Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

TelecomStreaming in Switzerland: 11 FAQs on series, subscriptions and prices
TV-Streaming

Streaming in Switzerland: 11 FAQs on series, subscriptions and prices

18.02.2020

Source: istock / Onfokus

Flat rate for series junkies: besides Netflix, Amazon, Apple, Disney, Sky, Teleclub and UPC also offer streaming services. But which platform offers the best bang for your buck? Comparis answers questions on series, subscriptions and prices.

Netflix has some 130 million users worldwide. Swiss consumers have been able to benefit from the video portal’s services since 2014. Competitors to Netflix are the Amazon streaming services (Amazon Prime Video – article in German and French only), Apple TV+, Sky Show, Swisscom with Teleclub Play, and UPC MyPrime. Since March 2020, Disney+ has also been available as another major service in Switzerland.

What is streaming?

Streaming refers to the simultaneous transmission and playback of audio and video files. This is a direct connection between the broadcaster (e.g. Netflix) and the user, which takes place “on demand”, in other words after the user initiates it. This makes it possible to fast-forward and rewind, as well as pause.

How can I use the service (TV/online)?

The platforms offer flexible services and can be used on modern television sets (smart TVs) with an Internet connection. For TV subscriptions offered by telecom providers, the relevant apps, such as Netflix, are often pre-installed. Swisscom also offers Teleclub Play, while Salt offers Amazon Prime Video, Sky Show and Apple TV+. If no app is pre-installed, you can also download it via your smart TV. But watch out: not all devices support the Apple TV app. Here is a list of devices that are compatible with the Apple app. Otherwise, Apple TV+ is available on all Apple devices, the Apple TV box or on the computer via Internet browser.

The streaming service can also be used without a TV: the relevant apps are available for Apple devices, as well as for tablets and smartphones with Android. Netflix can even be viewed using games consoles such as PS4, Wii U, Wii and XBox 360. Amazon Prime Video, on the other hand, runs on the Sony PlayStation 3 and 4 and Xbox One and Xbox 360 games consoles.

How do the services differ?

The Justwatch film and series database (at Justwatch.com/ch) functions as a streaming search engine. It lists the films on offer by the different platforms. Netflix tends to focus on promoting its own series and films. A comparison by K-Tipp shows that Amazon has the most films on offer, while Netflix has the most series. Disney+ also offers more than 1,000 series and films. The content provided by Apple TV+, Sky Show, Teleclub Play and UPC My Prime is quite limited.

What are popular original productions?

Netflix is known for its high-quality and original own productions. There were even two Netflix productions among the Oscar nominations for 2020, namely “The Irishman” and “Marriage Story”. So far, there have only been a few original productions from Apple TV+, the best-known series being “The Morning Show” with Jennifer Aniston and Reese Witherspoon. Amazon also produces its own content, such as “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” and “Too Old To Die Young”. On Disney+, you can find all of the Marvel superheroes films, all the Disney classics, of course, as well as the Star Wars series, “The Mandalorian” and the Simpsons (seasons 1–30).

How much do the streaming services cost in Switzerland?

Generally, customers pay a monthly flat fee. They can then watch as many series and films as they want. Apart from Disney+ and UPC My Prime, all platforms offer a free trial. With free trials, customers do not need to enter into a long-term contract and can cancel their subscription at any time.

Subscription/pricesAmazon PrimeApple TV+Disney+NetflixTeleclub PlaySky ShowUPC My Prime
Price per month (CHF)6.40*, annual subscription for 73.10* 6 9.90, annual subscription for 99.90 11.90 to 21.90** 12.90 14.90 15
Free trial1 month1 week7 days
1 month1 month2 weeks-

(Source: K-Tipp table dated 27.11.2019)
*= Converted at a rate of 1.06 francs (as of 05.03.20) = 1 euro, it costs 5.99 euro per month, 69 euro as an annual subscription.
**= Netflix offers different price categories depending on the resolution and the number of devices that can access Netflix simultaneously.

How can I pay on streaming platforms?

Customers can pay by credit card (Visa, MasterCard or American Express) or by PayPal.

What type of Internet connection do I need?

As a rule, any Internet connection provided by Swiss companies like Swisscom, UPC, Quickline or Sunrise will be suitable. To watch films and programmes in HD quality, the speed should be at least 5 Mbps. For ultra-HD resolution, customers need an Internet speed of at least 25 Mbps.

In what language can the series and films be watched?

Essentially, all films are offered in their original language. Most of the content is also available in dubbed and subtitled versions.

Can I download series and films for offline use?

Amazon Prime Video, Disney+, Netflix, Sky Show, Teleclub Play and UPC MyPrime allow you to download individual series and films onto your device so that you can watch the series or film even without an Internet connection. With Apple TV+, only users with Apple devices can watch offline; users with other devices always need an Internet connection.

Is there any advertising?

Amazon shows advertisements before each film. None of the other providers use advertising.

Do I have access to films from all over the world?

