Car insurance

Road Traffic Office – deadlines & documents


Trouble-free paperwork – what drivers need to know

What do you require from the Road Traffic Office?

 

 

I wish to contact the Road Traffic Office – Do I have to go there in person?

No need for stress due to opening hours: in many cantons, such as Zurich, you can simply send the documents by post, for example when registering a car or applying for a driving licence. If you are not required to send the original document, you can sometimes also scan it in and send it by e-mail.

List of addresses and contact information of all Road Traffic Offices (not available in English)

The date of a technical inspection can be requested or changed online.

 

I need to report a change of vehicle or a change of ownership – What should I watch out for?

If you are planning to change vehicles, i.e. replace your current vehicle with another one, the Road Traffic Office requires the following documents:
Your new, officially inspected car may temporarily be used in traffic with your old number plates starting from the date of dispatch by post. For this, you need a temporary authorisation for use in traffic, which is valid until delivery of the new vehicle registration certificate, but no longer than 30 days, and must be kept in the vehicle at all times.

 

On the form, you certify as the owner of the car that you have already taken out motor vehicle liability insurance and submitted all the necessary documents to the Road Traffic Office. You will need to have these documents stamped by your garage or car insurance company beforehand.

If you change vehicles, you can cancel your current policy and switch to a new insurance. This pays off as you can save several hundred francs. Note: You have to change your insurance before registering a new car because you need to request the proof of insurance for the Road Traffic Office from your new insurance company, not the old one.


5 tips to get cheap car insurance

 

I want to register a car – What documents do I need?

In order to obtain a vehicle registration certificate and number plates, you have to hand in the following:

  • Registration form: this can be downloaded from the website of your cantonal office.
  • Electronic proof of insurance, which proves that you have bought motor vehicle liability insurance:  your insurance company will electronically submit this to the Road Traffic Office. The proof of insurance must be valid as of the date of registration.  Note: you have 30 days to do this.
  • If it is a new car: the inspection report form 13.20 A (Prüfungsbericht / rapport d'expertise), which you can get from your car dealer.
  • If it is a used car: original vehicle registration certificate.
  • Certificate of residence if you have moved to another canton.
  • Foreigners need to present their residence permit when taking out their first Swiss number plate.
  • For companies, an excerpt from the Commercial Register is required.

Don’t forget: first buy insurance for your car – then go to the Road Traffic Office. You do not have insurance yet? Make an online comparison of car insurance now and save money!

 

I was summoned for a technical inspection – How often do I have to go there?

The authorities regularly inspect the road (or water) safety of cars, motorcycles, buses, trucks and ships. Owners therefore have to present their vehicle for inspection (MFK in German) upon request.

  • The first inspection must be made four years after the vehicle's first registration.
  • The second inspection is due three years later.
  • After that, your car has to be inspected every two years.

 

These intervals continue to apply after a change of ownership.

When importing cars, this official technical inspection must be carried out prior to registration, irrespective of whether it is a new car that has just been bought or an older vehicle brought along by immigrants.

 

I wish to apply for transferable number plates – How does it work?

If you wish to apply for transferable number plates for several vehicles, you should explicitly point out that you are applying for transferable number plates when ordering the electronic proof of insurance as this needs to be stated in there.

You further need:

  • Registration form
  • Original vehicle registration certificate for the vehicle you wish to register or the inspection report 13.20 A (Prüfungsbericht / rapport d'expertise)

 

Note: transferable number plates are only available for vehicles of the same category; for example for two motorcycles, two cars or two commercial vehicles. In the case of vintage cars, it is often even possible to register more than two vehicles under the same number.

 

My vehicle registration certificate has been lost or stolen – What do I have to do?

As the owner of the car, you first need to fill in a notice of loss form. This can be downloaded from the website of the Road Traffic Office in charge. You can then either personally collect a replacement certificate upon presentation of an identity card or the office will send it to you directly by mail.

In case of theft, please file a police report!

 

I want to invalidate a vehicle registration certificate – How does it work?

Here also applies: the certificate can either be handed in at the counter or sent by mail. If you send it by mail, you should include a note saying «annullieren» (invalidate). The authority will return the invalidated document to the owner. If no new vehicle is registered within 14 days, the old number plates must be handed over either at the Road Traffic Office or at a post-office counter.

 

I require a day permit and temporary number plates – What do I need for this?

For transfer trips you need a day permit and temporary number plates. These are valid for up to 96 hours. 

  • Application form
  • Vehicle registration certificate or inspection report (Prüfungsbericht / rapport d'expertise)
  • ID, passport or residence permit
  • If it is a company car: Extract from the Trade Register
  • Cash, Maestro card, Postcard or credit card

Persons from different cantons usually need to make a safety deposit. In Lucerne, for example, a deposit of 500 francs is required. Cars with temporary number plates only have liability insurance. This means that damage under casco insurance is not covered.

