Broken leg and extended stay on holiday

What will travel insurance cover?


Four weeks in Colombia, that was the plan. Now it's going to be six weeks, because Nina can't return home as planned because she sustained a complicated break to her leg. The cost of treatment in hospital and the extended stay is likely to mount up. This tests the travellers’ nerves and their budget.

After Nina was first admitted to hospital in Medellin, Nina and her partner Mark tried to take stock of the situation. The fact was that the treatment costs and the hospital stay in Colombia were going to cost around six thousand francs, and Nina would not be well enough to travel on the return flight as planned. This meant that the couple would have to rebook their return flight and pay for an extension to their stay.

Advance for hospital costs

The biggest item on Nina and Mark’s list of additional costs was the hospital bill of 6,000 francs. What made it worse was the fact that foreigners were required to pay any bills in advance. But when Mark called the insurance company with whom he had taken out a travel insurance policy for himself and his partner, he was reassured: Thanks to the  “personal assistance” option, the insurer was able to transfer 5,000 francs to Mark immediately. However, the company also pointed out that this was only a cost advance – and that he had to keep all invoices in order to claim the costs back from Nina’s accident insurance. He would then be able to pay back the advance to the travel insurer.

Additional cost of the extended stay

He also had to find out what benefits the stranded couple was entitled to, given that they had to extend their stay in Medellin. The extra two weeks’ stay in Colombia generated additional costs for food and accommodation. As Mark discovered, this cost is also covered by the “personal assistance” option. Up to 1,000 francs is available to them through their insurance. Not an enormous amount, but with careful planning the pair should not have to pay too much on top.

Cancelling hotel bookings and rebooking the flight

The couple were forced to cancel their planned activities and hotel bookings made for the rest of their trip. Nina’s injury meant they had to stay in Medellin and rent suitable accommodation. The insurance company agreed to reimburse the costs already paid for hotel rooms and trips – these costs were covered by the cancellation expenses insurance option. That just left the flight. Rebooking the flight two weeks later cost 300 francs – this was also covered by their travel insurance under “change of travel plans due to an accident or illness suffered by the insured”.

Financial and emotional outcome

When Nina and Mark look back on their experience, they feel it was overall a positive one – despite everything. Calling their insurer meant that at least their financial situation was settled. The immediate cost advance meant they were able to pay their expensive medical costs there and then. Although they had to use up the last reserves of their travel budget for additional expenses, they didn't have to wait long for the insurance company to reimburse them after they arrived home.

Most importantly, Nina's leg healed satisfactorily. Because her initial treatment in Colombia went well, she was able to start the follow-up treatment and rehabilitation as soon as she returned to Switzerland. In the end, when Nina and Mark looked back on their extended stay in Colombia, they remembered more than just a broken leg.

 

Key points explained – travel insurance

  • If you suffer an accident or illness when you are on holiday, your plans are usually disrupted. To ensure that the additional costs of medical treatment, accommodation and food plus the changes to your travel plans are adequately covered, you need to choose the following options: “personal assistance”, “cancellation expenses insurance” and “changes to travel plans due to accident or illness”. The latter should not be confused with “trip cancellation insurance”, which refers to a trip that is cancelled before you set off – this does not cover the rebooking of individual flights during the trip.

     

  • The cost advance provided under personal assistance should be considered as such: it does not cover the costs directly but functions as a bridging payment: if you fall ill while abroad, you usually have to pay for your medical treatment up front – waiting for the health or accident insurance to complete their paperwork takes too long. That's why your travel insurance advances you the money. As soon as you receive the payment from your health insurance or accident insurance provider, you need to pay back the advance.

     

  • Remember that if you are taking out insurance for more than one person, only one person can function as the policyholder. If you want to insure your partner as well, their name must be listed on the policy. Only policies with family cover automatically include benefits for husband, wife and children.

Fracture d’une jambe et prolongation de séjour

Que rembourse l’assurance voyage ?


Quatre semaines en Colombie – c’est ce qui était prévu. Finalement, ils y passeront six semaines : Nathalie, qui s’est fracturée la jambe, ne peut pas rentrer comme prévu en raison de complications. Les soins à l’hôpital et le séjour prolongé engendrent des coûts imprévus élevés. De quoi mettre les nerfs et le budget voyage à rude épreuve.

À l’issue des premiers soins à l’hôpital de Medellín, Nathalie et son compagnon Martin revoient la situation : les frais de soins et l’hospitalisation en Colombie s’élèvent à environ 6000 francs et Nathalie n’est pas en état d’être transportée à la date du vol du retour. Cela signifie que le couple devra financer le report du vol de retour et la prolongation du séjour .

