Taxes

Tax deductions – 10 tips for minimizing your tax burden

INFORMATION
|
Simple ways to save: deductions you can claim on your tax return. Source: iStock / BrianAJackson

You can keep your tax bill down by claiming the cost of things like your bike, lunch and insurance premiums on your tax return.

But exactly what and how much can be deducted from your taxable income is often a source of confusion, so here is a list of useful tips for the 2017 tax year for employed persons.

Important: Note that the information in this article is general in nature. Different regulations may apply in your canton. If there is anything you are unsure of, your local tax office will be able to help. You can also find more information on the most common deductions here.

  • Travel expenses

    You can deduct the cost of your commute to work – but since the 2016 tax year this is limited to a maximum of 3,000 francs. As a rule, you can claim for the cost of public transport passes, bicycles or small motorised bikes – but the cost of driving to work in a private vehicle is only deductible under certain conditions: if the home and workplace are too far from the nearest public transport stop (approx. one kilometre), or if a significant time saving is achieved by travelling by car (approx. 1 hour). People who are too incapacitated to take public transport can also deduct the cost of travelling by car.

  • Meals

    Employees who are not able to go home for lunch can deduct a flat rate for meals. For direct federal tax and in the canton of Zurich, this rate is the not-insignificant sum of 3,200 francs per year or 15 francs per working day. If the employer offers subsidized meals, this figure drops to 1,600 francs per year or 7.50 francs per working day.

  • Insurance premiums

    Premiums for health, accident, life and pension insurance can be deducted up to a certain amount. For direct federal tax, the maximum deduction allowed is 1,700 francs for single tax payers, or 3,500 francs for married tax payers and those in registered partnerships.

  • Donations

    Contributions to public or exclusively non-profit organizations can be deducted from your taxable income. The total contributions may not exceed 20 per cent of your net income.

  • Pensions

    Money paid into a pillar 3a account is also tax-deductible. The maximum deduction for the 2017 tax year is 6,768 francs for employed persons. You can work out how much you can save here. Contributions to the second pillar may also be deducted.

  • Medical expenses

    If any medical costs paid for out of your own pocket exceed a certain portion of your income, you can deduct them from your tax return. You might be able to claim for dental treatment, for example. However, the limit is usually set quite high – in most cantons, it is 5 per cent of your net income. You can also deduct additional expenses arising as a result of a disability.

  • Loan interest

    You can reduce your taxable income by including any interest paid on mortgages and personal loans, but not the repayments. Leasing costs are not allowed either.

  • Childcare

    The cost of childcare by a nanny or at daycare is tax-deductible. Again, there is a maximum limit and parents must provide proof of payment. For direct federal tax, the limit is 10,100 francs per child per year.

  • Lump sum deduction

    A social deduction can be claimed for children and other dependants. For direct federal tax, the amount is 6,500 francs per child.

  • Alimony and maintenance payments

    Alimony and maintenance payments to ex-partners and children are tax-deductible. Maintenance payments intended for children can be deducted up to and including the month in the which the child comes of age.

In most cantons, the tax return must be submitted by the end of March. This deadline can be extended provided you apply for the extension on time. You can do this by submitting a request (with reasons provided) at your local tax office.

How much tax would you pay in a different municipality?

Impôts

Déductions d’impôts : 10 conseils pour réduire vos charges fiscales

INFO
|
Astuces simples pour la déclaration d’impôts : les déductions qui vous font économiser. Photo : iStock / BrianAJackson

Les possibilités de réduire vos impôts sont nombreuses : vélo, repas, primes d'assurance et autres sont déductibles.

Une question qui taraude beaucoup de contribuables : que déduire du revenu imposable et quelle somme ? Voyez les conseils destinés aux salariés pour l’année fiscale 2017.

Attention : il s'agit de conseils généraux, car il existe parfois des différences cantonales. En cas de doute, l’administration fiscale compétente peut vous renseigner. Pour obtenir des informations complémentaires sur les principales déductions possibles, cliquez ici.

