Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

Loans & mortgagesMortgagesGlossary
Mortgages

LIBOR mortgage

Like a variable-rate mortgage, a LIBOR mortgage is a mortgage whose interest rate can change during the repayment term. The interest rate of a LIBOR mortgage, also known as a money market mortgage, is adjusted to reflect market conditions every three to six months, as defined in the mortgage agreement. In addition, the repayment term of a LIBOR mortgage is fixed – usually at three to five years.

LIBOR stands for London Interbank Offered Rate. This is the interest rate banks charge when they lend each other money for the short term. A LIBOR mortgage comprises just two components: the LIBOR interest rate and the margin set by the bank. It is therefore very transparent.

How a LIBOR mortgage works

The interest rate for a LIBOR mortgage is calculated using the LIBOR and the margin applied by the lender. Although the LIBOR is recalculated every day, a LIBOR mortgage offers a bit more stability. Borrowers can choose at what intervals the interest rate should be adjusted. Lenders usually let borrowers choose between a 3, 6 or 12-month LIBOR. The repayment term is usually three to five years.

Pros

When interest rates are low, a LIBOR mortgage is the cheapest option. It has generally been the cheapest type of mortgage for the past ten years.

When interest rates fall, borrowers feel the benefits straight away. Since the LIBOR can fluctuate strongly and therefore rise dramatically, this mortgage type is only suitable for borrowers who have the funds to cope with a sharp rise in rates.

Cons

Who knows what the interest rate will be in, say, four years’ time? No one. Even the savviest experts can only speculate. To take out a LIBOR mortgage, you need to have a financial cushion against risk, as the LIBOR mortgage clearly involves a certain level of risk in a climate of rising interest rates.

Protection against fluctuations

Some lenders offer protection against interest rate fluctuations, in the form of a cap. This is an upper limit above which the interest rate may not rise during the entire term of the mortgage. But this interest rate ceiling comes at a price. Usually, the charge for this type of agreement must be paid at the beginning of the mortgage term.

Saron mortgage set to replace LIBOR mortgage

The Saron mortgage will replace the LIBOR mortgage at the end of 2021.

About the Saron mortgage

Personal consultation

Do you need advice tailored to your specific situation? The experts at HypoPlus compare the mortgage deals offered by a range of lenders and establish the best solution for your needs.
Request consultation

Comparis
Newsletter
fr

Assurances

Auto & moto

Immobilier

Crédit & hypothèques

Comparateur de prix

Santé & prévoyance

Autres services

Comparis

Menu

Crédit & hypothèquesHypothèquesGlossaire
Hypothèques

Hypothèque LIBOR

L’hypothèque LIBOR, au même titre que l’hypothèque à taux variable, est assortie d’un taux susceptible d’évoluer. Le taux d’intérêt de l'hypothèque LIBOR, aussi appelée « hypothèque indexée sur le marché monétaire », est ajusté tous les 3 à 6 mois sur la base des conditions du marché, selon les réglementations contractuelles. Quant à son échéance, elle est fixée, en règle générale, à 3-5 ans.

« LIBOR » est l’acronyme de London Interbank Offered Rate. Il s’agit du taux d’intérêt auquel les banques se prêtent de l’argent entre elles (à court terme). L’hypothèque LIBOR n’est composée que de deux éléments, à savoir le taux LIBOR et la marge de la banque, ce qui fait d’elle un modèle très transparent.

Hypothèque LIBOR : mode d’emploi

Le taux d’intérêt de l’hypothèque LIBOR se calcule à partir du taux LIBOR et de la marge fixée par l’établissement hypothécaire. Le LIBOR est réévalué quotidiennement, mais l’hypothèque LIBOR offre plus de stabilité. Les preneurs ont la possibilité de choisir la fréquence à laquelle leur taux d’intérêt sera réajusté. Le plus souvent, les établissements financiers proposent des taux LIBOR à 3, 6 ou 12 mois. L’échéance est fixée en règle générale à 3-5 ans.

Avantages

L’hypothèque LIBOR est l’option la plus avantageuse dans un contexte de taux bas. Elle a souvent été le moyen de financement le meilleur marché au cours des dix dernières années.

En cas de chute des taux, les emprunteurs profitent immédiatement de la situation. Étant donné que le LIBOR peut fortement fluctuer, et qu’il peut donc aussi augmenter de manière significative, l’hypothèque LIBOR est particulièrement adaptée aux personnes en mesure de supporter des envolées de taux.

Inconvénients

Nul ne sait à quoi ressembleront les taux d'intérêt, par exemple, dans quatre ans. Même les meilleurs experts ne peuvent tout au plus que spéculer. La souscription d’une hypothèque LIBOR implique une certaine capacité de risque, autrement dit, la prévision d’un matelas financier, car ce modèle recèle clairement des risques dans un contexte haussier.

Protection contre les fluctuations de taux

Certaines banques proposent une protection contre les fluctuations de taux appelée cap. Ainsi, sur toute la durée de l'hypothèque, une limite supérieure de taux déterminée ne doit pas être dépassée. Mais ce plafond a un prix. La plupart du temps, les frais relatifs à un tel accord doivent être réglés au moment où l’hypothèque commence à courir.

Remplacement de l’hypothèque LIBOR par l’hypothèque Saron

Fin 2021, l’hypothèque LIBOR sera remplacée par l’hypothèque Saron.

Vers l’hypothèque Saron

Entretien-conseil personnel

Vous avez besoin d’un entretien-conseil personnel ? Les experts d’HypoPlus comparent les offres de différents prestataires et retiennent la solution qui vous correspond le plus.
Demander une offre