• The displayed premium is incorrect!

    If the displayed premium does not correspond to what you are currently paying for basic insurance, this may be because you have:

    • a different deductible,
    • other/additional accident coverage,
    • another insurance model (e.g. standard basic insurance, family doctor, HMO, etc.),
    • a premium from which the premium reduction has already been deducted, or
    • a premium from which the environmental incentive tax has already been deducted.

    There could also be a mistake, of course. If none of the above possibilities apply, we would be happy to investigate further. For this we need the following information:

    • your place of residence (postcode and town),
    • your year of birth,
    • your current health insurance provider,
    • your insurance model,
    • the selected deductible,
    • whether you require accident coverage or not,
    • and the discrepant premium.

    Thank you for your assistance!

  • Can I change my deductible if I have a medical condition?

    You can easily lower or raise your deductible with effect from the end of the year:

    Lowering the deductible:

    The health insurer must be notified in writing of the desired lower deductible by 30 November or by the last working day in November (the day the insurance company receives the letter is relevant).

    Raising the deductible:

    The health insurer must be notified of the desired higher deductible by 31 December or by the last working day in December.

  • Do I have to answer questions about my state of health when buying basic insurance?

    No! Every insurance provider is obliged to accept you for compulsory basic insurance without reservations, regardless of your age and state of health. Only fill in the health questionnaire if you want to buy supplemental insurance.

  • Do I have to answer questions about my state of health for supplemental insurance?

    Yes, you are required to answer questions about your state of health for supplemental insurance. You usually have to declare your medical conditions and treatments of the last five years.

    The questions and their number differ from one health insurer to the next. We can't tell you if there are insurers that ask fewer questions about your health than others.

    It is advisable to answer the health questions truthfully since your insurer may also impose sanctions retrospectively. The possible measures range from the exclusion of claims regarding a certain medical condition to the cancellation of the policy. If claims for a medical condition are excluded, the supplemental insurance does not cover any treatment in connection with this disease. Detailed information is listed in the insurance terms and conditions of the supplemental insurance policy.

  • What kind of coverage does basic insurance provide abroad?

    Only emergency treatment is covered abroad. Basic health insurance will only pay up to twice the amount the same treatment would have cost in Switzerland. This is sufficient for travel within Europe, but for certain overseas areas – notably in the USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and Japan – it is highly recommended to buy additional insurance.

    Holders of Swiss insurance requiring emergency treatment in an EU or EFTA country

    A local health insurance provider will cover costs according to the agreed tariffs and policyholders will pay the usual out-of-pocket costs for that area. The foreign insurer concerned will then invoice these costs to your Swiss insurance company via a central office in Switzerland.

    As of the beginning of 2006, all policyholders in Switzerland have a health insurance card, which makes the E111 form superfluous. The credit card-sized insurance card contains administrative details, such as name, gender, date of birth, insurance provider and insurance number.

    Tip: If necessary, buy adequate supplemental health insurance or separate holiday and travel insurance.

  • Out-of-pocket expenses in case of maternity?

    If there are no pregnancy complications, no out-of-pocket payment is required. Basic insurance benefits are clearly set out in the Health Insurance Act (KVG). These include antenatal classes, check-ups, delivery and breastfeeding support.

    Up until now, pregnant women who experienced complications had to pay part of the treatment expenses out of pocket because they went under the category of illness. Such treatment included, for example, hospitalisation to avoid premature birth, treatment of gestational diabetes and infections or psychotherapy due to post-natal depression.

    With effect from 1 March 2014 a legislative amendment will enter into force according to which women will no longer be required to contribute to costs in the event of complications from the 13th week of pregnancy until 8 weeks after birth.

  • When do I have to give notice of cancellation?

    Basic health insurance

    To cancel for 31 December, the cancellation letter (by registered mail) must reach the current health insurance provider by 30 November or the last working day of November, respectively. This cancellation deadline is irrespective of whether the new premium is higher, lower or remains the same.

    To cancel for 30 June, the cancellation letter (by registered mail) must reach the current health insurance provider by 31 March or the last working day of March, respectively. This applies only for policyholders with a deductible of CHF 300 (children: CHF 0) and a standard basic insurance policy (no alternative insurance models such as HMO or Telmed). In all other cases, changing to a new insurance provider is possible only for the end of the calendar year.

