Rules and regulations

Ordering from abroad – what customs fees apply?

INFORMATION
|
Expecting a parcel from abroad? You may be in for an expensive surprise. Source: iStock / alvarez

The corona crisis makes online shopping abroad all the more tempting. However, confusing customs charges mean that your bargain purchase may not prove that attractive after all.

Affordable shopping without having to leave your home: you order goods online from abroad and have them delivered by post to Switzerland. But consumers should look more closely at the import process. You may well have to pay customs and processing fees to clear the goods through customs, because basically every shipment from abroad is subject to customs duty and VAT – and your bargain purchase will suddenly become more expensive than you first thought.

What additional fees could be charged on a parcel from abroad?

  • Swiss VAT
  • Customs duties
  • Customs processing fees charged by the post office and courier service

When are there no customs fees to pay?

You do not have to pay customs or VAT if the amount owed is less than 5 francs per customs declaration. Note that you will need to calculate the customs and VAT duties separately. Gifts from private individuals living abroad sent to private individuals in Switzerland are also free from import duties provided the value of the goods does not exceed 100 francs.

When must customs fees be paid?

You need to pay customs fees in the following cases:

Value of over 65 francs

If the value of the goods is 65 francs or more, the amount owed at a VAT rate of 7.7% is more than 5 francs – so customs duties will be due.

Books with a value of 200 francs or more

Because a lower VAT rate of 2.5% is applied to books, customs duties are only due on books with a value of 200 francs or more.

Note: VAT is calculated based on the value of the goods including shipping, customs and processing fees. Since 1 January 2019, all foreign mail-order companies generating over 100,000 francs in sales revenues from their shipments to Switzerland have been required to pay VAT. The shipments are then treated as domestic deliveries.

Tobacco products and alcoholic drinks

Tobacco products and alcoholic drinks must always be cleared through customs.

How high are the customs duties?

The post office calculates the customs charges. The amount depends on the origin and value of the shipment. The basic fee for parcels from Germany, France, Austria and Italy charged by the post office is 11.50 francs. This goes up to 16 francs for parcels from other countries.

A supplement of 3% of the value of the goods is also charged. All together, the customs fees charged by the post office to buyers will not exceed 70 francs.

How can I avoid paying customs charges?

Along the border with Germany, for example, you can find several parcel shops that will receive parcels on your behalf. Shoppers can then collect their goods in person and bring them into Switzerland.

The main advantage of this is that you can import goods up to a total value of 300 francs without paying VAT. However, there are some restrictions on certain products that you should be aware of.

Zalando and LaRedoute use their warehouses in Switzerland to circumvent customs charges for their customers. The British fashion retailer Asos.com covers the customs charges for its Swiss customers.

Amazon also gives their Swiss customers a hand: the list price on the website includes German VAT, but as soon as you enter a Swiss delivery address, the price is recalculated using Swiss VAT. This is good news: German VAT is usually 19%, whereas Swiss VAT often only amounts to 7.7%.

Here are some more tips on how to have German VAT reimbursed.

What about customs at parcel shops?

Platforms such as meineinkauf.ch and grenzpaket.ch receive parcels in Germany that are not usually delivered to Switzerland or are sold at much higher prices here, and then ship these parcels to the customers in Switzerland.

You enter the German address of the platform as the delivery address. Ideally, you then pay by credit card or bank transfer. The customs and taxes on your goods are taken care of before the parcel is delivered to your doorstep. You do not need to pay the customs charges yourself. However, you will not be reimbursed the German VAT either. These platforms also charge a service fee and might require you to pay additional charges, depending on the weight and quantity. You can find the MeinEinkauf price list here, and the Grenzpaket price list here (both only available in German).

What about Wish and AliExpress?

AliExpress and Wish are platforms known for importing cheap products directly from China. Products you buy from Wish and AliExpress are subject to the same customs charges, even though the goods are sent from China. With charges only incurred from a value of more than 65 francs, you could decide to place several orders and have them sent separately. This might be good for your wallet, but it's not exactly environmentally friendly.

Given that up to 90% of electronic components are produced in China, the coronavirus crisis is set to have a major impact on the globalized world. Virtually all planes are grounded and transport capacities are very low. The Wish and AliExpress portals have already announced delivery times of several weeks for some items.

Any other questions about customs charges?

If you want to find out more about customs charges on postal deliveries, we recommend you read the Swiss Post customs FAQs or contact the post office on 0848 639 639.

Droit et législation

Commande de marchandises à l'étranger : quels frais de douane prévoir ?

INFO
|
Coûteuse surprise à l'arrivée du colis en Suisse. Photo : iStock / alvarez

La crise du coronavirus rend le shopping en ligne à l’étranger plus séduisant. Malheureusement, avec des droits de douane peu transparents, une apparente bonne affaire peut vite faire mal au porte-monnaie.

Sans bouger de chez soi, commander des marchandises en ligne à l’étranger et les se faire envoyer par la poste en Suisse est à la fois pratique et bon marché. Pourtant, les consommateurs feraient mieux d’être plus vigilants à l’importation de biens. En effet, des frais de douane et de traitement peuvent s’appliquer pour le dédouanement, car en principe, chaque envoi provenant de l’étranger est soumis à la redevance douanière et à la TVA – la bonne affaire revient soudain plus cher que prévu.

