Premiums

Help, my health insurance premium is too high. What can I do?

INFORMATION
|
Mr and Mrs Jones and their two children. How can the young family save money on their health insurance? Source: iStock

The Jones family paid a total of 15,208.80 francs for their health insurance in 2017. The Joneses would like to save some money in 2018, so they are now checking all the different options. We have four tips for the family on how they can optimize their premiums.

No worries – with just a few tips, almost all policyholders will be able to save on their health insurance premiums. If you do it right, you could save several hundred francs. There is a vast difference between the most and least expensive premiums.

We take you through four steps and show you how to reduce your premiums.

  1. Increase your deductible
  2. Change your health insurer
  3. Select a cheaper insurance model
  4. Save as much as possible

Let’s do a sample calculation for a family:

Robert Jones is 40 years old and married to Claudia (38). They have a son (7) and a daughter (9). Both parents work, and therefore do not require accident cover. They both have a deductible of 300 francs. The two children have no deductible, and also have accident cover. The family lives in Köniz in the canton of Bern. The family is insured by Helsana, using the standard model.

For this level of cover, Helsana charges the Jones family 1,267.40 francs per month. For the whole of 2017, this amounts to exactly 15,208.80 francs.

Premium per year for the whole family: 15,208.80 francs

The Jones family would like to save some money in 2018, so they are now checking all the different options.

 

1. Increase your deductible

If Mr and Mrs Jones raise their deductible from 300 to 2,500 francs, they could save a lot of money. It is not quite as much for the children’s premium.

But is it worth it? For Mr and Mrs Jones – yes, since neither of the couple have chronic illnesses, they tend not to pay much for doctor’s visits and medicines, and they have saved enough money to pay the 2,500-franc deductible if they do fall ill.

However, when it comes to the children, things look a little different. Firstly, the potential for savings is only modest, and secondly, children generally need to visit the doctor a lot. Increasing their deductible would probably not pay off.

In this situation, Mr and Mrs Jones should take advantage of the discount available for choosing a high deductible on their premium.

Savings per year: 2,865.60 francs

 

2. Change your health insurer

When it comes to basic insurance, all insurance companies provide the same benefits. Where things differ is the premium. To lower your premium, it may be beneficial to compare premiums and switch to a cheaper health insurance company if desired.

But don’t forget about the notice period: 30 November is the deadline by which your letter, sent by registered mail, must be received by the health insurance company. If the whole Jones family switched to Assura, for example, while keeping their current deductible the same, they would save 1,670.40 francs per year.

Savings per year: 1,670.40 francs

 

3. Select a cheaper insurance model

Not all insurance models cost the same. For greater discounts on premiums, consider selecting a family doctor, HMO or Telmed model. Depending on their needs, the Jones family could save a lot of money by choosing one of these models. Of course, the advantages and disadvantages of each model should not be ignored. However, those insured under a standard model always pay more.

If the Jones family switched to the Telmed model, for instance, while staying with their current health insurance company and keeping their original deductible of 300 francs, they would save 2,284.80 francs.

Savings per year: 2,284.80 francs

 

4. Save as much as possible

The Jones family is surprised at the huge savings they could enjoy with only a few adjustments. They decide they want to save as much as possible by combining all the different ways to save. They switch to a cheaper health insurer, increase their deductible to 2,500 francs for the two adults, and to 500 francs for their children. They also decide to select the family doctor model, which allows for the greatest premium discount. The Jones family are amazed at how much they are now saving per year...

Savings per year: 7,396.80 francs

 

Compare premiums now

Primes

Au secours, ma prime maladie est trop chère. Que faire ?

INFO
|
M. et Mme Rochat avec leurs deux enfants. Comment cette jeune famille peut-elle payer moins de primes maladie ?

En 2017, la caisse maladie de la famille Rochat lui réclame en tout 15 208,80 francs. Les Rochat aimeraient faire des économies en 2018 et examinent à présent les diverses possibilités. Nous proposons à cette famille quatre pistes pour faire baisser sa prime d’assurance.

Pas de panique ! Avec quelques astuces, la plupart des assurés peuvent faire baisser leur prime d’assurance maladie. En effet avec la bonne méthode, on peut économiser plusieurs centaines de francs. Il y a un écart considérable entre l’option la plus chère et l’option la moins chère.