Upon expiry of the validity period, you need to return the plates and permit to the Road Traffic Office.

 

I am looking for plates with a special number – Where can I get this?

If you wish to get a specific number plate, you can generally do this at the counter of the Road Traffic Office only. It is usually not possible to make a reservation by phone or on the Internet. The extra fee must be paid in cash or by card.

The smaller the plate number, the deeper owners have to dig into their pockets. In the canton of Lucerne, for example, the fees are clearly graded. If you wish for plates with a number between 1 and 99, you must pay 9000 francs.

In many other cantons such as Zurich, St. Gallen or Aargau, popular numbers are sold by auction, sometimes at online auctions.

 

I want to take out car insurance – By when do I have to do this?

In order for the process to run smoothly, owners should keep in mind that they need to have motor vehicle insurance before going to the authorities. Your insurance company will electronically send the proof of insurance to the Road Traffic Office, so you will not have to take care of that.

We therefore advise you to compare car insurance early. You can save money by making a free online comparison. Your personal quotes will be sent to you by e-mail right away.

Assurance automobile

Service des automobiles – infos, délais, pièces à fournir


Pour une correspondance sans accrocs : l'essentiel à l'intention des automobilistes

Quelles démarches souhaitez-vous entreprendre auprès du service des automobiles ?

Contact avec le service des automobiles : dois-je me présenter en personne ?

Pas de panique pour les horaires d'ouverture : dans bon nombre de cantons, il suffit d'envoyer les pièces à fournir par la poste, p. ex. pour demander l'immatriculation d'un véhicule ou le permis de circulation. Par endroits, vous pouvez même scanner les documents qui n'ont pas besoin d'être produits en exemplaire original et les envoyer par e-mail.

Liste des adresses et coordonnées de tous les services des automobiles

Vous pouvez demander ou modifier un rendez-vous pour le contrôle technique sur Internet.

 

Changement de véhicule ou de son détenteur : quelles obligations respecter ?

Vous projetez de changer de véhicule, de remplacer votre ancien modèle par un nouveau. Dans ce cas, vous devrez fournir les pièces suivantes :
À compter de la date d'envoi par la poste, la nouvelle voiture, déjà présentée à l'administration, peut circuler à titre provisoire avec l'ancienne plaque d'immatriculation. Dans ce cas, en attendant de recevoir le nouveau permis de circulation, vous devez être en possession, dans le véhicule, d'une autorisation provisoire de circuler, valable 30 jours maximum.

 

Sur le formulaire, vous attestez, en qualité de détenteur du véhicule, que vous avez bien conclu une assurance responsabilité civile et envoyé tous les formulaires dûment complétés au service des automobiles. Ces documents doivent être munis du tampon du garage ou de l'assureur.

Un changement de véhicule est aussi l'occasion de résilier votre assurance actuelle et de choisir un autre assureur. Ce choix s'avère souvent payant, car ce sont plusieurs centaines de francs que vous pouvez ainsi économiser. Attention : vous devez changer d'assurance avant l'immatriculation de votre nouvelle voiture. L'attestation d'assurance à fournir est à demander au nouvel assureur et non à l'ancien.


Comparez les assurances automobiles en ligne et payez moins !

5 conseils pratiques pour une assurance automobile moins chère

 

Immatriculer un véhicule : quelles sont les pièces à fournir ?

Afin d'obtenir un permis de circulation et une plaque d'immatriculation, vous devez présenter les documents suivants :

  • Formulaire de demande : à télécharger sur le site Web du service cantonal compétent.
  • Attestation d'assurance électronique pour la police d'assurance responsabilité civile souscrite :  votre assureur transmet l'attestation sous forme électronique au service des automobiles. Ce justificatif doit être valide le jour de l'immatriculation.  Attention : vous devez respecter un délai de 30 jours maximum.
  • Véhicules neufs : rapport d'expertise – formulaire 13.20 A. À demander à votre concessionnaire automobile.
  • Véhicules d'occasion : permis de circulation (original).
  • Attestation de domicile, si vous avez changé de canton de résidence.
  • Les ressortissants étrangers doivent présenter leur permis de séjour pour leur première demande de plaque d'immatriculation.
  • Les entreprises doivent quant à elles fournir un extrait du registre du commerce.

Nota : souscrivez d'abord une assurance automobile et déposez ensuite votre demande au service des automobiles. Votre véhicule n'est pas encore assuré ? Comparez les assurances en ligne et payez moins.

 

Contrôle technique d'un véhicule : à quel moment ?

