Health and prevention

Flu vaccine – should I or shouldn't I?

INFORMATION
|
comparis.ch summarizes the pros and cons of the flu vaccine. Source: iStock

Your head aches, your limbs ache and your temperature is rising... and you wonder whether you should have got the vaccine after all. Indeed, many have mixed feelings about the flu vaccine, and some categorically refuse it. But there are good reasons to protect yourself from catching a flu virus. comparis.ch explains the pros and cons of getting the flu vaccine.

It's the same story every autumn – should you get the flu jab or not? On the one hand, you might end up in bed for up to two weeks. On the other, you are keenly aware of the debate surrounding unnecessary vaccinations, low levels of effectiveness and possible side effects. This uncertainty is what leads many to put the decision on hold or wait until the ideal time to get vaccinated (October/November) has passed. Those who survive the winter unscathed believe they made the right decision. Those who don’t have plenty of time in bed to consider taking preventive measures next year.

Only around one in five get the vaccine

Vaccination apathy is widespread in Switzerland. A survey carried out by comparis.ch in the summer of 2017 revealed that one in two Swiss do not follow their doctor’s vaccine recommendations unequivocally. A quarter even stated that they deliberately ignore vaccine advice. While immunizations against tetanus, hepatitis and measles are accepted to some extent (by around 60-70 per cent), only one in three can ever imagine having a flu vaccination. Even fewer actually go ahead and get vaccinated. Last year, it was 18 per cent of the Swiss population. And yet, in some years, suspected flu accounted for up to 270,000 visits to the doctor, with up to 5,000 hospitalized and several hundred dying because of the flu.

Unknowingly contagious

The problem is that vaccine sceptics endanger not only themselves, but others too. Many of those infected don't notice that they are ill or think they just have a slight cold. By continuing to use public transport, going to work or to the cinema, they unknowingly spread the virus – including to at-risk groups such as pregnant women or the elderly.

Who should definitely get vaccinated?

1. People with a high risk of complications, such as:

  • People aged 65 and over
  • People with chronic illnesses (such as heart and lung conditions or metabolic disorders)
  • Women who are pregnant or who have recently given birth and children over 6 months of age who were born prematurely

2. People in contact with those with increased risk of complications or with babies under 6 months old

3. Employees working in healthcare and childcare establishments (nurseries, etc.)

Vaccination protects – even if not 100%

But why are so many reluctant to get the flu vaccine? The fact that the vaccine only provides limited protection is one discouraging factor. While the measles vaccine, for example, is almost 100 per cent effective at preventing outbreaks, the flu vaccine reduces the risk of illness by only 60 per cent. This is because the flu virus has time to mutate after the vaccine is manufactured in February. If it does, this will affect rates of effectiveness. What's more, not all flu vaccines protect against the latest viruses. In the current season, the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) expects the vaccine to be 50 per cent effective on average. This figure drops to around 30 per cent for older people, but rises to 70-90 per cent in the young.

But turning a blind eye to vaccination recommendations on this account is taking things a step too far. Even though the vaccine offers limited protection, it is not completely without effect. According to experts, the illness is less severe in vaccinated people and complications are more seldom. And there’s a big difference between being bedridden for only three days instead of two weeks.

Benefits greater than risks

Another argument used by vaccine critics revolves around the possible side effects. Indeed, the vaccine can lead to redness and swelling at the point of injection, which may last for one to two days. Temporary symptoms such as fever, muscle aches and feeling off colour occur infrequently. Severe side effects are extremely rare and many times rarer than the risk of serious complications from the flu.

Why get vaccinated?

  1. To protect yourself and others: The vaccine protects the majority of vaccinated people from the flu and its consequences. It also prevents you from spreading the illness (unknowingly) to other people (including at-risk groups such as pregnant women and those with chronic illnesses).

  2. To lower the risk of serious complications: There is less chance of secondary infections developing in the flu-weakened body. These infections are bacterial and can be more dangerous than the original illness. The vaccine prevents serious outcomes from developing in at-risk groups in particular.

  3. No days spent in bed or hospital: Genuine flu can last up to two weeks, and in some cases even longer. Complications like a lung infection may lead to a stay in hospital.

  4. Less expensive and time-consuming than catching the flu: The flu vaccine prevents expensive hospital stays and absences due to illness. On national flu vaccination day at the beginning of November, GP surgeries and many chemists offer flu vaccines with no need to register beforehand. It costs 30 to 40 francs. Health insurance covers the cost for people who are particularly at risk, if they have reached their deductible. In the workplace, these costs are often paid by the employer.

  5. Less fear of catching flu: If you are vaccinated, you don’t need to be so afraid of taking public transport, going to shopping centres or concerts, or attending family celebrations – you can just relax, even in crowded spaces.

