Safety

From head to toe – the safest gear for motorcyclists

TIPS
|
For the best protection, you need a lot more than just a well-fitting helmet. Source: iStock.com/Kesu01

Whether you choose to bike in the city or mountains, protective clothing is vital. Here are some essential tips on protective gear for bikers. This is not something to compromise on – a decent set of basic clothing will set you back around 1,000 francs.

For many, motorcycle riding means having a sense of freedom. However, the probability of having an accident is also seven times higher than when driving a car. For this reason alone, it is worth paying attention to the quality of your protective clothing. A helmet, gloves, special boots, a motorcycle suit and kidney belt are all must-haves.

Helmet

A motorcycle helmet is mandatory in Switzerland and the EU. Full-face helmets offer the best protection and include a chin protector as well as a visor. You should be able to open the helmet with one hand and it should fit your head properly. Removable helmet liners are practical and can be washed. A helmet must be replaced after a crash. Good brand name helmets are available starting at 300 francs.

Gloves

As your hands are usually the first to hit the ground because of your natural reflexes, it’s well worth getting reinforced or leather gloves. They should be as abrasion-resistant as possible, since hands are particularly susceptible in an accident. A strong wrist strap is also important. Try to choose gloves with fingers that are narrow rather than too wide or long. Gloves typically stretch a little from wearing. You can get a decent pair from as little as 80 francs.

Boots

Cowboy boots may well be a better choice than flip-flops, but beware: only special reinforced motorcycle boots with high bootlegs offer the right protection. Good footwear is extremely important – if the motorcycle falls onto your leg during a crash, for example, the consequences can be quite nasty.

The lower legs are at the greatest risk of injury in a motorcycle accident. Ideally, the boots will connect directly with the protectors on the motorcycle trousers. Short boots that do not cover the ankles offer considerably less protection and are not recommended. Boots are available from as little as 150 francs.

Jacket and trousers

Motorcycle clothing should offer protection in an accident and prevent the body from cooling off too much in the wind. Motorcycle jackets and trousers are usually made out of leather or abrasion-resistant textile material. While leather offers the best abrasion resistance and fit, textile clothing is more comfortable and water-resistant.

A popular textile fabric for protective clothing is Cordura 500, a nylon fibre that is sometimes reinforced with Kevlar, which is highly tear-resistant. Good protective clothing features protectors on the shoulders, elbows, forearms, knees and shins.

Ideally, you should wear a one-piece motorcycle suit comprising both jacket and trousers with no detachable seams. If you prefer separate jacket and trousers, they should be joined together with a zip so that they don’t slip out of place if you crash. Stitched seams are a weak point in a crash: so-called safety stitching is preferable to regular stitching that can tear during a crash. Leather suits are available from 700 francs, textile ones from 500 francs.

Kidney belt

A kidney belt insulates and protects. It also supports the organs in the abdomen, reducing the risk of injury. A kidney belt can also be combined with a back protector. This is preferable to a back protector built into the jacket, since it provides protection all the way down to the coccyx.

Protective vest

Instead of wearing a one-piece suit with integrated protectors, you could also opt for a protective vest. This fits the body closely and is tightened with Velcro or laces. It can be used to upgrade older protective clothing that has no protectors.

A protective vest is a particularly good idea if you wear textile protective clothing, which slips more easily than leather. However, you should still wear abrasion-resistant clothing on top. As well as vests, you can also get protective shorts. Protective vests are available from 130 francs, protective shorts from 70 francs.

Rain gear

If you are planning a multi-day tour in unpredictable weather, it is worth investing in some rain gear, which should be brightly coloured for better visibility on the road. Zips make the suit easier to put on and ensure it will still fit snugly. The price of a rain suit starts at 70 francs.

Ultimately, it is important that protective clothing fits well and is comfortable to wear. This is the only way to be sure you are properly protected. 

 

Conclusion

The right motorcycle clothing is important, not least when it comes to motorcycle insurance. If you are not properly protected and don't keep your motorcycle gear in good condition, you risk being found guilty of gross negligence. Going without motorcycle jacket and trousers is not ideal, but it is far less serious than riding in flip-flops or swimming trunks and then having an accident. The latter is a punishable offence, but even here distinctions are made: the insurance company will assess the situation differently depending on whether you were on the motorway or in a 30 km/h zone.

Sécurité

De la tête aux pieds : l'équipement moto le plus sûr

CONSEILS
|
De la bonne taille du casque, et des autres équipements, dépend la sécurité des motards en cas d'accident. Photo : iStock.com/Kesu01

Que ce soit en ville ou en haut d'un col : l'équipement de protection est primordial pour les motards. Cet article vous livre des conseils sur les 7 équipements de protection les plus importants. Mieux vaut ne pas regarder à la dépense : un bon équipement de base coûte autour des 1000 francs.

