Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

InsuranceHealth insurancePremiums 2020
Health insurance information and news

Health insurance premiums 2021

The Federal Office of Public Health announced the health insurance premiums for 2021 on 22 September 2020. Premiums are set to rise by 0.5% on average. Despite the small increase, around one million Swiss residents could save 40% or more next year. You can find all the new health insurance premiums and deals on the Comparis website.

Calculate current premiums

Health insurance news

Post-lockdown telemedicine boom fails to materialize

Update of 02/11/2020

Despite lockdown and social distancing in the coronavirus pandemic, Telmed models have not increased in popularity. In fact, among the younger members of the population, demand for these models has even reduced slightly. Instead, the trend appears to be moving towards HMO models and the maximum deductible of 2,500 francs. You can find out more in this press release on the Comparis analysis (in German, French and Italian only).

Health insurance in times of coronavirus – what’s the best option?

Update of 29/10/2020

Despite losses of income and a fragile economic outlook, the average premium increase of 0.5% is deterring people from comparing health insurance and trying to save money. Nevertheless, it would be well worth them taking a close look at their current health insurance model. Those in high-risk groups with a maximum deductible of 2,500 francs should consider switching to the minimum 300 francs. Ultimately, a low deductible works out cheaper if hospitalization due to coronavirus is necessary.

Here's why: if you choose the maximum deductible, you will pay a maximum of 3,200 francs in the event of illness (deductible of 2,500 francs plus coinsurance of 700 francs). This does not include the contribution of 15 francs per day in hospital for meals. If you choose the minimum deductible, the maximum you will pay is 1,000 francs (deductible of 300 francs and coinsurance of 700 francs). As a rule of thumb, it's worth choosing the maximum deductible if your annual medical costs are less than 2,000 francs per year. If your annual expenses for doctor’s appointments, medicine and hospital stays and so on exceed this amount, you should choose the minimum deductible of 300 francs.

Blacklist for people who fail to pay premiums

Update of 05/10/2020

If you fail to pay your health insurance premiums or medical bills, some cantons may blacklist you. Parliament now wants to abolish these lists. If you are blacklisted, insurers will reimburse the cost of emergency medical treatment only. The cantons of Thurgau, Schaffhausen, St. Gallen, Zug, Lucerne, Aargau and Ticino use such lists.

Around one million policyholders can make huge savings in 2021

Update of 22/09/2020

Although basic health insurance premiums are only set to rise by 0.5% on average in 2021, around one million Swiss residents could save 40% or more next year. You can find out more in the Comparis press release (in German, French and Italian only).

Health insurers should pay for coronavirus vaccinations

Update of 17/09/2020

According to a survey by Comparis (in German, French and Italian only), around half of the Swiss population would like any coronavirus vaccination to be voluntary and covered by basic insurance. Unlike for other vaccinations like the flu vaccination, basic insurance should cover the cost for everyone, not just high-risk groups.

Short-time work increases burden of health insurance premiums

Update of 08/09/2020

The income of Swiss households is being significantly curtailed owing to short-time working and higher unemployment. This increases the burden of health insurance premiums. At the very worst, the proportion of the household budget spent on basic insurance premiums could be 16%, as a Comparis analysis of the premium burden shows (in German, French and Italian only).

Federal Council wants to end free choice of doctor

Update of 19/08/2020

The Federal Council wants to reduce healthcare costs by introducing cost targets and ending free choice of doctor. Basic health insurance already supports both these measures, but optionally, and with a premium discount. Learn more in the Comparis assessment of compulsory measures in the healthcare system (in German only).

Customer satisfaction with health insurers 2020

Update of 13/07/2020

In 2020, six health insurers received the highest rating of 5.4 for their compulsory basic health insurance services. They are Swica (same as in the previous year), KPT and the Helsana subsidiary Progrès (5.3 in the previous year), and Helsana, ÖKK and Sanitas (5.2 in the previous year). The maximum rating thus remains the same as in 2019. Find out more in the overview of customer satisfaction ratings for health insurers.