    Click here for a prepared cancellation letter.

    Supplemental health insurance

    If premiums rise:

    The provisions stated in the insurance conditions apply (e.g. one month from notification of higher premiums or per year end).

    For unchanged premiums:

    Cancellation deadlines for supplemental insurance

    • Terminate your current supplemental insurance only after having received confirmation of unconditional acceptance from your new health insurance provider. Otherwise it is recommended to cancel only the basic insurance policy.
    • Health insurance providers can place a temporary or permanent qualification on supplemental insurance if they consider an applicant's state of health to be an unfavourable risk. This means that the policyholder will not be covered for treatment for an illness addressed in the qualification.
    • Answer the questions in the application form accurately and completely.
    • Health insurance providers have the right to make retroactive qualifications if it is later determined that false or incomplete information was provided on the application form.
  • What benefits do the individual providers offer?

    The benefits and coverage of mandatory basic insurance are required by law and consistent among all providers. Here you can find an overview of benefits. At comparis.ch, you can not only find information on premiums, but also on customer satisfaction with the individual insurance providers.

    Unlike with basic insurance, benefits of supplemental insurance vary depending on the provider.

  • Do I need health insurance during military service?

    This depends on the length of service.
    In Art. 3 Para. 4 of the Federal Health Insurance Act (KVG), it says: "Persons who are subject to the Federal Act of 19 June 1992 on Military Insurance (MVG) for more than 60 consecutive days are suspended from mandatory health insurance." This means that you don't have to pay premiums for mandatory basic insurance when serving for longer periods of time. You only need to send your health insurance provider proof of the length of your military service (submit a copy of your marching orders).

  • Maternity benefits

    The Health Insurance Act (KVG) regulates what benefits (also what maternity benefits) every health insurance provider has to include in mandatory basic insurance. The provisions for maternity benefits are set out in Article 29 of the Health Insurance Act as follows:

    Art. 29 Maternity
    1 Mandatory health insurance covers the costs of the same benefits as in the event of illness and special benefits for maternity.
    2 These benefits include:
    a. periodic check-ups carried out by a doctor or a midwife or prescribed by a doctor during and after pregnancy;
    b. delivery at home, in a hospital or in a day-care establishment as well as assistance at birth performed by a doctor or a midwife;
    c. necessary breastfeeding advice.

    Since all health insurance providers reimburse exactly the same benefits anyway, you can safely switch to a cheaper provider, even during pregnancy. That leaves you with more money to spend on yourself or on baby equipment. At comparis.ch, you can not only find information on premiums, but also on the customer satisfaction with the individual insurance providers.

    Tip: Often it is not obvious to the health insurance company whether expenses are due to a pregnancy. Therefore, ask your doctor to point this out on the relevant invoices.

    For supplemental insurance, the benefits and provisions set out in the insurance conditions apply. Please note that there is a qualifying period for maternity benefits after buying such insurance.

  • Which providers are included in the comparison? Where can I request quotes?

    The basic insurance comparison lists the premiums of all health insurance providers. You can see all premiums if you select the full view under "Display of results".

    You can request a quote online from those providers who offer this service in collaboration with comparis.ch. With some providers, this is not possible, for example, because they are not interested in acquiring new customers or use other sales channels or do not have the necessary technical infrastructure to enable online quotation and thus simplify their processes.

  • I have yet to buy Swiss insurance...

  • Administrative fees in case of separate basic and supplemental insurance

    You can buy basic insurance and supplemental insurance from different providers. Health insurers are no longer allowed to cancel supplemental insurance policies if holders switch to another provider for basic insurance. Some providers charge an additional fee for higher administrative expenses for supplemental insurance in such cases. If you do not pay this fee, you lose any discounts you may have (family discount, collective discount). Although this is admissible, only few providers do it.

    comparis.ch recommends choosing an affordable provider at least for basic insurance since the benefits are the same everywhere. Therefore the choice of basic insurance provider should mainly be determined by the premiums offered. At comparis.ch, you can find not only information on premiums, but also on the customer satisfaction with the individual insurance providers.

