Mortgages

Mortgage Barometer for the fourth quarter of 2017 – signs point to an increase

ANALYSIS
|
Interest rates for fixed-rate mortgages are on the rise. Source: iStock

At the beginning of the year, the rates for fixed mortgages remained steady at around the level of the previous quarter. Since then, signs that rates are set to rise have been building. A glance at the interest rate swap for ten-year fixes confirms this. It has been rising sharply since mid-December, which indicates that hedging costs are continuing to go up. Demand for medium-term mortgage terms grew appreciably in the last quarter. These were the results of the latest Mortgage Barometer provided by comparis.ch.

Rates for ten-year fixes were 0.02 per cent lower than in the previous quarter – down to 1.45 per cent by the end of the fourth quarter. Benchmark rates for medium terms were slightly higher than in the previous quarter – lying at 1.07 per cent at the end of the third quarter, they moved up to around 1.10 per cent at the beginning of the year. The rate applied to short-term mortgages remained virtually unchanged. At the end of the quarter, it was 0.96 per cent – a mere 0.01 per cent higher than in the previous quarter.

 

More and more signs pointing to a rate increase

Given the low level of interest rates, now seems like a good time to take out a mortgage. “The rosy economic outlook for Switzerland and Europe, together with the announcement by the European Central Bank that it will gradually scale back its bond purchase programme and probably raise interest rates in 2019, could persuade the Swiss National Bank to increase its rates too in the foreseeable future,” explains Marc Parmentier, banking expert at comparis.ch.

Borrowers clearly agree with this prediction. The interest rate swap for ten-year fixed-rate mortgages has climbed steeply since mid-December, which is a sure sign that borrowers are expecting a hike in rates.

Even if mortgages are cheap to get right now thanks to low interest rates, it's still worth negotiating conditions with mortgage lenders. “Mortgages involve large sums of money. All the more reason not to settle for the first best offer you receive. At the moment, with some effective negotiation, borrowers can net themselves a ten-year fixed-rate mortgage at a rate of 1.2 per cent,” says Parmentier.

 

Shift towards medium repayment terms

Although long repayment terms are still the most popular among borrowers, their share of demand continues to drop. Compared to the previous year, demand for long repayment terms is almost ten per cent lower (pro rata), currently lying at just under 79 per cent. A year ago this number was still 88 per cent. This proportionate fall in demand occurred to the benefit of medium repayment terms, whose popularity is increasing. At the moment, 18 per cent of mortgages taken out have a medium repayment term. This represents a growth of 7.5 percentage points compared to the previous year.

Short terms have become less attractive. Demand for these repayment terms, which had increased over the course of last year, saw a slight drop in the last quarter. Three per cent of fixed-rate mortgages taken out have a repayment term of less than four years, whereas in the previous quarter, their share of overall demand was holding steady at 3.7 per cent.

Hypothèque

Baromètre des Hypothèques au 4e trimestre 2017 : des signes de hausse

ANALYSES
|
Les hypothèques à taux fixe sont à la hausse. Photo : iStock

Les hypothèques à taux fixe évoluent environ au même niveau en début d'année qu’au trimestre précédent. Dans l’intervalle, les signes de hausse se multiplient. L’interest Rate Swap pour les hypothèques à taux fixe sur dix ans, par exemple, a fortement grimpé depuis mi-décembre, ce qui indique que les frais de couverture continuent de croître. En outre, la demande en durées moyennes s’est sensiblement accrue au dernier trimestre. C'est ce que révèle le dernier Baromètre des Hypothèques de comparis.ch.

Les hypothèques à taux fixe sur dix ans ont reculé de 0,02 point de pourcentage en comparaison avec le trimestre dernier, s’établissant à 1,45 % à la fin du quatrième trimestre. On note une légère progression par rapport au trimestre précédent pour les taux indicatifs des hypothèques à échéances moyennes, de 1,07 % à la fin du troisième trimestre à 1,10 % en début d’année. Peu de changement, en revanche, pour les taux des hypothèques à échéances courtes : ils se situent à 0,96 % en fin de trimestre, soit seulement 0,01 point de pourcentage au-dessus du niveau atteint au trimestre précédent.

Les signes d’une hausse des taux se multiplient

Les taux étant bas, prendre une hypothèque semble avantageux en ce moment. « Les belles perspectives conjoncturelles pour la Suisse et l’Europe ainsi que l’annonce de la Banque centrale européenne de progressivement cesser le programme de rachat de titres obligataires et de relever les taux probablement à l’horizon 2019, pourraient également pousser la Banque nationale suisse à revoir les taux à la hausse d’ici peu », explique Marc Parmentier, expert Banque chez comparis.ch.

Un avis que partagent visiblement aussi les preneurs d’hypothèque. En effet, l’Interest Rate Swap pour les hypothèques à taux fixe sur dix ans monte en flèche depuis mi-décembre. Signe que les demandeurs d’hypothèques s’attendent à une hausse des taux.

Si les hypothèques sont avantageuses en ce moment grâce aux taux bas, il est toujours utile de négocier les conditions des établissements hypothécaires. Et Marc Parmentier de préciser que : « Une hypothèque représente une somme élevée. Il est alors d’autant plus utile de ne pas se jeter sur la première offre. Aujourd'hui, en négociant bien, il est possible de conclure une hypothèque à taux fixe sur dix ans autour de 1,2 %. »

 

Transfert vers les durées moyennes

Si les durées longues sont toujours les plus recherchées parmi les demandeurs d’hypothèques, la part de demande de celles-ci continue de reculer. En effet, la demande en durées longues a (proportionnellement) baissé de près de dix points de pourcentage en comparaison avec l’année précédente, s’établissant aujourd’hui à tout juste 79 %. L'année dernière, elle était encore de 88 %. Le recul proportionnel de la demande a bénéficié aux échéances moyennes, qui gagnent en popularité. Ainsi, 18,5 % des hypothèques à taux fixe ont été conclues à moyenne échéance, soit une croissance de 7,5 points de pourcentage par rapport à l’année précédente.

Les durées courtes, quant à elles, ont perdu en attrait : la demande d’hypothèques à échéance courte, qui avait pourtant augmenté au cours de l’année dernière, a connu un léger recul au dernier trimestre. En effet, 3 % des hypothèques à taux fixe ont été conclues pour une durée inférieure à quatre ans. Au trimestre précédent, la part des durées courtes sur l’ensemble des échéances demandées était encore de 3,7 %.

ACHTUNG Zeile 93