Loans

Credit card or personal loan: which is better?

ANALYSIS
|
Paying by credit card – the bill can be a rude awakening. Source: istock

People are quick to pull out their credit card when they’ve got their heart set on something – and it's easy to forget that the bill will also soon be on its way. If the amount is paid off promptly, there's nothing to worry about. But if you are toying with the idea of paying by instalments, you should really look closely at the small print first, because the interest can be prohibitively expensive. In this case, a personal loan is often the better choice.

The basic principle is this: credit card bills should always be paid off immediately and in full, because if you pay late or only in part, you will incur steep interest charges. But credit card providers don't make this very obvious – often you will only find the interest rate for partial payments or overdrafts in the General Terms & Conditions.

Beware the interest-rate trap

The fact remains: interest on credit cards can frequently be as high as 12%. Indeed, the figure is often many times more than that, such as when the provider cashes the interest on the total amount even though part of the bill has already been paid. Then the cost can soon mount up, and not only on large sums. Or, if you are using several cards at the same time, you can easily lose track of your payments – then, in the worst case scenario, your debt eventually becomes unmanageable and you are no longer able to pay. 

When excessive debt looms, it’s time to act

This is why it is recommended that for larger sums you take out a personal loan instead of charging them to your credit card. The same applies when making a number of smaller purchases, which when added together exceed your current budget.

But what if you already have credit card debts? Then it is time to take action – and refinancing may be a viable solution. This involves consolidating existing debts from various sources into a single personal loan. The monthly repayment is calculated on the basis of the available budget. Although this does not get rid of the debt, you can still benefit: there is only one bill to pay each month and the interest is much lower. It is currently around 4.5 to 9.95%, depending on your credit rating.

 

Credit card versus personal loan – it depends on the amount

To sum up: For smaller purchases, ordering on the Internet and making payments abroad, credit cards are practical and effective, especially if the amounts due can be paid on time and in full with each monthly invoice. But as soon as those amounts increase to a level that means you have to start paying them off over several monthly instalments, the credit card is no longer so attractive. This is when a personal loan works out cheaper, as the following example calculation shows. In this scenario, you could save 104.70 francs by taking out a personal loan instead of using your credit card.

  Credit card  Personal loan 
 Loan amount in CHF 5,000   5,000
 Duration in months  12  12
 Interest in % p.a.  12.0  7.9
 Instalment required  442.80  434.10
 Interest costs   313.70  209.00
 Total amount paid  5,313.70  5,209.00

Crédit

Carte de crédit ou crédit privé : que choisir ?

ANALYSES
|
Payer par carte de crédit : c'est quand arrive la facture que c'est la douche froide Photo : istock

Devant une nouvelle acquisition, la carte de crédit est vite sortie – et le décompte rapidement arrivé. Quand le montant est vite réglé, tout va bien. Pour les adeptes du paiement par acompte, mieux vaut au préalable consulter en détail les mentions en petits caractères, car les intérêts peuvent revenir très cher. Dans ce cas, un crédit privé est souvent plus avantageux.

Les grands principes : toujours payer les factures de carte de crédit immédiatement et en intégralité. Car en payant trop tard ou seulement en partie, il faut s'acquitter d’intérêts considérables. Un fait que les prestataires de cartes de crédit n’abordent pas de manière aussi directe – le taux d’intérêt dû en cas de paiement par acompte ou de dépassement figure souvent uniquement dans les conditions générales.

Gare au piège : les taux d’intérêt

Reste que les intérêts sur les montants en souffrance correspondent souvent à des taux pouvant atteindre 12 %. Une somme qui explose dans de nombreux cas, par exemple quand le prestataire applique le taux à la totalité du montant alors qu’une partie de la facture a déjà été réglée. La note devient vite salée – pas seulement dans le cas de montants élevés. Et si, de surcroît, ce sont plusieurs cartes qui sont utilisées, il devient alors difficile de s'y retrouver. Dans le pire des cas, cela finit par mener au surendettement et donc, à une incapacité de paiement. 

Quand le surendettement guète, tirer la sonnette d'alarme

Pour les montants plus importants, est donc conseillé de prendre un crédit privé plutôt que de débiter la carte de crédit. Cela vaut également pour les petites acquisitions qui, prises ensemble, dépassent le budget actuel.

Et s’il y a déjà des montants en souffrance ? Dans ce cas, il est temps de tirer la sonnette d’alarme – un rachat de crédit peut constituer un moyen plus adéquat. Cela permet de rassembler toutes les dettes existantes de différents contrats en un seul crédit privé ; la mensualité est recalculée sur la base du budget dont vous disposez. Certes, la dette ne disparaît pas pour autant, mais il y a un avantage certain : plus qu’un seul décompte par mois et des intérêts nettement inférieurs. En ce moment, les taux se situent entre 4,5 et 9,95 % selon la solvabilité.

 

Carte de crédit vs. crédit privé – cela dépend du montant

En somme : pour des montants plus modestes, des achats sur Internet ou des paiements à l’étranger, la carte de crédit est bien pratique et tout à fait judicieuse ; surtout pour les sommes pouvant être payées à temps et en totalité avec la facture. Dès que les montants sont de l’ordre à être payés en plusieurs mensualités, la carte de crédit n'est plus indiquée. Le crédit privé est alors une solution plus intéressante. C'est ce qu’indique l'exemple suivant, où selon des estimations, un crédit privé permettrait d’économiser 104,70 francs par rapport à la carte de crédit.

Carte de crédit Crédit privé
Montant du crédit 5000 CHF 5000 CHF
Durée en mois 12 12
Taux d’intérêt par an 12,0 % 7,9 %
Acompte requis 442,80 CHF 434,10 CHF
Taux d’intérêts 313,70 CHF 209,00 CHF
Total payé 5313,70 CHF 5209,00 CHF