    Here's what to do if you wish to buy basic and supplemental health insurance from different providers:

    • Before sending your medical bills, make copies for future reference.
    • Send the bills to your provider of basic health insurance. Inform the insurer that you have supplemental health insurance from another provider. Your basic health insurer will check the bill and send you a settlement.
    • Then you can send this statement along with a copy of the medical bill to your provider of supplemental health insurance.

    Sometimes you may receive two original invoices to forward to each provider.

Ask a question

If you have not found an answer to your question on this page, you can ask it here.

• La prime affichée est fausse !

    L'écart avec votre prime d'assurance de base peut s'expliquer par :

    • une franchise différente,
    • une couverture accident différente
    • ou un modèle d'assurance différent (assurance de base standard, médecin de famille, HMO)
    • un rabais déjà déduit
    • le remboursement déjà déduit de la taxe d'incitation environnementale 

      Evidement, des erreurs sont toujours possibles. Si aucune de ces possibilités n'explique la divergence constatée, nous nous efforcerons bien volontiers d'en trouver la raison. Pour cela, nous aurons besoin de connaître :

       

      • votre domicile (code postal, commune),
      • votre année de naissance,
      • la caisse concernée,
      • votre modèle d'assurance,
      • la prime choisie,
      • avec ou sans couverture accidents
      • ainsi que la prime erronée

      Merci de votre collaboration !

  • Pourrais-je baisser ma franchise l'an prochain si j'ai été malade cette année ?

    Vous pouvez sans problème augmenter ou baisser votre franchise en fin d'année

    Baisser la franchise
    Vous avez jusqu'au 30 novembre ou jusqu'au dernier jour ouvrable de novembre (date de réception du courrier chez l'assureur) pour aviser par écrit votre caisse maladie que vous souhaitez baisser votre franchise.

    Augmenter la franchise
    Pour augmenter votre franchise, vous avez jusqu'au 31 décembre ou jusqu'au dernier jour ouvrable de décembre pour aviser votre caisse maladie.

     

  • Dois-je répondre à un questionnaire de santé pour souscrire une assurance de base ?

    Non ! Toutes les caisses ont l'obligation d'admettre les assurés sans réserves à l'assurance de base obligatoire, indépendamment de leur âge ou de leur état de santé. Ne remplissez donc un questionnaire de santé que si vous souhaitez souscrire une assurance complémentaire.

  • Dois-je répondre à un questionnaire de santé pour souscrire une complémentaire ?

    Oui. Pour souscrire une complémentaire, vous devez répondre à un questionnaire de santé. Le plus souvent, vous devez déclarer les maladies et les soins médicaux qui vous ont concernés au cours des cinq dernières années.

    Selon la caisse, le type et le nombre de questions peut varier. Il n'existe aucune recommandation concernant les caisses posant plutôt plus ou plutôt moins de questions de santé.

    En revanche, il est recommandé de remplir sa déclaration de santé de manière exacte, car la caisse peut appliquer des sanctions à posteriori. Concrètement, les sanctions peuvent aller de l'exclusion de la couverture pour une maladie particulière jusqu'à la résiliation. Lorsqu'un assureur émet une exclusion de couverture pour une maladie, cela veut dire que la complémentaire ne prendra pas en charge les soins dans le cas de cette maladie. Vous trouverez tous les détails dans les conditions d'assurance de la complémentaire.

  • Que garantit l'assurance de base pour les prestations à l'étranger ?

    Les prestations ne sont remboursées que s'il s'agit d'une urgence. Pour les soins reçus à l'étranger, l'assurance de base rembourse au maximum le double du coût du même traitement en Suisse. Cela suffit en Europe, mais dans certains pays d'outre-mer, en particulier aux États-Unis, au Canada, en Australie, en Nouvelle-Zélande et au Japon, une assurance supplémentaire est absolument nécessaire.

    Assurés en Suisse devant être soignés en urgence dans l'UE ou dans l'AELE

    Une assurance compétente sur place prend en charge les coûts selon les tarifs convenus ; les assurés payent la participation aux coûts en vigeur dans ce pays. L'assureur étranger compétent facture ces coûts à l'assurance maladie Suisse via un organisme central en Suisse.

    Depuis le 1er janvier 2006, tous les assurés suisses ont une carte d'assuré qui rend le formulaire E111 superflu. Sur cette carte, de la taille d'une carte de crédit, sont portées des indications administratives comme le nom, le sexe, la date de naissance, l'assureur et le numéro d'assuré.