Nous vous montrons en quatre points comment faire baisser votre prime d’assurance :

  1. Augmenter la franchise
  2. Changer d’assurance
  3. Choisir un modèle d’assurance plus avantageux
  4. Réaliser un maximum d’économies

Voici un exemple de calcul pour la prime d’assurance d’une famille :

Frédéric Rochat a 40 ans. Il est marié à Clémentine (38 ans). Ils ont deux enfants : un garçon de 7 ans et une fille de 9 ans. Les parents travaillent tous les deux et n’ont donc pas besoin de couverture accident. Ils ont tous les deux une franchise de 300 francs. Les deux enfants ont une franchise de zéro franc et, ainsi, une couverture accident. La famille habite à Köniz (BE). Elle est assurée auprès d’Helsana et a opté pour le modèle standard.

Pour cette couverture d’assurance, Helsana facture chaque mois 1267,40 francs à la famille Rochat. Cela correspond exactement à 15 208,80 francs pour l’année 2017.

Montant annuel des primes pour toute la famille : 15 208,80 francs

La famille Rochat aimerait faire des économies en 2018 et examine à présent les diverses possibilités.

 

1. Augmenter la franchise

Si M. et Mme Rochat augmentent leur franchise de 300 à 2500 francs, ils pourront déjà économiser beaucoup d’argent. Pour les enfants, la différence n’est pas si grande.

Mais est-ce vraiment judicieux ? Pour M. et Mme Rochat, c’est la bonne décision : en effet, ils ne souffrent pas d’affections chroniques, dépensent en général peu en consultations médicales et en médicaments et disposent de suffisamment d'économies pour débourser la somme de 2500 francs en cas de maladie.

Concernant les enfants, la situation est un peu différente. D’une part, les économies potentielles sont modestes et, d’autre part, les enfants sont plus souvent amenés à se rendre chez le médecin. La plupart du temps, cela ne vaut donc pas le coup d’augmenter la franchise.

Avec une telle constellation, il serait préférable pour M. et Mme Rochat de profiter de la remise accordée en cas de franchise élevée.

Économies annuelles : 2865,60 francs

 

2. Changer d’assurance

Dans le cas de l’assurance de base, les caisses proposent toutes les mêmes prestations. Le montant des primes est toutefois différent. Si l’on veut faire baisser sa prime d’assurance, on peut comparer les offres et, éventuellement, choisir une caisse maladie meilleur marché.

Cependant, n’oubliez pas de respecter le préavis : votre lettre recommandée doit parvenir à votre caisse maladie actuelle au plus tard le 30 novembre. Si la famille Rochat décide, par exemple, d’assurer tous ses membres auprès d’Assura et qu’elle conserve la franchise de départ, elle pourra économiser 1670,40 francs par an.

Économies annuelles : 1670,40 francs

 

3. Choisir un modèle d’assurance plus avantageux

Les tarifs varient d’un modèle d’assurance à l’autre. Un assuré qui souhaite obtenir des rabais de prime a tout intérêt à penser aux modèles médecin de famille, HMO ou Telmed. En fonction de ses besoins, la famille Rochat peut économiser beaucoup d’argent grâce à l’un de ces modèles . Quel que soit le modèle choisi, il faut bien entendu tenir compte des avantages et des inconvénients. Mais une chose est sûre : quand on choisit le modèle standard, on paie toujours plus.

Si la famille Rochat privilégie, pour tous ses membres, le modèle Telmed auprès de sa caisse maladie actuelle et qu’elle conserve sa franchise de 300 francs, elle économisera 2284,80 francs.

Économies annuelles : 2284,80 francs

 

4. Réaliser un maximum d’économies

La famille Rochat est étonnée du potentiel d'économies qu'elle peut exploiter en modifiant juste quelques paramètres. Elle décide d’économiser un maximum d’argent et de combiner toutes les possibilités qui lui sont offertes. Elle se tourne vers la caisse maladie la moins chère, augmente la franchise à 2500 francs pour les adultes et à 500 francs pour les enfants. De plus, elle choisit le modèle Médecin de famille, qui offre le rabais le plus élevé. La famille Rochat est impressionnée par le montant annuel des économies qu'elle réalisera l'année prochaine...

Économies réalisées par an : 7396,80 francs

 

Comparez les primes