Benefits

Skiing accident abroad – how well are you insured?

TIPS
|
If you have a skiing accident abroad, you are advised not to seek treatment from a private doctor – your insurance may not cover all costs. Source: iStock

One in five winter sport accidents takes place outside Switzerland. This can quickly turn your dream holiday into a nightmare, particularly if your insurance won't pay the treatment costs. comparis.ch explains how to ensure a skiing accident does not turn into a financial fiasco.

With the stronger euro, skiing holidays in Switzerland’s neighbouring countries are not as attractive as they once were. Nevertheless, this season is once again seeing many skiers taking to the slopes outside the Swiss Alps. What many don't want to think about is what happens if they have an accident. Even cautious skiers can be put in danger by other skiers. And the risk on foreign slopes is by no means lower than on Swiss ones. In 2015 alone, some 6,550 Swiss skiers and snowboarders had accidents abroad. Most were in Austria, France, Italy and Germany, but Canada, USA and Liechtenstein also featured.

To ensure you don't have to foot the bill for doctor, hospital and repatriation costs should the unexpected happen, you need to think carefully about your insurance cover before you set off.

Accidents abroad – who pays?

Scenario 1: If you work a minimum of eight hours per week, your employer is obliged to insure you against accidents – even those that occur during leisure time. Accident insurance provides the same cover in EU and EFTA countries that you would get if you had social insurance in the country in question. Some employers provide insurance cover that goes above and beyond the minimum requirement. To avoid being underinsured, or even overinsured (through supplemental insurance), it’s a good idea to check with your employer to find out exactly what cover is offered.

Scenario 2: If you are employed for less than eight hours per week or are self-employed, you can take out accident insurance through your health insurance company. Important: Unlike with the accident insurance provided by an employer, you need to make a contribution to these costs yourself (deductible of 300 to 2,500 francs and coinsurance of 10 per cent of benefits once the deductible has been reached – maximum of 700 francs per year).

Some countries are more expensive than others

Looking forward to some powder snow at Whistler, Canada? Then take note. Outside EU and EFTA countries, obligatory accident insurance pays a maximum of double the cost of treatment that would have been incurred in a public hospital in Switzerland.Although that may appear generous, in countries with expensive healthcare systems like the USA and Canada, it is barely enough.

Be careful with private medical treatment abroad

If you only have accident cover through your mandatory basic insurance (and don't want to pay extra), you are limited in your choice of doctor and hospital. As treatment by a private doctor is not covered, you will need a public hospital or a doctor who bills at the local basic rate. The problem is that in some ski resorts it's not easy to find this kind of doctor or hospital. Tourists often end up being seen by private doctors or in private clinics – sometimes without realizing – and are charged higher rates.

If in doubt, ask your insurer

It’s also not uncommon for hotels to arrange for their guests to be taken directly to a private clinic in the event of an accident, without consulting them beforehand. In some Austrian ski resorts, private clinics have even been known to send their own helicopters to rescue patients from the slope and then treat them, even though these patients could have been repatriated to Switzerland. Before a medical intervention, patients usually have to confirm in writing that they will pay for all costs. But an accident is generally a stressful situation, and everything has to happen quickly. Even so, you should always call your insurance helpline if anything is unclear. If you aren't careful, you may end up having to shell out tens of thousands of francs.

Who covers the cost of repatriation?

After a particularly serious accident, it may make sense to repatriate the patient if their condition allows it. Repatriation by rescue helicopter or passenger aircraft can be extremely expensive. According to the Health Insurance Act (KVG), statutory accident insurance covers half the cost of rescue up to a maximum of 5,000 francs per year for transportation, but only in Switzerland. However, under the Accident Insurance Act (UVG), statutory accident insurance reimburses the required costs of rescue and recovery plus medically necessary travel and transportation costs up to a fifth of the maximum sum currently insured, in other words a maximum of 29,640 francs, if the costs are incurred abroad. A rescue involves freeing an insured person from an acutely threatening situation where their life and health are in danger. Without this acute threat, the action is considered a medically necessary transportation.