Premium forecast for 2021

Update of 15/06/2020

Comparis health insurance expert Felix Schnewly expects basic health insurance premiums to increase by around 3% in 2021. Many people who are less well off because of the coronavirus crisis will not be able to afford a 3% increase. For this reason, Comparis is calling for reserves to be used so that health insurers have more leeway when setting premium prices. You can read more in the press release on the premium forecast for 2021.

The coronavirus crisis should not be an excuse for increasing health insurance premiums

Update of 16/03/2020

Felix Schneuwly, health insurance expert at Comparis, says: “Until last week, the Federal Council, the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) and the cantonal authorities did almost everything right, the exception being the decision by the Federal Council to make health insurers pay for coronavirus tests. However, given the reserve cushion of 8 billion francs, the warning by health insurance association Santésuisse that the coronavirus pandemic would lead to extra premium increases is untenable.”

Insurers that reduce premiums are not always the cheapest

Update of 30/10/2019

Health insurers will only moderately increase basic health insurance premiums in 2020. Some – mainly the larger health insurance providers – have even announced premium reductions. However, a Comparis analysis has now shown that customers should not be misled by lower premiums. The insurers offering the biggest premium reductions are often still considerably more expensive than the cheapest providers. Find out more in our article

Save money by paying in advance

Update of 23/10/2019

It can be worth paying health insurance premiums in advance, either for six months or a whole year, particularly when interest rates are negative. Some health insurers will reward you with a discount of up to 2%. You can find an overview of discounts in this table.

How much do young people know about health insurance?

Update of 17/10/2019

What is the level of health insurance knowledge like in Switzerland? YouTuber Lionel from Basel canvassed young people on this topic on behalf of Comparis. You can watch the video here (in German only). 

Health insurance comparisons – how does Comparis work?

Update of 24/09/2019

Comparis users frequently ask about how the Comparis business model is designed. How does the largest comparison service in Switzerland guarantee its impartiality? How does Comparis contribute to cost increases or decreases in the healthcare system? These questions and more are answered in this article

Shortcomings in the basic health insurance system: policyholders with alternative models are paying over the odds

Update of 23/09/2019

Comparis invited experts from the healthcare industry to take part in a mini-conference. Health economist Pius Gyger presented the results of a study focusing on the options for premium pricing in basic health insurance. The report concluded that the current premium pricing rules are a hindrance to integrated care. Read more here (in German, French and Italian only). 

Increase your deductible now and save on premiums

Update of 18/09/2019

Switching insurance provider and selecting an alternative insurance model are not the only ways for policyholders to save in 2020. The choice of deductible is also a factor. For example, young policyholders or those anticipating low medical expenses in the coming year are better off opting for the maximum deductible of 2500 francs, as Comparis expert Felix Schneuwly explains. Read more here on the subject of increasing your deductible.

Average premium increase from 372 to 383 francs in 2020

Update of 25/06/2019

Comparis predicts that basic health insurance premiums will increase by 2-3% in 2020. As ever, it is primarily the quantity of medical products and services consumed that is driving up costs and premiums – not the prices.

More information on health insurance

Compare premiums and save money

Health insurance premiums constitute a considerable proportion of a household's budget. It’s therefore well worth comparing premiums again this year. Those who are affected by a significant premium increase can respond by changing their insurance provider or choosing a cheaper insurance model. All health insurance companies offer identical basic health insurance cover.

Cancellation notice periods

Find out here by when you need to cancel your basic insurance and what you should watch out for when cancelling your supplemental insurance.

Cancellation letter template

The quick and easy way to write a cancellation letter – with the convenient template provided by comparis.ch. Create the cancellation letter for your health insurance provider now.

Stay up-to-date

Get regular updates on the subject of health insurance by signing up for our newsletter.

Health insurance glossary

Do you find some of the terminology confusing? We have put together an A-to-Z list of key health insurance terms with explanations, which you can find in our health insurance glossary.

