Benefits

Children's glasses: how much is covered by health insurance?

INFORMATION
|
Good news for parents: health insurance companies will contribute towards the cost of children's glasses. Source: iStock / grinvalds

Many children need corrective eyewear. But glasses and contact lenses can be expensive. It is a good thing that health insurance companies are contributing towards the cost – and this includes contact lenses for image-conscious teenagers.

Short-sightedness is increasing dramatically worldwide. The number of affected children is also rising in Switzerland. Comparis answers the most important questions on children's glasses and health insurance:

Do health insurance companies contribute towards the cost of children's glasses?

Yes. Visual aids for children and adolescents up to the age of 18 are covered by basic insurance.

Disability Insurance (IV) covers most medical benefits, without coinsurance, related to birth defects for as long as they exist, but only until the age of 20. This also applies to visual impairments.

How much will health insurance companies contribute towards children's glasses?

Children and adolescents who need glasses are entitled to 180 francs a year for glasses or contact lenses under basic health insurance. An ophthalmologist's prescription is required once a year in order for the costs to be charged to the health insurance company. The insurance company pays this amount up to the age of 18.

In the case of very severe sight defects or illnesses, basic insurance pays higher contributions towards glasses and contact lenses – irrespective of the age of the insured person. This applies, for example, to changes in refraction due to illness, adjustments after surgery or corneal diseases. For more information, contact your health insurance company or ophthalmologist.

Comparis tip: Parents should keep an eye out for signs of sight problems in their children. Most visual defects must be treated in childhood to prevent further sight deterioration.

Is there a coinsurance for visual aids?

Yes, out-of-pocket expenses apply to glasses and contact lenses just like other benefits covered by basic insurance. If you have chosen a deductible for the child that is higher than zero francs, you pay the chosen deductible amount and, in addition, the coinsurance of 10 per cent yourself.

Which deductible makes sense for children?

It's worth choosing a deductible of zero francs for children and adolescents. The reason for this is that the discount for a higher deductible is negligible. Children also need to see a doctor fairly regularly.

Is it worth taking out supplemental glasses insurance for children?

Corrective glasses and contact lenses usually cost more than 180 francs. A supplemental insurance policy may therefore be well worth considering. Make sure you compare health insurance products, as supplemental insurance benefits vary from company to company.

Do health insurance companies contribute towards the cost of adults' glasses?

You can read up on that in our article Glasses – when is it worth taking out supplemental insurance?

Prestations

Lunettes des enfants : que rembourse la caisse maladie ?

INFO
|
Bonne nouvelle pour les parents : l’assurance maladie participe aux frais de lunettes des enfants. Photo : iStock / grinvalds

De nombreux enfants ont besoin d’une correction de vue. Mais les lunettes et lentilles de contact coûtent souvent cher. La bonne nouvelle : l’assurance maladie participe aux frais – y compris aux lentilles de contact pour les ados soucieux de leur apparence.

La myopie gagne du terrain dans le monde entier. En Suisse aussi, le nombre d’enfants concernés est en hausse. Comparis répond aux principales questions sur les lunettes pour les enfants et l'assurance maladie :

La caisse maladie rembourse-t-elle les frais de lunettes pour les enfants ?

Oui. Les corrections de vue sont couvertes par l’assurance de base pour les enfants et les adolescents jusqu’à leurs 18 ans révolus.

L’assurance invalidité (AI) prend en charge la plupart des prestations médicales liées à une maladie congénitale, le cas échéant. Elle n'est pas soumise à une franchise. En revanche, elle ne couvre plus les assurés âgés de plus de 20 ans – ce qui s’applique également aux déficiences visuelles.

Qu'est-ce que l'assurance maladie prend en charge pour les lunettes des enfants ?

Les enfants et les adolescents qui nécessitent des verres correcteurs peuvent toucher 180 francs par an de l'assurance de base pour des lunettes ou des lentilles de contact. Pour pouvoir se faire rembourser, il est nécessaire de produire, chaque année, une ordonnance délivrée par un ophtalmologue. L'assurance verse ce montant jusqu'à l'âge de 18 ans.

En cas de maladie ou de troubles de la vue importants, l'assurance de base prend en charge – indépendamment de l'âge de la personne assurée – des montants plus élevés, en lien avec des verres correcteurs et des lentilles de contact. C'est par exemple le cas en ce qui concerne les anomalies de la réfraction, les adaptations postopératoires ou les maladies de la cornée ; les caisses maladie ou les ophtalmologues peuvent fournir de plus amples renseignements.

Le conseil de Comparis : les parents devraient suivre de très près un éventuel problème de vue chez leur enfant. En effet, la plupart des troubles de la vue doivent être traités au cours de l'enfance si l'on veut éviter une perte supplémentaire de l'acuité visuelle.

Les corrections de vue sont-elles soumises à une franchise ?

Oui, les prestations pour les verres correcteurs et les lentilles de contact sont soumises, comme pour les autres prestations de l'assurance de base, au principe de la participation aux coûts. si vous avez choisi une franchise supérieure à zéro franc pour votre enfant ou adolescent, le montant des lunettes sera à votre charge jusqu’à hauteur de cette même franchise, plus la quote-part de 10 % qui s’applique.

Quelle franchise choisir pour les enfants ?

Mieux vaut opter pour une franchise de 0 francs pour les enfants et les adolescents. Pourquoi ? Le rabais de primes à escompter avec une franchise plus élevée est relativement modeste. De plus, les enfants et adolescents vont plus souvent chez le médecin.

Une complémentaire lunettes est-elle intéressante pour les enfants ?

Les lunettes de vue tout comme les lentilles de contact coûtent en général plus de 180 francs. Une assurance complémentaire peut donc s'avérer judicieuse. Comparez impérativement les caisses maladie, car les prestations d'assurance complémentaire varient fortement d’une compagnie à l’autre.

La caisse maladie rembourse-t-elle également les frais de lunettes pour les adultes ?

Lisez notre article « Lunettes : quand choisir une complémentaire ? »