TV and streaming

Netflix in Switzerland: 12 questions and answers on series, subscriptions and costs

INFORMATION
|
Thousands of films and series streamed via the Internet – made possible by Netflix. Source: iStock / kasinv

Flat rate for series junkies: Internet users in Switzerland have been able to watch Netflix since September 2014. The popular US streaming service is now used by over 130 million users in 190 countries. comparis.ch answers key questions on subscription plans, pricing and the series and films on offer.

With some 130 million subscribers in 190 countries, Netflix is enjoyed in almost every country in the world. The video platform has been available to consumers in Switzerland since 2014.

comparis.ch answers twelve key questions on the streaming giant:

What is Netflix?

Netflix is a US company that enables its customers to watch films and series via the Internet. It is extremely popular in the US. Indeed, one-third of US Internet traffic is attributable to Netflix users.

In which countries is Netflix available?

Netflix is now available in almost all countries worldwide – 190, to be precise. It is not available in China, the Crimea, North Korea or Syria.

How can I access the series and films (TV/online)?

Netflix is highly flexible. It can be used on modern television sets (smart TVs) with Internet connections. For example, Netflix offers an app for Samsung and Toshiba smart TVs, via which its series and films can be watched.

But you can also watch Netflix if you don't have a television set: the Netflix app is also available for iPad and iPhone and for all Android smartphones and tablets. And if you have an Apple TV box in your living room, you can also use that to access the streaming service. You can even watch Netflix shows via gaming consoles like PS4, Wii U, Wii and XBox 360.

A Netflix app has also been available for the UPC TV Box since December 2016. You can find out more information here.

What content does Netflix offer?

Netflix tends to focus on promoting its own productions, but it also offers other series and films too.

What are the most popular Netflix series?

Here is an overview of some of the most popular series on Netflix.

Popular comedy series on Netflix

  • Orange is the New Black (Netflix production)
  • BoJack Horseman (Netflix production)
  • Suits
  • Master of None (Netflix production)
  • The Kominsky Method (Netflix production)
  • Maniac (Netflix production)
  • The End of the F***ing World (Netflix production)
  • That ‘70s Show
  • Alex Strangelove

Popular thriller series on Netflix

  • Narcos (Netflix production)
  • Breaking Bad
  • Altered Carbon

Popular political series on Netflix

  • The Crown (Netflix production)
  • House of Cards (Netflix production)

Popular action series on Netflix

  • Marco Polo (Netflix production)
  • Daredevil (Netflix production)
  • Arrow

Popular mystery series on Netflix

  • Pretty Little Liars
  • Riverdale (Netflix production)

Popular crime series on Netflix

  • Sons of Anarchy

Popular horror series on Netflix

  • American Horror Story
  • The Haunting (Netflix production)

Popular fantasy series on Netflix

  • Stranger Things (Netflix production)
  • Black Mirror (Netflix production)

Popular documentary series on Netflix

  • The Horn
  • Dark Tourist (Netflix production)
  • Tidying Up with Marie Kondo (Netflix production)
  • FYRE: The Greatest Party That Never Happened (Netflix production)
  • Cowspiracy: The Sustainability Secret
  • Follow This (Netflix production)

What do you think?

Which Netflix series would you recommend? Let us know on Facebook.

Can the series and films be watched in their original languages too?

As a rule, Netflix offers all of its films in the respective original language version. Most of the content is also available dubbed into German or French. Netflix can also be set to play films or series in their original language with German or French subtitles.

How much does Netflix cost in Switzerland?

Netflix customers pay a monthly flat fee. They can then watch as many series and films as they want. Netflix offers different price categories depending on the required resolution and the number of devices on which you can simultaneously stream content.

Netflix subscription prices

Number of devices Resolution Price per month
1 device Standard resolution CHF 11.90
2 devices simultaneously HD resolution CHF 15.90
4 devices simultaneously UHD resolution CHF 19.90

Free one-month trial with Netflix

Netflix offers its customers a free trial month, during which they can test the service. If they decide to subscribe, they do not enter into a long-term contract, but can cancel their subscription at any time.

How do I pay for Netflix?

They can pay by credit card (Visa, MasterCard or American Express) or by PayPal.

What type of Internet connection do I need for Netflix?

As a rule, any Internet connection provided by Swiss companies Swisscom, UPC, Quickline or Sunrise will be suitable. To watch films and programmes in HD quality, customers need an Internet speed of at least 5 MBit/s.

For ultra-HD resolution, customers need an Internet speed of at least 25 MBit/s.

Can I download series and films from Netflix?