Les autorités contrôlent régulièrement la sécurité des véhicules en circulation, qu'il s'agisse de voitures, motos, bus, camions ou bateaux. Les détenteurs ont donc l'obligation de présenter leur véhicule à une visite technique sur convocation.

  • Le premier contrôle doit être effectué quatre ans après la mise en circulation.
  • Le deuxième contrôle est à passer trois ans plus tard.
  • Ensuite, le contrôle est obligatoire tous les deux ans.

 

Ces délais ne changent pas en cas de changement de détenteur du véhicule.

Lors de l'importation d'une voiture, achetée neuve ou amenée, avec une certaine ancienneté, à l'arrivée en Suisse de son détenteur, la visite technique s'impose avant l'immatriculation.

 

Demande de plaques interchangeables : comment ça marche ?

En cas de demande de plaques interchangeables pour plusieurs véhicules, veillez à l'indiquer explicitement lors de votre demande d'attestation d'assurance électronique. En effet, cela doit être inscrit sur l'attestation.

Autres pièces à fournir :

  • Formulaire de demande
  • Permis de circulation (original) du véhicule à immatriculer ou rapport d'expertise (formulaire 13.20 A)

 

Attention : une demande de plaques interchangeables ne peut être effectuée que pour des véhicules de même catégorie, p. ex. pour deux motos, deux voitures de tourisme ou deux véhicules utilitaires. Pour les véhicules vétérans, il est même souvent possible d'immatriculer plus de deux véhicules sous le même numéro.

 

Perte ou vol du permis de circulation : que faire ?

En tant que détenteur du véhicule, commencez par renseigner le formulaire d'avis de perte, que vous pouvez télécharger sur le site Web de votre service des automobiles. Le permis de remplacement peut alors être retiré en personne sur présentation d'une pièce d'identité ou être envoyé au détenteur par l'administration, directement par la poste.

En cas de vol : le signaler à la police !

Annulation du permis de circulation : comment ça marche ?

Là aussi, le permis peut être déposé en personne au guichet ou être envoyé par la poste. Dans ce dernier cas, veuillez indiquer « pour annulation » sur une note séparée. L'administration retournera alors le permis annulé au détenteur du véhicule. Si vous n'immatriculez aucun nouveau véhicule dans un délai de 14 jours, vous devez rendre les anciennes plaques d'immatriculation, soit au service des automobiles, soit à un guichet de poste.

 

Demande de plaque et de permis à court terme : de quoi ai-je besoin ?

Lors d'une course de transfert, vous avez besoin d'un permis et de plaques à court terme, valables 96 heures maximum. 

  • Formulaire de demande
  • Permis de circulation ou rapport d'expertise
  • Carte d'identité, passeport ou permis de séjour
  • Pour les véhicules d'entreprise : extrait du registre du commerce
  • Espèces, carte Maestro, carte Postfinance ou carte de crédit

Pour les personnes résidant en dehors du canton, une caution est souvent demandée. À Lucerne, par exemple, elle est de 500 CHF. Les véhicules portant une plaque à court terme ne sont assurés qu'en responsabilité civile. Les dommages relevant de l'assurance casco ne sont donc pas couverts.

Une fois le délai écoulé, vous devez rendre les plaques et le permis au service des automobiles.

 

Numéro d'immatriculation personnel : comment obtenir mon numéro fétiche ?

Les propriétaires désirant un numéro particulier pour leur voiture doivent généralement en faire la demande au guichet. Il n'est pas possible d'effectuer des réservations par téléphone ou sur Internet. Les frais supplémentaires sont à régler en espèces ou par carte.

Plus le numéro d'immatriculation choisi est bas, moins il sera cher. Un exemple, avec Lucerne : les frais sont clairement définis par tranches. Si vous voulez avoir un chiffre entre 1 et 99 sur vos plaques, cela vous coutera 9000 francs.

Dans bon nombre d'autres cantons, tels que Zurich, Saint-Gall et l'Argovie, les numéros les plus demandés sont mis aux enchères, en partie sur Internet.

 

Souscription d'une assurance automobile : quel est le dernier délai ?

Pour que tout se passe sans accrocs, pensez qu'en tant que détenteur d'un véhicule, il vous faut conclure une assurance responsabilité civile pour véhicules à moteur avant de passer au service des automobiles. Votre assureur transmet alors l'attestation sous forme électronique au service des automobiles. Vous n'avez pas à vous en préoccuper.

Nota : tant qu'il est encore temps, comparez les offres des différents assureurs automobiles. Grâce au comparatif gratuit en ligne, vous pourrez réaliser de bonnes économies. L'offre personnelle demandée vous parvient rapidement par e-mail.

Comparez les assurances et faites des centaines de francs d'économie !