Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

InsuranceHealth insuranceCost of calling an ambulance: who pays what and when?
Benefits

Cost of calling an ambulance: who pays what and when?

By Felix Schneuwly

05.01.2021

Source: iStock / cookelma

You have a medical emergency and cannot be transported by private car or public transport? If you call an ambulance on the emergency number 144, basic health insurance will cover the cost of patient transportation in this case.

All answers apply to persons who have accident insurance through their health insurer and to transportation in the event of illness.

How much does an ambulance call-out cost?

In an emergency, every second counts. The emergency services will transport the patient to the nearest hospital without delay. The cost of such emergency transportation varies significantly between cantons. For example, as reported on Swiss television, if someone has a heart attack in the canton of St. Gallen, the cost for the emergency services is greater than that in the canton of Aargau. It is usually between 900 and 2,100 francs.

Which insurance covers ambulance call-outs?

If you have accident insurance through your employer or a private insurer, this will cover all emergency transportation costs. However, if the emergency transportation is required because of an illness, or if you have accident insurance through your health insurer, the costs can soon mount up.

When does basic insurance cover the cost of an ambulance call-out?

Basic health insurance policies will contribute to the cost of emergency transportation if it is a medical necessity. If the patient could have travelled by private car or public transport, basic health insurance policies will not pay out.

How much will my basic health insurance pay towards the ambulance ride?

Basic health insurance will cover half the cost, up to a predefined maximum limit. The maximum limit for the cost of rescuing you from a life-threatening situation is 5,000 francs per calendar year (rescue costs). If the situation is not life-threatening but transportation by ambulance is still medically necessary, basic health insurance will pay up to a maximum of 500 francs per calendar year (transportation costs).

Will my basic health insurance pay out if I take a taxi to hospital?

The cost of a taxi journey is only covered in exceptional circumstances. If it is not possible for you to get to hospital by private car or public transport for medical reasons, your basic health insurance will cover 50% of the costs, but only up to 500 francs per calendar year. Note: you must be transported by a means of transport that is appropriate for your medical needs. You are advised to clarify the details with your health insurer in advance.

Is there an insurance policy that covers all the ambulance costs?

Yes. There are supplemental insurance policies that guarantee a higher level of cover. Some are even unlimited and will cover all transportation and rescue costs. You need to decide for yourself what level of cover is right for you.

Find the best supplemental insurance deal now

Will basic insurance cover transportation if I have an accident abroad?

Basic health insurance policies will pay a proportion of emergency transportation costs even when you are abroad. The conditions that apply are the same as if you were in Switzerland. However, the situation is not the same for rescue costs. Basic health insurance policies do not cover rescue costs abroad. If you are travelling abroad, it is sensible to take out supplemental insurance, as transportation and rescue costs abroad can easily run into thousands or tens of thousands of Swiss francs. It is important to ensure that you have enough cover in the event of an accident abroad. Before you travel, check to see if you are properly insured.

I’m a Rega Swiss air ambulance patron – do I still need supplemental insurance?

Rega is not an insurance provider. Furthermore, you do not have a legal entitlement: Rega is permitted to provide its services, but is not obliged to do so. Rega can waive the costs of repatriation for its patrons in the event that insurance companies or any other third party are not liable to pay and so will only reimburse a proportion of the cost of the service or none at all. This applies to repatriation on a Rega jet as well as on scheduled flights. In addition, Rega does not pay for emergency treatment abroad. Cover for such treatment can be obtained from your health insurer (basic and supplemental insurance) or via a foreign health insurer.

Who pays if I need to be transferred from one hospital to another?

If a patient needs to be transported from one hospital to another for treatment and due to medical necessity, the costs are covered completely by basic health insurance. In this case, the transfer is part of the inpatient treatment.

Someone calls an ambulance for me but I don't need one. Who pays?

If an ambulance is called and paramedics attend the incident, then costs are incurred. As a rule the patient – or their insurance company – must cover these costs. The person who called the ambulance is not required to reimburse any costs – unless the call was intentionally fraudulent.

All the above answers apply to persons who have accident insurance through their health insurer and to transportation in the event of illness.

Author

Felix Schneuwly

Health & health insurance expert

media@comparis.ch

Related articles

Back to top

Newsletter

Stay up-to-date with the latest savings deals as well as expert tips on health, money and tax.

By registering, I agree to my data being processed in accordance with the data privacy statement of comparis.ch.

comparis.ch
  • About Comparis

  • Career

Social Media
Language
  • DE
  • FR
  • IT
  • EN
  • Contact
  • Data privacy protection
  • Legal information
  • Credits

© 1996–2021 comparis.ch AG, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zurich, +41 44 360 52 62

Comparis
Newsletter
fr

Assurances

Auto & moto

Immobilier

Crédit & hypothèques

Comparateur de prix

Santé & prévoyance

Autres services

Comparis

Menu

AssurancesAssurance maladieFrais d'ambulance : qui paie quoi, et quand ?
Prestations

Frais d'ambulance : qui paie quoi, et quand ?

Par Felix Schneuwly

05.01.2021

Photo : iStock / cookelma

Vous avez une urgence médicale et vous ne pouvez vous faire transporter ni en voiture, ni en transports en commun ? Si vous appelez le numéro d’urgence 144 pour une ambulance, l’assurance de base couvre vos frais de transport.

La totalité des réponses concerne les personnes assurées contre les accidents via leur caisse maladie ainsi que les transports en cas de maladie.

