Benefits

Glasses – when is supplemental insurance advisable?

INFORMATION
|
She has good reason to laugh – basic health insurance still pays for her glasses.

With a pair of specs costing 200, 500 or even 1000 francs, buying eyewear is an expensive undertaking. How great it would be if health insurance covered at least some of the cost. The trouble is, since 2011 basic insurance no longer pays for glasses – except for children. So that just leaves the option of a supplemental insurance policy. But is such a policy really worth it? 

Those who do not wish to pay for glasses and other visual aids out of their own pocket can take out suitable supplemental insurance. This is available from less than ten Swiss francs a month.

The problem is that there is no such thing as supplementary insurance exclusively for glasses and contact lenses. Insurance companies only offer this particular cover in combination with other benefits, such as psychotherapy, maternity courses, health check-ups, or payment of costs for transportation and rescue. 

Visual aids only covered in wider package of benefits

If you are not keen on taking out such a comprehensive package merely to get some financial contribution towards visual aids, then you can probably give this supplemental insurance a miss – especially if you consider that the annual contribution is usually limited to 150 to 200 francs.

Example: The monthly premium for the supplemental insurance is 10 francs, which equals an annual sum of 120 francs. The insurance company would pay 150 francs per year for the glasses (note that this amount cannot be accumulated over several years). Someone who chooses an inexpensive pair of glasses for around 200 francs will have paid 120 francs in premiums, which means a saving of just 30 francs (150-120 = 30) on the purchase price.

But you can also consider this from another angle. Someone who prefers more comprehensive cover will appreciate the generous slew of benefits that comes with this type of supplemental insurance package – and will receive a payment towards that new pair of glasses to boot. 

What about children?

If your child needs glasses, basic insurance will cover them, just as before. It pays a contribution of 180 francs per calendar year towards the cost of glasses, a benefit that continues until your offspring reaches the age of 18. If this cover is not enough, you can take out appropriate supplemental insurance to bridge the gap.

Four tips on supplemental insurance for glasses

  1. Look closely at the overall package that includes supplemental insurance for glasses. Does the package offer a combination of benefits that fits your needs?
  2. Check the maximum amount the insurer will contribute each year. Is this amount sufficient for your purpose (usually about 150 francs)?
  3. Consider the duration of the policy, which may be up to five years. Do you want to lock yourself in to this supplemental insurance policy in the long term, or would you rather stay flexible?
  4. Compare the premiums and cover offered by the various insurance companies carefully. Are you paying more than necessary for your insurance policy?

Prestations

Lunettes : quand choisir une complémentaire ?

INFO
|
La petite à de quoi sourire : les lunettes sur son petit nez sont encore remboursées par l'assurance de base.

200, 500 voire 1000 francs – une paire de lunettes coûte cher. Et ce serait trop beau de recevoir une contribution de la caisse maladie. Seulement depuis 2011, l’assurance de base n’intervient pas dans ce cas – sauf pour les enfants. Reste alors l'assurance complémentaire. Mais le compte y est-il ? 

Celles et ceux qui ne veulent pas mettre la main à la poche pour leurs lunettes ou autres corrections visuelles ont la possibilité de souscrire une assurance complémentaire proposant ce type de couverture. On en trouve dès moins de dix francs par mois.

Cela dit, il n’existe pas d'assurance complémentaire lunettes et lentilles de contact à part entière : les compagnies d'assurance complémentaire offrent cette couverture spéciale uniquement en association avec d’autres prestations. Ce sont par exemple les compléments psychothérapie, les cours de préparation à l'accouchement jusqu’aux examens de prévention ainsi que les frais de transport et de sauvetage. 

Corrections de vue : seulement en package de prestations

Les corrections de vue ne pouvant être couvertes que dans des packages globaux, une assurance complémentaire n’est souvent pas rentable. En effet, la contribution annuelle est souvent limitée entre 150 et 200 francs.

Un exemple : la prime mensuelle pour l’assurance complémentaire est de 10 francs, soit une cotisation annuelle de 120 francs. L'assurance verserait 150 francs par an pour la monture (attention : la participation aux coûts n’est pas cumulable d’une année à l’autre). En achetant des lunettes pas chères, pour environ 200 francs, l'assuré payerait 120 francs de primes pour y gagner tout juste 30 francs à l'achat (150 - 120 = 30).

On peut cependant faire un tout autre calcul : les personnes qui souhaitent une couverture plus large profiteront avec ces packs d'assurances complémentaires d’un beau bouquet de prestations – en recevant un remboursement pour leurs lunettes. 

Et pour les enfants ?

Si votre enfant a besoin d’une correction de la vue, l’assurance de base interviendra comme toujours. Elle participe avec 180 francs par année civile aux frais de lunettes. Et ce, jusqu’aux 18 ans de votre progéniture. Si l’étendue de cette couverture ne devait suffire, il est possible de souscrire une assurance complémentaire à cet effet.

4 conseils pour la complémentaire lunettes

  1. Étudier en détail le package d’assurance qui comprend la complémentaire lunettes. La question : ce package présente-t-il la meilleure combinaison de prestations différentes pour moi ?
  2. Penser à la limite pour le remboursement. La question : le montant que l'assurance prend en charge par an couvre-t-il suffisamment mes besoins (souvent environ 150 CHF) ?
  3. Prendre en compte la durée de la police d’assurance, qui peut s’étendre jusqu’à 5 ans. La question : est-ce que je veux me lier à long terme avec une complémentaire ou est-ce que je souhaite garder de la flexibilité ?
  4. Bien comparer le montant de la prime et la couverture des prestations parmi les différentes compagnies d'assurance. La question : est-ce que je paie plus que nécessaire pour l'assurance ?