Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

Loans & mortgagesPersonal loansLoan GuideEligibility criteria
Personal loans – conditions and risk factors

Personal loan eligibility criteria

How do banks and lenders rate their clients when it comes to personal loan applications? You must fulfil a range of requirements in order to be approved for a loan in Switzerland. Find out more about the most important criteria for having your loan application accepted and how you can improve your eligibility.

In this article:

  • The eligibility criteria applicable to loans
  • The factors influencing the rates and conditions offered
  • How to improve your chances of being approved for a loan

Know this already? Click here to submit a loan enquiry

Loan eligibility criteria in Switzerland

You are considering taking out a loan to finance a house move or car purchase, for instance, but are unsure of the requirements? The interest rate and conditions you will be offered depend on the lender’s own specific criteria. The main criteria include age, employment, debt collection orders, credit standing, residence permit and child maintenance / alimony payments. If a loan application is rejected, an entry is recorded in the database of the ZEK (Central Office for Credit Information), which can make it more difficult to be approved for a loan in the future. That’s why it's important to familiarize yourself with the key requirements for a successful loan application. Here's an overview of the most important criteria:

Credit capacity

The main criterion for being approved for a consumer loan is your credit capacity or credit rating, as defined in the Consumer Credit Act.

  • Definition of consumer loan: according to the Consumer Credit Act (KKG), a consumer loan is a loan of between CHF 550 and CHF 80,000 offered by commercial providers of financial services. Lower or higher amounts are not subject to the Consumer Credit Act.
  • Lenders subject to the Consumer Credit Act: providers of peer-to-peer loans have also been subject to the Consumer Credit Act since April 2019.
  • Legal requirements: the Consumer Credit Act stipulates that a borrower must be capable of paying back a loan. This means that a loan can only be approved if the borrower is in a position to repay the loan amount, including interest, within 36 months using the attachable portion of their income. This also applies if a longer loan term is chosen.

Age

You may not be approved for a loan if you are too old or too young.

  • Minors: persons under 18 years of age may not take out a loan in Switzerland.
  • Persons under 25 years of age: additional restrictions may apply to applicants under the age of 25, such as a higher interest rate or a limited loan amount. Lenders are generally more cautious with young applicants because their financial circumstances are usually less settled and the risk of default is deemed to be higher.
  • Pensioners: it is difficult to get a loan after retirement. This is because pensioners have no regular – and therefore no attachable – income. The OASI (AHV/AVS) pension is not attachable and therefore does not count as income here. Secured loans are a different matter and may be a feasible alternative for homeowners, for example. Older borrowers are also often required to repay their loan by a particular age. Conditions vary from lender to lender.

Employment status

Basically, a distinction is made between persons with and persons without a regular income. The latter include temporary employees, self-employed people and those employed on an hourly basis.

  • Employees with a permanent contract: you are only eligible for a loan if you have proof of income and have already successfully completed your trial period with your new employer. If you have only recently been hired as an employee, you may have to accept higher interest rates or less favourable conditions. If you have been working for the same employer for a long time and have a permanent contract, you will generally be offered lower interest rates.
  • Employees with a temporary contract: temporary employees can usually get a loan but can expect to pay higher interest rates.
  • Self-employed persons: in Switzerland, self-employed persons are those registered a sole proprietor, an AG/SA or a GmbH/SARL. It is not easy for self-employed people to obtain a loan but it is theoretically possible. For various reasons, lenders exercise caution when it comes to offering standard consumer loans to self-employed people. The main reason is that their income is irregular and less predictable than the salary of an employed person.
  • Those employed on an hourly basis: people employed on an hourly basis cannot usually obtain a loan if they cannot prove they have a regular income over a long period.

In short:

If you have a long-term, regular income, your chances of a positive response to your loan application are better than for those with highly irregular incomes.

A highly irregular income can also have a negative effect on the interest rates and conditions offered. The same applies to those receiving commission-based pay.

Calculate credit limit

Debt collection orders / bankruptcy

Anyone who has filed for bankruptcy will not be eligible for a loan. Even debt collection orders that have been settled will negatively affect loan applications.