Whether basic or supplemental insurance...

...find the health insurer that's best for you
Compare now

Back to top

Newsletter

Stay up-to-date with the latest savings deals as well as expert tips on health, money and tax.

By registering, I agree to my data being processed in accordance with the data privacy statement of comparis.ch.

comparis.ch
  • About Comparis

  • Career

Social Media
Language
  • DE
  • FR
  • IT
  • EN
  • Contact
  • Data privacy protection
  • Legal information
  • Credits

© 1996–2020 comparis.ch AG, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zurich, +41 44 360 52 62

Primes maladie 2021

Infos et actualités sur l'assurance maladie


Le 22.09.2020, l’Office fédéral de la santé publique a publié les primes maladie exigibles en 2021. Malgré une augmentation moyenne de 0,5 %, près d’un million de Suisses pourraient économiser 40 % ou plus sur ce poste de dépenses l’an prochain. Sur Comparis, retrouvez les nouvelles primes et offres des caisses maladie.

Actualités sur le thème de la caisse maladie

L’essor de la télémédecine retombe après le confinement

Mise à jour du 02.11.2020

Malgré le confinement et la distanciation sociale qui sont de mise en ces temps de coronavirus, les modèles Telmed n’ont pas gagné en popularité. La demande pour ces modèles a même légèrement fléchi parmi les jeunes. Ce revirement de tendance semble bénéficier au modèle HMO et la franchise maximale de 2500 francs. Vous trouverez davantage d’informations sur le sujet dans le communiqué de presse sur l’analyse des tendances.

Dans la crise du coronavirus, quelle assurance maladie choisir ?

Mise à jour du 29.10.2020

Malgré les perspectives économiques fragiles et les pertes de revenus, la hausse moyenne des primes, établie à 0,5 %, n’est pas de nature à inciter de nombreux assurés à comparer les assurances maladie et à vérifier leur potentiel d’économies. Et pourtant, Monsieur et Madame Tout-le-monde ont tout intérêt à scruter leur modèle d’assurance maladie actuel. Il est en particulier recommandé aux personnes dites « à risque » qui ont opté pour la franchise maximale de 2500 francs d’envisager sa réduction au minimum, soit 300 francs. Une franchise basse permet d’alléger la facture en cas d’hospitalisation pour cause de coronavirus.

Illustration chiffrée : en cas de maladie, un assuré débourse au maximum 3200 francs de sa poche (2500 francs de franchise plus 700 francs de quote-part), auxquels s’ajoute le forfait hospitalier journalier de 15 francs. Avec la franchise minimale, la participation aux coûts s’élève à 1000 francs (300 francs de franchise plus 700 francs de quote-part). En règle générale, le choix de franchise maximale est judicieux si le total des frais médicaux est inférieur à 2000 francs par an. Si les dépenses annuelles réalisées au titre des consultations médicales, de l’achat de médicaments, des séjours à l’hôpital, etc. dépassent ce seuil, il vaut mieux choisir la franchise minimale de 300 francs.

Primes d’assurance : les mauvais payeurs sur liste noire

Mise à jour du 5.10.2020

En cas de défaut de paiement des primes d’assurance maladie ou des factures médicales, les mauvais payeurs risquent, dans certains cantons, de se retrouver sur une liste noire. Le Parlement souhaite abolir ce système. Les assurés inscrits sur ces listes ne sont remboursés que pour les cas d’urgence. Sont concernés les cantons de Thurgovie, Schaffhouse, Saint-Gall, Zoug, Lucerne, d’Argovie et du Tessin.

Près d’un million d’assurés pourraient réaliser de belles économies en 2021

Mise à jour du 22.09.2020

Les primes de l’assurance de base n’augmenteront en moyenne que de 0,5 % en 2021, mais près d’un million de Suisses pourraient tout de même économiser 40 %, voire plus, sur ce poste de dépenses l’an prochain. Vous trouverez davantage d’informations sur le sujet dans le communiqué de presse de Comparis.

