Premiums

Insurers with the biggest premium reductions in 2020 are still often over 16% dearer than the cheapest insurer

ANALYSIS
| By Felix Schneuwly |
Source: iStock / RgStudio

Various health insurers are set to lower their premiums for 2020. However, a Comparis study shows that some basic health insurance premiums are still nevertheless over 16% higher than the cheapest provider in the same premium region.

Some health insurers are lowering their basic health insurance premiums in 2020. But policyholders with these providers could actually save a lot more.

Largest percentage reduction by Avenir in Zurich

In the cities of Basel, Bellinzona, Bern, Geneva and Zurich, the insurers making the biggest reductions lowered their premiums by between 3% (Bellinzona) and 10.6% (Zurich). Customers enjoying the biggest premium reduction (10.6%) are those with the Telmed model and a deductible of 2,500 francs at Avenir, which belongs to Groupe Mutuel, in Zurich. The smallest reduction is offered to Groupe Mutuel customers in Bellinzona insured under the family doctor model (deductible of 2,500 francs), who will pay 3% less. In Geneva, Groupe Mutuel policyholders with the family doctor model and those of its subsidiary Easy Sana (deductible of 2,500 francs in each case) will spend 5.1% less on premiums next year. Easy Sana policyholders insured under the family doctor or Telmed model in Basel (deductible of 2,500 francs) will save 5.7%. And those insured with Philos under the family doctor model in Bern – also with a deductible of 2,500 francs – will pay 8.4% less next year. 

Save up to 680 francs more with the cheapest insurers

In spite of these reductions, the aforementioned policyholders will still be paying high premiums. For example, the premiums subject to the most significant reductions will still cost 16.5% more than cheapest comparable deal in the region. This affects policyholders insured with Philos under the family doctor model (deductible of 2,500 francs) in Zurich. They could save 640 francs by switching to a comparable deal offered by Assura. In absolute terms, the biggest potential savers are policyholders insured with Easy Sana under the family doctor model in Geneva (deductible of 2,500 francs), who could save 680 francs by switching to Assura.

CSS and Helsana not offering the top premium reductions

Prior to the official announcement by the government, CSS and Helsana hit the headlines by declaring their intention to lower their premiums. However, a comparison with the five insurers offering the biggest premium reductions in Basel, Bellinzona, Bern, Geneva and Zurich now reveals that these two major insurers clearly rank outside the top five.

Potential savings of 40% and more for over 1.2 million policyholders

Essentially, over 1.2 million adult policyholders in Switzerland could reduce their premium spend by over 40%, even in 2020 – a quiet year for premium increases. To tap into this savings potential, policyholders should switch to one of the five cheapest health insurers in their premium region and/or increase their deductible and/or switch to a different model with their own insurer.


An analysis of the five market leaders for each premium region (accounting for some 60% of basic insurance policyholders) reveals a maximum savings potential of 56% or 3,147.60 francs for 2020. Some 1,669 policyholders insured under the standard model with Easy Sana in Valais (FOPH region VS2) could exploit this potential by switching to the Telmed model with Atupri.

Compare premiums now

Primes

Les champions de la baisse des primes 2020 en partie plus de 16 % plus chers que la caisse maladie la plus avantageuse

ANALYSES
| Par Felix Schneuwly |
Photo : iStock / RgStudio

Beaucoup de compagnies revoient leurs primes 2020 à la baisse. Toutefois, selon une analyse Comparis, les primes d’assurance de base sont encore en partie plus de 16 % supérieures aux tarifs de l’assureur le plus avantageux de la même région de primes.

De nombreuses caisses maladie baissent leurs primes 2020 dans l’assurance de base. Il n’empêche que les personnes assurées auprès de ces caisses maladie pourraient infléchir le niveau de leurs primes de manière encore plus significative.

La baisse la plus marquée en pourcentage chez Avenir à Zurich

Dans les villes de Bâle, Bellinzone, Berne, Genève et Zurich, les assureurs avec les plus fortes diminutions ont fait baisser leurs primes sur une échelle allant de 3,0 % (Bellinzone) à 10,6 % (Zurich). Dans ce contexte, les assurés bénéficiant de la réduction la plus importante (10,6 %) ont opté pour le modèle Telmed et la franchise à 2500 francs auprès de la caisse Avenir à Zurich, qui fait partie du Groupe Mutuel. À Bellinzone, les assurés du Groupe Mutuel avec le modèle du médecin de famille (franchise 2500 francs) sont ceux dont la réduction est la plus faible, à savoir 3 %. À Genève, les assurés du Groupe Mutuel et de sa filiale Easy Sana ayant opté pour le modèle du médecin de famille (franchise de 2500 francs) paieront 5,1 % de moins l’année prochaine. Les assurés Easy Sana habitant à Bâle ayant opté pour le modèle Telmed ou médecin de famille (franchise à 2500 francs) économiseront 5,7 %. Et les assurés bernois de Philos avec le modèle du médecin de famille, eux aussi avec une franchise de 2500 francs, dépenseront 8,4 % en moins l’année prochaine pour leur prime. 

Jusqu’à 680 francs de potentiel d’économies en plus chez l'assureur le plus avantageux

Malgré ces réductions, les assurés concernés s’acquittent de primes élevées. En effet, les primes des acteurs les plus chers sont encore jusqu’à 16,5 % supérieures à celles des offres comparables les plus avantageuses de la même région. Les assurées de Philos avec le modèle du médecin de famille (franchise 2500 francs) à Zurich, par exemple, pourraient économiser 640 francs en optant pour l’offre équivalente d’Assura. Le montant le plus élevé en chiffres absolus, à savoir 680 francs, profiterait aux Genevois assurés chez Easy Sana avec le modèle du médecin de famille et la franchise à 2500 francs s’ils passaient chez Assura.

CSS et Helsana ne font pas partie des champions de la baisse des primes

En amont de la communication officielle des primes par le Conseil fédéral, les deux caisses maladie CSS et Helsana avaient annoncé, gros titres à l’appui, leur intention de faire baisser leurs primes. Un comparatif des cinq assureurs maladie affichant les baisses de primes les plus importantes pour chacune des villes de Bâle, Bellinzone, Berne, Genève et Zurich montre toutefois que ces deux grandes caisses maladie n'apparaissent nulle part dans le top 5.

Un potentiel d’économies de 40 % et plus pour plus de 1,2 million d'assurés

En Suisse, plus d’1,2 million d'assurés adultes pourraient en principe réduire leurs primes maladie de 40 % ou plus, même si l’année 2020 ne sera pas marquée par l’augmentation des primes. Ces assurés pourraient concrétiser leur potentiel d’économies en passant à l’une des cinq caisses maladie les moins chères de leur région et/ou en augmentant leur franchise et/ou en optant pour un autre modèle d'assurance auprès de leur caisse maladie actuelle.


L’examen des cinq assureurs majeurs de chaque région (regroupant près de 60 % des assurés avec une police d’assurance de base) révèle un potentiel d’économies maximal de 56 %, ou de 3147,60 francs, pour 2020. C’est celui dont pourraient bénéficier les 1669 assurés valaisans d’Easy Sana avec le modèle standard (région OFSP VS2) en choisissant le modèle Telmed d’Atupri.

Comparez les primes