Maternity


According to the law (Art. 5 of the General Part of the Social Insurance Act ATSG), maternity includes pregnancy and delivery as well as the subsequent recovery period of the mother. Maternity benefits under basic insurance are not subject to any out-of-pocket payment. This applies to benefits that are specifically listed in the Health Insurance Act. These are the following:

Before birth:
  • 7 check-ups
  • 2 ultrasonic check-ups (11th to 14th and 20th to 23rd week of pregnancy)
  • Prenatal care: Insurers will contribute 150 francs towards antenatal classes led by a midwife on a one-to-one basis or in a group, or towards a consultation with a midwife covering the birth, the planning and organization of postnatal care at home and breastfeeding advice.
During birth:
  • Full coverage in the general ward of a hospital or in a birthing centre according to the hospital list of the canton of residence. The same applies in case of a home birth.
After birth:
  • Care at home by a midwife up to 56 days after birth. Unless prescribed otherwise by a doctor, 10 home visits are included. 
  • 3 breastfeeding consultations with a midwife or a lactation consultant
  • 1 check-up (6–10 weeks after delivery)

The amendment to the law, which was decreed by the Federal Council, entered into force on 1 March 2014. It stipulates that women who fall ill during or after pregnancy (e.g. in case of complications) are no longer liable to any out-of-pocket payments starting from the 13th week of pregnancy until eight weeks after birth. This encompasses, for example, hospitalization to avoid premature birth, treatment of gestational diabetes and infections or psychotherapy due to post-natal depression.

According to the Federal Social Insurance Office, there is no clear-cut jurisdiction regarding caesarean delivery on maternal request. If you are planning a pregnancy and want to be on the safe side, opt for the lowest possible deductible of 300 francs in order to keep costs as low as possible should an elective C-section not be fully covered by your health insurance provider.

Often it is not obvious to the health insurance company whether expenses are due to maternity. It is therefore advisable to mention the fact that you are pregnant on the invoices you submit.

Comparis
Newsletter
fr

Assurances

Auto & moto

Immobilier

Crédit & hypothèques

Comparateur de prix

Santé & prévoyance

Autres services

Comparis

Menu

AssurancesAssurance maladieGlossaire
Assurance maladie

Maternité

Maternité

Selon la loi (art. 5 LPGA), la maternité comprend la grossesse, l'accouchement ainsi que la période de repos qui suit pour la mère. Dans l'assurance de base obligatoire, les prestations de maternité ne sont pas soumises à la participation aux coûts. La loi sur l’assurance maladie énumère précisément les prestations prises en compte, à savoir :

Avant la naissance
  • 7 consultations de contrôle
  • 2 échographies (à 11-14 semaines de grossesse et à 20-23 semaines de grossesse)
  • Préparation à l’accouchement : l'assurance prend en charge une contribution de 150 francs pour un cours de préparation à la naissance donné par une sage-femme ou pour un entretien-conseil avec une sage-femme portant sur l'accouchement, sur la planification et l’organisation du post-partum au domicile et sur la préparation à l’allaitement.
Accouchement :
  • Prise en charge complète en division commune d'un hôpital ou en maison de naissance figurant sur la liste des hôpitaux du canton de résidence. Idem pour un accouchement à domicile.
Après la naissance
  • Suivi à domicile par une sage-femme, pendant 56 jours maximum après la naissance (16x pour les primipares et 10x pour les multipares sans prescription médicale). 
  • 3 séances de conseil en allaitement par une sage-femme ou par une spécialiste en allaitement.
  • 1 visite de contrôle (6 à 10 semaines après l'accouchement).

L'amendement du texte de loi approuvé par le Conseil fédéral est entré en vigueur le 1er mars 2014. Le texte prévoit que les femmes malades (p. ex. avec des complications) entre la 13e semaine de grossesse et les 8 semaines suivant l'accouchement n'ont plus à payer de participation aux coûts. Cela recouvre par exemple l'hospitalisation destinée à prévenir une naissance prématurée, le traitement d'un diabète gestationnel et d'infections, ainsi que la prise en charge psychothérapique des dépressions post-natales.

Sur la question des césariennes, l'Office fédéral des Assurances Sociales n'a pas émis de jurisprudence claire. Si vous voulez jouer la carte de la sécurité et que vous planifiez une grossesse, vous pouvez opter pour la franchise minimale de 300 CHF. Vous minimiserez ainsi vos frais si votre caisse maladie ne prend pas totalement en charge les césariennes volontaires.

Pour les caisses maladie, il n'est pas toujours évident de savoir s'il s'agit de frais en lien avec une maternité ou non. Vous pouvez alors demander à votre médecin de préciser l'existence d'une maternité sur ses factures d'honoraires.

Assurance maladie de base ou complémentaire

Trouvez la caisse optimale
Comparez