Changing pillar 3a


Savers can transfer their money from one retirement savings account to another, provided that the total account balance is transferred. This can be very profitable because the interest rates on retirement savings accounts vary from one provider to another, as is shown in the online comparison from comparis.ch.

Transferring one's retirement account to a provider that offers a better interest rate pays off in the long run. Moreover, splitting up one's retirement savings to several accounts with different providers is recommendable. You may hold an unlimited number of pillar 3a accounts, which leaves you free to stagger your withdrawals and even save tax while doing so.

Important to know: Generally, when terminating a pillar 3a account, the money must stay within the third-pillar system; i.e., it may not be transferred to a regular savings account. There are a few exceptions allowing for an early withdrawal, though.


The following chart illustrates how changing your provider works.

Changer de prestataire pilier 3a : mode d'emploi

Changer de pilier 3a

Les épargnants ont la possibilité de transférer leur avoir d'un compte de prévoyance à un autre – à condition de virer la totalité. La démarche peut s'avérer très intéressante financièrement. En effet, les taux d'intérêt varient d'un compte de prévoyance à un autre, comme l'indique le comparatif en ligne de comparis.ch.

Un transfert du compte de prévoyance à un autre établissement proposant un taux d'intérêt plus élevé est recommandé à long terme. Il est de plus judicieux de répartir son capital de prévoyance sur plusieurs comptes auprès de divers prestataires. Le nombre de comptes de pilier 3a étant illimité, vous avez toute la liberté de scinder vos versements tout en réalisant des économies d'impôts.

Bon à savoir En cas de résiliation d'un compte de pilier 3a, vos avoirs doivent en principe rester dans le système du pilier 3a et ne peuvent donc pas être transférés à un simple compte épargne. Il existe néanmoins certaines exceptions permettant un retrait anticipé.

Le graphique ci-après présente la marche à suivre pour changer de prestataire.