Major flu epidemic anticipated

According to the FOPH, some 226,000 people went to see their doctor with flu-like symptoms during the winter of 2016/2017. Experts expect a more severe outbreak this season. This is because Australian authorities registered two and a half times more cases in 2017 than in 2016. The situation down under often provides an indication of what is to come in Europe. Anyone who is concerned can still get the vaccination, but it will take around two weeks for the immune system to provide full protection.

 

Flu or the common cold? How the symptoms differ

  Cold (upper respiratory tract infection) Flu (influenza)
Onset of illness  Gradual worsening of symptoms
Abrupt onset of severe symptoms
Fever Mild
High (38 to 41 degrees)
Headache Dull, mild
Moderate to severe
Cough Mild irritation to throat, often productive
Dry cough to begin with, often painful
 Appetite Usually unaffected Very little
 Fatigue  Weariness Severe exhaustion, weakness
 Aching limbs Mild Severe muscle and joint pain
 Nasal symptoms Frequent sneezing at onset, then blocked and/or runny nose Blocked and/or runny nose in some cases
 Duration  Three to seven days
Seven to 14 days
 Timing  All year round December to April

If you still do not wish to get vaccinated, you should at least take basic hygiene precautions such as washing your hands and sneezing into a handkerchief – and stay at home at the first sign of illness out of consideration to others.

Find supplemental insurance

Santé et prévention

Vaccin contre la grippe : oui ou non ?

INFO
|
Vaccin contre la grippe : les avantages et inconvénients avec comparis.ch Photo : iStock / scyther5

Maux de tête, douleurs articulaires, une fièvre qui monte... Si seulement on s’était fait vacciner. Question vaccin pour la grippe, certains hésitent ; d’autres refusent catégoriquement. Pourtant, il y a de bonnes raisons de se protéger contre la contagion de virus grippaux. comparis.ch explique les avantages et inconvénients du vaccin contre la grippe.

Chaque automne la même question : se faire vacciner contre la grippe ou non ? D’un côté, l’idée de passer jusqu’à deux semaines cloué au lit. De l’autre, le débat virulent sur les vaccins inutiles, des vaccinations inefficaces, de possibles effets secondaires. Hésitants, beaucoup repoussent la décision ou attendent jusqu’à ce que le moment idéal pour se vacciner (octobre/novembre) soit passé. Ceux qui passent l’hiver sans encombre pensent avoir fait un sans faute. Les autres, qui ne peuvent quitter leur lit, auront tout le temps de réfléchir à une protection pour l’année prochaine.

Seul une personne sur cinq environ se fait vacciner

En Suisse, le vaccin ne suscite pas l’enthousiasme. Selon une enquête de comparis.ch, menée en été 2017, un Suisse sur deux indique ne pas suivre inconditionnellement les recommandations de son médecin en termes de vaccination. Par ailleurs, un quart des personnes indique avoir délibérément ignoré des recommandations de vaccin. Si les vaccins contre le tétanos, l’hépatite et la rougeole sont au moins plutôt acceptés (à 60-70 % environ), seule une personne sur trois peut tout juste envisager se faire vacciner contre la grippe. Et on compte encore moins qui se laissent effectivement vacciner. L’année dernière, ils étaient 18 % de Suisses. À l’opposé, on compte certaines années jusqu’à 270 000 visites médicales pour suspicion de grippe, jusqu’à 5000 personnes hospitalisées ainsi que plusieurs centaines de morts de la grippe.

Contagion involontaire

Le problème est que les réfractaires au vaccin courent un risque non seulement pour eux-mêmes mais aussi pour les autres. En effet, beaucoup de personnes contaminées ne se rendent pas compte de leur affection ou la considèrent comme un simple refroidissement. Et en continuant d’emprunter les transports publics, d’aller au travail ou au cinéma, les virus se propagent sans crier gare – et se transmettent à des groupes à risque comme les femmes enceintes et les personnes âgées.

Qui devrait impérativement se faire vacciner ?

1. Les personnes ayant un risque de complication accru, telles que :

  • personnes de 65 ans et plus
  • malades chroniques (p. ex. maladies cardiaques et pulmonaires, troubles métaboliques)
  • femmes enceintes ou ayant accouché depuis peu, prématurés dès l’âge de 6 mois

2. Personnes au contact de sujets portant un risque de complication accru ou au contact de nourrissons de moins de 6 mois

3. Personnes actives dans le secteur de la santé ou d’établissements d'accueil (crèches, p.ex.)

Le vaccin protège – bien que pas à 100 %

Qu’est-ce qui pousse tant de monde à bouder le vaccin contre la grippe ? Parmi les effets démotivants, il peut y avoir la protection limitée qu’apporte le vaccin. Si un vaccin contre la rougeole, p. ex., évite à près de 100 % l’apparition de la maladie, la protection du vaccin pour la grippe n’est que de 60 % environ. Le fait est que le virus de la grippe peut encore évoluer après la fabrication du vaccin en février. Dans ce cas, la vaccination est plus ou moins performante. De plus, tous les vaccins ne sont pas efficaces contre les derniers virus grippaux – l’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP) table sur une efficacité de 50 % en moyenne pour la saison actuelle. Cela dit, le taux est de 30 % chez les personnes âgées, contre 70 à 90 % chez les sujets plus jeunes.