Even Rega patrons are not necessarily covered when it comes to rescue costs. “Rega patrons are not automatically entitled to rescue flights,” says Felix Schneuwly, health insurance expert at comparis.ch. As there is no legal entitlement, Rega is not obliged to provide help. It can waive the cost of repatriation for its patrons if the insurance company won't contribute.

You can find more information on who covers the cost of ambulances and rescue helicopters here.

To sum up: The cost of a skiing accident abroad can quickly run into thousands if not tens of thousands of francs. You should therefore examine your insurance cover carefully before setting off. Depending on your situation, it may make sense to take out supplemental insurance. This should cover the unlimited cost of treatment or repatriation to Switzerland in the event of a serious illness or accident.. Travel or supplemental insurance also usually includes luggage cover and cancellation costs. As with any insurance, it feels expensive until you need it – but then it's the best value thing you can buy.

Prestations

Accident de ski à l’étranger : êtes-vous (bien) assuré ?

CONSEILS
|
En cas d'accident de ski ou de snowboard à l’étranger, consulter un médecin du privé est déconseillé, car l'assurance risque de ne pas tout rembourser. Photo : iStock

Un accident de sport d’hiver sur cinq se produit en dehors des pistes de ski suisses. Et les vacances de rêve peuvent rapidement tourner au cauchemar – surtout quand l’assurance ne rembourse pas les frais de soins. comparis.ch livre de précieux conseils pour que l'accident de ski ne finisse pas en fiasco financier.

Depuis la hausse du cours de l’euro, les vacances de ski dans le pays voisin ne sont, certes, plus aussi attrayantes qu'avant. Reste que cette année encore, beaucoup d’amateurs de sports d’hiver chaussent leurs skis de l’autre côté des alpes suisses. Ce à quoi on pense le moins (ou ne veut penser), c’est l'accident de ski. Mais si on descend les pistes avec la plus grande prudence, le danger peut encore venir d’autres skieurs ou snowboarders. Et le risque n'est pas moindre à l’étranger que sur les pistes suisses Rien qu’en 2015, environ 6500 skieurs et snowboarders suisses ont eu un accident à l’étranger. Majoritairement en Autriche, France, Italie ou Allemagne. Mais aussi au Canada, aux États-Unis et au Liechtenstein.

Pour ne pas rester, en cas de malheur, avec des frais de médecin, d’hôpital et de rapatriement sur les bras, il est bon de se poser quelques questions sur sa couverture d'assurance.

Accident à l’étranger : qui paie ?

Situation n° 1 : Si vous travaillez plus de huit heures par semaine, vous êtes automatiquement assuré en cas d'accident via votre employeur – y compris pendant vos activités de loisir. Cette assurance accident obligatoire rembourse les prestations dans les pays de l’UE et de l’AELE comme si vous étiez assuré sur place. Certains employeurs assurent même leurs collaborateurs au-delà de l’obligation légale. Pour éviter un cas de sous-assurance ou (avec une complémentaire) de sur-assurance, le mieux est de se renseigner sur la couverture précise auprès de son employeur.

Situation n° 2 : Si vous travaillez moins de huit heures par semaine auprès d’un employeur ou si vous êtes indépendant, vous pouvez conclure une assurance complémentaire accident auprès de la caisse maladie. Attention : contrairement à l'assurance accident obligatoire via l’employeur, vous devez participer au coûts. (Franchise : entre 300 et 2500 francs ; quote-part : 10 % des prestations dépassant la franchise, 700 francs maximum par an).

Certains pays sont plus chers que d'autres

Vous avez hâte de skier dans la poudreuse « Champagner-Powder » des montagnes rocheuses canadiennes ? Attention ! Hors des pays de l’UE et de l’AELE, l’assurance accident obligatoire paie tout au plus le double des frais de traitement qui auraient été facturés dans l’hôpital public suisse le plus cher. Cela semble généreux du premier abord, mais cela suffit à peine dans les pays où le système de santé est cher, comme aux États-Unis ou au Canada.

