Car insurance

Bonus levels


A key component of car insurance is the premium, which is calculated on the basis of the vehicle and particular driver risk criteria (e.g. is your car kept in the garage overnight? Is it leased?). This premium is quite high and virtually no one needs to pay this much, because personal criteria are also taken into account (e.g. how old are you? How long have you been driving? Have you caused any damage in the last few years?). The insurance companies use your personal criteria to set your bonus level, which could be 65 per cent, for example. In other words, you only have to pay 65 per cent of the premium that was originally calculated.

The bonus level is calculated separately for liability and full casco (comprehensive) insurance and does not have to be the same for each – and it certainly varies from one insurance company to another. For some, the lowest level is around 30 per cent; for others, it's around 45 per cent. For example, Allianz Suisse has a different bonus level to AXA, AXA a different one to Mobiliar, and Mobiliar a different one to Vaudoise… and so on. It is therefore advisable to always look at the actual premium that you will be expected to pay. If you are not yet at the lowest level of the bonus system, the level will drop by a few percentage points each year, i.e. you pay a little less each year until you reach the lowest level and the premium stays the same. The advantage is that once you have reached the lowest level, if you make a claim, the premium becomes only slightly more expensive, as the lower levels are generally much closer together than the higher ones.

Good to know:

You do not lose your bonus level if you switch insurance providers. Each insurance company calculates the level itself, irrespective of the level you are currently on.

 

Example of the additional costs incurred following an increase in bonus level: new driver vs. experienced driver

Andrew has just obtained his driving licence and takes out an insurance policy covering liability and full casco. He is assigned to level B8 and pays 80 per cent of the premium. He pays 1,920 hard-earned francs per year.

Andrew accidentally drives into the back of a car, causing damage to both vehicles. His insurance covers the damage in both cases. However, Andrew has a deductible of 1,000 francs for both liability and full casco insurance, because he is a new driver. A deductible of 1,000 francs was also agreed for the collision casco. In addition, he will move up from B8 to B12 for liability and collision casco insurance, which means a new level of 120 per cent with this insurance company.

So although Andrew does not have to pay for the damage himself, there are some costs he will still have to pay. These are:

Liability deductible CHF 1,000
Collision casco deductible CHF 2,000
Premium increase following increase in bonus level from B8 to B12, i.e. from 80 per cent to 120 per cent * CHF 2,400
Total CHF 5,400

Victoria has been driving longer than Andrew. She's had her driving licence for 20 years and has reached the lowest bonus level of B0, i.e. 30 per cent. She pays 720 francs per year.

Victoria also accidentally drives into the back of a car, causing damage to both vehicles. Because of her driving experience, a deductible is no longer applied to her liability insurance, and she agreed a deductible of 1,000 francs with the insurer for her collision casco.

Victoria also has the damage paid for and is moved up from level B0 to B4, i.e. to 45 per cent. Even though she has been penalized by the same number of levels, she doesn't have to pay as much as Andrew:

Liability deductible CHF 1,000
Premium increase following increase in bonus level from B0 to B4, i.e. from 30 per cent to 45 per cent * CHF 912
Total CHF 1,912

* The premium increase applies to the next 4 years, until level B8 (80 per cent) or, in the case of Victoria, level B0 (30 per cent) is reached. Andrew pays 120 per cent in the first year, 110 per cent in the next, 100 per cent in the third and 90 per cent in the fourth. In the fifth year, he is back down to 80 per cent, where he originally started. The same goes for Victoria: she pays 45 per cent in the first year, 41 per cent in the second year, 38 per cent in the third and 34 in the fourth. She is then back at level B0, which is 30 per cent.

Good to know:

Bonus protection can prevent the premium from going up. This could have saved Andrew 2,400 francs and Victoria 912 francs in additional costs. To find out more about bonus protection and the loopholes for avoiding the premium increase without buying a bonus protection supplement, click here.

Assurance automobile

Degrés de bonus


Dans l’assurance automobile, la prime se base initialement sur le type de véhicule et certains critères de risques comme le stationnement en garage pendant la nuit ou la conclusion d’un contrat de leasing. Cette prime est relativement élevée mais elle dépend également de critères personnels tels que l’âge et les années de conduite de l’automobiliste ou le fait qu’il ait causé des dommages au cours des dernières années. C'est en fonction de ces critères personnels que les assureurs fixent le degré de bonus individuel. Si, par exemple, celui-ci se situe à 65 %, l'assuré ne devra verser que 65 % de la prime initialement calculée.

