Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Insurance

Comparis

Menu

Loans & mortgagesPersonal loansWhat is a loan

What is a loan? Everything you need to know

What are the rules for personal loans in Switzerland? Who can issue loans? What organizations are involved? Comparis sheds light on the matter.

Overview:

  • What are the different types of loans?
  • Definition of a loan
  • Who can issue personal loans in Switzerland
  • How the loan process works

Loans – a brief description

Loans refer to a payment made by a creditor to a borrower: for personal loans, this involves lending out money. Loans are awarded based on predefined conditions (e.g. costs, repayment terms) and have to be paid back within a certain period of time. Loans can be either secured or unsecured.

Normally there are two parties involved in issuing a loan: the borrower who receives the money and therefore becomes the debtor, and the creditor who lends out the money. There are various types of creditors, usually banks or bank-like institutions.


What are the different types of loans?

The two most relevant factors for categorizing loans are:

  • Whether the borrower is a company or a private individual
  • Whether the loan is secured or unsecured

Business loans can be broken down into short-term operating loans and long-term investment loans.

The following are examples of loans for private individuals:

Personal loans can be distinguished as follows:

  • Consumer credit: personal loans regulated by the Consumer Credit Act
  • Small or payday loans: colloquial terms without a precise definition
  • Student loans: Splendit student loans (not regulated by the Consumer Credit Act)
  • For continuing education: Cashgate Career
  • Loans for renovating property

You may encounter the following marketing terms in the context of loans:

  • Online loans, for which (most of) the loan application process is completed online. These are normal personal loans/consumer loans.
  • Instant loans – usually a misleading advertising term. Instant loans are not available in Switzerland as lenders are required by law to run thorough checks on potential borrowers.

Personal loans: definition and basics

There will be different legal and formal requirements depending on the type of loan in question. Loan agreements between private individuals are valid even without a contract and are regulated by the Swiss Debt Collection and Bankruptcy Act (SchKG).

Consumer loans on the other hand, are subject to extensive legal and organizational requirements defined by various agencies:

  • Swiss Federal Act on Consumer Credit (Consumer Credit Act)
  • Based on Article 36a of the Consumer Credit Act, members of the Swiss Consumer Finance Association have agreed to self-regulate and have signed an agreement prohibiting aggressive advertisement.
  • The Ordinance to the Consumer Credit Act stipulates that the Swiss Federal Department of Justice and Police (FDJP) shall set the maximum interest rate for consumer loans.
  • Loan granting practices are also governed by the Unfair Competition Act (in German, French and Italian only).
  • As financial intermediaries, lenders are also subject to the provisions of the Anti-Money Laundering Act (AMLA).
  • The Information Centre for Consumer Credit (IKO), a federal body based on the Consumer Credit Act
  • Central Office for Credit Information (ZEK), which collects and provides information on the credit histories of private individuals and legal entities

Main components of a personal loan

  • Loan amount: this is the amount of money taken out by the borrower.
  • Effective annual interest rate: the effective annual interest rate must be stated in the consumer credit agreement. It expresses the loan costs for the personal loan in terms of an annual percentage, which must include all the loan costs. If this is not possible, these costs must be listed separately.
  • Repayment term: the agreed period within which a loan must be repaid. In Switzerland, repayment terms range from 6 to 120 months depending on the lender. The longer the repayment term, the more expensive the loan. Good to know: in Switzerland, borrowers always have the right to pay more than the agreed minimum instalment or to repay the loan in full before the end of the repayment term. This reduces the cost of the loan for the borrower.
  • Repayment/amortization: the total cost of a loan is based on the repayment term, interest rate and loan amount. These costs are divided into monthly instalments that are paid back over the agreed repayment term. Each monthly instalment consists of interest costs and amortization. The interest portion of your monthly instalments will be highest at the beginning of the repayment term.

When does it make sense to take out a loan?

People often take out loans due to changes in their life circumstances. What does this mean? It could mean making a necessary purchase like a car or fulfilling a long-held dream without clearing out your savings account.