No. Series and film junkies may well have noticed that fewer services are available in Switzerland than in the US, for example. This relates to purchasing and licensing. But a VPN (virtual private network) allows you to access services from different countries. The VPN encrypts the location of your computer and makes it look like you are accessing the service from your chosen location instead. Use of a VPN is generally legally permitted if it is not used to cover up illegal activities. A good VPN needs a stable and fast connection, so that streaming is not interrupted. Good providers therefore charge a fee. The most well-known provider, NordVPN, costs 10 francs per month. ExpressVPN costs about 12 francs and even offers a “30-day money-back guarantee” – ideal for people who aren’t quite certain whether a VPN subscription will pay off or who only want to use it to watch a specific series or film anyway, so that 30 days are completely sufficient.

Summary

These services are of particular interest to film lovers and series junkies. Netflix and Amazon Prime Video provide virtually unlimited streaming entertainment. The Disney services are also very extensive, but currently very specifically aimed towards superheroes, princesses and Star Wars. The services from Apple, Sky, Teleclub and UPC cannot match this. If you only watch a film or series every now and then, a streaming subscription is probably not worthwhile. Nor is it the right solution for those who are quite happy with traditional TV programming. If you are only interested in one particular series or film, you can watch it within the trial period, or rent or buy it. The trial phase is also recommended if you do not know whether you need Amazon Prime Video, Disney or Netflix – or all of them. The verdict of the Comparis editorial department: a streaming plan, whether Netflix or Amazon Prime Video, is definitely worth it.

Related articles

TV et streaming

Séries, abonnements, prix : 11 questions-réponses sur le streaming en Suisse

INFO
|
Un choix vaste grâce à la télévision numérique. Photo : istock / Onfokus

Un forfait pour les fans de séries : en plus de Netflix, les prestataires Amazon, Apple, Disney, Sky, Teleclub et UPC proposent eux aussi leurs services de streaming. Parmi ces plateformes, laquelle propose le meilleur rapport qualité-prix ? Les réponses de Comparis aux questions sur les catalogues de séries, les abonnements et les tarifs.

Netflix compte près de 130 millions d’utilisateurs dans le monde entier. Depuis 2014 déjà, les consommateurs suisses peuvent eux aussi profiter de l’offre de ce portail vidéo. Aujourd’hui, Netflix fait face à la concurrence de bien d’autres prestataires de streaming comme Amazon (Amazon Prime Video), Apple TV+, Sky Show (site en allemand et en anglais), Swisscom (Teleclub Play) et UPC MyPrime. Depuis mars 2020, l’offre de Disney+, autre grand prestataire, est aussi disponible en Suisse.

Le streaming, qu’est-ce que c’est ?

Le streaming, ou lecture en continu, désigne la transmission et la diffusion simultanée de données audio et vidéo. Il s’agit d’une connexion directe entre les diffuseurs (par exemple Netflix) et l’utilisateur, qui a lieu « à la demande », c’est-à-dire lorsque l’utilisateur le souhaite. Grâce à ce procédé, lors du visionnage, il est possible d’avancer la lecture, de revenir en arrière ou de mettre le contenu en pause.

Comment puis-je utiliser ce service (TV/en ligne) ?

Les plateformes proposent une offre modulable et sont accessibles sur des téléviseurs récents (smart TV) dotés d’une connexion Internet. De nombreux opérateurs télécom proposent des abonnements TV comprenant des applications préinstallées, par exemple Netflix. Swisscom propose en plus Teleclub Play, et Salt : Amazon Prime Video, Sky Show et  Apple TV+ . En l’absence d’application préinstallée, il est également possible d’en télécharger une via le téléviseur connecté. Attention, toutefois : tous les appareils ne fonctionnent pas avec l’application Apple TV. Voici une liste des appareils compatibles avec l’application d’Apple. En revanche, Apple TV+ est disponible sur tous les appareils Apple, les boîtiers Apple TV ou sur ordinateur, via le navigateur Internet.

Le streaming est également accessible sans téléviseur, grâce aux applications conçues pour les appareils Apple ou pour les tablettes et les smartphones sous Android. Les consoles de jeux telles que la PS4, la Wii, la Wii U et la XBox 360 permettent également d’accéder à Netflix. Quant au service d’Amazon Prime Video, il fonctionne sur la Playstation 3 et 4, la Xbox One et la Xbox 360.

Quelles différences d’une offre à l’autre ?

La banque de données Justwatch fonctionne comme un moteur de recherche dédié au streaming. Elle liste notamment pour chaque plateforme les films qui y sont disponibles. Netflix met en avant ses propres productions de films et de séries. Selon un comparatif de K-Tipp, Amazon propose le plus grand choix de films et Netflix, le plus grand choix de séries. Avec plus de 1000 films et séries, l’offre de Disney+ est elle aussi bien étoffée. Quant à Apple TV+, Sky Show, Teleclub Play et UPC My Prime, leur offre est plutôt limitée.

Quelles sont les productions originales les plus appréciées ?

