Loans

Personal loans: how to spot shady lenders

TIPS
|
To avoid falling prey to unscrupulous lenders, you should consider all loan providers carefully. Source: Thinkstock

Loans with bad debt or without any form of credit check? This is how unscrupulous “lenders” lure unsuspecting borrowers. These deals are often fraudulent. Find out here how to identify loan scams and protect yourself against them.

Loan deals advertised with statements like “bad credit loans” or “no-credit-check loans” can sound rather appealing. However, the companies behind such claims are usually untrustworthy debt consolidation companies, not Swiss lenders. Our five useful tips will help you to spot loan scams and show you the right way to go about choosing a lender.

Trap 1: Loans without credit check

The Consumer Credit Act stipulates that all lenders must report all issued loans to the Information Centre for Consumer Credit (IKO). Providers of peer-to-peer loans (often abbreviated to P2P loans) have also been subject to the Consumer Credit Act since April 2019. In addition, reputable lenders are members of the Central Office for Credit Information (ZEK). This organization keeps records of all the loans issued by its members and provides information in response to member requests regarding loan applications. This means that it is impossible to obtain a loan without a ZEK disclosure or credit check in Switzerland.

If a lender fails to comply with the applicable regulations, it can face legal action. So be careful if someone tries to offer you a loan that requires no credit check or ZEK disclosure. It could be a scam.

Here’s what to do to:

  • Do your research on the bank or lender. All reputable lenders are members of the ZEK.
  • Be aware that dishonest debt consolidation companies advertise loans but charge fees for questionable services instead.
  • Consult the list of public warnings regarding fraudulent lenders provided by the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority, Finma. You can also search for customer feedback in online forums, for example.
  • Visit Zefix, the business index, to find out which company is behind a particular website. Even if “.ch” appears in the URL, the organization may be a letterbox company.

Trap 2: Loans with bad credit

You will often see adverts for “bad credit” or “bad debt” loans. These ads target customers experiencing serious financial difficulties. Reputable lenders do not use such slogans in their advertising. They examine the credit capacity of their applicants carefully in order to protect them from falling into excessive debt.

Whether or not you still have an active debt collection order filed against you, the lender will review your application rigorously. A debt collection order is often a reason for a loan to be rejected. In all cases, it will have a negative effect on your credit standing and will affect your chances of being approved for a loan and/or the conditions offered.

Here’s what to do to:

  • Work out a budget to create an overview of your finances. Templates are available from the Swiss budget counselling service Budgetberatung Schweiz (in German, French and Italian only) as well as from various banks and insurance companies.
  • Should you find yourself in serious financial difficulties, don't hesitate to contact a debt counselling service. Possible organizations include Verein Schuldenberatung (website in German and French only), Caritas Switzerland debt counselling service and the debt counselling service provided by your canton of residence.
  • Research the bank or lender before submitting a loan application. To do this, read the tips under “Loans without credit check”.

Trap 3: Additional charges

According to the Consumer Credit Act, all lender fees must be included in the effective annual interest rate in order to protect consumers. Nevertheless, lenders are permitted to charge fees for services that are not directly connected to the loan costs, such as payment reminders, address searches and early contract termination.

Here’s what to do to:

  • Check the contract offered by the lender carefully before signing. Inclusion of terms such as “broker's commission” or similar indicates that this is not a legitimate lender, as personal loan brokers are not allowed to charge customers any fees.

Trap 4: Instant loans

Terms such as “express loans” and “instant loans” promise fast access to money. However, these deals are offered almost exclusively by fraudulent lenders. According to the loan industry's self-regulatory code of practice, lenders are explicitly prohibited from using the term “instant loan” in their advertising. In addition, the Consumer Credit Act stipulates a 14-day cooling-off period before a consumer loan may be paid out.

Exceptions to this cooling-off period exist for loans that do not fall under the definition of a consumer loan. In most cases, this refers to loans of over 80,000 francs.

Here’s what to do to:

  • Check how the lender advertises its products. If they use phrases such as “instant loans” or “get approved in minutes” or similar, proceed with caution. Check the legitimacy of the lender using other sources.

Trap 5: Dishonest debt consolidation companies

Many loan applicants end up using a debt consolidation company without realizing it. These companies are usually advisors and not lenders. Of course, there are legitimate as well as fraudulent debt consolidation companies.