Prudence avec les services de soins privés à l’étranger

Si vous êtes couvert en cas d'accident via l'assurance maladie obligatoire (et que vous ne souhaitez pas payer de supplément), vous serez limité dans le choix du médecin et de l’hôpital. Les prestations médicales du privé n’étant pas remboursés, il faut choisir un hôpital ou un médecin du service public, qui facture selon le tarif de base local. Le hic : dans certaines stations de ski, trouver ce type de médecin ou d’hôpital n’est pas si simple. Les touristes atterrissent souvent, et parfois sans le savoir, dans des cabinets ou des cliniques privées, qui facturent à des tarifs supérieurs.

En cas de doute, consulter l'assurance

Il n’est pas rare que des hôtels envoient leurs hôtes directement, sans prévenir, à une clinique privée en cas d'accident. Dans certaines stations de ski, les cliniques privées viennent même chercher les blessés sur les pistes et les opèrent même lorsqu’un rapatriement vers la Suisse serait possible. Le plus souvent, les patients doivent confirmer par écrit qu’ils prennent entièrement en charge les coûts avant toute intervention médicale. La situation est de plus souvent suffisamment difficile et tout doit aller particulièrement vite. Il est toutefois conseillé d’appeler le numéro d’appel d’urgence de l’assureur en cas de doute. Car sans faire attention, ce sont au pire plusieurs dizaines de milliers de francs qui peuvent être à votre charge.

Qui paie les frais de rapatriement ?

En cas d’accident particulièrement grave, le transfert du patient depuis l’étranger (rapatriement) peut être envisagé, à condition que le patient puisse être transporté. Les rapatriements par hélicoptère de sauvetage ou par avion de ligne peuvent coûter très cher. Cela dit : l’assurance accident obligatoire LAMal, selon la loi sur l'assurance maladie, prend en charge la moitié des frais de sauvetage jusqu’à concurrence de 5000 francs par an de frais de transports, mais uniquement sur le sol suisse. L’assurance accident obligatoire LAA, selon la loi sur l’assurance accident, rembourse les frais de sauvetage et de dégagement ainsi que les frais de voyage et de transport pour raisons médicales jusqu’à concurrence d’un cinquième du plafond d'assurance couvert, soit 29 640 francs maximum. En cas de sauvetage, un assuré qui se trouve dans une situation d’extrême urgence – dont la vie et la santé sont en danger – sera dégagé. Sans extrême urgence, on parle de transport pour raisons médicales.

De même, les donateurs Rega ne sont pas forcément couverts pour les frais de sauvetage. « Les donateurs Rega n’ont pas automatiquement droit à des vols de sauvetage », précise Felix Schneuwly, expert Assurance maladie chez comparis.ch. Ils n’ont en effet aucun droit légal, c’est-à-dire que la Rega n'est pas tenu d'apporter son aide. Elle peut cependant renoncer aux frais de rapatriement si l'assurance du donateur ne devait suffire.

Vous trouverez plus d’informations au sujet du remboursement des frais d'ambulance et d’hélicoptère de sauvetage ici.

En somme : les conséquences financières d’un accident de ski à l’étranger peuvent rapidement atteindre plusieurs milliers ou dizaines de milliers de francs. D’où l’importance de vérifier scrupuleusement sa couverture d'assurance avant le départ. Selon les cas, une assurance complémentaire peut s'avérer utile. Cette complémentaire devrait prendre en charge l’ensemble des frais de guérison et de rapatriement vers la Suisse en cas de maladie ou d'accident grave. Dans la plupart des cas, l'assurance voyage ou l'assurance complémentaire comprend également la couverture des bagages et des frais d'annulation. Bien sûr, mieux vaut ne pas en avoir besoin, mais quand cela arrive, on est content de l'avoir !