Taxes

2016 tax return – deducting medical expenses

TIPS
|
How to use medical expenses to maximize tax savings.

It’s that time of year again. In the canton of Zurich, taxpayers need to have completed and submitted their tax return by 31st March 2017. Since every possible deduction helps ease the pain of the the tax bill, we have some good news for taxpayers – dental bills, health insurance premiums and other healthcare costs can be claimed, to a certain degree at least, as deductible expenses. Find out here what to watch out for and how to use medical expenses to maximize your tax savings.

Let's start with the good news, which is that it is possible to deduct health insurance premiums from your income. The bad news, however, is that you cannot deduct the full amount. Precisely how much you can claim is decided separately by each canton. For example, if you are married and employed, you can deduct a maximum of 4,800 francs in the canton of Berne, or a maximum of 5,200 francs in the canton of Zurich.

But this is not the only healthcare-related cost you can put on your tax return – you can also include actual medical expenses. However, it is important to study the tax return guidelines carefully as you can only deduct expenses such as dentist, doctor, hospital, medication and therapy if the costs exceed five per cent of your income. It’s also important to note that you can only claim medical expenses for treatment that has been prescribed by a doctor. So if you choose to have an operation on your eyes for purely aesthetic reasons, you are solely responsible for the associated costs and cannot therefore claim them on the tax return.

Schedule operations for the first half of the year if possible

If your medical treatment has been prescribed by a doctor and is therefore tax-deductible, it's a good idea to plan ahead. If you arrange medical appointments, therapy sessions and so on in the first half of the year wherever possible, you can be sure that you will receive all the related invoices in the same year. They can therefore be calculated on the basis of your current coinsurance. Otherwise you risk losing the deduction.

Don’t forget: To ensure you can actually claim premium payments and medical expenses, you will need a tax confirmation from your health insurance provider. If you don't receive one automatically, you can simply call your provider to request one.

Changing health insurance provider mid-year

While we're on the subject of maximizing benefits, did you know that in certain circumstances you can cancel your health insurance policy at the end of the first half of the year i.e. by giving notice to 30th June 2017, and switch to another provider? Policyholders insured under the traditional model with the minimum deductible of 300 francs (zero francs for children) are allowed to do this. But a word of warning: The notice period in this case is three months, so your health insurer must receive your cancellation letter by 31st March at the latest. Create your cancellation letter in just a few steps.

Impôts

Déclaration d’impôts 2016 : la déduction des frais de santé

CONSEILS
|
Nos conseils pour optimiser ses impôts via les frais médicaux.

Le 31 mars dans la plupart des cantons suisses, c’est à nouveau la date fatidique, celle où Monsieur et Madame Dupont doivent avoir retourné leur déclaration d’impôts, dûment renseignée. Comme la pilule « impôts  passe toujours mieux à chaque possibilité de déduction, nous avons une bonne nouvelle pour les contribuables : les soins dentaires, primes maladie et autres frais de santé sont déductibles d’impôt – du moins dans une certaine limite. Nos conseils avec les points à observer et les possibilités d’optimisation à l’aide des frais de santé. Attention : la date butoir peut varier d'un canton à l'autre

La bonne nouvelle, pour commencer : les primes maladie sont déductibles du revenu . La mauvaise, en revanche : la somme ne peut pas être déduite en totalité. Le montant précis déductible dépend du canton. Dans le canton de Berne par exemple, les femmes et hommes mariés peuvent déduire jusqu’à 4800 francs ; à Zurich jusqu’à 5200 francs.

De plus, outre les primes maladie, on peut également déduire les frais médicaux effectifs de son revenu. Il est toutefois utile de lire attentivement le guide pratique accompagnant la déclaration fiscale, car les frais de dentiste, médecin, hôpital, médicaments et autres thérapies ne peuvent être déduits qu’à partir du moment où ils dépassent 5 % du revenu. Sans compter qu’on ne peut faire valoir que les frais médicaux prescrits par un médecin. En effet, la personne qui se fait opérer des yeux pour des raisons purement esthétiques est entièrement responsable des coûts – et ne peut donc pas les déduire.

Le mieux est de faire effectuer les interventions dans la première moitié de l’année, si possible.

D’où l’importance de bien s’organiser en cas d’intervention prescrite par un médecin (et donc déductible). Car en effectuant ses visites médicales, thérapies et autres soins dans la première partie de l'année, on s’assure que toutes les factures (partielles) arriveront encore la même année – et pourront être comptabilisées dans la franchise de l’année. Autrement, la possibilité de déduction risque d’être perdue.

Rappelez-vous : pour faire effectivement valoir les primes et frais médicaux, il faut une attestation d’impôt de l'assurance. Si vous ne la recevez pas automatiquement, appelez simplement votre caisse maladie.

Changer de caisse maladie en pleine année ? Mode d'emploi.

En parlant d’optimisation : saviez-vous que sous certaines conditions, vous pouvez résilier votre police d'assurance maladie pour la fin du premier semestre, à savoir le 30 juin 2017, et passer à une autre caisse maladie ? Cette option est ouverte aux assurés affiliés sous le modèle traditionnel avec la franchise minimale légale de 300 francs (0 franc pour les enfants). Mais attention : dans ce cas, le délai de résiliation est de trois mois – la lettre de résiliation doit donc parvenir à l'assureur au 31 mars. Créez votre lettre de résiliation en quelques étapes.

 

Comparer les primes