Alternative insurance models


Alternative insurance models are versions (alternatives) of compulsory basic health insurance.
They include:

HMO models
Family doctor models
Telmed models
Other models
Please note the following for alternative insurance models

HMO models
HMO = Health Maintenance Organization:
The policyholder of an HMO model agrees to always consult a specified doctor based at the HMO centre in the event of illness. This doctor is referred to as a gatekeeper. Emergencies as well as the annual gynaecological check-up and regular eye examinations are exempt from this duty.

The HMO doctor receives a lump sum every month for the medical treatment of his registered policyholders. This covers all services claimed by policyholders either from the HMO doctor, from external specialists or from hospital treatments.

The gatekeeper principle allows the HMO doctor to coordinate treatment of his patients. By receiving a lump sum, the doctor can limit himself to giving the patient the treatment he or she really needs - there is no incentive to extend the treatment beyond this. Therefore, premiums for HMO insurance products are up to 25 percent lower than for standard basic insurance, while offering the same benefits.

Emergencies for HMO policyholders:
In case of an emergency, the policyholder always contacts his HMO doctor first. If he cannot be contacted, or the policyholder is not at his usual place of residence or work, the nearest available emergency doctor should be consulted. After the emergency treatment, the policyholder should contact his HMO doctor to discuss further procedure.

Family doctor models
Policyholders of family doctor models forgo free choice of physicians and commit themselves (as with HMO) to always consulting their fixed family doctor (gatekeeper). Emergencies as well as the annual gynaecological check-up and regular eye examinations are exempt from this duty.

The health insurance companies define which doctors can be chosen by the policyholders as an own "family doctor" (i.e. family doctor) in the family doctor model. These doctors are either affiliated to the family doctor networks or independently practising doctors. While some health insurance companies have explicit lists of doctors, others allow their policyholders to choose among all internal specialists, GPs and paediatricians within the insurance company's region.

The family doctor is responsible for the medical care of the policyholders who have chosen him/her. If it is medically necessary, he will refer them to a specialist.

It is expected that the selective referral of policyholders to specialists will bring about a reduction of costs in comparison to the standard basic insurance. Therefore, premiums for family doctor insurance products are about 15 to 20 percent lower than those for standard basic insurance.

Telmed models
For every newly appearing health problem, the policyholder has to call a consultation hotline before consulting a doctor for the first time. There, medical experts give advice, make recommendations on how to behave or refer patients to a doctor, a hospital or a therapist. Emergencies, the annual gynaecological check-up, regular eye examinations (in some cases this only applies to children) and other benefits different with every insurer are exempt from this duty to contact the helpline prior to seeing a doctor. Thanks to the consultation by phone prior to consulting a doctor, costs can be saved. Policyholders in the Telmed model receive a premium reduction of about 15 to 20 percent compared to the standard basic insurance.

Follow this link to find a list of Telmed products.

Other models
In this category, special insurance models are listed which only have restrictions that cannot be assigned to any of the other insurance models, such as:

  • Treatment only in a hospital that is on the health insurance provider's list
  • Purchase of medication always at a certain pharmacy/pharmacy group specified by the health insurance.

Please note the following for alternative insurance models

  • If insured persons claim direct outpatient or inpatient treatment outside of an emergency situation without previous instruction by their HMO doctor or family doctor, they have to cover the costs themselves with some health insurance providers.
  • If the insured persons select an original medical product instead of a generic medical product from the list, the costs are not always completely covered.

 

These regulations are not standardised, but they are stated in the general terms of contract (AVB) of the health insurance companies.

This might interest you

Basic health insurance

Compare premiums here and save!

Modèles d'assurance alternatifs


Les modèles d'assurance alternatifs sont des variantes de l'assurance de base standard.
Il en existe plusieurs sortes :

Modèle HMO
Modèle du médecin de famille
Modèle Telmed
Autres modèles
Remarques sur les autres modèles alternatifs

Modèle HMO
HMO = Health Maintenance Organization (organisation pour le maintien en bonne santé) ) :
l'assuré s'engage à toujours commencer par consulter le même médecin du centre HMO lorsqu'il est malade, excepté en cas d'urgence. Ce médecin est appelé gatekeeper en anglais. Ne sont pas soumis à cette obligation les cas d'urgence, les examens gynécologiques de prévention et les consultations ophtalmologiques.