En revanche, s’opposer aux recommandations de vaccin pour cette raison va trop loin. Car si la protection est limitée, la vaccination n’est pas pour autant inefficace. Selon les professionnels, la maladie est moins violente et les complications plus rares chez les personnes vaccinées. Entre passer trois jours ou deux semaines au lit, la différence est considérable.

Les avantages l’emportent sur les risques

Un autre argument avancé par les vaccino-septiques est l’éventualité d’effets secondaires. Par exemple, la vaccination peut entraîner des rougeurs et des enflures à l’endroit de la piqûre durant un à deux jours. Dans des cas rares, des symptômes passagers tels que fièvre, courbatures et un léger mal-être peuvent survenir. Des effets secondaires plus graves sont très rares et bien moins courants que le risque de complications sévères lors d’une grippe.

À quoi bon se faire vacciner ?

  1. Une protection pour soi et son entourage : le vaccin protège la majeure partie des personnes vaccinées contre la grippe et ses conséquences. Il évite par ailleurs de contaminer (sans le savoir) son entourage (dont les groupes à risque tels que les femmes enceintes ou les malades chroniques).

  2. Moins de risque de complications graves : on évite les infections secondaires affectant un organisme affaibli par la grippe. Ces infections sont causées par des bactéries et peuvent se révéler plus dangereuses que la maladie à l’origine. Chez les groupes à risques, tout particulièrement, le vaccin évite une mauvaise évolution de la maladie.

  3. Pas de séjour au lit voire à l’hôpital, des jours durant : une vraie grippe dure jusqu’à deux semaines, parfois même plus longtemps. Et si des complications comme une pneumonie surviennent, une hospitalisation peut être nécessaire.

  4. Effort et coûts réduits par rapport à une grippe : le vaccin évite des hospitalisations coûteuses et des arrêts maladie. À l’occasion de la Journée nationale de vaccination contre la grippe début novembre, des cabinets de médecins de famille et beaucoup de pharmacies proposent une vaccination sans rendez-vous. Compter entre 30 et 40 francs. Les personnes présentant un risque particulier peuvent se faire rembourser par leur caisse maladie, une fois leur franchise épuisée. Au lieu de travail, l’employeur prend souvent les frais à sa charge.

  5. Moins de craintes d’infection : celles et ceux qui se font vacciner veuvent aborder les transports publics, galeries marchandes, salles de concert, fêtes de famille etc. l’esprit plus tranquille – et (aussi) profiter « pleinement » de la vie.

La grande vague de grippe prend de l'ampleur

Selon l’OFSP, environ 226 000 patients ont consulté leur médecin de famille pour des symptômes similaires à ceux de la grippe au cours de l’hiver 2016/2017. Et les experts s’attendent à une vague de grippe d’une ampleur encore plus colossale cette saison. Explication : les autorités australiennes ont enregistré deux fois et demie plus de cas en 2017 qu’en 2016. La situation sur le cinquième continent est très souvent un indice de ce qui nous attend. Celles et ceux que ce fait interpelle ont toujours la possibilité de se faire vacciner. À noter toutefois qu’il faudra attendre environ deux semaines jusqu'à ce que les défenses naturelles fonctionnent de manière optimale.

Grippe ? Comparer les prix des médicaments

 

Vraie grippe ou refroidissement ? Les différences

  Refroidissement (état grippal) Grippe (influenza)
Phase initiale Dégradation lente
Apparition rapide et violente
Fièvre Montée de température minime
Montée à 38, jusqu’à 41 degrés
Maux de tête Léger à sourd
Fort à perçant
Toux Toux peu irritante, souvent grasse
Au début, toux sèche irritante, souvent douloureuse
 Appétit Inchangé, le plus souvent Réduit
 Fatigue Légère fatigue Fort abattement, sentiment d'affaiblissement
 Douleurs articulaires Faibles Fortes douleurs articulaires et musculaires
 Rhume Éternuements intempestifs au début, puis nez qui coule/bouché Nez qui coule/bouché en partie
 Durée Trois à sept jours
Sept à quatorze jours
 Saison Toute l’année De décembre à avril

Il est conseillé aux personnes qui malgré tout ne souhaitent pas se faire vacciner de respecter pour le moins les mesures d’hygiène de base tels que le lavage des mains ou le recours à un mouchoir pour éternuer – et de rester chez soi dès l’apparition des premiers symptômes par respect pour son entourage.

Trouver une complémentaire