Online shopping

Online shopping: Switzerland’s top-selling shops

STUDY
|
Clothing, shoes, gadgets: the Swiss buy from online retailers several times a week or even daily. Source: iStock / Petar Chernaev

It’s not only 15-year-old fashion victims who like to shop online in their spare time. The trend is far more widespread. Read here about the most recent developments and Switzerland’s top-selling online retailers.

Online shopping in Switzerland is flourishing. No matter what the occasion, all Internet users buy the products they need from online retailers. Many hit the “buy” button several times a week, some even daily. The reason for this is the convenient home delivery service and the round-the-clock availability of the shops. (Source: Futurecom, in German only)

Which are the most popular platforms in Switzerland?

The top-selling online shops

Position Online shop E-commerce sales 2017
1
digitec.ch *
690.0
2
zalando.ch *
685.0
3
amazon.de * (incl. marketplace sales)
575.0
4
nespresso.com/ch/ *
350.0
5
brack.ch *
283.0
6
aliexpress.com *
280.0
7
microspot.ch *
212.0
8
leshop.ch
181.0
9
galaxus.ch (*) (incl. marketplace sales)
144.0
10
coopathome.ch
142.0

All data according to company information, public information or estimates (marked with an *). The figures represent the shops’ net online sales of the financial year 2017 in million CHF, adjusted for returns. Source (in German only): Carpathia AG

Digitec.ch, a retailer for multimedia and electronics, is clearly in the lead, followed by the online fashion shop Zalando, and in third place by Amazon with a wide range of products.

A Comparis survey from December 2017 already showed that the World Wide Web appeals to young and old alike. Every year, an average of between 500 and 2,000 francs are spent on online shopping per person and age group.

Clothing and accessories are the most popular items

Many online buyers order mainly clothing, accessories and shoes. Some also purchase entertainment media and electronics on the Internet. Toys and food are currently lagging behind in comparison. This indicates a lack of suitable offers. “Amazon’s anticipated entry onto the Swiss market is set to fundamentally change this situation,” believes Jean-Claude Frick, Comparis Digital Expert.

Online shopping tendencies confirm established clichés: women buy more clothing and beauty products than men; men buy more electronics, although since last year they have been exhibiting a growing tendency to purchase clothing online. Indeed, clothing now ranks as the most frequently purchased product category among men too.

Men spend more money

Men tend to spend more money online than women. 40 per cent of them “invest” between 500 and 2,000 francs per year in online purchases, with 16 per cent spending between 2,000 and 5,000 francs per year. Only 8 per cent of women fall into the latter spending category.

Security not a concern

Customers tend to have a lot of trust in the online retail sector. 76 per cent believe that online shopping is safe. Only 8 per cent feel it to be unsafe. Even though most claim to have no concerns about security, they tend to prefer payment by invoice (46 per cent). Interestingly, women request payment by invoice more often than men (55 per cent versus 36 per cent). Payment by credit card is the second most popular payment method overall (36 per cent) and the most popular payment method among men (45 per cent). 

As a rule, “people who use the Internet also buy on the Internet,” explains Jean-Claude Frick.

Shopping en ligne

Les e-boutiques leader en Suisse

ÉTUDES
|
Habillement, chaussures ou électronique : en Suisse, on achète en ligne plusieurs fois par semaine, voire tous les jours. Photo : iStock / Petar Chernaev
Loin d’être simplement le passe-temps privilégié des ados de 15 ans férus de mode, le shopping en ligne a le vent en poupe. Tout sur l’évolution de cette tendance et les boutiques en ligne les plus fortes de Suisse, à lire dans cet article.

Le shopping en ligne prospère en Suisse. Quelle que soit l'occasion pour laquelle ils recherchent des articles, quaisment tous les internautes effectuent des commandes en ligne et ce, plusieurs fois par semaine, voire tous les jours. Pourquoi ? La livraison à domicile est fort pratique et la disponibilité des boutiques y est permanente. (Source : Futurecom)

Mais sur quels sites les internautes suisses remplissent-ils donc leur panier ?

Les boutiques leader sur Internet

Classement Boutique en ligne Chiffre d'affaires ventes en ligne 2017
1
digitec.ch *
690,0
2
zalando.ch *
685,0
3
amazon.de * (dont part de produits tiers)
575,0
4
nespresso.com/ch/ *
350,0
5
brack.ch *
283,0
6
aliexpress.com *
280,0
7
microspot.ch *
212,0
8
leshop.ch
181,0
9
galaxus.ch (*) (dont part de produits tiers)
144,0
10
coopathome.ch
142,0

Toutes les données sont issues d’informations fournies par les sociétés, d’informations publiques ou d’estimations (marquées par un *), elles reflètent les chiffres d’affaires réalisés uniquement pour les ventes en ligne, en mio. de francs pour l’exercice 2017, après déduction des retours. Plus d’informations et source : Carpathia AG

Le spécialiste multimédia et électronique Digitec.ch mène loin devant, suivi par l’e-boutique de mode Zalando et par Amazon disposant d’une large gamme de produits.

En décembre 2017, une étude comparis.ch révélait déjà que les achats sur internet intéressent tant les jeunes que leurs aînés. Les dépenses moyennes consacrées au shopping en ligne représentent chaque année entre 500 et 2000 francs de dépenses moyennes par personne et par tranche d'âge.

Habillement et accessoires au premier rang

Sur Internet, beaucoup de consommateurs commandent avant tout de l’habillement, des accessoires et des chaussures. Pour certains, les achats en ligne concernent du multimédia de divertissement ou de l’électronique. En revanche, les jouets, repas et produits alimentaires sont à la traîne. Dans ce segment, l’offre fait encore défaut. « L’entrée prévue d’Amazon sur le marché suisse changera durablement la donne », estime Jean-Claude Frick, expert Numérique chez Comparis.

Les préjugés ont la vie dure, même en termes de shopping en ligne : les femmes achètent davantage de vêtements et de produits de beauté que les hommes ; le panier d'achat des hommes contient plus fréquemment des articles électroniques. En revanche, l’habillement a gagné en importance sur la liste de commande des hommes par rapport à l’année dernière. Ce qui place l’habillement en tête des achats sur internet chez les hommes également.

Les hommes dépensent plus

Généralement, les hommes dépensent davantage en ligne que les femmes : 40 % d’entre eux « investissent » entre 500 et 2000 francs par an sur internet ; 16 % déboursent même entre 2000 et 5000 francs. Dans cette catégorie de prix, à peine 8 % des femmes dépensent autant.

Aucune crainte quant à la sécurité

Le commerce en ligne jouit d’une forte confiance : 76 % des consommateurs sont d'avis que le shopping en ligne est sûr. Seuls quelque 8 % des personnes pensent le contraire. Si la majorité n’a pas de craintes quant à la sécurité, les acheteurs privilégient malgré tout le paiement sur facture (46 %). Fait intéressant, les femmes demandent davantage de payer sur facture que les hommes (55 vs. 36 %). Suit, à 36 %, la carte de crédit, un moyen de paiement particulièrement apprécié chez les hommes (45 %). 

Globalement, on peut dire « qui surfe sur internet, achète sur internet », déclare Jean-Claude Frick.