Rouler à moto équivaut pour beaucoup à un sentiment de liberté. Mais la probabilité d'avoir un accident est 7 fois plus élevée qu'en voiture. Ne serait-ce que pour cette raison-là, mieux vaut être attentif à la qualité de son équipement. Incontournables, le casque, les gants, les bottes moto, la combinaison et la ceinture lombaire.

Le casque

En Suisse comme dans l'UE, son port est obligatoire. Les casques de type intégral sont ceux qui offrent la meilleure protection, ils sont dotés d'une mentonnière ainsi que d'une visière. Idéalement, on pourra l'ouvrir d'une seule main et il doit être parfaitement ajusté à la forme de la tête. Des mousses extractibles et lavables peuvent s'avérer pratiques. Après une chute, un remplacement s'impose. On trouve des casques de marque dès 300 francs.

Les gants 

Instinctivement, les mains sont souvent les premières à entrer en contact avec le sol pour amortir une chute. Mieux vaudra donc privilégier des gants renforcés ou bien de cuir. Leur résistance à l'abrasion sera la plus grande possible étant donné qu'en cas d'accident, les mains sont souvent particulièrement exposées. Il est également important que les gants aient un dispositif de serrage au niveau du poignet. Préférez un modèle plus ajusté plutôt qu'un gant aux doigts lâches ou trop longs. En effet, les gants ont tendance à se faire et à s'élargir un peu à l'usage. À partir de 80 francs.

Les bottes

Les santiags sont certes mieux que les tongs mais les bottes moto, avec leur tige haute et leurs renforts, sont les seules à offrir une véritable protection.  Être bien chaussé est essentiel car les accidents peuvent avoir de lourdes conséquences – par exemple lorsque la jambe se retrouve sous la moto à la suite d'une chute.

En cas d'accident à moto, la partie inférieure de la jambe est celle présentant le risque de blessure le plus élevé. Idéalement les bottes montent jusqu'aux renforts du pantalon moto. Les bottines qui ne dépassent pas la cheville n'offrent qu'une protection très limitée et ne sont pas recommandées. À partir de 150 francs.

Le blouson/pantalon

Les vêtements moto doivent apporter une protection en cas de chute mais aussi éviter la déperdition de chaleur pendant la conduite. Le plus souvent, les blousons et pantalons moto sont en cuir ou dans des matériaux ayant une bonne capacité de résistance à l'abrasion. En plus de s'ajuster parfaitement à la morphologie, le cuir est très résistant tandis que les vêtements textiles apportent un confort plus élevé ainsi qu'une meilleure étanchéité.

Largement répandue pour les vêtements de protection, la matière textile Cordura 500 est une fibre de nylon qui est souvent renforcée avec du Kevlar, une fibre particulièrement résistante à la rupture. Les bons articles vestimentaires de protection comportent des renforts aux endroits stratégiques comme les épaules, les coudes, les avant-bras, les genoux et le tibia.

La protection idéale reste la combinaison intégrale sans couture de séparation, où le blouson et le pantalon ne font qu'un. Avec un ensemble deux pièces, le blouson et le pantalon doivent pouvoir être assemblés au moyen d'une fermeture éclair pour éviter qu'ils ne glissent en cas de d'accident. Lors d'une chute, les coutures sont les points faibles : privilégiez les coutures de sécurité face à des coutures ordinaires qui pourraient lâcher en cas de chute. Combinaison en cuir à partir de 700 francs, combinaison textile à partir de 500 francs.

La ceinture lombaire

Une ceinture lombaire réchauffe tout en protégeant. Qui plus est, elle comprime les organes dans la cavité abdominale, réduisant ainsi le risque de blessure. Il existe également des ceintures lombaires associées à une protection dorsale. Descendant jusqu'au coccyx, cette variante est préférable aux protections dorsales intégrées à un blouson. À partir de 50 francs.

Le gilet de protection

Au lieu de porter une combinaison avec des protections intégrées, on pourra opter pour l'utilisation d'un gilet de protection qui se porte près du corps et se fixe au moyen d'attaches et de bandes autoagrippantes. On peut ainsi améliorer des vêtements de protection vieillissants dépourvus de renforts.

Ce type de gilet est particulièrement indiqué avec des vêtements de protection textiles qui sont plus facilement susceptibles de glisser que des vêtements en cuir. Malgré tout, on le portera sous des vêtements qui résistent à l'abrasion.  En plus des gilets, il existe aussi des pantalons dotés de coques et de renforts. Gilet de protection à partir de 130 francs, pantalon de protection à partir de 70 francs.

L'équipement de pluie

Investir dans des vêtements de pluie peut s'avérer judicieux si vous planifiez une sortie de plusieurs jours, quel que soit le temps. Donnez la préférence à des équipements bariolés ou de couleur claire afin d'améliorer votre visibilité sur route. Les fermetures éclair permettent d'enfiler la combinaison facilement et garantissent qu'elle ne soit quand même pas trop ample. Combinaison de pluie à partir de 70 francs.

Votre équipement de protection devra en tout cas être à la bonne taille et confortable à porter, le seul moyen de se protéger au mieux.