You can use Netflix even if you do not have an active Internet connection. At the beginning of December 2016, Netflix launched an offline mode for its Android and iOS apps. To use this service, you will need the latest version of the Netflix smartphone app. Once it is installed, you can download individual series and films onto your device before watching them. Currently, most of the films and series available for download are Netflix original productions. Netflix has however promised to make many more films and series available for download over the coming months.

What are the alternatives to Netflix?

The modern-day practice of downloading several series and films from various sources and download platforms is legal in Switzerland. Commercial alternatives to Netflix include the video-on-demand services offered by Apple TV, Swisscom TV and UPC digital TV. Here, however, users have to pay an individual fee per film.

In Switzerland, an alternative flat-rate plan for films and series, like that offered by Netflix, is available from UPC. Just before Netflix arrived on the Swiss market, UPC launched its MyPrime flat-rate deal. Swisscom’s Teleclub Play is a similar service, but does not yet include original productions.

In mid-December 2016, Amazon Prime Video  also became available for subscription in Switzerland.

What makes Netflix better than its competitors?

Netflix offers a wide range of top-quality original productions. Its political series House of Cards made the service world-famous. Netflix was able to repeat this success with Narcos at the end of 2016. Today, Netflix boasts not just an extensive range of films on demand, but also numerous exclusive original productions. In contrast to competitors such as Amazon Prime Video, Netflix will work on almost all end devices. So regardless of whether you want to watch your film or series on a smart TV, smartphone of any operating system, tablet or games console, Netflix will have an app for it.

Is there advertising on Netflix?

No. The series and films do not feature any advertising breaks and can be stopped and started at any time.

Summary

Netflix is great for film lovers and series junkies. But if you only watch a film or series every now and then, or are happy with what the regular TV channels offer, then it is probably not worth the price. Providers of replay TV such as Zattoo, Wilmaa, Swisscom, Sunrise and UPC also constitute strong competition for Netflix.

What remains strange is that the Netflix website does not inform its readers about the films and series it offers. Only once customers have entered their credit card number can they access this information. But the verdict of the Comparis editorial team? It's worth it.

TV et streaming

Netflix en Suisse : séries, abonnements et prix en 12 questions

INFO
|
Des milliers de films et de séries à voir sur Internet – grâce à Netflix. Photo : iStock / kasinv

Un forfait pour les fans de séries : depuis septembre 2014, les internautes de Suisse ont accès à Netflix. Aujourd’hui, le très apprécié service de streaming américain compte plus de 130 millions d’utilisateurs dans 190 pays. comparis.ch répond aux grandes questions sur les séries, abonnements et prix.

Aujourd’hui, Netflix compte des utilisateurs dans quasiment le monde entier – plus précisément 130 millions dans 190 pays. Depuis 2014 déjà, les consommateurs suisses peuvent eux aussi enfin profiter de l'offre du portail vidéos.

comparis.ch répond à douze grandes questions sur le grand portail des séries.

Qu'est-ce que Netflix ?

Netflix est un prestataire de services américain qui propose des films et des séries à regarder via Internet. Aux États-Unis, ce service de streaming est très populaire : un tiers du volume de données utilisé par les Américains l'est par les utilisateurs de Netflix.

Dans quels pays Netflix est-il disponible ?

Aujourd’hui, Netflix est disponible presque partout dans le monde – dans 190 pays précisément. Les internautes en Chine, en Crimée, en Corée du Nord et en Syrie n’y ont pas accès.

Comment puis-je utiliser ce service (TV/Internet) ?

Netflix propose une offre très flexible. Elle est accessible via des téléviseurs récents (smart TV) dotés d’une connexion Internet. Il existe, pour les téléviseurs connectés de Samsumg ou de Toshiba par exemple, une application Netflix conçue pour regarder films et séries.

Il est toutefois également possible de profiter du service Netflix sans téléviseur : via une application Netflix disponible sur iPad, iPhone ainsi que les tablettes et les smartphones sous Android. Le boîtier Apple-TV donne aussi un accès au service de streaming. Tout comme les consoles de jeux telles que la PS4, la Wii et la XBox 360.

Depuis décembre 2016, il existe aussi une application Netflix spécialement conçue pour la box Horizon d’UPC. Voici le guide UPC.

En quoi consiste l'offre Netflix ?

Netflix met en avant ses propres productions, mais met également à disposition d'autres films et séries.

Quelles sont les séries populaires sur Netflix ?

Gagnez ici un aperçu des séries les plus populaires disponibles sur Netflix.

