Mortgages

Mortgage Barometer Q3 2019 – benchmark rates for 10-year fixed-rate mortgages fall below “magic” 1% mark

ANALYSIS
| By Frédéric Papp |
The latest mortgage rates and how they have changed in recent quarters. Source: iStock / in4mal

Benchmark rates for 10-year fixed-rate mortgages dropped again in comparison with the previous quarter. They even fell briefly below the “magic” 1% mark for the first time. This is revealed by the latest Mortgage Barometer from comparis.ch.

In mid-August, benchmark rates slipped to 0.99% – and thus below the “magic” 1% mark – for the first time. At the end of September, the average rate achieved on a 10-year fixed-rate mortgage was 1.05%. This is 5 basis points less than at the end of June 2019.

 

 

 

Rates of less than 1% negotiable on 10-year fixes

Within a period of one year, the average benchmark rate fell by some 0.6 percentage points. What’s more, there are now just 14 basis points separating 10-year and 5-year mortgages, and 18 between 10-year and 2-year mortgages.

“For a negligible increase in interest, borrowers can lock in low rates for the long term,” says Comparis financial expert Frédéric Papp.

Q3 2019 Q2 2019 Q1 2019 Q4 2018 Q3 2018
10-year fixed-rate mortgage
1.05%
1.10%
1.20%
1.46%
1.62%
Difference between 5-year and 10-year mortgage*
14
15 23 42 49
5-year mortgage
0.91%
0.95%
0.97%
1.04%
1.13%
Difference between 2-year and 10-year mortgage*
18 22 28 51 66
2-year mortgage
0.87%
0.88%
0.92%
0.95%
0.96%
Difference between 2-year and 5-year mortgage*
4 7 5 9 17

* in basis points

However, these benchmark rates are just headline rates. If you compare quotes and negotiate well, you can usually obtain a much lower mortgage rate.

Rock bottom in sight for mortgage rates

According to Papp, various signs point towards mortgage rates stabilizing at a low level. Swap rate trends are one indication of this. For example, the 10-year swap rate hit a record low of -0.7% in mid-August, and at -0.4% was still significantly below the values of the previous quarter at the end of September. However, the average benchmark rate for a 10-year mortgage was only marginally less than that recorded for the second quarter. A similar trend can be observed for 2-year and 5-year swap rates. This indicates that the minimum rate set by mortgage lenders has more or less been reached.

Swiss National Bank relieves pressure

The recent decision by the Swiss National Bank (SNB) should also exert a calming influence on mortgage rates. The SNB has decided to increase the exemption thresholds up to which the owners of sight deposits at the SNB are not required to pay negative interest. This reduces the pressure on banks to pass on negative interest rates to savers.

“Mortgage rates cannot remain in free fall as long as all the banks refrain from charging negative interest on savings,” explains Papp.

However, the banks are unlikely to pass on negative interest rates because they are afraid of triggering the withdrawal of billions of francs’ worth of savings. Applying negative interest rates to savings also represents a social time bomb, as the Comparis financial expert explained in an earlier press release (in German only).

Papp expects negative interest rates to continue or even become the norm on the Swiss capital market. This means that mortgages should remain competitive.

Data sources

The interest rate information in the Comparis Mortgage Barometer is based on the benchmark rates of over 50 lenders. They are updated daily and published in the mortgage rate overview. Experience shows that interest rates offered in mortgage quotes are usually below the official benchmark rates. The next Mortgage Barometer will appear at the beginning of January 2020.

Compare lenders

Mortgage Barometers from previous quarters

2nd quarter 2019 – 10-year mortgages nearly as cheap as 5-year deals

At slightly over 1%, benchmark rates for ten-year fixed-rate mortgages were lower than ever in the second quarter of 2019, and within touching distance of the rates for five-year and two-year fixes. This is revealed by the Mortgage Barometer from comparis.ch.

1st quarter 2019 – benchmark rates below 1% for the first time

In the first quarter of 2019, benchmark rates for five-year fixed-rate mortgages slipped below 1% for the first time. Ten-year fixes now also cost less. This is revealed by the Mortgage Barometer from comparis.ch.

4th quarter 2018 – significant change in benchmark rates

Some benchmark interest rates for fixed-rate mortgages dropped significantly in the fourth quarter of 2018. Ten-year fixes witnessed the biggest decrease. Demand for short-term mortgages is surprisingly high. This is revealed by the Mortgage Barometer from comparis.ch.