Applicants to these organizations, also known as debt relief companies, usually receive a contract to consolidate their debt. With this arrangement, you don't get a loan, but must pay the company for the services provided.

Here’s what to do to:

  • Check whether the company features on the list of public warnings compiled by the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (Finma).
  • Check the lender’s website for indications that it is a debt consolidation company and not a loan provider.
  • Check and compare reputable lenders on the Comparis website.

In short: check, research and compare

Only consider lenders that are members of the Central Office for Credit Information (ZEK). Compare trustworthy lenders, loans, interest rates and conditions at comparis.ch. Beware of low-interest deals.

Note: if your loan application is rejected, the details will be recorded at the ZEK. This may reduce your chances of being approved for a loan in the future.

Are you looking for a personal loan? The team at Credaris, a partner service of Comparis, can help you find a loan offering the best rates and conditions for your needs. Send a quick, no-obligation loan enquiry and benefit from the expertise of the Credaris specialists.

Crédit

Crédit privé : comment reconnaître les prestataires peu scrupuleux ?

CONSEILS
|
Pour ne pas tomber dans le piège que vous tendent les escrocs, étudiez scrupuleusement les prestataires de crédit. Photo : Thinkstock

Crédit avec poursuites, sans extrait ZEK, crédit sans justificatif… voilà le fonds de commerce des « organismes de crédit » douteux, faisant des offres souvent peu sérieuses. Découvrez comment reconnaître les offres trompeuses pour mieux vous en prémunir.

« Crédit sans poursuites », « crédit sans extrait ZEK », « crédit sans justificatif » : ces slogans sont attrayants. Or, le plus souvent ils n’émanent pas d’organismes de crédit suisses, mais d’établissements d’assainissement des dettes peu sérieux. Nos cinq conseils pratiques vous aident à reconnaître les offres de crédit peu sérieuses pour mieux vous orienter vers le bon choix.

Piège 1 : le crédit sans extrait ZEK

En vertu de la loi sur le crédit à la consommation, tous les établissements de prêt ont l’obligation d’annoncer les crédits en cours au Centre de renseignements sur le crédit à la consommation (IKO). Depuis avril 2019, les prêts entre particuliers (aussi connus sous le nom de prêts P2P, de l’anglais peer-to-peer) sont eux aussi soumis à la loi sur le crédit à la consommation. Les prestataires sérieux sont en outre membres de la Centrale d’information de crédit (ZEK). Ils recensent tous les crédits qu’ils octroient dans le fichier de cet organisme, et le consultent systématiquement lors d’une demande. Il ne peut donc pas y avoir de crédit sans extrait ZEK ni vérification de la solvabilité en Suisse.

En cas d’infraction aux dispositions en vigueur, l’établissement fautif peut être poursuivi en justice. Prudence donc, si l’on vous fait miroiter un crédit sans vérification de solvabilité ou sans extrait ZEK : il s’agit vraisemblablement d’une tentative d’escroquerie.

Comment se prémunir ?

  • Vérifiez les informations dont vous disposez sur la banque ou l’établissement de crédit. Tous les prestataires sérieux sont membres de la ZEK.
  • Certains établissements d’assainissement de dettes peu sérieux mettent en avant leurs offres de crédit mais facturent en réalité des frais pour des prestations douteuses.
  • Consultez la liste noire des prestataires peu sérieux de l’Autorité fédérale de surveillance des marchés financiers, la Finma. Cherchez aussi à vous renseigner sur des forums, en lisant par exemple des témoignages.
  • Vérifiez dans le registre du commerce (Zefix) l’identité juridique des personnes qui se trouvent derrière le site Internet : même si l’URL se termine par « .ch », il peut s’agir d’une société fictive.

Piège 2 : le crédit avec poursuites

Il n’est pas rare que des offres attrayantes promeuvent des formules « crédit avec poursuites ». Ces offres s’adressent à des personnes en proie à des difficultés financières. Les prestataires sérieux n’utilisent pas de tels slogans. Au contraire, ils regardent de très près la capacité de crédit des demandeurs afin d’éviter les cas de surendettement.

