Loans

Personal loan: Key points at a glance

INFORMATION
|
Is a personal loan the best option? It depends on your personal situation. Source: iStock

Be it new furniture, impending renovations to one’s house, or even the financing of that new car – a personal loan can be taken out for any number of different reasons. But what precisely is a personal loan, and what should potential borrowers know before taking one out? 

Switzerland’s Consumer Credit Act (CCA) defines a personal loan – also known as a private loan or small loan – as an interest-bearing loan which:

  • is between CHF 500 and CHF 80,000;
  • has a term of more than three months;
  • is not secured by deposited collateral;
  • is exclusively used for private purposes.

If a loan is raised for purposes of financing professional or commercial investments, such as an investment in a person’s own company, it is by definition not a personal loan.

Broadly speaking, personal loans can be broken down into two types: off-line loans, where the borrower visits the bank branch, and online loans, which are concluded over the Internet. Nowadays, financial institutions often offer both options. In addition, private individuals have recently been able to grant loans to each other via online fund-raising marketplaces (“crowdlending”).

How many Swiss take out a personal loan?

Personal loans are more popular in Switzerland than you might think. At the end of 2016, no less than 375,909 outstanding personal loans with a total volume of just under CHF 7.1 bn were registered with the Central Office for Credit Information. In addition, a representative survey carried out by comparis.ch in 2017 revealed that one in every three Swiss has taken out a loan of this kind at some point. The survey also showed that personal loans are used most commonly to finance the purchase of a car or to bridge a period of financial difficulty, above all as a result of unforeseen costs arising. However, demand for personal loans in Switzerland has been in decline for the last few years.

When does a personal loan make sense?

The question of whether a personal loan makes sense will depend on the individual situation. The advantages and disadvantages of taking such a step need to be carefully weighed up in each case. It is important that the financing desire in question is compatible with the individual’s budget. Generally speaking, a personal loan is particularly suitable when the applicant wants to: 

  • acquire a long-lasting product such as a car or a new kitchen, whereby the credit term should always be shorter than the expected lifetime of the object in question;
  • bridge a temporary shortage of funds;
  • refinance or replace an existing loan, if the interest costs can be reduced as a result;
  • finance professional training or academic study if no other source of funding can be found.

When is a personal loan not a good idea?

A personal loan is less suitable in the case of short-lived consumer goods and acquisitions. In such situations, it would take the borrower longer to pay the loan off than the expected lifetime and benefits of the acquisition in question. In this case, the borrower typically finds that they are still paying off their loan many years after enjoying what it funded. Accordingly, it is inadvisable to finance holidays and weddings on credit, as here the pleasure and enjoyment gained is of only short duration compared to the repayment period. 

What role does the individual’s credit rating play?

Every loan application is carefully scrutinized by the lender. The focus of this review or credit check is to assess the credit rating (i.e. the creditworthiness) of the potential borrower. This involves evaluating the probability of the applicant being able to pay back the loan according to the loan repayment schedule. A loan will only be granted if the individual’s credit rating is sufficiently high.

A credit check involves taking into account the entire financial situation of the applicant, as well as risk factors such as age, nationality, residential status, and frequency in changes of job or domicile. It is important to remember that loans are only granted to adults who are gainfully employed and have a regular income. In Switzerland, it is commonplace for Swiss residency to be a prerequisite for obtaining a loan. Furthermore, the credit check will also involve obtaining information from debt collection offices and external databases of credit ratings. If the applicant is the subject of ongoing debt proceedings or has had a credit application refused in the past, they will find it extremely difficult to obtain a personal loan. 

Irrespective of the basic decision on acceptance or rejection of the credit application, the applicant’s credit rating is also key in determining the amount of interest that will be charged: The higher the credit rating, the lower the rate of interest payable. However, the loan interest will also depend on a number of other factors such as the amount, term and purpose of the loan. Interest rates for personal loans in Switzerland currently vary between 4.5 per cent and the legally stipulated maximum interest rate of 10 per cent.

Bear in mind that the applicant’s credit rating is important not just for the level of interest payable, but also for the size of the loan the lender is willing to grant. It may well be the case that the bank will not approve the entire loan amount if there are certain risk factors involved. This is also possible even if the applicant’s budget would theoretically make a higher credit sum affordable.

How can you avoid falling into credit traps?

Loan applicants can avoid falling into the most frequent credit traps by following the rules of thumb set out below:

Be wary of “teaser” offers: Lenders often try to attract potential business by advertising low interest rates of below 5 per cent. However, few applicants will ever actually be granted loans on such terms, as the majority of borrowers do not have sufficiently high credit ratings. For example, only borrowers who own their own home will ever be granted an interest rate of 4.5 per cent. In the world of Swiss personal loans, interest rates typically lie in the region of 7.9 to 9.9 per cent. Borrowers would be well advised to have an independent third party carry out a credit comparison or to obtain external advice.

