Contents and personal liability

Pickpocketing – what to do if your wallet gets stolen

INFORMATION
|
Even in Swiss cities, it is possible to fall prey to pickpockets. Be especially vigilant in large crowds. Source: iStock / sestovic

It can happen anywhere – in busy shopping streets, on the tram or train, or when you're out sightseeing. Pickpocketing is not a rare phenomenon, even in Switzerland. If your wallet gets stolen, you need to act quickly. But what is the right thing to do? Comparis has put together a checklist for precisely this emergency.

Block your debit and credit cards

Make sure you block all your bank and credit cards before the thieves have chance to raid your bank account. To do this, you need to call your bank or credit card company. The number to call is stated on the card itself, so it's a good idea to make a note of it or store it on your mobile phone as soon as you receive your card.

Note that blocking a Maestro card is not usually free of charge. The fees charged by Swiss banks can often vary enormously. You may have to pay over 50 francs. In some cases, you may also be required to pay up to 40 francs for a replacement card. As for credit cards, there is usually no charge for blocking them, but you will need to pay for a replacement card.

Notify the police

You are advised to file a report with the police immediately after the theft. Ideally, this should be done at the police station closest to the scene of the crime. If you do not realize that your wallet has been stolen before you get home, you may, of course, also go to your local police station. You need to file the report so that you can apply for replacements of your official documents.

Identity card

When you report the theft to the police, your ID card is officially blocked and recorded in a police file. The card is invalidated and may no longer be used even if it is found again. New identity cards cost 70 francs for adults and 65 francs for children, including postage.

Driving licence 

You should report the loss of your driving licence as well. You can apply for a replacement from your local Road Traffic Office. The cost varies from 15 to 70 francs depending on the canton.

Public transport tickets and passes

Replacing the GA or the half-fare travelcard costs 30 francs each. The same amount is charged for point-to-point travel passes, e.g. for S-Bahn trains, tram or bus. Don't forget that the GA cannot be replaced a second time. You can no longer terminate it before it expires and request a refund of the remaining amount either.

Other cards

You are advised to make a list of any other cards and documents that were also in your wallet. These may include loyalty or reward cards, for instance, which can usually be replaced for free.

Cards that also function as credit cards should likewise be blocked as quickly as possible. Some providers may charge for replacements. For example, students may have to pay up to 25 francs to replace their student card.

Report the theft to your insurance provider

In case of simple theft, e.g. theft by trickery or pickpocketing, items with a monetary value (cash, loyalty/reward cards, season tickets, subscriptions) are not covered. What is covered up to a specified amount minus the deductible, however, is the wallet itself and the costs incurred for replacing or blocking documents and cards. 

In case of robbery, i.e. if violence is used or threatened, items with a monetary value, the wallet and the costs incurred due to the theft are covered. However, this amount is usually limited to a certain percentage of the total sum insured by the contents insurance policy or to a maximum amount.

In conclusion, we recommend that you report the theft to your contents insurance provider in any case. In order for the insurance to pay for the damage, your policy must include cover for simple theft away from home. What you cannot avoid is paying the deductible, which is usually 200 francs.

As you can see, there are quite a few things to sort out in order to limit the damage caused by a theft. One thing is certain: in addition to the loss of cash, you have considerable costs to contend with. According to calculations by Comparis, you can expect to face costs of over 350 francs for the theft of a wallet with average contents.

To prevent your pocket being picked, Comparis has put together some tips for you:

How to beat pickpockets

  • Never leave your purse or bag unattended.
  • Wear your purse/bag at the front if possible (this also applies to rucksacks, for instance, if you're in a crowd).
  • Only have as much cash on you as necessary.
  • Always carry some small change in your pockets to avoid having to take out your wallet all the time.
  • Don't put your wallet in an outside pocket, but stow it away instead.
  • Don’t make it obvious where you carry your wallet.
  • Make sure that all the pockets of your purse or bag are fastened.
  • Don't fall for attempts to distract you.

 

These articles might also interest you:

Lost key – who foots the bill?
Summer storms and a broken TV: What does contents insurance cover?

Assurance ménage et RC

Pickpockets : quand le porte-monnaie a disparu

INFO
|
Les grandes villes suisses n’échappent pas aux pickpockets. Gare aux voleurs, particulièrement dans la foule ! Photo : iStock / sestovic

On est jamais à l’abri : dans la rue commerciale bondée, dans le tram ou le train, ou bien lors d’une visite touristique. Il n’est pas rare que des pickpockets passent à l'acte – un phénomène auquel la Suisse n’échappe pas. Si vous vous êtes fait dérober votre porte-monnaie, agissez rapidement. Mais comment réagir au mieux à pareille situation ? Comparis a constitué une check-list pour vous en cas d’urgence.

