Prepaid

Prepaid plans – which deal is best for surfing?

ANALYSIS
|
Prepaid plans can be a good choice for all sorts of users. Which of these young people has the best deal? Source: iStock / DisobeyArt

This year, there are a plethora of prepaid mobile plans for web browsing on offer, including those from Sunrise, Yallo, M-Budget and Aldi. However, the data volumes and tariffs very significantly. So which is the most suitable for your usage needs? comparis.ch has compared prepaid plans. The best deals are presented here.

How does a prepaid plan work?

With prepaid (or pay-as-you-go) plans, payment is made in advance. So although this means you can’t sign up for a contract mobile phone deal, there are no cancellation deadlines. There is usually no minimum term either or if there is, it is limited to one month (with exceptions).

Who can benefit from a prepaid plan?

Until recently, prepaid plans were generally suitable only for light or occasional users. Nowadays, with the wide range of deals on offer, this is no longer the case.  A prepaid plan is usually a good choice if you:

  • use little data, make few calls and only use your telephone occasionally.
  • want to be in control of your spending – when your credit is used up, no further costs are incurred. The downside here is that you have to keep topping up your credit to keep your phone in use – this can be particularly awkward if you are abroad.
  • don’t want to commit to one provider or want to test the services of a provider.

In fact, prepaid plans actually offer some of the most attractive deals for any user. The best ones can be found under the user profiles light user, moderate user and digital nomad, as listed below. The monthly costs comprise the basic rate plus the cost of telephone calls and use of mobile data:

Light user

If you use around 300 MB data, phone for no more than 75 minutes or make 30 calls per month, it’s worth taking a look at the following plans:

Deals for light users

Provider Product Price per month
Sunrise Sunrise Prepaid budget 10 + data package CHF 15.00
Sunrise Sunrise Prepaid budget 15 CHF 15.00
Yallo Yallo All in 15

CHF 15.00

Aldi Aldi Suisse Mobile Smart 75 CHF 15.90
CoopMobile CoopMobile Prepaid + data package CHF 16.15

Moderate user

You are considered a moderate user if you use up to 1,000 MB of data, phone for up to 225 minutes or make a maximum of 90 calls per month. Prepaid plans combined with a data package might be a good choice for you.

Deals for moderate users

Provider Product Monthly costs
Yallo Yallo All in 20 CHF 26.25
M-Budget M-Budget Mobile Prepaid + Value Pack Big CHF 28.80
Aldi Aldi Suisse Mobile Smart CHF 28.90
Aldi Aldi Suisse Mobile Smart Flat Auto CHF 28.90
Lebara
Lebara Swiss
CHF 29.00

Digital nomad

Digital nomads use some 30,000 MB data, telephone for up to 3,750 minutes or make up to 1,500 calls per month. The only viable option for these ultra-heavy users is a flat rate plan, which is included in the following prepaid deals:

Deals for digital nomads

Provider Product Monthly costs
Sunrise Sunrise Prepaid Unlimited 90 days CHF 40.00
Yallo Yallo All in 30 CHF 50.00
Sunrise Sunrise Prepaid Unlimited 30 days

CHF 50.00

Yallo Yallo All in 40 CHF 60.00
Sunrise Sunrise Prepaid Umlimited CHF 75.00

If a prepaid plan is not right for you or you just want to compare more deals, you can check out our mobile phone tariff comparison. Here you will find the best deals for six different user profiles. In addition to the deals for the user types listed above, we have also worked out the best options for the following profiles: heavy user (525 minutes / 210 calls, 3,000 MB mobile data per month), few calls, large data volume (75 minutes / 30 calls, 3,000 MB mobile data per month) and lots of calls, small data volume (525 minutes / 210 calls, 300 MB mobile data per month). One of these profiles should fit your needs.

What should you watch out for with any prepaid plan?

Before you finally settle on a prepaid plan with a certain provider, you should check the following points:

  • Cost of making calls and using data in Switzerland and abroad
  • Services included
  • Additional services
  • Mobile network coverage offered by the provider
  • DL / UL speed
  • Minimum usage requirements

 

This article might also interest you:

Inside Apple – record profits, a successful iPhone X and the new HomePod

Prépayé

Abonnements prépayés : quelle est l’offre adéquate pour surfer sur internet ?

ANALYSES
|
Les abonnements prépayés conviennent à beaucoup de types d'utilisateurs. Parmi ces jeunes qui détient le meilleur abonnement ? Photo : iStock / DisobeyArt

Sunrise, Yallo, M-Budget ou Aldi : en 2018, les offres internet mobile en prépayé ne manquent pas. Les volumes de données et grilles de tarifs sont très variables. Et pour vous, quelle est l’offre la mieux adaptée à votre utilisation ? Comparatif des offres prepaid avec comparis.ch avec un aperçu des meilleures offres.

Abonnement prépayé : comment ça marche ?

