Supplemental health insurance

Supplemental dental insurance in Switzerland: 8 key questions and answers

INFORMATION
|
Source: iStock / andresr

The cost of dental and orthodontic treatment can soon add up to tens of thousands of francs. Basic insurance only covers the cost if the treatment is required as a result of an illness and is medically necessary. It can therefore be useful to take out supplemental dental insurance.

Comparis answers the most important questions on the subject of supplemental dental insurance.

The best way to avoid high dental bills is to practise good oral hygiene. Although supplemental dental insurance can provide some protection, there are a few things to watch out for. Comparis answers the most important questions on the subject of supplemental dental insurance.

1. What is supplemental dental insurance?

Supplemental dental insurance pays a contribution towards dental costs not covered by compulsory basic insurance, disability insurance or accident insurance. Basic insurance only covers dental costs in the following cases:

  • Accidents
  • Serious, unavoidable diseases of the masticatory system
  • Serious general medical conditions (e.g. leukaemia)

2. What does supplemental dental insurance cover?

Supplemental insurance covers some of the cost of dental treatment caused by illness or accident when it is not covered by another type of insurance. Such treatment includes:

  • Preventive (prophylactic) treatment and dental hygiene
  • Conservative dental treatment
  • Tooth extractions
  • Dental protheses such as crowns, pivot teeth, bridges and dentures
  • Correction of misaligned teeth
  • X-ray diagnostics

3. For whom is supplemental dental insurance useful?

Parents should definitely consider taking out supplement dental insurance for their offspring. Many children and adolescents need braces to correct misaligned teeth. Such orthodontic treatment can quickly add up to 10,000 francs or more.

4. When should I take out supplemental dental insurance?

Any supplemental insurance product should be taken out as early as possible. Health insurers will only contribute towards the cost of orthodontic treatment if the need is diagnosed after the insurance has been taken out. Some health insurers stipulate a qualifying period (waiting period), which can be anything from six months to three years.

However, like with many other supplemental insurance products, health insurers can reject your application. Before you can take out a supplemental insurance policy for dental treatment, insurers establish your state of health by means of a “health declaration”. You also need to enclose a certificate from a dentist with your application for supplemental dental insurance. This makes it difficult for adults to take out such a policy.

5. Dental insurance for children: what do I need to know?

You should take out supplemental dental insurance for children as early as possible – ideally before they need a dentist's certificate. Please note: some insurers require a dentist's certificate for children as young as 3 years old. If there is any misalignment, cover may be partially or completely refused.

6. How much does supplemental dental insurance cost?

For children, premiums vary between 5 and 20 francs per month. Adults pay around 25 to 40 francs per month.

Comparis tip: some health insurers require you to take out this supplemental insurance separately. This can be more expensive than choosing a package containing other supplemental outpatient insurance products as well.

7. How much will supplemental dental insurance pay out?

The benefits payable under supplemental insurance depend on the scope of cover. Some health insurers focus on orthodontic treatment, others on prosthetics. The proportion of the cost covered also varies. Some insurance companies only cover a percentage of the cost of particular treatment, such as braces. The limit on the benefits payable per year is another factor that differs from insurer to insurer. Given the relatively high costs involved, it should be no less than 5,000 francs.

Supplemental health insurance benefits vary considerably. It is therefore particularly important to compare products carefully:

8. Is supplemental dental insurance valid abroad?

Private supplement dental insurance is usually only valid for treatment in Switzerland. Some insurers will also cover the cost of cheaper treatment in neighbouring countries.

Complémentaires

Assurances complémentaires en Suisse : les soins dentaires en 8 questions-réponses

INFO
|
Photo : iStock / andresr

Les soins dentaires ou autres interventions d’orthodontie peuvent vite s’élever à des dizaines de milliers de francs. L’assurance de base rembourse les frais engagés uniquement si les soins dentaires sont consécutifs à une maladie et qu’ils sont motivés par des raisons médicales. Une complémentaire pour soins dentaires peut donc être utile.