Avance pour frais d’hospitalisation

La plus grande dépense sur la liste des frais imprévus de Nathalie et de Martin, c’est la facture d’hôpital de 6000 francs. Une dépense d'autant plus fâcheuse que les étrangers doivent régler la note directement sur place, par anticipation. Heureusement, l’appel passé avec la compagnie d'assurance auprès de laquelle Martin a souscrit une assurance voyage pour sa compagne et lui est positif : Grâce à la couverture facultative« assistance aux personnes », Martin bénéficie de 5000 francs immédiatement qui lui sont virés immédiatement. Toutefois, l'assurance précise qu’il s’agit d’une simple avance de frais – et qu’il doit conserver toutes les factures pour que Nathalie puisse ensuite se faire rembourser par son assurance accident. Martin pourra ainsi rembourser l'avance de l'assurance voyage.

Frais supplémentaires pour séjour prolongé

Bloqués sur place, les deux voyageurs devront par ailleurs se renseigner sur les prestations auxquelles ils ont droit pour leur séjour prolongé à Medellín. Comme ils doivent rester deux semaines supplémentaires en Colombie, ils doivent faire face à des frais imprévus  d’hébergement et de repas. Martin apprend que ces dépenses sont également couvertes par l’option « assistance aux personnes » . Ils peuvent compter sur 1000 francs de la part de l'assurance. Ce n’est pas une fortune, mais en gérant bien, ils devraient bien s’en sortir.

Annulation de réservations d’hôtels et report de vols

Finalement, le couple doit annuler les activités et hôtels réservés sur l’itinéraire qu’il avait prévu et avec la blessure de Nathalie, il est contraint de rester à Medellín et de trouver un hébergement adapté. L'assurance accepte le remboursement des chambres d’hôtel et des excursions déjà réglées – l’option assurance frais d’annulation intervient. Ne reste plus que le vol. Le report du vol deux semaines plus tard coûte 300 francs – des frais que l'assurance voyage pend également en charge au titre d’une « modification du cours du voyage pour cause d'accident ou de maladie de l'assuré ».

Bilan financier et émotionnel

À la fin du compte, Nathalie et Martin dressent un bilan positif de leur aventure : l’appel téléphonique avec l'assurance a permis de régler, au moins, la situation financière. L'avance immédiate des frais leur a permis de payer les soins médicaux coûteux sur place. En ce qui concerne les autres frais imprévus, ils ont certes dû épuiser les dernières réserves de leur budget voyage, mais une fois de retour au pays, le remboursement de l'assurance voyage ne s'est pas fait attendre longtemps.

De même, le plus important – la guérison de la jambe de Nathalie – s’est déroulé comme prévu. Les premiers soins prodigués en Colombie étaient bons, si bien que Nathalie a pu directement commencer le suivi et la réhabilitation à son retour en Suisse. Finalement, Nathalie et Martin gardent bien plus de souvenirs qu’une fracture de la jambe de leurs six semaines au lieu de quatre en Colombie.

 

L’essentiel en bref – l'assurance voyage

  • En cas d'accident ou de maladie à l’étranger, le voyage doit être interrompu dans la plupart des cas. Pour se protéger financièrement en termes de soins médicaux, d’hébergement et de frais de repas supplémentaires ou de changement de projet de voyage, il est important de choisir les options correspondantes : « assistance aux personnes », « assurance frais d’annulation » et « changement du cours du voyage pour cause d'accident ou de maladie ». Ne pas confondre ce dernier cas avec l’option « annulation de voyage » – qui ne s’applique qu’en cas d’annulation avant le début du voyage et ne concerne donc pas le changement de dates de vol pendant le voyage.

     

  • Précision sur l’avance de frais dans le cadre de l'assistance aux personnes : il ne s'agit pas d’une couverture directe des frais mais d’un paiement provisoire en cas d’urgence. Les personnes tombant malade à l’étranger doivent le plus souvent régler les frais médicaux immédiatement ; attendre les retours de l'assurance maladie ou accident prendrait trop de temps. Raison pour laquelle l’assurance voyage avance les frais. Mais dès que le paiement de la caisse maladie ou de l'assurance accident arrive, il faut restituer l’avance.

     

  • Attention, en cas d’assurance pour  plusieurs personnes : seule une personne peut être qualifiée de preneur d'assurance ; si on souhaite inclure le compagnon/la compagne, il est nécessaire de la faire figurer nommément sur la police. Avec une assurance familiale, en revanche, les prestations s’appliquent automatiquement à l’épouse/l’époux et les enfants du preneur d'assurance.