Avec un abonnement prépayé (prepaid), la prestation se paie par avance. Ce type d’abonnement ne permet certes pas de souscrire un contrat subventionné de téléphonie mobile ou de paiement, mais présente l'avantage de ne pas comporter de délai de résiliation. Par ailleurs, il n’est généralement pas soumis à une durée minimale de contrat ou est limité à un mois seulement (exceptions possibles).

À qui la formule prépayée se prête-t-elle le mieux ?

Par le passé, les abonnements prépayés étaient avant tout adaptés aux utilisateurs utilisant peu ou occasionnellement leur mobile. Aujourd'hui, cela n’est plus le cas, car il existe une grande variété d’offres.  Un abonnement prépayé est intéressant, notamment dans les cas suivants :

  • Vous consommez peu de données internet, téléphonez rarement et votre téléphone ne vous sert qu’occasionnellement, certains jours.
  • Vous souhaitez maîtriser vos coûts – une fois l’avoir crédité écoulé, vous n’avez plus d'autres frais. L’inconvénient est qu’il faut recharger l’avoir à chaque fois pour que le mobile soit opérationnel – ce qui peut réserver de mauvaises surprises, notamment à l’étranger.
  • Vous ne souhaitez pas vous décider pour un opérateur en particulier ou vous souhaitez tester les prestations d’un opérateur.

Généralement, les abonnements prépayés font partie des offres les plus attrayantes pour tous les types d’utilisateurs. Vous trouverez les meilleures offres sous les profils d’utilisateurs ci-après : «Utilisateur occasionnel», «Utilisateur moyen» et «Nomade digital». Le coût mensuel se compose du tarif de base, des frais de téléphonie et de l’utilisation d’internet mobile :

Utilisateur occasionnel

Vous consommez environ 300 Mo d’internet par mois et téléphonez au maximum 75 minutes par mois ou passez 30 appels ? Dans ce cas, jetez un œil aux abonnements suivants :

Formules pour utilisateurs occasionnels

Opérateur Produit Prix par mois
Sunrise Sunrise Prepaid Budget 10 + pack de données 15,00 CHF
Sunrise Sunrise Prepaid Budget 15 15,00 CHF
Yallo Yallo All in 15

15,00 CHF

Aldi Aldi Mobile Smart 75 15,90 CHF
Coop Mobile Coop Mobile Prepaid + pack de données 16,15 CHF

Utilisateur moyen

Vous êtes considéré comme utilisateur moyen si vous consommez jusqu’à 1000 Mo d’internet par mois et téléphonez durant jusqu’à 225 minutes ou passez 90 appels maximum. Pour vous, il peut être utile de combiner un abonnement prépayé avec un pack de données.

Offres pour utilisateurs moyens

Opérateur Produit Coût mensuel
Yallo Yallo All in 20 26,25 CHF
M-Budget M-Budget Prepaid + Mobile Value Pack Big 28,80 CHF
Aldi Aldi Mobile Smart 28,90 CHF
Aldi Aldi Mobile Smart Flat Auto 28,90 CHF
Lebara
Lebara Swiss
29,00 CHF

Nomade digital

Les Nomade digital consomment environ 30 000 Mo de données internet par mois et 3750 minutes de téléphonie par mois ou passent jusqu’à 1500 appels. Pour ces utilisateurs ultra-intensifs, seul un forfait entre en compte, comme par exemple avec les abonnements prépayés suivants :

Offres pour Nomade digital

Opérateur Produit Coût mensuel
Sunrise Sunrise Prepaid Unlimited 90 days 40,00 CHF
Yallo Yallo All in 30 50,00 CHF
Sunrise Sunrise Prepaid Unlimited 30 days

50,00 CHF

Yallo Yallo All in 40 60,00 CHF
Sunrise Sunrise Prepaid Umlimited 75,00 CHF

Un abonnement prépayé n’est pas une formule qui vous convient ou vous souhaitez comparer davantage de tarifs ? Dans notre Comparatif d'abonnements mobile, vous trouverez les meilleures offres pour six profils d’utilisateurs différents. En plus des offres pour les profils d’utilisation évoqués plus haut, nous avons également passé en revue et compilé pour vous toutes les offres pour les profils «Utilisateurs intensifs» (525 minutes de téléphonie, 210 appels, 3000 Mo internet mobile par mois), «Moins de téléphonie, davantage de données» (75 minutes de téléphonie, 30 appels, 3000 Mo d’internet mobile par mois) et «Davantage de téléphonie, moins de données» (525 minutes de téléphonie, 210 appels, 300 Mo d’internet mobile par mois). À coup sûr, il y aura bien un profil d’utilisation qui vous correspond.

Que faut-il généralement prendre en compte pour un abonnement prépayé ?

Avant de vous décider définitivement pour un abonnement prépayé d’un opérateur, il est conseillé que vous prêtiez attention aux points suivants :

  • Prix de la téléphonie et des données en Suisse et à l’étranger
  • Prestations comprises
  • Prestations supplémentaires
  • Couverture du réseau mobile de l’opérateur
  • Débit de téléchargement (DL / UL)
  • Durée minimale d’utilisation