Loans are basically appropriate for situations such as the following:

  • Getting through temporary financial difficulties
  • When you need additional funds quickly and don't have time to save
  • Making long-term purchases such as furniture or a car
  • Investing in your future, such as by taking a continuing education course
  • If you have stable income but need to preserve your savings

Loans should be avoided in these cases:

  • For ongoing financial difficulties that a loan would only postpone
  • For non-durable goods or leisure activities and holidays
  • For non-essential products that far exceed your means
Read more about car loans


Who can issue loans in Switzerland?

Swiss law distinguishes between commercial lending and non-commercial lending.

Financial institutions, credit institutions, banks: in Switzerland, banks are the most common commercial lenders issuing loans to private individuals, whether it's a full service bank, a separate business unit of a bank, a specialized lending bank or a dedicated credit institution.

Crowdlending institutions: with respect to personal, business and real estate loans, the total loan volume issued by crowdlenders has been growing sharply year by year. Crowdlending platforms act as brokers between lenders and borrowers. In this case, lenders are either private individuals or institutional investors (companies). Although crowdlending platforms do not issue loans themselves, they are still subject to the provisions of the Consumer Credit Act when handling personal loans.

Credit brokers: credit brokers are private individuals or legal entities that provide commercial brokerage services for personal loans. This means that they do not award loans themselves, but rather advise clients on their options and manage the lending process between the bank and the borrower. Credaris, a partner service of Comparis, is one example of a credit broker. Here you can find out more about the process and the benefits of using such a service.

Your next steps:

Calculate maximum loan amount
Find out how much you could borrow according to the Consumer Credit Act.

Get an overview of the lending market
Compare possible interest rates and lenders in Switzerland.

Apply for your loan
Once you've decided to take out a loan, click here to start your application.


Important criteria for consumer loans

How interest rates and loan costs are determined

Lenders carry out thorough credit checks to determine whether to extend credit and at what interest rate.

All the costs directly associated with the loan must be included in the effective annual interest rate. This means that there can be no additional costs beyond the monthly instalment agreed in the contract. This excludes extra, purely administrative expenses such as payment reminders and additional account statements. Costs associated with optional loan insurance are also usually listed separately.

Minimum and maximum loan amounts in Switzerland

In Switzerland, loans range from 1,000 to 250,000 francs – very occasionally more. Possible loan amounts vary from one lender to another. Loan amounts between 500 and 80,000 francs are considered to be consumer loans and are subject to the relevant provisions of the Consumer Credit Act.

Repayment terms

In Switzerland, repayment terms range from 6 to 120 months, with the maximum periods varying according to the lender. Loans with repayment terms of less than three months are not regulated by the Consumer Credit Act.

Credit check

All applicants will be checked thoroughly before being awarded a loan. This credit capacity check is mandated by law for consumer loans. Find out more about eligibility criteria and credit checks.

Right of withdrawal for consumer loans

The Consumer Credit Act aims to protect borrowers. Part of this protection is the 14-day cooling-off period in which they may withdraw from their personal loan agreement. This is why consumer loans are only paid out two weeks after the contract is signed, once the cooling-off period is over. Non-consumer loans can be paid out without this waiting period.

Considering taking out a loan?

Lending in Switzerland is governed by strict consumer protection regulations. Lenders have to adhere to strict guidelines when extending credit, and apply extensive eligibility and risk criteria of their own when evaluating loan applications. To guard against fraud, these criteria are not made known to the public. This means that it is not always possible to gauge your chances of being approved for a loan by a specific lender. Approximately 50% of all loan applications are rejected.

Credaris, a partner service of Comparis, will help you compare loan options and show you which lender is most likely to grant you a loan and at what conditions. By submitting a free, non-binding loan enquiry to Credaris, you can boost your chances of being approved for a loan by over 50% compared to applying directly to a lender.


Submit loan enquiry now

Approval of a loan is forbidden by law if it would lead to over-indebtedness (Art. 3 UWG).

Back to top

Newsletter

Stay up-to-date with the latest savings deals as well as expert tips on health, money and tax.

