Car insurance

Replacement value supplement


If the replacement value supplement is insured, compensation in the event of a total loss covered by your insurance is not calculated on the basis of the current value valid at the time. Instead, a higher percentage rate is applied. Thus, the high loss of value a vehicle is subject to during the first years is mitigated. This pays off in the event of a total loss as the replacement value supplement of most insurance products is about 20 percent higher than the current value.

In the vehicle age table you can see what the average rates of compensation with replacement value supplement are. However, especially with car insurance, there are large differences between the individual products.

Tip: 
Most comprehensive (or casco) insurance products nowadays automatically include the replacement value supplement up to the vehicle's seventh year in operation (exception: Click2drive with their zero-alcohol-level product). AXA Winterthur, Basler, Vaudoise, Allianz24.ch and TCS insure the replacement value supplement even beyond the tenth year in operation.

If you lease a car, the replacement value supplement is mandatory.

Assurance automobile

Valeur vénale majorée


Lorsqu'un véhicule est assuré à la valeur vénale majorée et qu'un dommage intégral survient, l'assurance n'indemnise pas l’assuré à la hauteur de la valeur vénale du véhicule mais applique à celle-ci un coefficient de majoration. Ce afin d'amoindrir les conséquences de la forte dépréciation que subissent les véhicules au cours de leurs premières années. Il s'agit d'une solution intéressante en cas de dommage intégral parce que la plupart des produits d'assurance proposent une valeur vénale majorée supérieure d’environ 20 % par rapport à la valeur vénale du véhicule.
Le tableau d'ancienneté des véhicules illustre la hauteur moyenne du remboursement en cas d'assurance à la valeur vénale majorée. Les différences entre les produits d'assurance sont toutefois très grandes.

Conseil 

La plupart des assurances casco indemnisent aujourd’hui systématiquement les véhicules de moins de 7 ans sur la base de leur valeur vénale majorée (à l'exception de click2drive avec son produit « Zéro pour mille »). La Bâloise, Vaudoise, Allianz24.ch et TCS assurent même les véhicules à la valeur vénale majorée jusqu'à leurs 10 ans.

Si vous avez pris une voiture en leasing, vous êtes obligé de l’assurer à la valeur vénale majorée.