Calculate pension reduction due to redistribution


Swiss pension funds are experiencing a massive redistribution of pension assets: Thanks to record-low interest rates and increased life expectancy, guaranteed pensions are systematically costing more than is effectively being financed. The resulting gap has to be closed by active contributors, i.e. all those people who have not yet retired. According to estimates, this involves some 4 billion francs being redistributed from active contributors to pensioners – each year!

But what does this absurdly high figure mean for an individual person? How much pension money is lost each year through this process? And more importantly, how high will this amount rise if no steps are taken against redistribution in future? Answers to these and other questions are provided by the Comparis redistribution calculator – a first for Switzerland. Use this calculator to gain an idea of how pension fund redistribution affects you personally.

 

Principles of the Comparis redistribution calculator

 

What is redistribution, anyway?

In a pension system, redistribution occurs when someone is paid out a higher or lower pension than he has financed through contributions made during his years of active employment and the resulting yields. For instance, the pillar 1 pension (AHV) functions using a general pot which simultaneously receives contributions from current workers and pays out benefits to pensioners. There is no individual entitlement to the contributions paid in. Redistribution also takes place in pillar 2. For instance, while all insured persons pay a premium for death and disability, only those affected by these events will actually receive any benefits (solidarity principle). Redistribution also occurs in old age. Married persons, for example, are entitled to a survivors’ pension, while unmarried persons with roughly the same pension do not enjoy this right.

Why is redistribution a problem?

Overall, retirement benefits should be financed in such a way that this redistribution process can be halted, at least in the medium term. However, because of rising life expectancy, lower investment returns, and the fact that performance parameters are not adjusted, this does not happen in many pension funds. In other words, old-age pensions are costing systematically more than what is being financed through contributions and yields. The resulting gap is closed by applying lower interest rates to the retirement savings of active contributors (those who have not yet retired). This type of redistribution is not in keeping with the principles of the pension system and this is demonstrated by the Comparis redistribution calculator.

How can redistribution be measured?

For the measurement to be correct, the redistribution amounts should be calculated individually for each pension fund, recorded centrally and then added together. Currently, however, this is not the case. Therefore, the Comparis redistribution calculator uses an estimate: When insured people retire, their retirement savings are converted to a pension. For this, a so-called conversion rate is needed, which incorporates an implicit interest rate guarantee for the new pensioner. At the same time, the new obligation to the pensioner must be valued, which also requires an interest rate (known as the technical interest rate). So in a pension fund without redistribution, the implicitly guaranteed interest rate, the technical interest rate and the interest rate applied to the active contributors’ retirement savings each year should (at least in the medium term) be the same. This is the only way to ensure that all participants benefit from the returns achieved on the assets to the same extent. In many cases, however, the implicit interest rate guarantee and/or the technical interest rate is significantly higher than the interest rate on the retirement savings of the active contributors. This difference can be calculated and used to measure the resulting redistribution approximately.

How does this affect me?

According to the Supervisory Commission for Occupational Pensions (OAK BV), Swiss pension funds valued their pensioner guarantees using a technical interest rate averaging 2.43% in 2016. The implicitly guaranteed interest rate varies from fund to fund and so is not available. However, it could be much higher – a conversion rate of 6.8%, for example, requires an interest rate of around 4.5%. Accordingly, the Comparis redistribution calculator makes the conservative assumption that this interest rate of 2.43% is equal to the implicit interest rate guarantee. At the same time, the interest rate on the retirement savings of active contributors averaged 1.54%. For active contributors and pensioners to be treated equally (i.e. no distribution), the retirement savings should therefore have an interest rate around 0.89 percentage points higher. With retirement savings currently standing at some 435 billion francs, this represents a redistribution of 3,876 million francs each year. This figure underlies the Comparis redistribution calculator but can be replaced by a different assumption on an individual basis.

Redistribution et perte de rente : le calcul


Les caisses de pension suisses font l’objet d’une redistribution massive : entre des taux à un niveau bas record et une espérance de vie prolongée, les rentes garanties reviennent systématiquement plus cher qu’elles ne peuvent être effectivement financées. La lacune qui en résulte doit être renflouée par les assurés actifs, c’est-à-dire par toutes les personnes qui ne sont pas encore à la retraite. Selon des estimations, quelque 4 milliards de francs sont redistribués des personnes actives aux rentiers et ce, chaque année !

Que signifie ce montant démesuré à l’échelle individuelle ? Combien de rente se perd chaque année de la sorte ? Et surtout : de combien ce chiffre augmentera-t-il encore si rien n’est entrepris, à l'avenir, contre cette redistribution ? Ce sont là quelques-unes des questions auxquelles le Calculateur de redistribution Comparis apporte des réponses – une première en Suisse ! Procéder vous-même au calcul, à titre indicatif, et voyez quels seront les effets de la redistribution des caisses de prévoyance dans votre cas.