3rd quarter 2018 – shift to medium-term mortgages

Interest rates for fixed-rate mortgages increased slightly in the third quarter of 2018, with the steepest climb occurring in September. Coinciding with this rise, demand for long repayment terms eased off for the first time since the end of 2017 – with demand for medium-term mortgages surging in its place. This is revealed by the Mortgage Barometer from comparis.ch.

2nd quarter 2018 – interest rate increase has not yet come about

There were virtually no changes to interest rates for fixed-rate mortgages during the second quarter of 2018. The economic and political developments of recent months suggest that interest rates in Switzerland will continue to remain low. Demand for long repayment terms has further increased. 

1st quarter 2018 – mortgage rates have risen appreciably

Interest rates for fixed-rate mortgages increased during the first quarter of 2018. For medium and long repayment terms, rates even reached a two-year high in mid-February. As borrowers generally expected rates to rise further, demand for long-term mortgages grew and has now returned to the level it was the previous year.

4th quarter 2017 – signs point to an increase

At the beginning of the year, rates for fixed mortgages remained steady at around the level of the previous quarter. Since then, signs that rates are set to rise have been multiplying. This is confirmed by the interest rate swap for ten-year fixes. It has been rising sharply since mid-December, which indicates that hedging costs are continuing to go up. Demand for medium-term mortgage terms grew appreciably in the last quarter.

3rd quarter 2017 – mortgage rates stay low

Interest rates for fixed-rate mortgages remained more or less the same during the third quarter of 2017. Surprisingly, despite rates remaining at an all-time low, demand for very short terms increased at the expense of medium terms.

2nd quarter 2017 – mortgage rates have dropped

The benchmark interest rates for fixed-rate mortgages dropped slightly during the second quarter of this year. Nevertheless, demand for fixed-rate mortgages with long terms was still comparatively low. In contrast, demand for medium terms rose appreciably, even though the interest rates for this segment witnessed the smallest reduction.

1st quarter 2017 – mortgage rates show little movement

The mortgage rates for fixed-rate mortgages in Switzerland changed only slightly during the first quarter of 2017. After the historic low that was reached in the autumn of 2016, the situation now appears to be settling down. However, with the forthcoming elections in France, continuing Brexit developments and the still vague status of US economic policy, there is cause for some uncertainty.

4th quarter 2016 – mortgage rates rise again

After interest rates for fixed-rate mortgages hit an all-time low last autumn, it seems that the tipping point has been reached on the mortgage market. Rates for fixed-rate mortgages rose in the fourth quarter of 2016 and have now returned to the level recorded in early 2015.

Hypothèque

Baromètre des Hypothèques T3 2019 : les taux indicatifs des hypothèques fixes sur dix ans sous la barre « magique » de 1 %

ANALYSES
| Par Frédéric Papp |
Retrouvez le niveau actuel des taux hypothécaires ainsi que leur évolution au cours des derniers trimestres. Photo : iStock / in4mal

Les taux indicatifs des hypothèques à taux fixe sur dix ans ont encore baissé par rapport au trimestre précédent : ils sont même brièvement passés sous la barre « magique « de 1 %. Tels sont les résultats du dernier Baromètre des Hypothèques de comparis.ch.

Mi-août, les taux indicatifs des hypothèques à taux fixe sur dix ans affichaient pour la première 0,99 %, passant ainsi sous la barre « magique » de 1 %. Fin septembre 2019, une hypothèque à taux fixe sur dix ans revenait à 1,05 % en moyenne – soit 5 points de base sous le niveau de fin juin 2019.

 

 

 

 

 

Des hypothèques sur 10 ans pratiquement négociables sous 1 %

En une année, le taux indicatif a chuté d’environ 0,6 point de pourcentage. De plus, les hypothèques sur dix ans ne sont plus qu’à 14 points de base d’écart des échéances sur cinq ans, et plus qu’à 18 points de base des hypothèques sur deux ans.

« Les emprunteurs hypothécaires peuvent, moyennant un surcoût modique, s'assurer des conditions de taux intéressantes sur le long terme », déclare Frédéric Papp, expert Argent chez Comparis..