  • Transport

    Les frais pour le transport entre votre domicile et votre travail sont déductibles – à partir de l’année fiscale 2016 mais au maximum jusqu’à 3000 francs. Généralement, les administrations fiscales reconnaissent les frais d'un abonnement de transport en commun, d'un vélo ou d'une mobylette – les frais pour une voiture ne peuvent être déduits que dans des cas exceptionnels : votre lieu de domicile et/ou de travail sont trop éloignés d’un arrêt de transport en commun (un kilomètre, environ) ou une voiture représente un important gain de temps (une heure, environ). Par ailleurs, les personnes trop fragiles pour voyager en transport en commun peuvent déduire des frais automobiles.

  • Repas

    Si le salarié ne peut pas rentrer chez lui durant la pause de midi, il peut faire valoir une déduction forfaitaire. En ce qui concerne l'impôt fédéral direct et le canton de Vaud, la déduction s'élève à 3200 francs par an ou 15 francs par jour de travail. Si l'employeur propose des repas à prix réduits, elle se monte tout de même à 1600 francs ou 7,50 francs par jour de travail.

  • Primes et cotisations d'assurances

    Les primes d'assurance maladie, tout comme les frais d'assurance accidents, assurance sur la vie ou assurance retraite sont déductibles d’impôts. Des plafonds sont cependant prévus. Pour l'impôt fédéral direct, il est fixé par exemple à 1700 francs pour les primes d'assurances, ou 3500 francs pour les personnes mariées et les partenaires enregistrés.

  • Dons

    Les dons aux organisations et institutions qui poursuivent des buts de service public ou d'utilité publique exclusivement peuvent être déduits. Les déductions ne doivent cependant pas dépasser 20 %, au total, du revenu net.

  • Prévoyance

    De l'argent placé sur un compte de pilier 3a permet également de diminuer les charges fiscales. Pour l'année fiscale 2017, la somme maximale déductible est fixée à 6768 francs pour les salariés. Vous pouvez calculer votre économie d'impôts ici. Autre déduction possible : les rachats au 2e pilier.

  • Frais médicaux

    Les frais de santé payés de la poche du contribuable qui dépassent une certaine part de ses revenus peuvent être déduits. En font notamment partie les frais de traitement chez le dentiste. Cependant, le montant déductible est souvent très élevé : dans le canton de Vaud, il s'agit de 5 % du revenu net. Il existe aussi des déductions pour les frais supplémentaires occasionnés par un handicap.

  • Intérêts sur crédit

    Les intérêts des hypothèques et crédits privés permettent également de réduire les charges fiscales. En revanche, les frais de leasing ou les remboursements (amortissements) sont exclus.

  • Frais de garde d’enfants

    Les coûts, justifiés, de garde d’enfants par une crèche ou une maman de jour sont aussi déductibles, jusqu'à un certain plafond. Celui-ci se monte à 10 100 francs par an et par enfant pour l'impôt fédéral direct.

  • Déduction forfaitaire

    Le contribuable a droit à une déduction sociale pour les enfants et les personnes à charge. Celui-ci se monte à 6500 francs par an et par enfant pour l'impôt fédéral direct.

  • Pensions alimentaires et contributions d'entretien

    Les pensions alimentaires et contributions d'entretien pour les ex-conjoints et les enfants sont déductibles. Pour les enfants, les pensions alimentaires qui leurs sont destinées peuvent être déduites jusqu’à leur majorité révolue (le mois de leurs 18 ans).

Dans la plupart des cantons, la date butoir pour remettre sa déclaration d’impôt est fixée à la fin mars. Ce délai peut être prolongé, à condition d’en faire la demande dans les temps impartis. Il suffit d’envoyer une demande fondée à l'administration fiscale.

Combien d’impôts paieriez-vous dans une autre commune ?