By registering, I agree to my data being processed in accordance with the data privacy statement of comparis.ch.

comparis.ch
  • About Comparis

  • Career

Social Media
Language
  • DE
  • FR
  • IT
  • EN
  • Contact
  • Data privacy protection
  • Legal information
  • Credits

© 1996–2021 comparis.ch AG, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zurich, +41 44 360 52 62

Comparis
Newsletter
fr

Assurances

Auto & moto

Immobilier

Crédit & hypothèques

Comparateur de prix

Santé & prévoyance

Autres services

Comparis

Menu

Crédit & hypothèquesCrédit privéLe crédit expliqué

Qu'est-ce qu'un crédit ? Tout ce qu'il faut savoir sur le sujet

Comment les crédits aux particuliers sont-ils réglementés en Suisse, qui octroie des crédits et quels sont les organismes qui jouent un rôle dans ce processus ? Comparis fait le point.

Sommaire :

  • Quels sont les différents types de crédits ?
  • Crédit : définition
  • Qui octroie des crédits aux particuliers en Suisse ?
  • Comment fonctionne le processus de crédit ?

Le crédit expliqué brièvement

Un crédit est une prestation proposée par un prêteur à un preneur de crédit. Accorder un crédit à un particulier consiste à lui prêter de l’argent. Les crédits sont octroyés à des conditions préalablement définies – celles-ci comprennent notamment le coût du crédit ainsi que les modalités de son remboursement – et ils sont limités dans le temps. On distingue les crédits garantis par un gage et les crédits en blanc (sans garantie).

En général, deux parties sont impliquées dans l’octroi d’un crédit : le preneur de crédit, qui emprunte un certain montant et est donc débiteur, et le prêteur de l’argent, qui est créancier. Il existe différents types de prêteurs. Dans la plupart des cas, il s’agit d’établissements à caractère bancaire.


Quels sont les différents types de crédits ?

Les deux critères de différenciation principaux pour la catégorisation des crédits sont les suivants :

  • Le preneur de crédit est une entreprise ou est un particulier
  • Le crédit est garanti par un gage ou n’est pas garanti

Dans les crédits octroyés aux entreprises, on différencie les crédits d’exploitation à court terme et les crédits d’investissement à long terme.

Les produits ci-dessous sont quant à eux des crédits destinés aux particuliers :

  • Hypothèque (garantie par un bien immobilier)
  • Crédit lombard : nantissement de valeurs patrimoniales très liquides, souvent des titres (ces valeurs patrimoniales servent de garantie)
  • Prêt
  • Crédit en compte courant (limite de découvert)
  • Carte de crédit et carte client
  • Crédit peer-to-peer
  • Crédit privé

Pour ce qui est des crédits privés, les distinctions suivantes sont également pertinentes :

  • Crédit à la consommation : qualifie un crédit privé régi par la loi sur le crédit à la consommation (LCC)
  • Petit crédit : terme utilisé dans le langage courant, sans définition propre
  • Crédits liés à une formation initiale ou continue : crédits de formation initiale Splendit (ne sont pas régis par la LCC)
  • Pour les formations continues : Cashgate Career
  • Rénovation d’un bien immobilier

Les deux termes ci-après ont une visée exclusivement commerciale :

  • Crédit « online » : la demande de crédit se déroule (principalement) sur Internet. Il s’agit d’un crédit privé ou crédit à la consommation normal.
  • Crédit immédiat : expression marketing souvent utilisée de manière peu scrupuleuse. En raison du devoir de vérification complète du preneur de crédit, il n’existe pas de crédit immédiat en Suisse.

Crédit : définition

Les dispositions légales et les exigences formelles varient en fonction du type de crédit. Un contrat de prêt entre particuliers peut être convenu oralement (sans contrat écrit) et est régi par la loi fédérale sur la poursuite pour dettes et la faillite (LP).

Pour autoriser et octroyer des crédits à la consommation en revanche, des prescriptions légales détaillées s’appliquent, de même que les directives organisationnelles des différents acteurs :

  • La loi fédérale sur le crédit à la consommation (loi sur le crédit à la consommation, LCC)
  • Pour appliquer l’article 36a de la LCC : la convention concernant la publicité, qui sert de base à l’autorégulation et qui a été élaborée par les membres de l’Association Financement à la consommation Suisse
  • L’ordonnance relative à la loi sur le crédit à la consommation (OLCC), dans laquelle le Département fédéral de justice et de police (DFJP) détermine chaque année le taux d’intérêt maximum des crédits à la consommation
  • L’octroi de crédits est également traité dans la loi contre la concurrence déloyale (LCD)
  • En tant qu’intermédiaires financiers, les prêteurs sont aussi soumis à la loi sur le blanchiment d’argent (LBA)
  • Le centre suisse de renseignements sur le crédit à la consommation prescrit par le législateur (IKO)
  • La centrale d’information de crédit (ZEK), qui est la centrale d’information suisse pour les informations de solvabilité découlant des activités de crédit des personnes physiques et morales