  • Open debt collection orders: anyone with open debt collection orders has little chance of obtaining a loan. Debt collection orders signal a greater risk that the loan won't be repaid and therefore damage a person's creditworthiness. However, applicants with a single debt collection order may be considered by some lenders on a case-by-case basis.
  • Settled debt collection orders: lenders generally classify loan applicants with past debt collection orders as high-risk. This applies even if the orders have been settled, as the applicants are deemed to have a poor payment history. Nevertheless, a loan is not out of the question. It depends on the quantity, type and the amounts owed in each case, and when the orders were settled. In other words, settled debt collection orders are considered on a case-by-case basis, but tend to have a negative effect on the conditions offered.
  • Bankruptcy / seizure of assets: if you have filed for bankruptcy or had assets seized, you will not be able to get a loan.

Credit standing

If you are rated as financially trustworthy, you will be offered a lower interest rate.

  • Credit standing and creditworthiness:credit standing or creditworthiness refers to the likelihood of a customer repaying a loan. This requires an assessment of the customer's financial trustworthiness. To this end, lenders consider the customer’s payment history, including current and past lease agreements, outstanding debts and debt collection orders and proceedings.
  • Credit databases and agencies: lenders source their information from credit databases, the Central Office for Credit Information (ZEK), debt collection offices and residents' registration offices. In Switzerland, there are four major credit agencies that collect and provide credit data: CRIF, Intrum Justitia, Bisnode and Creditreform. Only those with a legitimate interest are entitled to request data from these agencies.
  • Interest amount: the default risk determines whether and under what conditions a loan will be offered. Generally speaking, if a lender rates a client as risky, the interest rate will be higher. If the default risk is low, the interest rate is usually also low.

Residence permit

If you do not have citizenship in Switzerland or Liechtenstein, the type of residence permit you have will affect your chances of getting a loan.

  • Settlement permit C: most lenders accept a C permit.
  • Residence permit B: if you have a B permit, you might only be approved for a loan after a certain time has elapsed since the date of issue. This varies from lender to lender. You may be offered a higher interest rate or a limited loan amount. This is because of the statistically higher probability that you will return to your home country. Some lenders require the loan to be repaid by the time the B permit expires.
  • Residence permits G & L: these permits are not usually accepted.

Child maintenance / alimony

Lenders also take into account the issue of whether you have children and pay or receive maintenance payments. How this affects your chances of a loan and the interest rate offered depends on other financial factors, especially your income.

  • Child maintenance paid: alimony or maintenance payments count as part of your monthly outgoings and must be taken into account by the lender when calculating your credit capacity.
  • Child maintenance received: lenders often don’t class receipt of maintenance payments as income, as these payments are usually not, or only partially, attachable.
  • Income and children: child maintenance payments are included as income or expenditure in the budget. But the children themselves also affect the income and expenditure situation of a household and are therefore also included in the detailed budget review.

How to improve your chances of being approved for a loan

Whether you will be offered a loan, and at what rates and conditions, depends on various factors. The most common have already been discussed in this article. In addition, lenders specify their own additional criteria, which are not necessarily communicated to customers or the general public for security reasons. It is therefore difficult for borrowers to gauge their personal chances of success and select the right lender to apply to. Simply sending off applications to one or more lenders on the off chance means you risk not being approved. Around half of all loan applications in Switzerland are rejected. Every rejected loan application is registered with the ZEK and can be viewed, along with the reason for rejection, by member lenders for a period of two years. This can negatively impact your chances of obtaining a loan in the future. However, the reason for the rejection is not usually communicated to the borrower. As open applications are also registered with ZEK, lenders will know if you have submitted multiple applications at the same time. This may also reduce your chances of success.

Caution advised: loan rejections are recorded with the ZEK and may reduce your chances of being approved in the future.

If you want to submit your application to the lender most likely to accept it, Credaris, a partner service of Comparis, would be pleased to help. The experts at Credaris will review your enquiry free of charge and with no obligation, and submit an application to a lender with your approval. This way, you benefit from specialist expertise and experience and receive recommendations on the loan that’s best for you. This increases your chances of a positive outcome and significantly reduces the risk of negative entries being recorded at the ZEK.