Quels frais supplémentaires peuvent s’appliquer pour un colis venant de l'étranger ?

  • TVA suisse
  • Frais de douane
  • Frais de traitement de la poste et du transporteur

Dans quels cas bénéficie-t-on d’une dispense des frais de douane ?

Les frais de douane et la TVA ne s’appliquent pas lorsque le montant à payer est inférieur à 5 francs par déclaration en douane, sachant que les frais de douane et la TVA doivent être considérés séparément. En outre, jusqu’à 100 francs, les envois de cadeaux de particuliers résidant à l’étranger à des particuliers en Suisse sont affranchis de taxes.

Dans quels cas dois-je payer des frais de douane ?

Dans les cas suivants, des frais de douane s’appliquent :

Valeur de plus de 65 francs

Si la valeur de la marchandise est supérieure ou égale à 65 francs, le montant de la TVA, calculé à partir d’un taux de 7,7 %, est supérieur à 5 francs – c’est-à-dire qu’il faut payer des frais de douane.

Livres d’une valeur de 200 francs ou plus

En raison du taux réduit de TVA applicable aux livres, soit 2,5 %, des frais de douane ne sont dus pour ce type de marchandise que lorsque leur valeur atteint 200 francs ou plus.

Important : la TVA est calculée sur la base de la valeur des marchandises frais de transport, droits de douane et frais de traitement inclus. Depuis le 1er janvier 2019, tous les vendeurs en ligne étrangers réalisant un chiffre d’affaires supérieur à 100 000 francs en Suisse sont soumis à la TVA. Les livraisons sont alors considérées comme des livraisons nationales.

Tabacs manufacturés et boissons alcoolisées

Les tabacs manufacturés et les boissons alcoolisées doivent dans tous les cas faire l’objet d’un dédouanement.

À combien s’élèvent les frais de douane ?

Les frais de douane sont encaissés par la poste. Leur montant dépend de l’origine et de la valeur de la marchandise. Pour les colis provenant d’Allemagne, de France, d’Autriche ou d’Italie, la taxe de base s’élève à 11,50 francs auprès de La Poste Suisse – 16 francs pour les colis provenant d’autres pays.

À cela s’ajoute un supplément de 3 % de la valeur marchande. La poste facture aux acheteurs des frais de dédouanement plafonnés à 70 francs.

Comment économiser sur les frais de douane ?

Le long de la frontière avec la Suisse, côté Allemagne, vous trouverez toute une série de relais colis. Les consommateurs peuvent y retirer leur commande en personne et l’importer en Suisse.

Le grand avantage de ces relais colis : ils vous permettent d’importer en franchise de TVA des produits dont la valeur totale est inférieure ou égale à 300 francs. Il existe toutefois des restrictions à connaître pour différents produits.

Grâce à leurs entrepôts en Suisse, Zalando et La Redoute évitent aux clients les frais de douane. La société anglaise de vente de vêtements par correspondance Asos.com prend en charge les frais de douane pour les consommateurs suisses.

Amazon fait également une faveur aux clients suisses : la TVA allemande est incluse dans le prix annoncé de l’article, mais dès que l’on entre l’adresse de livraison suisse, le prix est recalculé avec la TVA suisse. Une option qui s’avère intéressante car la TVA allemande s’élève le plus souvent à 19 %, contre 7,7 % pour la TVA suisse.

Voici d’autres conseils pour se faire rembourser la TVA allemande.

Comment fonctionne la douane pour les relais colis ?

En Allemagne, des plateformes comme meineinkauf.ch ou grenzpaket.ch prennent en charge des colis qui ne peuvent pas être livrés en Suisse ou qui sont beaucoup plus chers en Suisse et les envoient ensuite aux consommateurs basés en Suisse.

Comme adresse de livraison, indiquez l’adresse allemande de la plateforme – dans l’idéal, il est conseillé de payer par carte de crédit ou par virement immédiat. Votre marchandise sera alors débloquée et livrée chez vous dédouanée. Autrement dit, les frais de douane ne sont pas à votre charge. Toutefois, la TVA allemande ne vous est pas remboursée. De plus, ces plateformes prélèvent des frais de service et facturent des frais supplémentaires selon le poids et la quantité des marchandises. Vous trouverez ici la liste des prix de Meineinkauf et ici la liste des prix de Grenzpaket.

Qu’en est-il de Wish ou d’AliExpress ?

Aliexpress et Wish sont des plateformes connues pour les produits importés directement de Chine à des prix bas. Pour les consommateurs, les frais de douane sont identiques sur Wish et AliExpress même si la marchandise provient de Chine. Étant donné que les frais ne sont dus que pour un montant supérieur à 65 francs, il est conseillé d’effectuer plusieurs commandes et de se les faire livrer une par une. C’est économique, mais pas très écologique.

Dans le secteur de l’électronique, près de 90 % des composants proviennent de Chine. C’est la raison pour laquelle la crise du coronavirus touche très fortement notre monde globalisé. Les capacités de transport sont actuellement très faibles, car les vols sont très rares. Les portails Wish et Aliexpress annoncent déjà des délais de livraison de plusieurs semaines.

Avez-vous d’autres questions au sujet du dédouanement ?

Pour toute question relative au dédouanement des envois par la poste, nous vous conseillons de consulter la FAQ de La Poste sur la douane ou de prendre contact avec La Poste au 0848 639 639.