    Astuce : au besoin, souscrire une assurance complémentaire appropriée ou une assurance voyage séparée.

  • Dois-je payer la participation aux coûts en cas de maternité ?

    Une grosssesse sans complications n'est pas soumise à la participation aux coûts. Les prestations prises en charge par l'assurance de base sont clairement énumérées dans la loi sur l'assurance maladie (LAMal) : les cours de préparation à l'accouchement, les visites de contrôle, l'accouchement et les conseils en allaitement.

    Jusqu'à présent, les femmes enceintes présentant des complications étaient soumises à la participation aux coûts, car les prestations étaient imputées à une maladie. Cela recouvre par exemple l'hospitalisation destinée à prévenir une naissance prématurée, le traitement d'un diabète gestationnel ou d'infections, ainsi que la prise en charge psychothérapeutique des dépressions post-natales.

    Depuis le 1er mars 2014, les femmes souffrant de complications entre la 13e semaine de grossesse et les 8 semaines suivant l'accouchement n'ont plus à payer de participation aux coûts.

  • Quels sont les délais de résiliation ?

    Assurance de base

    Pour résilier au 31 décembre, votre avis de résiliation doit parvenir en recommandé à votre caisse maladie le 30 novembre, ou le dernier jour ouvrable du mois de novembre, au plus tard. Ce délai de préavis vaut de manière générale, que la nouvelle prime ait augmenté, baissé ou qu'elle soit restée identique.

    Pour résilier au 30 juin, votre avis de résiliation doit parvenir en recommandé à votre caisse maladie le 31 mars, ou le dernier jour ouvrable du mois de mars, au plus tard. Cela n'est valable que pour les assurés ayant une franchise de 300 CHF (pour les enfants, 0 CHF) et disposant d'une assurance de base standard (les de modèles d'assurance alternatifs tels que HMO ou Telmed ne sont pas concernés). Dans tous les autres cas, le changement de caisse maladie n'est possible qu'en fin d'année civile.

    Cliquez ici pour accéder à la lettre type de résiliation.

    Assurance complémentaire

    Le montant de la prime augmente :

    La résiliation est soumise aux dispositions des conditions d'assurance (p. ex. 1 mois à partir de la notification ou en fin d'année civile).

    Le montant de la prime reste inchangé :

    Délais de préavis des assurances complémentaires


    Astuces :
    • Ne résiliez votre assurance complémentaire que lorsque la nouvelle caisse vous aura fourni une confirmation d'affiliation sans aucune réserve. Faute de quoi, il est recommandé de ne résilier que l'assurance de base.
    • Pour les demandes d'assurance complémentaire, les caisses maladie peuvent poser des réserves, limitées ou non dans le temps, si elles estiment que le demandeur présente un risque médical défavorable. Pour l'assuré, cela signifie que les traitements des maladies mentionnées dans les réserves ne seront pas couverts.
    • Répondez consciencieusement et de façon correcte à toutes les questions du formulaire de souscription.
    • Les caisses maladie ont le droit d'émettre des réserves à posteriori s'il s'avère que l'assuré a fourni des réponses inexactes ou que ses indications étaient incomplètes.
  • Quelles sont les garanties proposées par les caisses ?

    Les garanties prévues par l'assurance de base sont réglementées par la loi et sont donc les mêmes quelle que soit la caisse maladie. Vous trouverez ici un aperçu des garanties. A côté des primes, vous trouverez également sur comparis.ch des indications sur la satisfaction client, caisse par caisse.

    A l'inverse de l'assurance de base, les garanties proposées dans le cadre des assurances complémentaires sont différentes selon les caisses.

  • Ai-je besoin d'une assurance maladie pendant mon service militaire ?

    Cela dépend de la durée de votre service militaire.
    L'alinéa 4 de l'article 3 de la loi fédérale sur l'assurance maladie (LAMal) précise que « l'obligation de s'assurer est suspendue pour les personnes assujetties pendant plus de 60 jours consécutifs à la loi fédérale du 19 juin 1992 sur l'assurance militaire (LAM) ». Cela signifie que vous ne devez pas payer les primes de votre assurance de base si votre service excède cette durée. Pour cela, il vous suffit de fournir à votre caisse maladie une attestation précisant la durée de votre service militaire (copie de l'ordre de marche).