Le médecin HMO perçoit mensuellement une somme forfaitaire pour soigner les assurés inscrits chez lui. Ce forfait couvre tous les soins reçus par les assurés HMO, qu'ils soient dispensés par ce médecin, par des spécialistes ou encore lors d'une hospitalisation.

Le principe du « gatekeeper » permet de faire coordonner le traitement des patients par un médecin HMO. Grâce à l'indemnité forfaitaire, seuls les traitements nécessaires sont prescrits par le médecin HMO, car rien ne l'incite à augmenter le nombre de prestations médicales. C'est pourquoi les primes des assurés HMO sont jusqu'à 25 % plus basses que celles de l'assurance de base standard tout en offrant les mêmes prestations.

Cas d'urgence pour les assurés du modèle HMO :
En cas d'urgence, l'assuré HMO s'adressera toujours d'abord à son médecin HMO. Si celui-ci n'est pas joignable ou si l'assuré ne se trouve ni à son domicile ni sur son lieu de travail, il s'adressera alors immédiatement au médecin de garde le plus proche. Une fois les soins d'urgence dispensés, l'assuré prendra contact avec son médecin HMO et décidera avec lui de la suite de son traitement.

Modèle du médecin de famille
En optant pour le modèle du médecin de famille, l'assuré renonce au libre choix du médecin. Il s'engage (comme pour le modèle HMO) à toujours consulter son médecin de famille (gatekeeper) lorsqu'il est malade. Ne sont pas soumis à cette obligation les cas d'urgence, les examens gynécologiques de prévention et les consultations ophtalmologiques.

Les caisses maladie décident quels médecins peuvent être choisis comme « médecin de famille » par leurs assurés. Ceux-ci peuvent être ou non affiliés à un réseau de médecin de famille. Par ailleurs, certaines caisses maladie établissent des listes précises de médecins tandis que d'autres autorisent leurs assurés à choisir leur médecin de famille parmi les internistes, généralistes et pédiatres ayant leur cabinet dans un secteur d'affiliation défini par la caisse.

Le médecin de famille choisi est responsable du suivi médical des assurés ayant opté pour lui. S'il le juge nécessaire, il enverra les assurés chez un spécialiste.

Les caisses attendent du médecin de famille qu’il ne dirige ses patients vers un spécialiste qu'à bon escient, et c’est pourquoi elles tablent sur des économies par rapport à l'assurance de base standard. Les primes du modèle du médecin de famille sont donc environ 15 à 20 % plus basses que celles de l'assurance de base standard.

Modèle Telmed
À chaque nouveau problème de santé, les assurés doivent appeler un centre de conseil médical avant de se rendre chez le médecin. Là, des professionnels de la santé leur donnent des renseignements et des recommandations sur la conduite à tenir ou dirigent les patients vers un médecin, un hôpital ou un thérapeute. Ne sont pas soumis à cette obligation d'appeler le centre de conseil les cas d'urgence, les examens gynécologiques de prévention, les consultations ophtalmologiques (parfois seulement pour les enfants) et d'autres prestations diverses selon la caisse maladie. Ces conseils téléphoniques, préalables à une visite chez le médecin, permettent de réaliser des économies. Dans le modèle Telmed, les assurés bénéficient donc d'environ 15 à 20 % de rabais par rapport à l'assurance de base standard.

Liste des produits Telmed

Autres modèles
Cette catégorie recense les modèles d'assurance spécifiques impliquant certaines restrictions et impossibles à classer dans une autre catégorie de modèle d'assurance. Par exemple :

  • Ne se faire soigner que dans les hôpitaux se trouvant sur la liste des hôpitaux de sa caisse maladie ;
  • N'acheter ses médicaments que dans une pharmacie ou dans un groupe de pharmacies précisément défini par sa caisse maladie.

Remarques sur les modèles alternatifs

  • Si les assurés se font hospitaliser directement pour un séjour stationnaire ou en ambulatoire, donc sans passer au préalable par leur médecin de famille ou HMO, et qu'il ne s'agit pas d'une urgence, certaines caisses maladie ne remboursent pas les frais d'hospitalisation.
  • Si les assurés choisissent un médicament original, qui ne se trouve donc pas sur la liste des génériques, il ne leur sera pas toujours complètement remboursé.

 

Les règles ne sont pas tous les mêmes, mais elles sont inscrites dans les conditions générales d’assurance (CGA).

Ҫa pourrait vous intéresser

Assurance maladie de base

Comparez les primes et payez moins !