Combien coûte l’intervention d’une ambulance ?

En cas d’urgence, chaque seconde compte. Les secours permettent le transport rapide des patients vers l’hôpital le plus proche. Le coût de ce service varie fortement d’un canton à l’autre : l’intervention des secours pour un infarctus, par exemple, est plus coûteuse dans le canton de Saint-Gall qu’en Argovie, relatait la télévision suisse. Dans ce cas, la facture oscille entre 900 et 2100 francs.

Quelle assurance prend en charge les frais d’ambulance ?

Lorsque l’on bénéficie d’une assurance accidents par l’intermédiaire de son employeur ou contractée auprès d’un assureur privé, les frais de transport sont pris en charge par cette assurance dans leur intégralité. Par contre, en cas de maladie ou de couverture accidents via une caisse maladie, le transport peut vite coûter cher.

Dans quels cas l’assurance de base couvre-t-elle les frais d’ambulance ?

L’assurance de base participe aux coûts lorsque le transport est nécessaire pour des raisons médicales. Elle ne paie rien lorsqu’on peut raisonnablement transporter le patient en véhicule privé ou en transports en commun.

Combien l’assurance de base paie-t-elle pour le transport ?

L’assurance de base paie la moitié des coûts, jusqu’à concurrence d’un certain plafond. Lorsque la vie du patient est en péril et qu’une opération de sauvetage s’avère nécessaire, la limite est fixée à 5000 francs par année civile (coûts de sauvetage). Si le patient n’est pas en danger de mort, mais qu’un transport en ambulance est nécessaire pour des raisons médicales, l’assurance de base prend en charge 500 francs maximum par année civile (frais de transport).

Si le transport à l’hôpital a lieu en taxi, l’assurance de base intervient-elle ?

Dans des cas exceptionnels uniquement. Quand le déplacement du patient en voiture ou en transports en commun est impossible pour des raisons médicales, l’assurance de base prend en charge 50 % des coûts, jusqu’à concurrence de 500 francs par année civile. Important : le transport doit se faire par un moyen de locomotion répondant aux exigences médicales. Il est conseillé de vérifier ce point au préalable avec son assurance maladie.

Existe-t-il une assurance prenant en charge la totalité des frais ?

Oui. Certaines assurances complémentaires garantissent une couverture plus élevée. Quelques-unes sont même illimitées et prennent en charge les frais de transport et de sauvetage dans leur intégralité. À vous d’estimer la limite de couverture adaptée à votre situation.

Trouver la complémentaire optimale

En cas d’accident à l’étranger, l’assurance de base paie-t-elle mon transport ?

L’assurance de base contribue aux frais de transport, à l’étranger comme en Suisse, aux mêmes conditions. Par contre, il en va autrement des frais de sauvetage, qu’elle ne prend pas en charge. Une assurance complémentaire s’avère là encore utile : le transport et le sauvetage hors de Suisse peuvent vite se chiffrer à des milliers, voire des dizaines de milliers de francs. Il est donc essentiel de faire le point sur son assurance accidents avant de partir à l’étranger, afin de vérifier que l’on dispose de garanties suffisantes.

Je suis donateur Rega. Ai-je besoin d’une assurance complémentaire ?

La Rega n’est pas une assurance. De plus, la carte de titulaire ne donne pas droit aux secours : la Rega peut venir en aide à ses donateurs, mais elle n’y est pas tenue. Elle peut décharger ses donateurs des frais de rapatriement lorsque les assurances ou autres tiers ne sont pas tenus de les prendre en charge et ne remboursent pas ou seulement partiellement les coûts de l’intervention. Cette règle s’applique tant aux rapatriements par l’un des jets Rega que par un avion de ligne. En outre, la Rega ne prend pas en charge les soins d’urgence à l’étranger. Pour souscrire ce type de couverture, il convient de s’adresser à son assurance (de base ou complémentaire) ou à une assurance maladie pour l’étranger.

Qui paie le transfert d’un hôpital à un autre ?

Lorsqu’un patient est transféré d’un hôpital à un autre pour les besoins de son traitement et par nécessité médicale, les coûts sont entièrement pris en charge par l’assurance de base. Le transfert fait en effet partie des soins stationnaires.

Quelqu’un appelle une ambulance pour moi alors que je n’en ai pas besoin. Qui paie ?

À partir du moment où l’ambulance arrive sur les lieux avec son équipe, cela engendre des frais. De manière générale, c’est le patient, ou son assurance, qui paie. La personne qui appelle les secours n’a pas de frais, sauf en cas d’appel abusif.

La totalité des réponses concerne les personnes assurées contre les accidents via leur caisse maladie ainsi que les transports en cas de maladie.

Auteur

Felix Schneuwly

Expert Assurance maladie et Santé

media@comparis.ch

Articles similaires

Haut de page

Newsletter

Restez informés avec les bons plans et les conseils d'experts en matière de santé, d'argent et d'impôts.

En m'abonnant à la newsletter, j'accepte le traitement de mes données conformément à la Déclaration de protection des données de comparis.ch

comparis.ch
  • A propos de Comparis.ch

  • Médias

  • Offres d'emploi

Réseaux sociaux
Langue
  • DE
  • FR
  • IT
  • EN
  • Contact
  • Confidentialité
  • Juridique
  • La Rédaction

© 1996–2020 comparis.ch SA, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zurich, +41 44 360 52 62