La plateforme Netflix est connue pour ses productions originales de grande qualité qui sortent de l’ordinaire. En lice pour l’Oscar du meilleur film en 2020 figuraient même deux productions originales Netflix, « The Irishman » et « Marriage Story ». Pour l’instant, Apple TV+ ne propose qu’un nombre limité de productions originales. La plus connue est « The Morning Show », une série avec Jennifer Aniston et Reese Witherspoon. Amazon aussi produit ses propres contenus, comme « La Fabuleuse Mme Maisel » ou « Too Old To Die Young ». Sur Disney+ sont disponibles tous les classiques Disney, bien entendu, mais aussi l’ensemble des films de super-héros de Marvel, la saga Star Wars, la série « The Mandalorian » et Les Simpsons (saisons 1 à 30).

Que coûte le streaming en Suisse ?

D’une manière générale, l’utilisateur paye un forfait mensuel qui lui permet de visionner autant de séries et de films qu’il le souhaite. À l’exception de Disney+ et de UPC My Prime, toutes les plateformes proposent une période d’essai gratuit. L’utilisateur n’est alors pas contraint de s’engager sur le long terme et peut résilier son contrat à tout moment.

Abonnement/ prix Amazon Prime Apple TV+ Disney+ Netflix Teleclub Play Sky Show UPC My Prime
Prix par mois (CHF) 6,40* ; abonnement annuel à 73,10*  6,00  9,90 ; abonnement annuel à 99,90  De 11,90 à 21,90**  12,90  14,90  15,00
Période d’essai gratuit 1 mois 1 semaine 7 jours
1 mois 1 mois 2 semaines -

(Source : tableau de K-Tipp du 27.11.2019)
* Sur la base du taux de conversion 1,06 franc = 1 euro (état au 05.03.2020), l’offre revient à 5,99 euros par mois, l’abonnement annuel à 69 euros.
** Par ailleurs, Netflix opère une distinction de prix selon la résolution et le nombre d'appareils pouvant accéder en même temps au service.

Comment puis-je payer sur les plateformes de streaming ?

Le paiement s’effectue par carte de crédit Visa, Mastercard ou American Express ou par Paypal.

De quelle connexion Internet dois-je disposer ?

D’une manière générale, un accès Internet d’un opérateur suisse tel que Swisscom, UPC, Quickline ou Sunrise suffit. Pour voir les films en qualité HD, une vitesse de 5 Mbit/s minimum est nécessaire. Enfin, pour une résolution ultra haute définition, un débit Internet de 25 Mbit/s minimum est requis.

Dans quelle langue puis-je visionner les films et séries ?

De manière générale, les contenus sont diffusés en langue originale, mais il est parfois possible d’accéder à la version doublée en français.

Puis-je télécharger des séries et des films pour les visionner hors ligne ?

Avec Amazon Prime Video, Disney+, Netflix, Sky Show, Teleclub Play et UPC My Prime, il est possible de télécharger certains contenus sur son appareil pour les visionner plus tard sans connexion Internet. Avec Apple TV+ en revanche, seuls les utilisateurs d’appareils Apple peuvent procéder ainsi : sur tout autre appareil, une connexion Internet est toujours indispensable.

Y a-t-il de la publicité ?

Chez Amazon, chaque film est précédé d’annonces publicitaires. Chez tous les autres prestataires, il n’y a pas de publicité.

Ai-je accès à des films du monde entier ?

Non. Les amateurs de séries et de films ont sans doute remarqué que l’offre est moins fournie en Suisse qu’aux États-Unis, par exemple. C’est une question d’achat et d’octroi de licence. Vous pouvez accéder aux films et séries de plusieurs pays à l’aide d’un VPN (virtual private network). Cette technologie permet de masquer l’adresse de votre ordinateur, si bien que vous pouvez indiquer la localisation de votre choix. L’utilisation du VPN est en principe légale, pour autant qu’elle ne serve pas à occulter des activités illégales. Un VPN efficace doit assurer une connexion stable et rapide afin d’éviter les coupures durant le streaming, raison pour laquelle les meilleurs sont payants. Le plus connu, NordVPN, coûte 10 francs par mois. ExpressVPN coûte 12 francs et propose une « garantie satisfait ou remboursé de 30 jours » – idéal pour les utilisateurs qui ne sont pas certains qu’un abonnement VPN soit intéressant dans leur cas ou qui ne souhaitent visionner qu’une série ou qu’un film en particulier.

Conclusion

Les formules sont intéressantes pour les amateurs de films et de séries avant tout. Avec Netflix et Amazon Prime Video, l’utilisateur a un accès pour ainsi dire illimité au streaming. Le catalogue de Disney est lui aussi bien étoffé, mais pour le moment très spécifique et orienté sur les super-héros, les princesses et Star Wars. C’est loin de ce que proposent Apple, Sky, Teleclub et UPC. Un abonnement streaming n’a pas vraiment d’intérêt pour les personnes qui ne regardent un film ou une série que de temps en temps, ni pour celles qui se contentent du programme télévisé. Pour regarder une série ou un film en particulier, la location ou l’achat du contenu en question peut suffire, ou la période d’essai gratuit. Cette dernière est également recommandée lorsqu’on hésite encore entre Netflix et Amazon – ou les deux. L’avis de la rédaction Comparis : un abonnement à un service de streaming, que ce soit Netflix ou Amazon Prime Video, est avantageux sans l’ombre d’un doute.