Les principales caractéristiques d’un crédit privé

  • Montant du crédit : c’est la somme prêtée dans le cadre d’un crédit.
  • Taux annuel effectif global : le taux annuel effectif global doit être inscrit dans le contrat de crédit à la consommation. Il indique, en pourcentage, le coût du crédit privé par année, et tient impérativement compte de tous les frais en lien avec le crédit. Si cela n'est pas possible, ces frais doivent être mentionnés séparément.
  • Durée du crédit : durée convenue pour le remboursement d’un crédit. En Suisse, les durées proposées vont de 6 à 120 mois en fonction des prêteurs. Plus l'échéance est longue, plus le crédit devient cher. Bon à savoir : en Suisse, le preneur de crédit a le droit à tout moment d’augmenter ses mensualités ou de dissoudre le contrat de crédit en remboursant le montant total de manière anticipée. Les deux solutions permettent de diminuer le coût du crédit.
  • Remboursement / amortissement : le coût du crédit se calcule sur la base du montant du crédit, du taux d’intérêt et de la durée. En l’ajoutant au montant du crédit, on obtient le coût total du crédit. Ce coût total est divisé en mensualités, qui sont à régler durant la durée du crédit convenue. Chaque mensualité se compose d’une part d’intérêts et d’une part d’amortissement. C’est au début du crédit que la part d’intérêts de la mensualité est la plus élevée.

Dans quels cas est-il judicieux ou non de contracter un crédit ?

La demande d’un crédit a souvent lieu à l’occasion de changements dans sa situation personnelle. De quoi parle-t-on concrètement ? Il peut s’agir d’un achat motivé par la nécessité (remplacer sa voiture tombée en panne) ou par une envie (réaliser un rêve de longue date), pour lequel on ne souhaite pas utiliser ses économies.

En règle générale, un crédit est approprié :

  • Pour surmonter des difficultés financières passagères
  • Lorsque du capital supplémentaire est nécessaire rapidement et qu’il est par conséquent impossible d’économiser pour l’obtenir
  • Pour acquérir un produit avec une longue durée de vie comme une voiture ou du mobilier
  • Pour investir dans l’avenir (par exemple pour financer une formation continue)
  • Lorsque les revenus sont stables et que l’on ne souhaite pas utiliser son épargne

Au contraire, un crédit est moins approprié / n’est pas approprié :

  • En cas de difficultés financières structurelles que le crédit ne ferait que repousser
  • Pour financer des produits à courte durée de vie, des loisirs ou des vacances
  • Pour financer des produits qui dépassent largement ses propres moyens financiers et auxquels on peut renoncer

En savoir plus sur le crédit automobile

En savoir plus sur le crédit pour l’achat de meubles

Qui octroie des crédits aux particuliers en Suisse ?

En Suisse, on distingue les prêteurs agissant par métier des prêteurs n’agissant pas par métier.

Instituts financiers / établissements de crédit / banques : les prêteurs accordant des crédits à des particuliers et agissant par métier sont souvent des banques. Il peut s’agir de banques universelles, d’unités opérationnelles distinctes faisant partie de banques, de banques de crédit spécialisées ou tout simplement d’établissements de crédit.

Plateformes de crowdlending (ou de prêt participatif) : dans le domaine des crédits privés, commerciaux et immobiliers, le volume de crédits octroyés par des crowdlenders augmente fortement chaque année. Les plateformes de crowdlending servent d’intermédiaires entre prêteurs et preneurs de crédit. Les prêteurs peuvent être des particuliers ou des investisseurs institutionnels (entreprises). Les plateformes de crowdlending n’octroient pas de crédits elles-mêmes, mais elles sont tout de même soumises à la loi sur le crédit à la consommation pour les crédits privés.

