Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

Loans & mortgagesMortgagesGlossary
Mortgages

Saron mortgage

The Libor will be discontinued at the end of 2021 and the Saron will take its place. The Saron is significant for private individuals, as it also determines the price of “money market” mortgages. Currently, most mortgage lenders are still selling money market mortgages under the name of “Libor mortgage”. In future, Libor mortgages will be called Saron mortgages. Some banks are already offering Saron mortgages. 

Why is the Libor being phased out?
The Libor has been discredited due to its susceptibility to manipulation. In 2011, for instance, it was revealed that various banks had been charging excessive interest rates in collusion with each other in order to rig the benchmark rate. The Swiss National Bank (SNB) tasked the National Working Group on Swiss Franc Reference Rates (NWG) with finding a replacement for the Libor. It had already advised banks to use the Saron as the new reference interest rate at the end of 2018. 

What is the Saron?
Saron stands for Swiss Average Rate Overnight. It is the interest rate charged by the SNB to banks and insurance companies for investments of excess liquidity or for short-term borrowing. Compared to the Libor, the Saron is more transparent because it is based on actual transactions. It is also considered more robust than its predecessor as, unlike the Libor, the loans to which it applies have securities deposited as collateral.

How is the Saron calculated?
Unlike the Libor, the Saron is purely an overnight rate. However, money market mortgages require rates for longer terms such as one, three or six months. For this scenario, the NWG devised the Saron Compound rate. SIX publishes the current interest rate on a daily basis.

Will my existing Libor mortgage automatically become a Saron mortgage?
Some current Libor mortgages will automatically be converted to Saron mortgages. This depends on your mortgage agreement. Some banks have an automatic conversion process in place. Others have stopped issuing Libor mortgages with terms going beyond the end of the Libor.

What is the difference between a Saron mortgage and a Libor mortgage?
In the current low interest rate environment, both Libor and Saron rates are well below zero. Banks are holding their interest rates at zero. This means that customers are currently only paying the bank's margin on both Libor and Saron mortgages. It can be assumed that the Saron will have to fall lower than the Libor because it is backed by securities as collateral against the risk of default in times of crisis. Historically, the Libor has also proven much more volatile than the Saron. SIX, the benchmark administrator of the Saron rate, has listed five more differences.

Can I take out a Saron mortgage now?
Yes, some banks, such as Raiffeisen and UBS, are already offering Saron mortgages. Almost all the other banks will follow in the summer or autumn. The transition will be complete by the end of the yearCompare your interest rates and request a quote now.

Personal consultation

Do you need advice tailored to your specific situation? The experts at HypoPlus compare the mortgage deals offered by a range of lenders and establish the best solution for your needs.
Request consultation

Back to top

Newsletter

Stay up-to-date with the latest savings deals as well as expert tips on health, money and tax.

By registering, I agree to my data being processed in accordance with the data privacy statement of comparis.ch.

comparis.ch
  • About Comparis

  • Career

Social Media
Language
  • DE
  • FR
  • IT
  • EN
  • Contact
  • Data privacy protection
  • Legal information
  • Credits

© 1996–2021 comparis.ch AG, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zurich, +41 44 360 52 62

Comparis
Newsletter
fr

Assurances

Auto & moto

Immobilier

Crédit & hypothèques

Comparateur de prix

Santé & prévoyance

Autres services

Comparis

Menu

Crédit & hypothèquesHypothèquesGlossaire
Hypothèques

Hypothèque Saron

Fin 2021, le Libor sera abandonné au profit du Saron. Pour les particuliers, ce taux est d’une grande importance car il détermine également le prix de l’hypothèque indexée sur le marché monétaire. Cette dernière est encore appelée « hypothèque Libor » par la plupart des établissements hypothécaires, mais elle sera bientôt rebaptisée « hypothèque Saron ». Certaines banques proposent déjà des hypothèques Saron. 

Pourquoi le Libor est-il abandonné ?
Des manipulations ont entaché la réputation du Libor : il a été révélé en 2011 que plusieurs banques exigeaient des taux d’intérêt trop hauts, profitant de pouvoir les orienter au gré d’accords. La Banque Nationale suisse (BNS) a chargé le Groupe de travail national sur les taux d’intérêt de référence (NWG) de trouver un remplaçant au Libor. Fin 2018 déjà, le Groupe avait recommandé aux établissements de crédit de faire du Saron leur nouveau taux de référence. 

Qu’est-ce que le Saron ?
« Saron » est l’acronyme de « Swiss Average Rate Overnight ». Le Saron est le taux d’intérêt auquel les banques et les assurances peuvent placer leurs liquidités excédentaires ou emprunter de l’argent à court terme à la BNS. Le Saron est plus transparent que le Libor car il repose sur des transactions effectivement réalisées. Il est également réputé plus robuste que son prédécesseur car contrairement au Libor, il s’agit d’un taux d’intérêt applicable aux crédits adossés à des titres.

Comment le Saron est-il calculé ?
Contrairement au Libor, le Saron est un taux au jour le jour. Pour les hypothèques indexées sur le marché monétaire, en revanche, des taux à plus long terme (un, trois ou six mois, par exemple) sont nécessaires. C’est pourquoi le NWG a mis sur pied le Saron composé. Le taux d’intérêt actuel est communiqué quotidiennement par SIX.

Mon hypothèque Libor existante sera-t-elle automatiquement transformée en hypothèque Saron ?
En fonction du contrat hypothécaire dont vous disposez, votre hypothèque Libor en cours pourra être automatiquement transformée en hypothèque Saron. Certaines banques ont opté pour la conversion automatique, tandis que d’autres n’ont pas attribué d’hypothèques dont la durée dépasse la fin du Libor.

Quelle est la différence entre une hypothèque Libor et une hypothèque Saron ?
Dans le contexte actuel de taux bas, le Libor et le Saron sont bien en deçà de zéro. Les banques maintiennent les taux d’intérêt à zéro. Ainsi, avec le Libor comme avec le Saron, les clients ne payent actuellement que la marge de la banque. On peut s’attendre à ce que le Saron, du fait des titres sous-jacents donnés comme garantie contre les risques de défaut en temps de crise, soit plus faible que le Libor. L’évolution des cours montre aussi que le Libor est bien plus volatil que le Saron. Six, qui publie le taux d’intérêt Saron, a listé cinq autres différences.

Puis-je déjà souscrire une hypothèque Saron ?
Oui, certaines banques comme Raiffeisen ou UBS proposent déjà ce produit. Ce sera le cas de pratiquement toutes les banques d’ici l’été ou l’automne. Le passage de l’une à l’autre se fera jusqu’à la fin de l’année. Comparez les taux dès maintenant et demandez une offre. 

Entretien-conseil personnel

Vous avez besoin d’un entretien-conseil personnel ? Les experts d’HypoPlus comparent les offres de différents prestataires et retiennent la solution qui vous correspond le plus.
Demander une offre

Haut de page

Newsletter

Restez informés avec les bons plans et les conseils d'experts en matière de santé, d'argent et d'impôts.

En m'abonnant à la newsletter, j'accepte le traitement de mes données conformément à la Déclaration de protection des données de comparis.ch

comparis.ch
  • A propos de Comparis.ch

  • Médias

  • Offres d'emploi

Réseaux sociaux
Langue
  • DE
  • FR
  • IT
  • EN
  • Contact
  • Confidentialité
  • Juridique
  • La Rédaction

© 1996–2020 comparis.ch SA, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zurich, +41 44 360 52 62