payer les réparations soi-même, surtout si la franchise et la perte de bonus sont plus élevées que les frais de réparation. Si vous décidez de vous acquitter vous-même des dommages, vous pouvez toujours le communiquer ultérieurement à votre assurance.

  • Respecter les consignes

    Payez les primes à temps
    Si vous ne payez vos primes que trop tard ou pas du tout, vous risquez des frais de sommation et pas mal d'ennuis. L'assurance peut même supprimer la couverture une fois le délai de paiement écoulé, ce qui signifie que vous devriez payer vous-même en cas de sinistre. Si vous ne réagissez pas aux rappels, votre numéro d'immatriculation risque d'être retiré par la police, ce qui entraînerait beaucoup de frais et de désagréments.

     

    Pourquoi payer plus pour les mêmes prestations? Vos connaissances et vos amis seraient peut-être eux aussi contents d'économiser sur leur assurance automobile.
  • Changer d'assurance

    Profitez de primes avantageuses
    Seules les personnes prêtes à changer d'assurance peuvent profiter de primes plus avantageuses. Sauf préavis, le contrat est automatiquement prolongé d'une année.

    Respectez le délai de résiliation
    Dans la majorité des cas, le délai de résiliation est fixé à trois mois. Vous ne pouvez changer d'assurance dans un délai plus court qu'en cas d'augmentation des primes, de sinistre ou de changement de véhicule. Vous trouverez ici une lettre type de résiliation

    Restez flexible grâce à des contrats de courte durée
    Ne souscrivez que des contrats annuels ou négociez le droit de résilier le contrat une fois par an. Il s'agit là de la seule manière de profiter de nouveaux prix plus avantageux. En cas de changement, le degré de bonus ne change pas.

Posez votre question

Si vous ne trouvez pas la réponse à votre question sur cette page, posez-la ici.