Find the best loan now


Personal loans – quickly, safely and with no obligation

Our experts can negotiate the best rates for you.
Find the best deal now

Comparis
Newsletter
fr

Assurances

Auto & moto

Immobilier

Crédit & hypothèques

Comparateur de prix

Santé & prévoyance

Autres services

Comparis

Menu

Crédit & hypothèquesCrédit privéGuide du créditCritères d'acceptation
Crédit privé – Conditions et facteurs de risques

Critères d'obtention d'un crédit privé

Comment les banques et les établissements de crédit évaluent-ils le profil de leurs clients quand il est question de crédit privé ? Pour obtenir un crédit en Suisse, il faut remplir différentes conditions. Apprenez-en plus sur les principales conditions d’octroi d’un crédit et découvrez comment augmenter vos chances d’obtenir un crédit.

Dans cet article :

  • Conditions à remplir pour obtenir un crédit
  • Ces éléments qui jouent sur le taux d’intérêt et les conditions de votre emprunt
  • Comment améliorer vos chances d’obtenir un crédit

Vous êtes déjà renseigné ? Faire une demande de crédit

Les conditions pour obtenir un crédit en Suisse

Vous envisagez de contracter un crédit pour déménager ou financer votre voiture mais vous ne connaissez pas les conditions à remplir ? Le taux et les conditions que vous octroiera la banque dépendent de ses exigences. Votre âge, votre situation professionnelle, l’existence de poursuites à votre encontre, votre solvabilité, le type d’autorisation de séjour que vous détenez et vos éventuelles obligations en matière de pensions alimentaires font partie des critères les plus importants. Toute demande de crédit refusée est saisie dans le fichier de la ZEK (Centrale d’information de crédit), ce qui peut réduire les chances d’acceptation de vos demandes ultérieures. C’est la raison pour laquelle il est important de connaître les critères décisifs pour faire aboutir votre demande de crédit. Nous les avons listés ci-dessous, pour vous.

Capacité de contracter un crédit

La première des conditions à remplir pour obtenir un crédit en Suisse est la capacité de contracter un crédit au sens de la loi sur le crédit à la consommation.

  • Définition du crédit à la consommation : au sens de la loi sur le crédit à la consommation (LCC), le crédit privé (aussi appelé crédit à la consommation) est un crédit compris entre 500 et 80 000 francs, accordé par un prestataire commercial ou de services financiers. Les emprunts de montants supérieurs ou inférieurs ne sont pas régis par la LCC.
  • Prêteur au sens de la LCC : depuis avril 2019, les prêts entre particuliers (ou prêts P2P, de l’anglais peer-to-peer) sont eux aussi soumis à la loi sur le crédit à la consommation.
  • Conditions d’octroi fixées par la LCC : l’emprunteur doit être en capacité de contracter un crédit. En d’autres termes, pour que sa demande de crédit puisse être acceptée, le demandeur doit être en mesure de rembourser le montant du prêt, intérêts compris, dans les 36 mois suivant la signature du contrat de crédit sans grever la part insaisissable de son revenu. Cela est également applicable à la souscription de crédits plus longs.

Âge

Dans certains cas, les personnes jugées trop jeunes ou trop âgées n’obtiennent aucun crédit.

  • Mineurs : les moins de 18 ans ne peuvent pas obtenir un crédit en Suisse.
  • Moins de 25 ans : les moins de 25 ans peuvent être soumis à des restrictions particulières, par exemple un montant empruntable plafonné, ou un taux d’intérêt plus élevé. Les banques sont en général plus réticentes à l’idée d’octroyer un crédit aux jeunes demandeurs. Ces derniers n’ayant pas encore forcément très bien intégré les principes de la gestion de budget, ils présentent un risque accru de défaut de paiement.
  • Retraités : une fois à la retraite, il est difficile d’obtenir un crédit. En effet, les retraités ne disposant plus d’un revenu régulier, il n’est plus possible d’en déterminer une part saisissable. La rente AVS est insaisissable et ne peut donc pas être incluse dans le calcul du revenu. Les crédits garantis par un gage ne sont en revanche pas concernés et peuvent être envisagés comme une solution, par exemple par les propriétaires. Les emprunteurs les plus âgés sont souvent tenus de rembourser leur crédit avant un certain âge. Les conditions varient d’un établissement à l’autre.

Activité lucrative

De manière générale, on distingue deux types de demandeurs : ceux qui ont un revenu régulier, et ceux qui n’en ont pas. Les salariés en contrat à durée déterminée, les indépendants et les salariés rémunérés à l’heure appartiennent à la seconde catégorie.