Comparis répond aux questions essentielles sur ce sujet :

Une bonne hygiène bucco-dentaire est le meilleur moyen d’éviter des factures élevées de la part du dentiste. Une complémentaire soins dentaires peut également constituer une certaine protection, mais il y a différents points à prendre en compte. Comparis répond aux questions essentielles sur le sujet.

1. Qu’est-ce qu’une assurance complémentaire soins dentaires ?

Une complémentaire pour soins dentaires prend en charge les frais dentaires qui ne sont remboursés ni par l’assurance de base obligatoire, ni par l’assurance invalidité ou accidents. L’assurance de base ne couvre les soins dentaires que dans les cas suivants :

  • Accident
  • Maladie grave, non évitable, du système de mastication
  • Maladies graves généralisées (p. ex. leucémie)

2. Quelles prestations la complémentaire soins dentaires couvre-t-elle ?

Une complémentaire soins dentaires prend en charge les soins dentaires consécutifs à une maladie ou un accident, non couverts par une autre assurance, par exemple :

  • Prophylaxie et hygiène dentaire
  • Soins conservateurs
  • Extractions de dents
  • Prothèses dentaires (couronnes, dents à pivots, bridges et prothèses)
  • Corrections de malpositions dentaires
  • Radiographie

3. À qui la complémentaire soins dentaires est-elle destinée ?

Elle est tout particulièrement destinées aux parents. Chez de nombreux enfants et adolescents, les malpositions dentaires sont corrigées à l’aide d’appareils dentaires. De tels traitements orthodontiques peuvent vite atteindre 10 000 francs, voire plus.

4. Quand doit-on souscrire une complémentaire soins dentaires ?

Il est conseillé de souscrire une complémentaire soins dentaires au plus vite. En effet, les caisses maladie remboursent les frais d’orthodontie uniquement si le diagnostic a été posé après souscription de l’assurance. Certains assureurs appliquent un délai de carence (délai d’attente) compris entre six mois et trois ans.

Comme pour de nombreuses autres assurances complémentaires, les caisses maladie sont en droit de refuser votre demande. Avant de pouvoir souscrire une complémentaire pour soins dentaires, vous devez remplir une déclaration concernant votre état de santé. Il faut également joindre l’attestation d’un dentiste à la demande de souscription de cette complémentaire ce qui, pour les adultes, complique les choses.

5. Assurance dentaire pour les enfants : ce qu’il faut savoir

Il convient de souscrire une complémentaire soins dentaires pour enfants au plus vite, si possible avant de devoir présenter un certificat médical. Attention : certains assureurs exigent un certificat dès qu’un enfant a 3 ans. Si une mauvaise position des dents est avérée, la couverture d’assurance peut être partiellement ou entièrement refusée.

6. Combien coûte une complémentaire soins dentaires ?

Pour les enfants, les primes oscillent entre 5 et 20 francs par mois. Les adultes paieront entre 25 et 40 francs par mois environ.

Le conseil Comparis : avec certaines caisses maladie, l’assurance complémentaire doit être souscrite séparément, ce qui peut revenir en partie plus cher qu’une offre combinée avec d’autres assurances complémentaires ambulatoires.

7. Que prend en charge la complémentaire soins dentaire ?

Les prestations des assurances complémentaires dépendent de l’étendue de l’assurance. Certaines caisses maladie se concentrent plutôt sur les corrections de malpositions, d’autres sur les prothèses dentaires. La part des frais qu’elles prennent à leur charge est variable elle aussi. Certains assureurs prennent en charge les coûts de différents traitements, les appareils dentaires par exemple, uniquement à hauteur d’un pourcentage fixé. La limite pour les prestations annuelles varie également d’une caisse à l’autre. Au vu des frais relativement élevés qui sont engagés, cette limite ne devrait pas être inférieure à 5000 francs.

Les prestations couvertes par les assurances complémentaires varient fortement. D’où l’importance d’étudier les offres très attentivement et de les comparer entre elles.

8. La complémentaire soins dentaire est-elle valable à l’étranger ?

En principe, une complémentaire pour soins dentaires n’est valable que pour les soins apportés en Suisse. Mais certains prestataires prennent aussi en charge des interventions effectuées à moindre coût dans les pays voisins.