T3 2019 T2 2019 T1 2019 T4 2018 T3 2018
Hypothèques fixes sur 10 ans
1,05 %
1,10 %
1,20 %
1,46 %
1,62 %
Écart hypothèques sur 5 / 10 ans*
14
15 23 42 49
Hypothèques fixes sur 5 ans
0,91 %
0,95 %
0,97 %
1,04 %
1,13 %
Écart hypothèques sur 2 / 10 ans*
18 22 28 51 66
Hypothèques fixes sur 2 ans
0,87 %
0,88 %
0,92 %
0,95 %
0,96 %
Écart hypothèques sur 2 / 5 ans*
4 7 5 9 17

* en points de base 

Néanmoins, les taux indicatifs sont des prix d’appel. Les personnes qui comparent les offres et négocient bien, peuvent obtenir des taux hypothécaires bien inférieurs.

Creux de la vague en vue

Selon F. Papp, plusieurs éléments semblent indiquer que les taux hypothécaires devraient se stabiliser à des niveaux très bas. L’évolution du Swap en est l’un des signes. Le Swap sur dix ans, par exemple, a atteint un creux record de -0,7 % à la mi-août et, se situant à -0,4 % à la fin septembre, il est encore bien en deçà des chiffres du trimestre précédent. Toutefois, le taux indicatif d’une hypothèque sur dix ans a baissé, certes légèrement, par rapport au deuxième trimestre. Un tableau similaire se dessine pour les Swap à deux ans et à cinq ans. Cela donne à penser que le taux d’intérêt minimal fixé par les prêteurs hypothécaires est à peu près atteint.

Apaisement du côté de la Banque nationale suisse

En outre, la décision de la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) devrait apporter une accalmie en matière de taux d’intérêt hypothécaires. La BNS a décidé d’augmenter les montants exonérés pour lesquels les détenteurs d’avoirs à vue auprès de la BNS n’ont pas à payer d’intérêts négatifs. Les banques ressentent donc une pression moins importante d’appliquer des intérêts négatifs aux épargnants.

« Les taux d’intérêt hypothécaires ne peuvent pas s’effondrer tant que les banques ne répercutent pas de manière générale les taux d’intérêt négatifs sur les avoirs d’épargne », déclare F. Papp.

Selon lui, il est peu probable que les banques fassent passer la note des taux d’intérêt négatifs, car elles redoutent le retrait de milliards de francs d’épargne. Comme l’expliquait l’expert Comparis dans un précédent communiqué de presse (en allemand), la répercussion des taux d’intérêt négatifs aux épargnants représente, par ailleurs, une bombe à retardement sur le plan social.

F. Papp s'attend à ce que les taux d’intérêt négatifs persistent sur le marché suisse des capitaux pendant un certain temps, voire qu’ils deviennent la norme. Les hypothèques devraient donc rester bon marché.

Base des données

Les données concernant les taux d’intérêt compris dans le Baromètre des Hypothèques Comparis s’appuient sur les taux indicatifs de plus de 50 établissements de crédit, lesquels sont actualisés quotidiennement et publiés dans l’aperçu des taux. L’expérience montre que, dans la plupart des cas, les taux indiqués dans les offres d’hypothèques sont inférieurs aux taux indicatifs officiels. Le prochain Baromètre des Hypothèques paraîtra début janvier 2020.

Comparatif des établissements prêteurs

Historique trimestriel du Baromètre des Hypothèques

2er trimestre 2019 : hypothèques sur 10 ans presque aussi intéressantes que celles sur 5 ans

Affichant un peu plus de 1 % à la fin juin 2019, les taux indicatifs des hypothèques fixes sur dix ans n’ont jamais été aussi bas. Ils sont à deux doigts de ceux des hypothèques fixes sur cinq ou deux ans. Tels sont les résultats du Baromètre des Hypothèques de comparis.ch.

Pour plus d’informations à ce sujet : Baromètre des Hypothèques pour le 2e trimestre 2019.

T1 2019 – Les taux indicatifs passent pour la première fois sous la barre des 1 %

Au premier trimestre 2019, les taux indicatifs des hypothèques à taux fixe sur cinq ans passent la première fois sous la barre des 1 %. Les hypothèques fixes sur dix ans bénéficient elles aussi d’une nouvelle baisse. Tels sont les résultats du Baromètre des Hypothèques de comparis.ch.

Pour plus d’informations à ce sujet : Baromètre des Hypothèques pour le 1er trimestre 2019.

T4 2018 – Nette correction des taux indicatifs

Les taux indicatifs des hypothèques à taux fixe ont connu, pour partie, des reculs significatifs au cours du 4e trimestre 2018. Les baisses les plus marquées ont été enregistrées pour les hypothèques à taux fixe sur dix ans. La demande a été étonnamment forte pour les hypothèques à court terme. Tels sont les résultats du Baromètre des Hypothèques de comparis.ch.