Make sure you have an accurate idea of your own credit rating: All personal loan applications in Switzerland that have been turned down are registered with the Central Office for Credit Information (“ZEK”) and then stored for a period of two years. This information is available to all commercial lenders, which is why any negative credit decision will make it much more difficult for a borrower to obtain a loan elsewhere. This is another reason why it is so important to have an accurate idea of your own credit rating in advance of any application. 

Choose longer terms: According to the CCA, borrowers may repay their loan early at any time. If they do so, they will then no longer be liable for the interest payments over the remaining term. As payment arrears are also reported to the ZEK, it makes sense for the borrower to choose a fairly generous credit term so that they can pay off the debt early if things work out as planned. Because to put it simply, the longer the term of the loan, the more it will cost. Borrowers are therefore strongly advised to pay off a personal loan as quickly as possible, and not to prolong the credit term unnecessarily. 

Avoid dubious lenders: Borrowers should steer clear of lenders who demand up-front payments, advertise immediate cash loans, or are prepared to grant a loan without undertaking a credit check first. This kind of behaviour is prohibited under the CCA. 

Avoid debt “restructuring”: A loan should not be taken out with a view to paying off existing debts, or if a household budget is frequently in the red. Such a step will only end up exacerbating the borrower’s financial problems in the medium or long term. 

Summary

A personal loan can be an attractive way of bridging a short-term shortage of funds or making a long-held wish come true. But if they are to make the right credit decision, borrowers should realistically assess their financial situation before applying for a loan, and make a careful comparison of the various offers.

Crédit

Crédit privé : l’essentiel en bref

INFO
|
Le bien-fondé d'un crédit dépend de la situation personnelle. Photo : iStock

Que ce soit pour de nouveaux meubles, la rénovation prochaine de son habitation ou même le financement d’une nouvelle voiture – un crédit privé permet de réaliser les désirs les plus divers. Mais qu’est-ce qu’un crédit privé au juste et que doivent savoir les preneurs de crédit ? 

La loi sur le crédit à la consommation (LCC) définit le crédit privé, appelé aussi crédit à la consommation ou petit crédit, comme un prêt avec intérêt :

  • d’un montant de 500 à 80 000 francs ;
  • d’une durée de plus de trois mois ;
  • qui n’est pas couvert par des dépôts de garanties ;
  • qui est exclusivement utilisé à des fins privées.

Lorsqu’un prêt est contracté pour des investissements professionnels ou commerciaux, dans son entreprise par exemple, il ne s’agit donc pas d’un crédit privé.

Les crédits privés se subdivisent globalement en deux types : les crédits « offline » pour lesquels le preneur de crédit se rend dans une banque et le crédit « online » qui est contracté via Internet. Aujourd’hui, les établissements financiers proposent souvent les deux types. Les particuliers ont en outre désormais la possibilité de s’accorder des prêts mutuellement via des plateformes de crédit en ligne (on parle alors de « crowdlending »).

Combien de Suisses ont recours à un crédit privé ?

En Suisse, les crédits privés sont bien plus appréciés qu’on ne pourrait l’imaginer. Fin 2016, la Centrale d’information de crédit (ZEK) enregistrait 375 909 crédits privés en cours pour un volume total de près de 7,1 milliards de francs. Un sondage représentatif de comparis.ch de 2017 a de plus révélé qu’un Suisse sur trois a déjà contracté un tel crédit. Ils sont principalement utilisés pour financer un véhicule, surmonter une passe financière difficile, notamment suite à des factures imprévues. Depuis quelques années, la demande de crédits privés est toutefois en recul en Suisse.

Dans quels cas un crédit privé est-il judicieux ?

Le bien-fondé d’un crédit privé dépend de la situation personnelle. Les avantages et les inconvénients doivent être examinés de façon approfondie et au cas par cas. L’important, c’est que le projet de financement cadre avec le budget. En règle générale, un crédit privé est approprié pour : 

  • acquérir un produit avec une longue durée de vie, tel qu’une voiture ou une nouvelle cuisine, en sachant que la durée du crédit devrait être dans tous les cas inférieure à la durée de vie dudit objet ;
  • surmonter des difficultés financières passagères ;
  • racheter ou remplacer un crédit existant, lorsque cette opération permet de réduire le taux d’intérêt ;
  • financer une formation initiale ou continue, en l’absence de tout autre soutien financer.

Dans quels cas le crédit privé ne convient-il pas ?

Un crédit privé est moins approprié pour des acquisitions et des biens de consommation à courte durée de vie. Dans un tel cas, on investirait plus de temps dans le remboursement du crédit que celui consacré à profiter du bien ainsi acheté. Des années plus tard, on paie toujours pour un désir auquel on a un jour décidé de répondre. Il n’est donc pas recommandé de financer à crédit les vacances et les mariages, puisque dans ce cas, le plaisir et le profit ne sont que de courte durée par rapport à la durée de remboursement. 