  • Salarié en contrat à durée indéterminée : seules les personnes en mesure de prouver qu’elles disposent d’un revenu régulier et qu’elles ne sont plus en période probatoire peuvent obtenir un crédit. Les demandeurs nouvellement embauchés doivent parfois s’attendre à des taux d’intérêt plus élevés ou à des conditions de crédit moins favorables. Au contraire, un demandeur en contrat à durée indéterminée avec une certaine ancienneté chez le même employeur peut en général obtenir un crédit à un taux plus favorable.
  • Salariés temporaires et salariés en contrat à durée déterminée : l’octroi d’un crédit n’est pas exclu, mais le taux d’intérêt sera plus élevé.
  • Indépendants : en Suisse, on entend par « indépendants » aussi bien les dirigeants d’entreprises individuelles que les associés d’une SA ou d’une société à responsabilité limitée (SàRL). Pour ces personnes, l’obtention d’un crédit est semée d’embûches, sans être pour autant impossible. Les organismes financiers sont réticents à l’octroi de crédits privés traditionnels aux indépendants, et ce pour plusieurs raisons. La principale tient au caractère variable de leurs revenus, qui sont donc moins prévisibles que ceux d’un salarié.
  • Salariés rémunérés à l’heure : ils n’obtiennent en règle générale pas de crédit s’ils ne sont pas en mesure de prouver qu’ils perçoivent un revenu régulier depuis un certain temps.

L’essentiel en bref :

Les personnes qui disposent d’un revenu régulier depuis un certain temps ont plus de chances d’obtenir un crédit que celles qui ont des revenus en dents de scie.

Un revenu très irrégulier peut avoir des répercussions négatives sur le taux d’intérêt et sur les conditions du crédit. C’est notamment le cas des personnes travaillant sur provision.

Calcul de la ligne de crédit

Poursuites/faillite

Impossible d’obtenir un crédit en Suisse après une faillite. Les poursuites, même réglées, ont un effet négatif sur les demandes de crédit.

  • Poursuites en cours : en cas de poursuites en cours, les chances d’avoir un crédit sont faibles. Les poursuites érodent la capacité de remboursement et aggravent de facto les risques de défaut. En cas de poursuite isolée, certains établissements de crédit cherchent néanmoins plus précisément les causes de l’incident.
  • Poursuites réglées : pour les banques, les demandeurs qui ont déjà fait l’objet de poursuites (quand bien même ces dernières seraient réglées) présentent un risque de défaut plus élevé. Et pour cause : elles les considèrent comme de mauvais payeurs. L’octroi d’un crédit n’est néanmoins pas impossible et dépend en grande partie de la nature des poursuites, de leur montant et de la date de leur règlement. Si les situations des demandeurs qui ont fait l’objet de poursuites sont examinées au cas par cas, il n’en demeure pas moins que ce genre d’incident influe défavorablement sur les conditions de crédit.
  • Faillite/saisies : impossible d’obtenir un crédit en Suisse après une saisie ou une faillite.

Solvabilité

Les demandeurs sérieux sur le plan financier obtiennent un taux d’intérêt moindre.

  • Solvabilité et capacité de remboursement : la solvabilité ou capacité de remboursement décrit la probabilité pour un emprunteur de rembourser son crédit. Elle est évaluée en fonction de la fiabilité financière du client. Sont prises en compte sa capacité à honorer ses obligations financières, y compris dans le cadre de contrats de leasing en cours ou échus, ses possibles dettes ainsi que les poursuites et mesures de recouvrement éventuellement engagées à son encontre.
  • Registres de solvabilité et renseignements économiques : les établissements de crédit consultent les registres de solvabilité et se renseignent auprès de la Centrale d’information de crédit (ZEK), des offices des poursuites et des offices de la population. En Suisse, quatre grandes sociétés de renseignements collectent des données relatives à la solvabilité et les commercialisent : CRIF, Intrum Justitia, Bisnode et Creditreform. Les données qui y sont renseignées ne sont consultables qu’en cas d’intérêt légitime.
  • Montant du taux d’intérêt : c’est le risque de défaut de paiement qui détermine l’issue d’une demande de crédit et, si celle-ci est favorable, les conditions du crédit. D’une manière générale, plus le risque de défaut est élevé selon la banque, plus le taux d’intérêt l’est aussi. Si ce risque est considéré faible, le taux est en principe bas.

