Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

TelecomAmazon Prime Video – your questions answered
TV-Streaming

Amazon Prime Video – your questions answered

05.03.2020

Source: istock / marcoventuriniautieri

Offering series, films and documentaries, Amazon Prime Video pretty much has something for everyone. And if that is not enough, there are additional options to choose from. Comparis explains how much a subscription and the extra options cost and answers other key questions.

What is Amazon Prime Video?

Amazon Prime Video, also referred to as just Prime Video or Amazon Video, is the streaming service provided by the online retail giant Amazon. If you have an Amazon Prime membership, this includes a range of services such as delivery benefits and Prime Music – and also Prime Video, which lets you watch series and films. There are also additional channels and films available for purchase.

How much does Amazon Prime Video cost in Switzerland?

Amazon Prime Video costs 5.99 euros per month, which at an exchange rate of 1.06 (as at 5 March 2020) works out at just under 6.40 francs. With this subscription, you can stream simultaneously on up to three devices and download films and series to watch offline. You can select one of four quality levels to suit the data volume you have available. 4K and HDR are only available for certain titles. You can choose an annual or monthly membership. The annual subscription costs 69 euros, which is 5.75 euros per month. Like other streaming providers, Amazon Prime Video allows you to test the service free of charge for one month. This trial month includes Amazon Music and Audible as well as the streaming service. If you like what Amazon Prime Video has to offer, it’s worth opting for the annual subscription as soon as the free trial ends, because it is cheaper than the monthly membership.

Amazon Prime Video also offers a range of channels such as Arthouse CNMA, Eurosport Player and Home of Horror. For the first three months, an additional channel costs 0.99 euros, which rises to 3.99 euros per month from the fourth month. So if you have watched all your preferred films and series under the standard subscription, it's worth subscribing to an additional channel every three months.

Are there any special offers?

Yes. Students and apprentices can get a 12-month Amazon Prime membership free of charge, and then a 50% discount on the standard price after that.

Comparis service: use the Comparis Internet, TV and landline comparison to compare different types of plans (Internet-only or combined packages) and find the right deal for your home.

What is the cancellation policy?

You can basically cancel your Amazon Prime Video subscription any time before your next payment date. If you took out a monthly subscription, you can cancel it on a monthly basis. If you cancel an annual subscription, your fee for the rest of the year will be refunded. If you decide not to continue using the service after the free trial, you have to choose “Do not renew” in your account settings.

Which devices are supported?

In order to use Amazon Prime Video, you first need an Amazon account. An Amazon Prime Video app is available for iOS and Android devices, Smart TVs and Blu-ray players. You can also watch Amazon Prime Video on Amazon streaming devices (Fire TV or the Fire TV stick), Apple TV and Google Chromecast. The Amazon Prime Video app also runs on the games consoles Sony PlayStation 3 and 4 and Xbox One and Xbox 360.

What does Amazon Prime Video offer?

Like its competitors, Amazon produces original content, series and films. Amazon Studios invites budding screenwriters to submit their ideas and scripts. Every year, several pilot episodes are produced, which users can rate. Programmes that receive the best responses are actually produced. Users of Amazon Prime Video can choose from over 600 series and over 3,300 films.

The most successful Amazon series are:

  • The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
  • Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan
  • Goliath
  • Homecoming
  • Too Old To Die Young

Amazon Prime Video also offers a wide range of films:

  • The Aeronauts (Amazon Original)
  • Beverly Hills Cop
  • The Hobbit (all three films)
  • I, Tonya
  • Despicable Me (all three films) and Minions
  • Jurassic World
  • Mission Impossible (all six films)
  • The Godfather
  • Fifty Shades of Grey

Before the start of a film and between the episodes of a series, there is usually an advert for another Amazon Prime title.

Can you also buy films?

If you wish, you can also purchase or rent films. The difference is that purchased films belong to you indefinitely and you can watch them as often as you like, whereas rented films are available for 30 days and you have 48 hours to finish them once started. In most cases, rented or purchased films can also be downloaded and viewed offline. It tends to be newer films, like Joker featuring Joaquin Phoenix, that are available to buy. The purchase prices vary from 3 to 11.99 euros. It costs between 3.99 and 4.99 euros to rent a film.

In what languages is Amazon Prime Video content available?

In Switzerland, films are generally available in the language of your region as well as the original language. Sometimes they can be shown in the original language with subtitles in the language of your region. Depending on the device you are using for Amazon Prime Video, you may be able to switch on closed captioning for the hearing impaired.

What does Amazon Prime Video do particularly well?

  1. Amazon Prime Video lists on the website what films and series are available, without you having to sign up first. You can therefore find out in advance whether the content on offer is of interest to you.
  2. Since you have the option – for a small fee – to subscribe to additional channels, you can tailor the Prime Video subscription to suit your personal taste. It is possible to switch or add channels should you later decide that you’d like to view a different channel.

