Property

Flat handover


 

Rental handover

 

Per legislation, a rental unit is to be handed over on the last day of the rental period. However, many rental contract forms contain special annotations regarding the handover appointment. In any case, check the rental contract for the condition in which you must hand over the flat. Report early any possible damage to the management and your liability insurance.

If you employ a cleaning company to take care of the final cleaning, be sure to obtain a handover guarantee. In case deficiencies with the cleaning are identified during the handover, you will not have to pay for additional cleaning.

To be on the safe side, note the meter readings for gas, electricity, heating and hot water. This information can help in the case of disagreements.

By all means, turn over the key only after all open issues with the old flat have been settled. Once the handover has taken place, you no longer have the right to enter the flat.

At the handover, the landlord must immediately report to you any deficiencies for which you are responsible. No obligation exists to sign the handover record. In case you are not in agreement with the contents of the record, you should decline to sign it.

If the landlord requests that you pay for a portion of worn down furnishings, he is obligated to provide the age of the furnishings in question. On the website of the Tenants' Association of German-Speaking Switzerland (in German) you can find a list of the average life expectancy of furnishings, flooring and wallpaper.

The landlord is also responsible for proving in what condition he handed over the rental unit, that is, if a deficiency was already present when possession was taken over. Therefore it is exceedingly important to document all deficiencies in writing when moving in. In so doing, you are better prepared for any eventual disagreements.

 

Handover of a new flat

 

When taking over a new flat, create a check-in list in which all flaws and defects are listed in detail. Also indicate when these defects will be fixed. In this way you can protect yourself from being charged for damages that were caused by the previous renter. In case a check-out list had been created at the termination of the preceding rental lease, the landlord must make this available to the new tenant if requested.

You can find an appropriate turn-over sheet (in German) on the website of the Tenants' Association of German-Speaking Switzerland.

The landlord must take care of larger defects. Agree in writing with the landlord by what date this will be resolved. Insist that smaller defects, such as a broken electrical outlet, are fixed by your move-in date.

In case additional defects become apparent only later, you can report these by registered mail to the landlord within a certain time period, which is usually between 10 and 30 days depending on the lease agreement.

Immobilier

Remise d'un logement


Remise du logement au bailleur

De par la loi, le logement en location doit être rendu le dernier jour du délai de résiliation. Par contre, beaucoup de contrats de location contiennent des annotations particulières concernant le délai de remise. Il est conseillé de consulter le contrat de location afin de savoir exactement dans quel état le logement doit être remis au bailleur. Si vous constatez des dommage, indiquez-le au plus vite au bailleur ou à l'assurance responsabilité civile.

Si vous engagez une entreprise de nettoyage, demandez une garantie d'exécution. Ainsi, si l'état du logement laisse toujours à désirer après le nettoyage, vous ne devrez pas payer de nettoyage supplémentaire.

Notez le niveau du compteur de gaz, d'électricité, de chauffage et d'eau chaude. Ainsi, vous serez bien documenté en cas de démêlés avec la gérance.

Ne rendez pas les clés avant que tout soit réglé dans l'ancien logement, car après la remise vous n'aurez plus le droit d'y accéder.

Le bailleur est tenu de vous informer immédiatement à la remise du logement des dommages éventuels qui vous sont imputables. Vous n'êtes pas obligé de signer l'état des lieux. Si vous n'êtes pas d'accord avec son contenu, refusez de signer.

Si le bailleur demande une participation aux frais de réparation, il est tenu de fournir des preuves quant à l'année de création de l'équipement en question. L'Association suisse des locataires propose une liste mentionnant la durée de vie moyenne du mobilier, des sols et des tapisseries (« Tabelle d'amortissement commune aux associations de bailleurs et de locataires »).

Le bailleur est également obligé de prouver l'état dans lequel il vous a remis le logement en location au début du bail, c'est-à-dire si les défauts en question existaient déjà lorsque vous avez emménagé. Partant, il est très important de contrôler le logement avant d'emménager et de faire une liste écrite des vices détectés. Ainsi, vous pourrez mieux faire face à d'éventuels désaccords lors de la remise du logement.

Etat des lieux du nouveau logement

Au moment de l'état des lieux de votre nouveau logement, prenez soin de noter tous les défauts de manière détaillée. Inscrivez également la date ainsi que la nature des réparations prévues. Ainsi, vous évitez de devoir payer des frais de réparation pour des dommages causés par le locataire précédent. Le bailleur est tenu de présenter l'état des lieux de sortie établi par le locataire précédent, le cas échéant, sur demande des nouveaux locataires.

Vous trouverez un exemple d'état des lieux d'entrée sur le site de l'Association suisse des locataires pour la Suisse-alémanique (« Schweizerischer Mieterverband »).

Le bailleur doit réparer les défauts graves et d'importance moyenne. Indiquez par écrit avec le bailleur le délai dans lequel les réparations devront être effectuées. Insistez pour que les défauts mineurs, comme p. ex. une prise électrique endommagée, soient déjà réparés avant l'emménagement.

Si des défauts supplémentaires sont repérés ultérieurement, vous pouvez les indiquer par écrit au bailleur en respectant un certain délai (entre 10 et 30 jours, selon le contrat).