Health insurance

Deductible (franchise)


Insured persons are required to bear a portion of the costs of treatment (doctor, hospital, medication, etc.) themselves. These out-of-pocket expenses include the deductible (referred to as franchise in Switzerland) as well as an additional coinsurance of 10 per cent. The composition of the out-of-pocket expenses is specified in the Health Insurance Act (KVG, Art. 64).

The deductible must only be paid once per calendar year if any compensation is claimed, and is at least 300 francs for adults (CHF 0 for children). If you switch insurers during the year, your new insurer will take into account both the deductible and the coinsurance already paid in the same year. 

Since 1 March 2014, women who fall ill during or after pregnancy (e.g. in case of complications) have no longer been subject to any out-of-pocket payments starting from the 13th week of pregnancy until 8 weeks after birth. Other events that are not subject to cost sharing are accidents (including non-occupational accidents) if the employee is insured against accidents by his/her employer (Accident Insurance Act).

Lowering the deductible
It is possible to switch to a lower deductible with effect from the beginning of each calendar year. The health insurance provider must be notified in writing of the desired lower deductible by 30 November or by the last business day in November (the day the insurance company receives the letter is relevant).

Raising the deductible
It is possible to choose a higher deductible with effect from the beginning of each calendar year. The health insurance provider must be notified in writing of the desired higher deductible by 31 December (check holidays) or by the last business day in December (the day the insurance company receives the letter is relevant).

Statutory deductible
The regular or statutory deductible for adults is 300 francs, for children 0 francs.

Optional deductible
Policyholders are entitled to raise the deductible in order to benefit from a premium reduction. In any case, the reduced premium may not be less than 50% of the basic premium (deductible 300/0, with accident cover). This also applies to alternative insurance models.

The following deductible levels are admissible:

Children (up to age 18):
  • CHF 0 
  • CHF 100
  • CHF 200
  • CHF 300
  • CHF 400
  • CHF 500
  • CHF 600
Young adults (19–25 years) and adults (26 years or older):
  • CHF 300 
  • CHF 500
  • CHF 1000
  • CHF 1500
  • CHF 2000
  • CHF 2500

It is up to the individual health insurance company whether or not they offer all levels of deductibles. It is therefore possible that not all deductible levels are offered by every insurance company.

Example:
Company A offers all levels of deductibles (300, 500, 1000, 1500, 2000, 2500).
Company B only offers the basic deductible (300) and two optional deductibles (1,000, 2,500).

Franchise


L'assuré participe aux frais médicaux (médecin, hôpital, médicaments) . Cette participation aux frais se compose de la franchise et d'une quote-part supplémentaire de 10 %.

La composition de la participation aux faits est définie dans la loi sur l'assurance maladie (art. 64, LAMal). La franchise s’entend par année civile, dès lors que l'assuré a bénéficié de prestations, et s’élève à 300 CHF minimum pour un adulte (0 CHF pour un enfant). En cas de changement d'assureur en cours d'année, le nouvel assureur tient compte de la franchise ainsi que de la quote-part déjà payées depuis le début de l'année.

En cas de maternité, aucune franchise n'est due pour autant qu'aucune complication ne survienne. Il en va de même pour les accidents (y compris les accidents non professionnels) si le travailleur est assuré contre les accidents via son employeur (LAA).

Baisser sa franchise
Passer à une franchise plus basse n'est possible qu'en début d'année civile. Le montant désiré de la franchise doit être signalé par écrit à la caisse maladie au plus tard le 30 novembre ou le dernier jour ouvrable du mois de novembre (la date de réception de la lettre par l'assureur faisant foi).

Augmenter sa franchise
Choisir une franchise plus élevée est possible en début d'année civile. Le montant désiré de la franchise doit être signalé par écrit à la caisse maladie au plus tard le 31 décembre (attention aux jours fériés) ou le dernier jour ouvrable du mois de décembre (la date de réception de la lettre par l'assureur faisant foi).

Franchise de base
La franchise ordinaire, prévue par la loi, s'élève à 300 CHF pour les adultes et à 0 CHF pour les enfants.

Franchise à option
L'assuré a la possibilité d'augmenter sa franchise annuelle et de profiter ainsi de rabais. Dans tous les cas, la prime diminuée du rabais ne pourra être inférieure à 50 % de la prime de base (franchise 300/0, avec couverture accident). Cette règle s'applique aussi aux modèles d'assurance alternatifs.

Il existe les niveaux de franchise suivants :

Enfants (jusqu'à 18 ans) :
  • CHF 0 
  • CHF 100
  • CHF 200
  • CHF 300
  • CHF 400
  • CHF 500
  • CHF 600
Jeunes adultes (19-25 ans) et adultes (à partir de 26 ans) :
  • CHF 300 
  • CHF 500
  • CHF 1000
  • CHF 1500
  • CHF 2000
  • CHF 2500

Il relève de l'appréciation de chaque caisse de juger si elles souhaite ou non proposer la totalité des franchises. Il est donc possible que certains assureurs n'offrent pas toutes les franchises.

Exemple :
la caisse A propose toutes les franchises possibles (300, 500, 1000, 1500, 2000, 2500).
Par contre, la caisse B ne propose que la franchise de base (300 CHF) et deux franchises à option (1000 et 2500 CHF).