Quel est le rôle de la solvabilité ?

Toute demande de crédit est soumise à un examen minutieux. L’élément le plus important est l’évaluation de la capacité de remboursement, en d’autres termes la solvabilité du preneur de crédit potentiel. Cela consiste à évaluer avec quelle probabilité le demandeur peut rembourser le crédit conformément au calendrier prévu. Un crédit n’est octroyé que si la solvabilité est suffisante.

L’examen de solvabilité consiste à tenir compte de la situation financière complète du demandeur ainsi que des facteurs de risque tels que l’âge, la nationalité, le statut de séjour et la fréquence des changements de domicile et d’emploi. Il convient de noter que les crédits ne sont octroyés qu’à des personnes majeures et actives qui ont un revenu régulier. Une résidence en Suisse est souvent exigée. Les analystes de crédit se procurent également des renseignements auprès des offices des poursuites et des bases de données de solvabilité externes. Si l’on a des poursuites en cours ou que l’on a déjà essuyé un refus pour une demande de crédit, il est extrêmement difficile d’obtenir un crédit privé. 

Indépendamment de la décision de base sur l’acceptation ou le refus d’une demande de crédit, la solvabilité est aussi déterminante pour le taux d’intérêt : plus la capacité de remboursement est élevée, plus le taux d’intérêt à payer sera bas. Mais le taux d’intérêt dépend encore d’autres facteurs comme le montant du crédit, la durée du crédit et l’utilisation de ce dernier. En Suisse, les taux d’intérêt des crédits privés varient actuellement entre 4,5 % et la valeur maximale de 10 % fixée par la loi.

La solvabilité n’est toutefois pas uniquement déterminante pour le taux d’intérêt, mais aussi pour le montant du crédit. Il peut arriver qu’une banque n’octroie pas la totalité du crédit, lorsqu’il y a des facteurs de risque. Cela est possible également lorsque le budget permettrait un crédit plus élevé.

Comment se protéger contre les pièges d'un crédit ?

Les mesures suivantes permettent aux personnes souhaitant contracter un crédit de se protéger contre les pièges les plus fréquents :

Attention aux offres trop alléchantes : les prestataires de crédit font souvent de la publicité pour des taux de crédit bas, inférieurs à 5 %, pour attirer des clients potentiels. Il est toutefois rare que ces taux soient effectivement accordés, car la plupart des preneurs de crédit ne présentent pas la solvabilité requise par ces derniers. Un taux de 4,5 % n’est par exemple octroyé qu’aux propriétaires d’un logement à usage propre. En Suisse, les crédits privés sont en règle générale proposés à des taux allant de 7,9 à 9,9 %. Il est recommandé de comparer les offres de crédit avec l'aide d’un prestataire indépendant ou d’avoir recours à un conseiller externe.

Évaluation correcte de sa propre solvabilité : toutes les demandes de crédit refusées en Suisse sont enregistrées auprès de la Centrale d’information de crédit (ZEK) où elles sont conservées pendant deux ans. Ces informations sont consultables par tous les organismes de crédit professionnels ; cela explique pourquoi il est nettement plus difficile d’obtenir un crédit ailleurs après avoir essuyé un refus de crédit. Il est donc important de bien évaluer sa solvabilité au préalable. 

Choix de durées plus longues : selon la LCC, les preneurs de crédit peuvent rembourser à tout moment leur prêt par anticipation. Les paiements d’intérêts encore dus deviennent ainsi caducs. Les retards de paiement étant également communiqués à la ZEK, il est recommandé de choisir une durée de crédit plutôt plus importante et de rembourser la dette par anticipation, le cas échéant. En d’autres termes : plus la durée du crédit est longue, plus le crédit coûtera cher. Il est donc instamment recommandé de rembourser un crédit privé le plus rapidement possible et de ne pas étaler le crédit sur une durée inutilement longue. 

Pour éviter les prestataires peu sérieux : les personnes souhaitant contracter un crédit doivent éviter les prestataires qui exigent des paiements anticipés, font de la publicité pour des crédits immédiats ou qui sont prêts à octroyer un crédit sans préalablement vérifier la solvabilité. Car cela est interdit par la LCC. 

Pour éviter un assainissement des dettes : il convient de renoncer à un crédit lorsque celui-ci est destiné à payer des dettes existantes ou si le budget du ménage est régulièrement dans le rouge. À moyen ou long terme, la situation ne fera qu’empirer. 

Conclusion

Un crédit privé peut constituer un moyen de financement intéressant, pour palier temporairement à une mauvaise passe financière ou pour réaliser un vieux rêve. Pour faire un choix optimal, les preneurs de crédit doivent préalablement évaluer leur situation financière de façon réaliste et comparer minutieusement les différentes offres.