Remboursement du vaccin anticoronavirus par les caisses maladie plébiscité

Mise à jour du 17.09.2020

D’après un sondage réalisé par Comparis, près de la moitié de la population suisse souhaite un vaccin facultatif pris en charge par l’assurance de base. Contrairement au vaccin contre la grippe, par exemple, l’assurance de base ne devrait pas limiter la prise en charge du vaccin contre le coronavirus aux seuls groupes à risque, mais l’étendre à toute la population.

À cause du chômage partiel, la charge des primes maladie s’alourdit

Mise à jour du 08.09.2020

Le chômage partiel et l’augmentation du nombre de demandeurs d’emploi amputent le revenu de nombreux ménages suisses. Par conséquent, la charge des primes maladie s’alourdit. Dans le cas le plus défavorable, la part de l’assurance de base représente jusqu’à 16 % des dépenses des ménages, selon une analyse Comparis sur le poids des primes maladie.

Le Conseil fédéral souhaite mettre un terme au libre choix du médecin

Mise à jour du 19.08.2020

Le Conseil fédéral souhaite abaisser les coûts de la santé en introduisant des objectifs de maîtrise des dépenses et en mettant fin au libre choix du médecin. Ces dispositifs sont déjà présents dans l’assurance de base, où ils sont facultatifs et s’accompagnent d’un rabais de prime. Plus d’informations à ce sujet dans laprise de position de Comparis sur les mesures contraignantes dans le système de santé (en allemand).

Satisfaction client 2020 à l’égard des caisses maladie

Mise à jour du 13.07.2020

En 2020, six caisses maladie ont obtenu la meilleure note de 5,4 pour leur assurance de base obligatoire, à savoir Swica (même note qu’en 2019), KPT et Progrès, filiale de Helsana (2019 : 5,3 chacune), ainsi que Helsana, ÖKK et Sanitas (2019 : 5,2 chacune). La note maximale est donc restée la même qu’en 2019. Apprenez-en plus à ce sujet en consultant la vue d’ensemble des caisses maladie et de leurs notes de satisfaction client.

Prévision des primes pour 2021

Mise à jour du 15.06.2020

Felix Schneuwly, expert Assurance maladie chez Comparis, table sur une hausse sensible des primes d’assurance de base, de 3 % environ, pour 2021. Pour les nombreuses personnes dont les revenus sont en baisse à cause de la crise du coronavirus, une hausse des primes de 3 % est inconcevable. C’est la raison pour laquelle Comparis demande la réduction des réserves afin de donner davantage de latitude aux caisses dans le chiffrage de leurs primes. Plus d’informations à ce sujet dans le communiqué de presse sur les prévisions relatives aux primes 2021.

La crise du coronavirus ne doit pas être une excuse pour augmenter les primes maladie

Mise à jour du 16.03.2020

Felix Schneuwly, expert Assurance maladie chez Comparis, déclare : « Jusqu’à la semaine dernière, le Conseil fédéral, l’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP) et les autorités cantonales ont presque tout fait comme il faut. Seul faux pas : la décision du Conseil fédéral de faire payer aux caisses maladies les tests de diagnostic du nouveau coronavirus. Au vu des 8 milliards de francs de réserve dont disposent les caisses maladie, l’avertissement de l’association des assureurs maladie Santésuisse selon lequel la pandémie de coronavirus engendre une hausse supplémentaire des primes est irrecevable. »

Souvent, les caisses qui baissent leurs primes ne sont pas les moins chères

Mise à jour du 30.10.2019

Les primes de l’assurance de base n’augmentent que modérément en 2020. Certaines caisses – les plus grandes principalement – ont même annoncé une baisse des primes. Une analyse de Comparis indique cependant qu’il ne faut pas se laisser aveugler par les primes en baisse. Les caisses qui procèdent aux plus fortes baisses restent bien souvent significativement plus onéreuses que les prestataires les moins chers. Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre article.