Autorisation de séjour

Si vous n’êtes pas ressortissant de Suisse ou du Liechtenstein, votre autorisation de séjour jouera un rôle dans votre demande de crédit.

  • Autorisation de séjour C : la plupart des établissements de crédit acceptent les permis C.
  • Autorisation de séjour B : avec un permis B, l’octroi d’un crédit n’est généralement possible qu’après un certain délai à compter de la date de délivrance. La durée de ce délai varie en fonction des banques. Dans certains cas, le taux d’intérêt peut être revu à la hausse, ou le montant empruntable plafonné. Ces conditions répondent à la probabilité d’un retour de l’emprunteur dans son pays d’origine, statistiquement plus élevée pour les titulaires de ce type de permis. Certaines banques exigent le remboursement complet du crédit avant l’échéance du permis B.
  • Autorisations de séjour G et L : les demandes de crédit ne sont en principe pas acceptées pour les titulaires de ces permis.

Pension alimentaire/contribution d’entretien

Vous payez ou recevez une pension alimentaire pour vos enfants ? L’établissement de crédit en tient également compte pour prendre sa décision. Le poids de cette information sur vos chances d’obtenir un crédit et sur le taux d’intérêt dépend des autres éléments de votre situation financière, et notamment de votre revenu.

  • Vous êtes débiteur d’une pension alimentaire : les pensions alimentaires ou contributions d’entretien font partie des dépenses mensuelles. À ce titre, elles sont obligatoirement prises en compte par l’établissement de crédit pour le calcul de la capacité de crédit.
  • Vous êtes bénéficiaire d’une pension alimentaire : les sommes correspondantes étant en tout ou en partie insaisissables, bien souvent, les banques ne les considèrent pas comme des revenus.
  • Revenu et enfants : les enfants ont une incidence sur les recettes et sur les dépenses du ménage, et notamment sur les pensions alimentaires qui en font partie intégrante. C’est pourquoi ils sont pris en compte dans l’examen détaillé du budget.

Augmentez vos chances d’avoir un crédit

L’obtention d’un crédit et, le cas échéant, la définition des conditions du crédit et du taux d’intérêt dépendent de plusieurs critères. Les principaux ont déjà été expliqués dans cet article mais les établissements de crédit et les banques ont leurs propres exigences qu’ils ne communiquent qu’en partie aux clients ou au grand public, pour des raisons de sécurité. Les demandeurs ont donc du mal à évaluer leurs chances d’avoir un crédit et de présenter leur demande au prestataire qui convient à leur situation. Soumettre une demande de crédit à un établissement au hasard fait peser le risque d’un refus. En Suisse, près de la moitié des demandes de crédit sont déclinées. Tout refus et les motifs qui l’accompagnent sont consignés dans le fichier ZEK, auquel les membres ont accès pendant deux ans. Vos chances d’obtenir ultérieurement un crédit auprès des banques peuvent en être réduites. Pourtant, le preneur de crédit lui-même n’est souvent pas informé de la raison du refus. Les demandes en cours étant elles aussi versées au fichier ZEK, les établissements de crédit savent quand vous déposez simultanément plusieurs demandes. Là encore, vos chances d’avoir un crédit peuvent s’en trouver amoindries.

Attention : les refus de crédit sont saisis dans le fichier ZEK et peuvent réduire vos chances d’avoir un crédit ultérieurement.

Credaris, un service partenaire de Comparis, vous aide à trouver l’établissement auprès duquel vous avez les meilleures chances d’obtenir un crédit. Les experts Credaris examinent votre demande et, avec votre accord, la soumettent à une banque. C’est gratuit et sans engagement. Vous tirez ainsi parti des compétences et de l’expérience des experts et recevez des prestations de conseil sur le crédit le plus adapté à vos besoins. De quoi augmenter vos chances d’obtenir une réponse favorable et réduire significativement le risque de note négative dans le fichier ZEK.

Trouvez le meilleur crédit


Un crédit privé – rapide, sûr et sans engagement

Nos experts négocient les meilleures conditions pour vous.
Trouver la meilleure offre