Enjoy tax benefits by saving with pillar 3a

What are the advantages of the third pillar?

The private pension is the third pillar of the “three-pillar” Swiss retirement system. There are plenty of ways to invest your savings. Both banks and insurance companies offer suitable products. In addition to the traditional fixed-rate pillar 3a bank account, banks also offer investment accounts for investors willing to take more risks.

If, as well as saving money, you are interested in being covered against risks such as death or incapacity for work due to illness or injury, then third-pillar insurance products might be a good choice.

Investments into any of the pillar 3a products may be fully deducted from your taxable income up to the maximum annual contribution as set by law.

Private retirement savings are important for maintaining your standard of living in retirement. And yet, a large part of the Swiss population starts planning their retirement late, insufficiently or incompletely. The state and occupational pensions (pillars 1 and 2) are often too low for you to maintain a comfortable standard of living after retirement. Without a pillar 3a (private) pension there can be a substantial gap in your financial provisions.

Épargner via le pilier 3a comporte des avantages fiscaux

Quels sont les avantages du 3e pilier ?

La prévoyance privée constitue le troisième pilier du système suisse de prévoyance (principe des trois piliers). Vous avez diverses possibilités de placer votre épargne, que ce soit auprès de banques ou d’assurances. Outre le compte de pilier 3a classique à taux fixe, les banques proposent des fonds pour les investisseurs plus ouverts au risque.

Avec les solutions d’assurance proposées dans le cadre du troisième pilier, le principe de l’épargne s’accompagne toujours d’une couverture de risque – par exemple en cas de décès ou d’incapacité de gain lié à un accident ou à une maladie.

Quel que soit le produit choisi, les versements au pilier 3a peuvent, dans la limite du montant maximal, être déduits en totalité du revenu imposable.

Le troisième pilier est essentiel pour assurer financièrement le niveau de vie souhaité à la retraite. Pourtant, une grande partie des personnes en Suisse planifie sa prévoyance privée trop tard, de manière inadéquate ou lacunaire. De plus, les versements au 1er et au 2e pilier sont souvent trop bas pour maintenir son niveau de vie pour ses vieux jours. En l'absence d'un pilier 3a, les lacunes financières peuvent être considérables.