Courtiers en crédit : les courtiers en crédit sont des personnes physiques ou morales (particuliers ou sociétés) qui, par métier, agissent en tant qu’intermédiaires dans l’obtention d’un crédit privé. Ils n’octroient donc pas de crédits mais ils conseillent les clientes et les clients sur les possibilités qui s’offrent à eux, puis ils s’occupent du processus de crédit entre la banque et le preneur de crédit. L’exemple de Credaris, un service partenaire de Comparis, illustre bien ce fonctionnement et les avantages des services proposés par un courtier en crédit.

Comment fonctionne le processus de crédit ?

Calculer sa ligne de crédit maximale
Découvrez le montant indicatif que vous pourriez emprunter d’après la loi sur le crédit à la consommation.

Comparer les offres du marché
Comparez les taux d’intérêt et les caractéristiques des établissements prêteurs établis en Suisse.

Faire une demande de crédit
Vous avez décidé de demander un crédit ? Vers la demande de crédit.

Critères importants pour les crédits à la consommation

Fixation du taux d’intérêt et du coût du crédit

À l’aide d’un examen de solvabilité approfondi, le prêteur détermine s’il peut vous octroyer un crédit et, le cas échéant, à quel taux d’intérêt.

Tous les frais se rapportant directement au crédit doivent être répercutés dans le taux annuel effectif global. Aucuns frais supplémentaires ne peuvent donc venir s’ajouter aux mensualités fixées contractuellement, à l’exception de frais additionnels purement administratifs (par exemple pour des rappels ou des relevés de compte supplémentaires). Le plus souvent, les assurances-crédit facultatives sont aussi à part.

Montant minimal et maximal du crédit

En Suisse, le montant d’un crédit est compris entre 1000 et 250 000 francs. Dans de rares cas, il peut même être supérieur à 250 000 francs. Les montants proposés varient en fonction des établissements. Les crédits d’un montant compris entre 500 et 80 000 francs sont considérés comme des crédits à la consommation et sont soumis aux prescriptions correspondantes de la loi sur le crédit à la consommation.

Durée du crédit

La durée de remboursement d’un crédit en Suisse oscille entre 6 et 120 mois. Les échéances maximales proposées sont différentes selon les prêteurs. Les crédits pour lesquels la durée de remboursement s’élève à moins de 3 mois ne sont pas régis par la loi sur le crédit à la consommation.

Examen de solvabilité

Avant l’octroi d’un crédit, tout demandeur doit se soumettre à un examen complet de sa solvabilité. Pour les crédits à la consommation, la vérification de solvabilité est prescrite par la loi. Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus à ce sujet, consultez les articles critères d’obtention et examen de solvabilité.

Droit légal de révocation pour les crédits à la consommation

La loi sur le crédit à la consommation sert à protéger les preneurs de crédit. Elle inclut notamment un droit de révocation du contrat, dont le délai est de 14 jours. C’est pour cette raison que les crédits à la consommation ne sont versés qu’environ 14 jours après la conclusion du contrat, une fois le délai de révocation écoulé. Les crédits qui ne répondent pas à la définition d’un crédit à la consommation peuvent être versés sans délai d’attente.

Vous envisagez de contracter un crédit ?

En Suisse, l’octroi de crédits est très réglementé afin de protéger les consommatrices et les consommateurs. Les prêteurs doivent en effet respecter des règles strictes lorsqu’ils accordent un crédit. En outre, pour les examens de demandes de crédit, chaque établissement applique une grille d’évaluation complète avec ses propres critères. Pour des raisons de protection contre les tentatives de fraude, ces critères ne sont pas communiqués. En tant que demandeur, les moyens d’évaluer ses chances d’obtenir un crédit auprès d’un certain organisme de prêt sont donc limités. La part des demandes de crédit sanctionnées par un refus s’élève à près de 50 %.

Credaris, un service partenaire de Comparis, se charge de comparer les crédits pour vous et vous indique auprès de quel établissement et à quelles conditions vous avez les meilleures chances d’obtenir un crédit. Avec une demande de crédit gratuite et sans engagement, vous augmentez vos chances de plus de 50 % par rapport à une demande directe auprès d’un organisme de prêt.

Déposer une demande de crédit