Buying and leasing

The big Comparis car subscription comparison

ANALYSIS
| By Andrea Auer |
Source: iStock.com / ljubaphoto

The general trend towards car subscriptions is also gaining momentum in Switzerland. Comparis has analyzed the services on offer to shed light on this new market. The result: in some cases, subscribers pay less than 50 francs extra per month compared to car buyers.

The car subscription trend is gaining momentum in many automotive markets – and Switzerland is no exception. Car importers, insurance companies and start-ups alike have recently launched new subscription services. With a car subscription, motorists pay for access to a vehicle, including insurance, services, repairs, tyres, taxes and even the motorway tax sticker – all at a fixed monthly price.

Comparis has analyzed the deals offered by eight providers operating in Switzerland using three driver profiles.

A small price to pay for flexibility

A comparison of the monthly subscription charges with the cost of purchasing and operating the same vehicle revealed the following: of the 18 deals analyzed in total, eight were less than 100 francs per month more expensive than car ownership, with four being less than 50 francs more expensive.

“Although subscribing is more expensive than buying, the flexibility and time savings offered by such flat-rate deals make them attractive to many motorists, despite the extra cost,” says Comparis mobility expert Andrea Auer. Customers do not need to worry about repairs, services or even changing tyres, for instance. One provider, Carvolution, even offers an at-home tyre-changing service. What’s more, subscribers can return or exchange the car at no additional cost, once a certain minimum subscription period has been reached.

Monthly flat-rate of under 400 francs for a compact car

The monthly cost of the cheapest subscription for infrequent drivers (660 to 900 kilometres per month) ranges from 396 francs (Carvolution: Citroën C1, incl. 850 kilometres) to 689 francs (Juicar: BMWi3, incl. 660 kilometres). The subscription prices for moderately frequent drivers (1,000 to 1,750 kilometres per month) range from 439 to 809 francs.

At Hertz and Sixt Unlimited, subscription costs for a compact car start at 800 and 1,322 francs respectively. However, as they include 4,000 and 5,000 kilometres per month respectively, these providers are chiefly targeting frequent drivers. If we consider all the subscriptions in the analysis on a price-per-kilometre basis, it is Hertz and Carvolution that come out cheapest with a kilometre rate of 20 centimes. Factors such as the model of vehicle or equipment and accessories also have an effect on the price.

If you are taking out a car subscription for the first time, you should find out what the sign-up fees are. Auto Kunz and Carvolution charge a sign-up fee of 390 francs for first-time subscribers.

Different levels of flexibility depending on the provider

The level of flexibility offered differs from provider to provider. For example, the minimum subscription periods vary between one and six months (1 month: Juicar; 3 months: Auto Kunz, Clyde, FlatDrive; 6 months: Carvolution and UpTo).

“So depending on which provider they choose, some customers will be able to change their car more often than others,” says the expert. As a rule, you need to give notice of 30 days; however, you can only return the car free of charge after the minimum subscription period has been reached. Hertz and Sixt Unlimited have no minimum subscription period.

Achat et leasing

Le grand comparatif Comparis des abonnements auto

ANALYSES
| Par Andrea Auer |
Photo : iStock.com / ljubaphoto

Dernière tendance en date, les abonnements automobiles sont arrivés en Suisse. Comparis s’est intéressé de près à ce nouveau marché et a analysé différentes offres. Résultat : le surcoût mensuel par rapport à l’achat d’un véhicule est en partie inférieur à 50 francs.

La tendance des offres forfaitaires arrive également sur le marché automobile suisse. Importateurs, assureurs ou start-up, tous ont récemment lancé de nouveaux modèles d’abonnements. Dans cette formule, l’automobiliste dispose d’un véhicule à un prix fixe mensuel. L’assurance, l'entretien, les réparations, les pneus, les taxes et même la vignette sont compris dans le tarif.

Comparis a examiné les offres de huit prestataires opérant en Suisse pour trois profils de conducteurs.

La flexibilité à petit prix

Un comparatif des tarifs d’abonnements mensuels avec les coûts d’acquisition et frais d'utilisation du véhicule montre que pour 8 des 18 offres analysées, le surcoût par rapport à l’achat d’un véhicule est inférieur à 100 francs par mois. Dans quatre cas, il est même inférieur à 50 francs.

« Certes, l’abonnement coûte plus cher que l’achat du véhicule. Mais le gain de flexibilité et de temps rendent le forfait intéressant pour de nombreux automobilistes, malgré le supplément de prix », analyse Andrea Auer, experte Mobilité chez Comparis. En effet, le client n’a pas à se soucier des réparations, de l'entretien ou du changement des pneus. Le prestataire Carvolution vient par exemple remplacer ces derniers directement au domicile de l’abonné. Par ailleurs, le véhicule peut être rendu ou échangé après une certaine durée minimale, sans coûts supplémentaires.

Forfait mensuel inférieur à 400 francs pour un modèle compact

Le coût mensuel de l’abonnement le moins cher pour les automobilistes roulant peu (de 660 à 900 kilomètres par mois) se situe entre 396 francs (Carvolution : Citroën C1, 850 km inclus) et 689 francs par mois (Juicar* : BMWi3, 660 km inclus). Les prix d’un abonnement pour un kilométrage moyen (de 1000 à 1750 km par mois) se situent dans une fourchette de 439 à 809 francs.

Chez Hertz et Sixt Unlimited, les tarifs des abonnements pour un modèle de voiture compact démarrent à 800 francs, respectivement 1322 francs. Mais avec 4000, respectivement 5000 km inclus par mois, ces prestataires ciblent essentiellement les conducteurs roulant beaucoup. En considérant le prix au kilomètre, Hertz et Carvolution proposent le tarif le plus avantageux de tous les abonnements analysés, avec un tarif forfaitaire de 20 centimes le kilomètre. Le calcul des prix dépend notamment aussi du modèle de véhicule ou des options disponibles.

En souscrivant un premier abonnement automobile, il est bon de se renseigner sur les frais d’inscription. Ainsi, les prestataires Auto Kunz et Carvolution prélèvent des frais de 390 francs pour l’ouverture du dossier.

Une flexibilité variable d’un prestataire à l’autre

Le degré de flexibilité diffère d’une compagnie à l’autre. Ainsi, les durées d’abonnement minimales varient entre un et six mois (un mois : Juicar ; trois mois : Auto Kunz, Clyde, FlatDrvie ; six mois : Carvolution et UpTo).

« Suivant le prestataire, les clients peuvent donc changer de véhicule à des rythmes différents », constate l’experte Mobilité. En règle générale, le délai de résiliation de l’abonnement est de 30 jours. Les clients ne peuvent cependant rendre leur véhicule gratuitement qu’une fois la durée minimale de leur abonnement écoulée. Hertz et Sixt Unlimited n'appliquent pas de durées minimales.