How could Amazon Prime Video improve?

Amazon Prime Video has a vast library of content. Although the extra options help you to create your own custom platform, adding them can be rather complicated. So while there's no shortage of alternative content, accessing it involves lots of clicking and searching. The choice of films available is almost unlimited. However, if you are especially keen on watching series, Netflix is worth a look as its range is more extensive.

Amazon Prime Video is the only streaming service that shows trailers before a film or episode starts. So if you don't want your binge-watching interrupted or tend to be impatient, you might want to switch to an ad-free platform.

Amazon Prime Video is included in the Amazon Prime membership. However, many Amazon Prime features, such as free delivery of goods, are not available to customers in Switzerland, but the subscription costs the same as in Germany or Austria.

Summary

Amazon Prime Video’s library of content delivers all you could wish for and then some, as you always have the option of trying out additional channels or renting films. Whether action, anime, horror or comedy, there really is something for everyone. There is also an impressive range of children's films on offer. For this reason, Amazon Prime Video is a good choice for families and viewers who quickly get bored or have diverse interests.

Related articles

Comparis
Newsletter
fr

Assurances

Auto & moto

Immobilier

Crédit & hypothèques

Comparateur de prix

Santé & prévoyance

Autres services

Comparis

Menu

TélécomQuestions-réponses sur Amazon Prime Video
TV-Streaming

Questions-réponses sur Amazon Prime Video

24.03.2020

Photo : istock / marcoventuriniautieri

Séries, films, documentaires… Tout le monde ou presque peut trouver son bonheur sur Amazon Prime Video. Pour les internautes qui ont déjà fait le tour du catalogue, Amazon Prime Video propose aussi diverses options supplémentaires. Mais quel est le prix d’un abonnement ? Et combien coûtent les options supplémentaires ? Pour vous, Comparis répond aux questions essentielles sur ce service.

Amazon Prime Video, qu’est-ce que c’est ?

Amazon Prime Video, Prime Video ou Amazon Video désigne le service de streaming du site de vente en ligne Amazon. Les membres d’Amazon Prime ont accès à plusieurs services, à savoir la livraison en 1 jour ouvré, Prime Music ou encore Prime Video, qui permet de visionner des films et des séries. D’autres chaînes et films sont accessibles en accès payant.

Combien coûte Amazon Prime Video en Suisse ?

Amazon Prime Video est accessible pour 5,99 euros par mois, soit tout juste 6,40 francs pour un taux de conversion de 1,06 (données au 05.03.20). L’abonnement permet de visionner simultanément des contenus sur trois appareils. Les films et les séries peuvent également être téléchargés pour être regardés hors ligne. L’utilisateur peut choisir entre quatre niveaux de qualité différents, selon le volume de données dont il dispose. Seuls certains titres sont disponibles en 4K et en HDR. La souscription se fait au mois ou à l’année – l’abonnement annuel coûte 69 euros, soit 5,75 euros par mois. Comme c’est habituellement le cas avec les services de streaming, Amazon Prime Video peut être testé gratuitement pendant un mois. Durant cette période d’essai, l’utilisateur peut également tester Amazon Music et Audible. Si l’offre d’Amazon Prime Video vous plaît, vous avez tout intérêt à souscrire un abonnement annuel après votre période d’essai, puisque cette formule permet de faire quelques économies.

Amazon Prime Video propose des chaînes qui lui sont propres, comme Arthouse CNMA, Eurosport ou encore Home of Horror. Les trois premiers mois, une chaîne supplémentaire coûte 0,99 euro par mois, puis 3,99 euros par mois à partir du quatrième mois. Si vous avez fait le tour des séries et des films intéressants de l’abonnement standard, pensez à vous abonner à une nouvelle chaîne tous les trimestres.

Y a-t-il des offres spéciales ?

Oui. Une offre réservée aux étudiants et apprentis leur réserve un abonnement à Amazon Prime gratuit pendant 90 jours, puis à 24 euros par an ensuite, soit l’équivalent de 2 euros par mois.

Qu’en est-il des délais de résiliation ?

L’abonnement à Amazon Prime Video est résiliable à tout moment avec effet au démarrage de la période de facturation suivante. Si vous optez pour un abonnement mensuel, vous pouvez donc le résilier chaque mois. Le titulaire d’un abonnement annuel peut également y mettre un terme, auquel cas le prix de l’abonnement pour la période non utilisée lui est remboursé. Si vous ne souhaitez pas continuer à utiliser le service à l’issue de la période d’essai, il vous faut choisir « Ne pas continuer » dans les paramètres de votre compte.

Sur quels appareils fonctionne le service ?