Pour plus d’informations à ce sujet : Baromètre des Hypothèques pour le 4e trimestre 2018.

T3 2018 – Report sur les hypothèques à moyen terme

Les taux des hypothèques fixes ont enregistré une légère hausse au troisième trimestre 2018. Cette progression s’est faite ressentir le plus fortement au cours du mois de septembre. Et pour la première fois depuis fin 2017, la demande en durées longues s’est tassée au profit d’une poussée massive de la demande pour les hypothèques à moyen terme. Tels sont les résultats du Baromètre des Hypothèques de comparis.ch.

Pour plus d’informations à ce sujet : Baromètre des Hypothèques pour le 3e trimestre 2018.

T2 2018 – La montée des taux se fait attendre

Les taux des hypothèques à taux fixe ont à peine bougé au deuxième trimestre 2018. Vu les évolutions économiques et politiques des derniers mois, on peut conclure que les taux vont se maintenir à un niveau bas en Suisse. La demande pour les échéances à long terme a poursuivi sa progression. 

Pour plus d’informations à ce sujet : Baromètre des Hypothèques pour le 2e trimestre 2018.

T1 2018 – Augmentation notable des taux hypothécaires

Les taux pour les hypothèques à taux fixe ont progressé au premier trimestre 2018. À la mi-février, les hypothèques à long et à moyen terme se situaient même au plus haut depuis deux ans. L'attente générale d’une nouvelle remontée des taux d’intérêt s’est traduite par une augmentation de la demande en hypothèques à long terme et par un retour au niveau atteint au cours de la période précédente.

Pour plus d’informations à ce sujet : Baromètre des Hypothèques pour le 1er trimestre 2018.

T4 2017 – Les signes pointent à la hausse

En début d'année, les taux des hypothèques à taux fixe se situaient à peu près au même niveau qu’au trimestre précédent. Entre temps, les signes de hausse se sont multipliés. L’interest Rate Swap pour les hypothèques à taux fixe sur dix ans le montre. Il a fortement grimpé depuis mi-décembre et indique que les frais de couverture continuent de croître. En outre, la demande en durées moyennes s’est sensiblement accrue au dernier trimestre.

Pour plus d’informations à ce sujet : Baromètre des Hypothèques pour le 4e trimestre 2017.

T3 2017 – Les taux se maintiennent à un niveau plancher

Une fois encore, les taux d'intérêt pour les hypothèques fixes ont quasiment fait du surplace au cours du troisième trimestre 2017. En dépit de la persistance des taux historiquement bas, la demande a créé la surprise en privilégiant des durées extrêmement courtes au détriment des échéances moyennes.

Pour plus d’informations à ce sujet : Baromètre des Hypothèques pour le 3e trimestre 2017.

T2 2017 – Taux des hypothèques en baisse

Les taux de référence des hypothèques fixes ont légèrement reculé au dernier trimestre de cette année. Cela dit, les hypothèques fixes à échéances longues étaient, cependant, relativement moins demandées. En revanche, la demande en durées moyennes s’est sensiblement accrue et ce, alors que les taux dans cette tranche ont le moins sensiblement évolué à la baisse.

Pour plus d’informations à ce sujet : Baromètre des Hypothèques pour le 2e trimestre 2017.

T1 2017 – Mouvement quasi inexistant sur le marché hypothécaire

Au cours du premier trimestre 2017, les taux des hypothèques fixes n’ont pratiquement pas bougé en Suisse. Après le plus bas historique de l’automne 2016, il semblerait que le calme soit revenu. Toutefois, les élections à venir en France, le Brexit et une politique économique américaine encore vague sont autant de sources d’incertitude.

Pour plus d’informations à ce sujet : Baromètre des Hypothèques pour le 1er trimestre 2017.

T4 2016 – Les taux hypothécaires ont regagné du terrain

Après le niveau bas record des hypothèques à taux fixe l’automne dernier, le point de revirement de tendance semble atteint sur le marché hypothécaire : les taux des hypothèques fixes ont repris de la vigueur au quatrième trimestre 2016 pour retrouver le niveau atteint au printemps 2015.

Pour plus d’informations à ce sujet : Baromètre des Hypothèques pour le 4e trimestre 2016.