Si des poursuites sont en cours ou ont eu lieu par le passé, l’organisme de crédit examine le dossier scrupuleusement. Bien souvent, ces poursuites constituent un motif de refus. Dans tous les cas, elles abaissent votre solvabilité et influent sur l’issue de votre demande de crédit ou sur les conditions du prêt.

Comment se prémunir ?

  • Définissez vous-même un budget afin de garder une vue d’ensemble de votre situation financière. Budget-conseil Suisse ainsi que certaines banques et assurances proposent des modèles de budget.
  • Si vous traversez de grandes difficultés financières : faites le point à l’occasion d’un entretien-conseil sur le désendettement. Différents organismes en proposent : l’association Dettes Conseils Suisse, Caritas Suisse et votre canton de résidence en proposent.
  • Avant toute demande de crédit, vérifiez les informations dont vous disposez sur la banque ou l’organisme de crédit. Pour ce faire, reportez-vous aux conseils sur le « crédit sans extrait ZEK »

Piège 3 : les frais supplémentaires

Pour protéger le consommateur, la loi sur le crédit à la consommation impose l’inclusion de l’ensemble des frais relatifs au crédit dans le taux annuel effectif global. Un établissement de crédit peut néanmoins facturer des coûts annexes au crédit, comme des frais de rappel, de recherche d’adresse ou de rupture anticipée du contrat.

Comment se prémunir ?

  • Avant de signer le contrat de l’établissement de crédit, lisez-le bien attentivement. En cas de mention de « frais de courtage » ou de frais similaires, le prestataire manque de sérieux : un courtier en crédit privé a interdiction de facturer des frais au client.

Piège 4 : crédit immédiat

Les « crédits express » et les « crédits immédiats » promettent une aide rapide. La quasi totalité de ces offres sont proposées par des prestataires peu scrupuleux. D’après l’autoréglementation des institutions de crédit, les publicités comportant le terme de « crédit immédiat » sont interdites. En outre, la loi sur le crédit à la consommation prévoit un délai de 14 jours avant qu’un prêt ne puisse être versé.

Le droit de révocation ne s’applique pas aux crédits qui ne répondent pas à la définition du crédit à la consommation (dans la plupart des cas, les produits portant sur des montants supérieurs à 80 000 francs).

Comment se prémunir ?

  • Étudiez la publicité des organismes de prêt. Faites particulièrement attention en présence de formulations telles que « crédit immédiat » ou « paiement en quelques minutes ». En pareil cas, vérifiez le sérieux du prestataire qui les emploie en croisant ces informations avec celles d’autres sources.

Piège 5 : les organismes de désendettement peu scrupuleux

En recherchant un crédit, de nombreuses personnes atterrissent sans le savoir chez un organisme d’assainissement de dettes. Il s’agit de conseillers qui, en règle générale, n’exercent pas comme prêteurs. Comme en toute chose, certains sont sérieux, d’autres moins.

En se rendant chez un professionnel de ce type, le demandeur reçoit normalement un contrat visant prétendument à assainir ses dettes ou ses finances. Vous n’obtenez alors aucun crédit mais devez payer le prestataire pour ses services.

Comment se prémunir ?

  • Vérifiez si l’entreprise figure sur la liste noire de l’Autorité fédérale de surveillance des marchés (Finma).
  • Allez sur le site de l’établissement de crédit à la recherche d’indications signalant qu’il s’agit d’un spécialiste de l’assainissement, auquel cas il n’octroie pas de crédit.
  • Vérifiez et comparez les établissements de crédit sérieux sur Comparis

Conclusion : vérifiez, recherchez et comparez sans hâte

N’envisagez que les établissements de crédit membres de la Centrale d’information de crédit (ZEK). Comparez en outre les prestataires dignes de confiance, les crédits, les intérêts et les conditions sur comparis.ch. Gare aux offres à taux bas.

Attention : toute demande de crédit refusée est consignée dans le fichier ZEK et réduit donc vos chances d’obtenir un crédit privé.

Vous êtes à la recherche d’un crédit privé ? L’équipe de Credaris, un service partenaire de Comparis, vous aide à trouver le crédit aux meilleures conditions compte tenu de votre situation. Envoyez votre demande de crédit et profitez de l’expertise des experts de Comparis. C’est rapide et sans engagement.