  • Quelles prestations sont prises en charge en cas de maternité ?

    La loi sur l'assurance maladie énumère les prestations (y compris les prestations maternité) que les caisses ont l'obligation de rembourser dans le cadre de l'assurance de base. Les prestations maternité sont régies par l'article 29 de la loi sur l'assurance maladie :

    Article 29 Maternité
    1 L'assurance obligatoire des soins prend en charge, en plus des coûts des mêmes prestations que pour la maladie, ceux des prestations spécifiques de maternité.
    2 Ces prestations comprennent :
    a. les examens de contrôle, effectués par un médecin ou une sage-femme ou prescrits par un médecin, pendant et après la grossesse ;
    b. l'accouchement à domicile, dans un hôpital ou dans une institution de soins semi-hospitaliers ainsi que l'assistance d'un médecin ou d'une sage-femme ;
    c. les conseils nécessaires en cas d'allaitement.

    Puisque que toutes les caisses maladie offrent exactement les mêmes garanties, vous pouvez changer pour une caisse moins chère en toute quiétude, même pendant votre grossesse. Vous disposerez ainsi de plus d'argent pour vous et votre bébé. Outre les primes, vous trouverez également sur comparis.ch des indications sur la satisfaction client, caisse par caisse.

    Astuce : pour une caisse maladie, il n'est pas toujours évident de savoir si les factures envoyées pour remboursement relèvent des prestations maternité ou pas. Vous pouvez donc demander à votre médecin d'annoter ses factures en conséquence.

    Pour ce qui est des assurances complémentaires, il faut se reporter aux prestations et dispositions figurant dans les conditions générales d'assurance. Attention : après la souscription de l'assurance complémentaire, un délai de carence court pour les prestations maternité.

  • Quelles caisses maladie figurent dans le comparatif ? Où peut-on demander des offres ?

    Dans le comparatif de l'assurance de base figurent les primes de toutes les caisses maladie. Sur la page des résultats, vous pourrez visualiser toutes les primes en cliquant sur « Vue détaillée ».

    Vous pouvez demander une offre en ligne à toutes les caisses maladie collaborant avec comparis.ch. Certaines caisses n'offrent pas cette possibilité, par exemple parce qu'elles ne souhaitent pas se développer, qu'elles privilégient d'autres canaux de distribution ou qu'elles ne disposent pas des infrastructures techniques nécessaires pour profiter de la simplification des démarches via les offres en ligne.

  • Je dois maintenant me faire assurer en Suisse. Comment faire ?

  • Dois-je payer un supplément si je contracte l'assurance de base et la complémentaire auprès de caisses différentes ?

    L'assurance de base et l'assurance complémentaire peuvent être contractées auprès de caisses différentes. Les assureurs n'ont plus le droit de résilier les assurances complémentaires quand leurs assurés se sont affiliés auprès d'une autre caisse pour l'assurance de base. Toutefois, certaines caisses facturent dans ce cas un supplément pour frais administratifs ou suppriment un rabais (rabais familial, rabais collectif). Elles en ont le droit mais en pratique, peu le font.

    Nous recommandons de choisir une caisse peu chère au moins pour l'assurance de base, où les prestations sont partout les mêmes. Concernant l'assurance de base, le critère décisif pour choisir une caisse maladie devrait donc surtout être le montant des primes. A côté des primes, vous trouverez également sur comparis.ch des indications sur la satisfaction client, caisse par caisse.

    Si vous avez souscrit votre assurance de base et vos complémentaires auprès de caisses différentes, voilà comment procéder :

    • Avant d'envoyer vos factures de médecin, faites-en des copies et mettez-les dans vos dossiers.
    • Envoyez vos factures à la caisse où vous avez votre assurance de base. Indiquez à cette caisse que vous avez vos assurances complémentaires auprès d'une autre caisse. Cette première caisse vérifiera vos factures et vous enverra un décompte.
    • Vous pouvez transmettre le décompte avec une copie de la facture du médecin à la caisse auprès de laquelle vous avez vos assurances complémentaires.

    Dans certains cas, vous recevrez deux factures originales que vous pourrez transmettre aux caisses concernées.

Posez votre question

Si vous ne trouvez pas la réponse à votre question sur cette page, posez-la ici.