Faites des économies en payant à l’avance

Mise à jour du 23.10.2019

Surtout lorsque les taux sont négatifs, il peut être intéressant de payer ses primes en avance d’un semestre, voire d’une année entière : certaines caisses maladie appliquent alors une réduction pouvant aller jusqu’à 2 %. Retrouvez une vue d’ensemble de ces réductions dans notre tableau.

Ce que savent les jeunes au sujet des caisses maladie

Mise à jour du 17.10.2019

Est-on bien informé sur les caisses maladie en Suisse ? Lionel, Youtuber de Bâle, a posé quelques questions sur ce thème à des jeunes Suissesses et Suisses pour le compte de Comparis. Visionnez la vidéo (en allemand) à cette adresse

Comparatif d’assurance maladie : comment fonctionne Comparis ?

Mise à jour du 24.09.2019

Les utilisateurs et utilisatrices de Comparis sont toujours intéressés de savoir comment le modèle économique de l’entreprise est organisé. Comment l’indépendance du plus grand comparateur de Suisse est-elle garantie ? Comment l’entreprise contribue-t-elle à la hausse ou à la baisse des coûts du système de santé ? Ces questions, et bien d’autres encore, trouvent leurs réponses dans cet article

Défaillances dans l’assurance de base : les assurés qui ont opté pour un modèle alternatif payent trop

Mise à jour du 23.09.2019

Sur invitation de Comparis, des experts issus du secteur de la santé se sont rencontrés à l’occasion d’une conférence-débat. L’économiste de la santé Pius Gyger a présenté les résultats d’une enquête axée sur les possibilités en matière de politique des primes dans l’assurance de base. Conclusion : la régulation des primes actuellement en vigueur freine une prise en charge intégrée. Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici

Changez de franchise et économisez sur vos primes

Mise à jour du 18.09.2019

En 2020, les assurés pourront faire des économies en changeant de caisse maladie ou en choisissant un modèle d’assurance alternatif, mais pas seulement : le choix du montant de la franchise offre lui aussi un fort potentiel d’économies. Ainsi, pour les jeunes assurés ou ceux qui supposent qu’ils n’auront que peu de frais médicaux sur l’année à venir, la solution la moins chère consiste à opter pour la franchise maximale de 2500 francs, comme l’indique Felix Schneuwly, expert Assurance maladie chez Comparis. Retrouvez plus d’informations sur l’augmentation de la franchise.

Augmentation des primes 2020 de 372 à 383 francs en moyenne

Mise à jour du 25.06.2019

Comparis prévoit une hausse des primes d’assurance de base de 2 à 3 % pour 2020. C’est toujours principalement la quantité des prestations médicales qui fait grimper les dépenses et les primes, et non les prix.

 

Plus d’informations sur l’assurance de base

Comparer les primes et faire des économies

Les primes maladie représentent une part importante dans le budget d’un ménage. Cette année encore, comparer les primes peut donc s’avérer intéressant. En cas de hausse sensible des primes, l’assuré peut réagir en changeant d’assureur ou en optant pour un modèle d’assurance plus avantageux. Les prestations de l’assurance de base sont les mêmes quelle que soit la caisse.

Délais de résiliation

Apprenez ici le délai à respecter pour résilier l’assurance de base et les points à observer pour résilier l’assurance complémentaire.

Lettre type de résiliation

Rédiger sa résiliation vite et bien – grâce au modèle de lettre de comparis.ch. Créez sans tarder la lettre de résiliation pour votre caisse maladie.

Soyez toujours bien informé

Dans notre newsletter, nous vous informons en continu sur tous les sujets d’assurance maladie.

Assurance de base : glossaire

De l’abonnement de fitness aux différents types de prestations, en passant par le Gatekeeper : les principaux termes de l’assurance maladie rassemblés et expliqués dans notre glossaire d’assurance maladie.