Bloquer les cartes bancaires et les cartes de crédit

Pour ne pas laisser le temps aux voleurs de vider votre compte en banque, commencez par faire immédiatement bloquer toutes vos cartes bancaires et vos cartes de crédit. À cette fin, appelez la banque ou l’établissement de crédit responsable de la carte. Le numéro d’urgence pour le blocage se trouve généralement sur la carte en question. D’où l’utilité de le noter à part ou de l’enregistrer sur le mobile dès réception de la carte.

Attention : le blocage d’une carte Maestro est rarement gratuit. En Suisse, les frais peuvent varier fortement d’une banque à l’autre. Il peut parfois vous en coûter plus de 50 francs. De même, la carte de remplacement peut valoir jusqu’à 40 francs. Si le blocage d’une carte de crédit est souvent gratuit, la carte de remplacement est, elle, payante.

Déclarer le vol à la police

Il est conseillé de faire établir un avis de perte auprès de la police directement après le vol. Idéalement, rendez-vous au poste de police le plus proche. Si vous ne remarquez le vol qu’une fois arrivé chez vous, vous pouvez bien sûr vous rendre au poste de police de votre domicile. La déclaration du vol est nécessaire pour demander de nouveaux documents officiels.

Carte d'identité

Dès que vous annoncez le vol de votre carte d’identité à la police, la carte est immédiatement placée sur la liste de recherche et bloquée. Ce document est désormais invalide et, même si vous le retrouvez, il ne pourra plus être utilisé. Une nouvelle carte d’identité coûte 70 francs pour un adulte et 65 francs pour un enfant, frais de port compris.

Permis de conduire 

Là aussi, le mieux est de faire établir un avis de perte auprès de la police. Pour demander un nouveau permis de conduire, on s’adressera au service des automobiles compétent pour votre lieur de domicile. En fonction du canton, les coûts varient entre 15 et 70 francs.

Billets et abonnements de transports publics

Le remplacement de l’abonnement général (AG) ou de l’abonnement demi-tarif coûte 30 francs. Le tarif est le même pour l’abonnement de parcours, par exemple pour le RER ou le tram et le bus. Attention toutefois, l’AG ne peut être remplacé qu’une seule fois. De plus, la résiliation anticipée avec le remboursement de la somme restante ne sera plus possible.

Autres cartes

Après être passé au poste de police, il est utile d’établir une liste des cartes et des documents qui se trouvaient dans votre porte-monnaie. Cela peut, par exemple, aussi inclure des cartes de fidélité dont le remplacement est généralement gratuit.

Si ces cartes ont également une fonction carte de crédit, il faut également les bloquer au plus vite. Certains prestataires facturent des frais pour leur remplacement. Ainsi, les étudiants doivent escompter des frais jusqu’à 25 francs pour le remplacement de leur carte d’étudiant.

Annoncer le vol à l’assurance

En cas de vol simple, par exemple lors d’un vol à l’astuce ou à la tire, les valeurs numéraires (espèces, cartes de fidélité, abonnements, etc.) ne sont pas couvertes. En revanche, les frais pour le porte-monnaie dérobé et pour refaire les documents et cartes ainsi que les frais de blocage sont assurés – jusqu’à un certain montant, après déduction de la franchise. 

En cas de vol par brigandage, à savoir lors d'usage ou de menace de violence, les valeurs monétaires ou le porte-monnaie ainsi que les frais résultant du vol sont assurés. Mais souvent, la somme est limitée à une certaine part de la somme d'assurance ménage ou à un montant plafonné.

Dans tous les cas, annoncez le vol à votre assurance ménage. Toutefois, pour que celle-ci couvre le dommage, vous devez avoir conclu l’option «vol simple à l’extérieur». Dans tous les cas, la franchise sera à votre charge. Elle s’élève généralement à 200 francs.

Pour limiter les dégâts, la victime d’un vol doit donc penser à certains points. Une chose est sûre : en plus de la perte des valeurs numéraires, la victime doit assumer des coûts élevés. Pour un porte-monnaie au contenu ordinaire, ces frais peuvent très vite dépasser 350 francs comme le montre le calcul de comparis.ch.

Comme il vaut mieux prévenir que guérir, Comparis a rassemblé quelques conseils pour vous :

Conseils et astuces contre les pickpockets

  • Ne laissez pas votre sac sans surveillance.
  • Au mieux, portez votre sac devant vous, près du corps (dans la foule, aussi pour un sac à dos, p. ex.).
  • N’emportez pas plus d’espèces avec vous que nécessaire.
  • Ayez un peu de monnaie sur vous dans vos poches afin de ne pas avoir à sortir votre porte-monnaie trop souvent.
  • Ne conservez pas votre porte-monnaie dans une poche extérieure, mais bien rangé.
  • Soyez discrets quant à l’emplacement de votre porte-monnaie.
  • Veillez à ce que toutes les poches de votre sac soient bien fermées.
  • Ne vous laissez pas distraire par des tentatives de diversion.

 

Cet article pourrait également vous intéresser :

Orages d’été et téléviseurs endommagés : que rembourse l’assurance ménage ?