Le degré de bonus est fixé de manière distincte selon qu’il s'agit de l'assurance responsabilité civile ou de l'assurance casco complète, il n’est pas nécessairement identique. Il varie par ailleurs d’une compagnie d'assurance à l’autre : le degré le plus bas peut se situer à 30 % chez l’une ou à 45 % chez l’autre. Allianz, par exemple, applique un autre système de bonus que AXA, AXA un autre que La Mobilière et La Mobilière, à son tour, un autre que la Vaudoise … et ainsi de suite. C’est pourquoi il est recommandé de toujours tenir compte de la prime que vous payez effectivement au moment donné. Si vous n’avez pas encore atteint le degré le plus bas du système de bonus, vous continuerez de descendre, année après année, de quelques pourcentages, jusqu’à ce que votre prime se maintienne au degré le plus bas. L'avantage : quand vous avez atteint le degré minimum, l’augmentation de prime en cas de sinistre sera plus modeste, les écarts entre degré de bonus étant plus rapprochés en bas du tableau qu’entre les degrés plus élevés.

Bon à savoir

Vous ne perdez pas votre degré de bonus en changeant de compagnie d'assurance. Si chaque assureur détient son propre système de bonus, les conditions à la base de votre degré de bonus restent les mêmes.

 

Élévation du degré de bonus : exemples des frais supplémentaires pour un conducteur inexpérimenté et pour un conducteur expérimenté

Andreas vient d’obtenir son permis de conduire. À la souscription d’une assurance responsabilité civile et casco complète, il est classé dans le degré B8 et paie 80 % de la prime initiale. Sa police s’élève à 1920 francs par an, une somme considérable.

Andreas cause un accident : il emboutit le véhicule qui le précède et cause également des dommages à sa propre voiture. Son assurance prend en charge les dégâts causés aux deux véhicules. Toutefois, Andreas doit verser 1000 francs de franchise de sa poche pour l’assurance responsabilité civile comme pour l'assurance casco complète puisqu’il est nouveau conducteur. À cela s’ajoute une franchise de 1000 francs de casco collision, comme convenu avec son assureur. Il passera, de plus, du niveau B8 au niveau B12 supérieur pour la responsabilité civile et pour la casco collision, soit un degré de bonus à 120 % chez son assureur.

À la fin du compte, Andreas ne doit pas payer le sinistre de sa poche, mais il doit faire face à d'autres frais, à savoir :

Franchise responsabilité civile 1000 CHF
Franchise casco collision 2000 CHF
Surprime pour élévation du degré de bonus, de B8 à B12, soit de 80 % à 120 %* 2400 CHF
Total 5400 CHF

Manuela conduit depuis quelques années de plus qu’Andreas. Elle a passé son permis il y a déjà 20 ans et détient donc le niveau de bonus le plus bas. B0, soit 30 % de la prime initiale. Elle paie 720 francs par an.

Manuela cause le même type d’accident : elle emboutit le véhicule qui la précède et cause également des dommages à sa propre voiture. Dans l’assurance responsabilité civile, elle n’a plus de franchise compte tenu de son expérience de conduite ; dans la casco collision elle a conclu une franchise de 1000 francs avec son assureur.

Manuela, aussi, est remboursée pour les dommages et elle remonte du degré de bonus B0 à celui de B4, elle passe à 45 %. Bien que son bonus soit relevé du même nombre d’échelons qu’Andreas, elle ne devra pas débourser autant de sa poche que lui :

Franchise responsabilité civile 1000 CHF
Surprime pour élévation du degré de bonus, de B0 à B4, soit de 30 % à 45 %* 912 CHF
Total 1912 CHF

*A été prise en compte la surprime pour les quatre prochaines années, à savoir jusqu’au retour au degré B8 ou 80 % pour Andreas et B0 ou 30 % chez Manuela. Andreas paie 120 % la première année, 110 % l’année suivante, 100 % la troisième année et 90 % la quatrième année. La cinquième année, il retourne au degré de 80 %, qui a été son point de départ. Idem pour Manuela ; sauf que ses degrés de bonus passent de 45 % la première année à 41 % l’année suivante, 38 % la troisième année, puis 34 % la quatrième année. Ensuite, elle retourne au degré de bonus B0, soit 30 %.

Bon à savoir

Une protection de bonus prévient une surprime. Elle aurait évité 2400 francs de frais à Andreas et 912 francs de coûts supplémentaires à Manuela. Pour tout savoir sur la protection de bonus et sinon, trouver des échappatoires à la surprime, cliquez ici.