 

Bases du Calculateur de redistribution Comparis

 

La redistribution, qu’est-ce que c’est au juste?

Dans un système de prévoyance, le terme « redistribution » veut dire que certaines personnes obtiennent des prestations supérieures ou inférieures à ce qu’elles y ont contribué par leurs cotisations au cours leur activité professionnelle et par le rendement de celles-ci. Le 1er pilier (AVS), par exemple, fonctionne suivant le principe du pot commun : les personnes actives y cotisent tandis que les rentiers en perçoivent les prestations. Les cotisations versées ne donnent pas droit à des prétentions individuelles. Dans le 2e pilier, il y a également redistribution. Ainsi, tous les assurés paient par exemple une prime en cas d’invalidité et de décès mais seules les personnes effectivement touchées par le sort perçoivent des prestations (principe de solidarité). À l’âge de la retraite, il y a encore redistribution, par exemple quand les personnes mariées perçoivent des prestations survivant dont les personnes non mariées ne bénéficient le plus souvent pas, bien que le montant de la retraite soit souvent identique.

Redistribution : où est le problème ?

Au total, le financement des prestations de vieillesse devrait permettre que la redistribution s’équilibre, du moins, à moyen terme. Or, avec la prolongation de l’espérance de vie, la baisse des rendements de placement et la non-adaptation des paramètres de prestation, cela n’est pas le cas pour de nombreuses caisses de pension. En d’autres termes, les rentes de vieillesse coûtent systématiquement plus cher qu’elles ne sont financées par les cotisations et par les rendements apportés. La lacune qui se crée de la sorte doit être comblée par les assurés actifs (les personnes qui ne sont pas encore à la retraite) tandis que leur capital d’épargne est moins bien rémunéré. Ce type de redistribution est contraire au principe du système de prévoyance ; il est représenté dans le calculateur de redistribution Comparis.

Comment évalue-t-on la redistribution ?

Pour effectuer une évaluation correcte, il faudrait calculer la redistribution pour chaque caisse de pension individuelle, centraliser les résultats puis les additioner. Or, cela n’est pas le cas aujourd'hui. Le Calculateur de redistribution Comparis se fonde donc sur une estimation : quand les assurés partent à la retraite, leur capital d’épargne se transforme en rente. C’est là que le taux dit de conversion entre en jeu : il équivaut à une promesse implicite sur les intérêts dont bénéficie le nouveau rentier ou la nouvelle rentière. Dans le même temps, la nouvelle obligation envers le rentier/la rentière doit être évaluée, d’où, encore une fois, la nécessité d’un taux (dit taux technique). Dans une caisse de pension sans redistribution, la promesse de taux implicite, le taux technique et le taux rémunérant chaque année le capital d’épargne des assurés actifs, devraient être au même niveau (du moins à moyen terme). C'est la seule façon de faire profiter tous les participants à parts égales des rendements attendus sur les avoirs. Mais dans bien des cas, la promesse de taux implicite quant aux intérêts et / ou le taux technique est bien supérieur au taux rémunérant le capital d’épargne des assurés actifs. Il est possible de calculer cette différence, qui permet d’évaluer la redistribution approximative qui en résulte.

Dans quelle mesure cela me concerne-t-il ?

Selon la Commission de haute surveillance de la prévoyance professionnelle (CHS PP), les caisses de pension suisses ont valorisé leurs obligations en termes de rentes pour l’année 2016 (source des données indiquée ci-dessous) avec un taux technique de 2,43% en moyenne. Le taux d’intérêt implicitement promis varie d’une caisse à une autre et n’est donc pas disponible. Il pourrait cependant être nettement plus élevé (un taux de conversion de 6,8 % par exemple requiert un taux d'intérêt d’environ 4,5 %). Le Calculateur de redistribution Comparis part donc de l’hypothèse, conservatrice, que le taux de 2,43% correspond à la promesse de taux implicite. Dans le même temps, le capital d’épargne des assurés actifs est rémunéré à 1,54% en moyenne. Pour une équité de traitement entre assurés actifs et rentiers (c.à.d. sans redistribution), le capital d’épargne aurait donc dû être rémunéré 0,89 points de pourcentage de plus. Avec aujourd’hui un capital d’épargne de 435 milliards de francs, cela correspond à 3 876 millions de francs redistribués et ce, chaque année ! Ce chiffre constitue la base du Calculateur de redistribution Comparis mais il peut cependant être remplacé par une hypothèse individuelle.