Contents & personal liability

Basic characteristics of contents insurance products


Basic principle

Contents insurance covers damage to the policyholder's personal property in his/her household. Basic insurance provides protection against damage caused by fire, natural hazards, water and theft at home. Additional insurance can be bought for glass breakage and simple theft away from home (outside the policyholder's dwelling).

Fire
Cover includes damage due to fire (also called conflagration), smoke, lightning, explosions, implosions, meteorites as well as damage caused by a crash or forced landing of aircraft or spacecraft or falling parts thereof.

Natural hazards
Cover includes damage due to flooding, inundation, storms, hailstorms, avalanches, snow pressure, rockfall, rockslides, and landslides. The deductible for these types of damage is usually 500 francs per incident.

Water
Cover includes damage caused by water, snow, rainwater, meltwater, groundwater and similar liquids. These liquids may originate from pipes, machines, installations, fishtanks, waterbeds, ornamental fountains, outdoor drains, gutters or backwater from the drainage system and cause damage.

The insurance cover does not include damage caused by water entering through open skylights or windows, emergency roofs or work-related openings in the roof.

Theft
Cover includes damage due to burglary, robbery, simple theft at home and attempted theft. Insurance against simple theft away from home can be taken out as an endorsement.

Glass breakage
Generally, additional insurance against breakage can be bought on request for building and furniture glass.

  • Tenants should only buy insurance for their own property. As a tenant, you therefore do not need to take out building glass insurance. This also applies to possible endorsements for sinks, wash basins, toilet bowls, bidets, ceramic hobs and kitchen worktops made of natural or artificial stone.
  • House owners, on the other hand, own the building glass and should include this coverage as well. More details can be found on the website, in the General Conditions of Insurance or in the customer information of the individual insurance companies.

Insurance does not cover hand mirrors, optical glasses, glass dishes, glass figurines, hollow glassware (except fish tanks and glass blocks), screens and displays of any kind, light fittings, light bulbs, fluorescent lamps and neon lamps.

Limitations of benefits
The limitations of benefits of the basic insurance often vary depending on the insurer. Check the General Conditions of Insurance, the customer information and your policy.

Généralités sur les produits d´assurance ménage


Principe

L'assurance ménage couvre les dommages causés aux effets personnels du preneur d'assurance dans son ménage. La couverture de base couvre les dommages dus à un incendie, aux évènements naturels, aux dégâts d'eau et au vol au domicile. Il est également possible d'inclure le bris de glace et le vol simple à l'extérieur (vol hors du domicile).

Incendie
Sont couverts les dommages causés par le feu, la fumée, la foudre, l'explosion ou l'implosion, la chute de météorites et par l'écrasement ou l'atterrissage d'urgence d'aéronefs et de véhicules spatiaux ou de parties qui s'en détachent.

Évènements naturels
Sont couverts les dommages causés par les hautes eaux, inondations, tempêtes, avalanches et par la grêle, la pression de la neige, l'éboulement de rochers, les chutes de pierre ainsi que les glissements de terrain. Dans ces cas, la franchise est généralement de 500 francs par évènement.

Dégâts d'eau
Sont couverts les dommages causés par l'eau, la neige, les eaux pluviales, la fonte des neiges, les eaux souterraines et autres liquides de ce genre. Ces liquides peuvent s'écouler de conduites d'eau, d'appareils, d'installations, d'aquariums, de lits d'eau, de fontaines d'ornement, de tuyaux d'écoulement extérieurs, de gouttières ou de refoulements des eaux de canalisations et causer des dommages.

Ne sont pas assurés les dommages causés par l'eau provenant de lucarnes ou de fenêtres ouvertes, de toits de fortune ou d'ouvertures dans le toit ou par des travaux sur la toiture.

Vol
Sont assurés les dommages causés par effraction, détroussement, vol simple au domicile ou par tentative de vol. Il est également possible de souscrire une couverture complémentaire pour le vol simple à l'extérieur (hors du domicile).

Bris de glace
En règle générale, il est possible de souscrire en plus une couverture contre le bris du vitrage du bâtiment et du mobilier.

  • Les locataires n'ont besoin d'assurer que ce qui leur appartient. Par conséquent, il n'est pas utile pour eux de contracter une assurance vitrage du bâtiment. Cela concerne aussi les assurances complémentaires pour lavabos, éviers, cuvettes de WC, bidets, plans de cuisson en vitrocéramique et plans de travail en pierre naturelle ou artificielle.
  • Les propriétaires immobiliers, en revanche, ont la propriété des glaces du bâtiment et ont donc avantage à inclure cette couverture. Vous trouverez tous les détails à ce sujet sur le site Internet, dans les Conditions générales d'assurance ou les informations client de la compagnie d'assurance.

Ne peuvent être assurés les miroirs à main, verres optiques, vaisselle en verre, figurines en verre, verres creux (à l'exception des aquariums et briques de verre), écrans de tout type, luminaires, ampoules, tubes fluorescents et néons.

Limitations des prestations
Dans l'assurance de base, les limitations des prestations varient souvent d'une compagnie à l'autre. Lisez les Conditions générales d'assurance, les informations client et votre police.

 

Retour