Pour utiliser Amazon Prime Video, il faut avant tout disposer d’un compte Amazon. Pour les appareils sous iOS et Android, les téléviseurs connectés et les lecteurs Blu-ray, il existe une application Amazon Prime Video. Amazon Prime Video fonctionne également sur les appareils de streaming d’Amazon – la Fire TV et le Fire TV Stick –, sur la passerelle connectée Apple TV et sur Google Chromecast. L’application Prime Video fonctionne enfin sur les consoles de jeu suivantes : Sony Playstation 3 et 4, Xbox One et Xbox 360.

À quoi ressemble le catalogue d’Amazon Prime Video ?

Amazon produit aussi ses propres contenus, séries et films. Les studios Amazon proposent aux futurs scénaristes de leur envoyer leurs idées et leurs scripts. Plusieurs épisodes pilotes sont ainsi produits chaque année et peuvent être évalués par les utilisateurs – ceux qui déclenchent le plus de réactions positives font ensuite l’objet d’une production grandeur nature. Les utilisateurs d’Amazon Prime Video ont accès à un catalogue de plus de 600 séries et plus de 3300 films.

Liste des séries Amazon à succès :

  • The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
  • Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan
  • Goliath
  • Homecoming
  • Too Old To Die Young

Amazon Prime Video propose également un vaste choix de films :

  • The Aeronauts (Amazon Original)
  • Le Flic de Beverly Hills
  • Le Hobbit (les trois volets)
  • Moi, Tonya
  • Moi, moche et méchant (les trois films) et Les Minions
  • Jurassic World
  • Mission Impossible (les six films)
  • Le Parrain
  • Cinquante nuances de Grey

Chaque film et chaque nouvel épisode d’une série est en général précédé d’une publicité pour une autre offre d’Amazon Prime.

Peut-on également acheter des films ?

Vous pouvez si vous le souhaiter acheter ou louer des films. La différence : les films achetés vous appartiennent pour une durée illimitée, et vous pouvez les regarder aussi souvent que vous en avez envie. Les films loués, en revanche, sont mis à votre disposition pendant 30 jours et ne restent disponibles que 48 heures après le début de la lecture. La plupart du temps, il est possible de télécharger les films achetés et loués pour les regarder hors ligne. Les films disponibles à l’achat concernent surtout les nouveautés, comme Joker avec Joaquin Phoenix. Leur prix varie entre 3 et 11,99 euros. La location d’un film coûte quant à elle entre 3,99 et 4,99 euros.

Dans quelles langues les contenus d’Amazon Prime Video sont-ils disponibles ?

Dans l’espace francophone, le catalogue d’Amazon Prime Video est principalement disponible en langue française ainsi qu’en langue originale. Il est également possible d’utiliser Amazon Prime Video en version originale avec sous-titres en français. En fonction de l’appareil avec lequel on accède au service, il est aussi parfois possible d’activer l’audiodescription pour sourds et malentendants.

Qu’est-ce qui fonctionne bien chez Amazon Prime Video ?

  1. Le catalogue d’Amazon Prime Video est consultable sur son site, ce qui permet de voir quels films et quelles séries sont disponibles sans avoir à souscrire à un abonnement au préalable. On peut donc se renseigner à l’avance pour savoir si les contenus pour lesquels on s’intéresse sont disponibles ou non.
  2. La possibilité de s’abonner à des chaînes supplémentaires moyennant un modeste supplément, permet d’adapter l’abonnement Prime Video à son goût. Le changement ou l’ajout de chaîne reste par ailleurs tout à fait possible en cours d’abonnement.

Qu’est-ce qui laisse à désirer chez Amazon Prime Video ?

Le catalogue d’Amazon Prime Video est incroyablement riche. Les options supplémentaires peuvent certes aider à personnaliser la plateforme, mais leur mise en place est loin d’être simple. Il est possible d’en avoir toujours plus, mais au prix de nombreux clics et de longues recherches. L’offre de films est quasi illimitée, mais pour visionner telle ou telle série en particulier, il est recommandé de se tourner vers Netflix, dont le catalogue est bien plus fourni en séries.

Amazon Prime Video est le seul service de streaming où une publicité précède la lecture de tout contenu. Donc si vous préférez ne pas être dérangé pendant vos séances de binge-watching, ou que vous êtes du genre impatient, optez plutôt pour une plateforme sans publicité.

Amazon Prime Video est inclus dans l’abonnement à Amazon Prime. Attention toutefois, car de nombreuses fonctions d’Amazon Prime, comme la livraison gratuite, ne sont pas disponibles en Suisse. Et pourtant, l’abonnement est au même prix qu’en France.

Conclusion

On trouve quasiment de tout sur Amazon Prime Video, et si on devait avoir fait le tour du catalogue, il y a toujours la possibilité de tester des chaînes et de louer des films. Il y en a pour tous les goûts : amateurs d’action, d’animes, de films d’horreur ou encore de comédies trouveront leur bonheur. L’offre de films pour enfants est par ailleurs très riche. L’abonnement à Amazon Prime Video est donc adapté aux familles ainsi qu’aux éclectiques ou aux personnes qui s’ennuient vite.

Articles similaires