Séries comiques populaires sur Netflix

  • Isn’t It Romantic
  • The Dirt
  • À tous les garçons que j’ai aimés
  • Moi, moche et méchant 2
  • Jonny English, le retour
  • Moi, moche et méchant
  • The Kissing Booth
  • Hôtel Transylvanie 2
  • La Grande Aventure Lego

Séries thrillers populaires sur Netflix

  • Bird Box
  • Durante la tormenta
  • Un 22 juillet

Séries politiques populaires sur Netflix

  • Slasher
  • Safe

Séries d'action et d'aventure populaires sur Netflix

  • Shooter tireur d’élite
  • Nowhere boys
  • The last kingdom

Séries de mystère et de suspense populaires sur Netflix

  • Pretty Little Liars
  • 13 Reasons why

Séries policières populaires sur Netflix

  • Elementary

Séries d’horreur et de fantômes populaires sur Netflix

  • The Hounting Of Hill House
  • L’irréel – incroyables témoignages

Séries fantastiques populaires sur Netflix

  • Shadow hunters
  • Grimm

Séries documentaires populaires sur Netflix

  • Story of God
  • Hot Girls Wanted
  • Tony Robbins – I Am Not Your Guru
  • Killer Women
  • One Strange Rock En bref
  • The World’s Most Extaordinary Homes

Donnez votre avis

Quelles séries Netflix conseillez-vous ? Écrivez-nous sur Facebook.

Les séries et films sont-ils également disponibles en langue originale sur Netflix ?

De manière générale, les films que propose Netflix sont diffusés en langue originale. Mais certains contenus sont également disponibles en version française synchronisée. Il est également possible d’utiliser Netflix en version originale avec sous-titres en français.

Que coûte Netflix en Suisse ?

C'est l'originalité de Netflix : les clients paient un forfait mensuel avec lequel ils peuvent visionner autant de séries et de films qu'ils le souhaitent. Par ailleurs, Netflix opère une distinction de prix selon la résolution et le nombre d'appareils pouvant accéder en même temps au service.

Prix des abonnements Netflix

Nombre d'appareils Résolution Prix par mois
1 appareil Résolution standard 11,90 CHF
2 appareils en même temps Résolution HD 15,90 CHF
4 appareils en même temps Résolution UHD 19,90 CHF

Tarif abonnement d’essai Netflix, 1 mois

Netflix offre un mois d'essai afin que les consommateurs puissent tester le service. Passé ce délai, pas de longues durées de contrat. De plus, la résiliation est possible en tout temps.

Comment puis-je payer sur Netflix ?

Le paiement s'effectue par carte de crédit Visa, Mastercard ou Americain Express ou par Paypal.

Quelle connexion Internet dois-je avoir pour regarder Netflix ?

D’une manière générale, un accès Internet d'un opérateur suisse tel que Swisscom, UPC Cablecom, Quickline ou Sunrise suffit. Pour voir les films en qualité HD, une vitesse de 5 MBit/s minimum est nécessaire.

Enfin, pour une résolution ultra haute définition, un débit Internet de 25 MBit/s minimum sera requis.

Puis-je télécharger des séries et des films sur Netflix ?

Depuis début décembre 2016, il est également possible d’utiliser Netflix sans connexion Internet active. L’application Netflix pour iOS et pour Android offre désormais un mode hors ligne. Pour en profiter, il est nécessaire d'installer la dernière version de l’application Netflix. Vous pourrez alors télécharger des séries ou des films sur votre appareil avant de les visionner. Pour l’heure, seules les productions Netflix sont disponibles au téléchargement. Netflix assure que l’activation de l’accès hors ligne sera effectuée pour de nombreux autres films dans les mois à venir.

Quelles sont les alternatives à Netflix ?

Aujourd'hui, certains utilisateurs téléchargent des séries et des films sur Internet depuis différentes sources ou plateformes de téléchargement. Cette pratique est autorisée en Suisse. Parmi les offres commerciales, on trouve notamment des services Video on Demand, tels que Apple TV, Swisscom TV ou UPC Digital TV. Le client doit néanmoins payer chaque film séparément.

En Suisse, un forfait pour l'accès à des films et des séries tel qu’il est offert par Netflix, existe également auprès d’UPC : le câblo-opérateur a, en effet, mis sur le marché le forfait  MyPrime  peu avant le lancement de Netflix. Swisscom propose un service comparable, Teleclub Pay ; jusqu’à présent privé de productions maison.

L'abonnement Amazon Prime Video  est également disponible   en Suisse depuis mi-décembre 2016.

Qu'est-ce qui fait la différence entre Netflix et ses concurrents ?

Netflix propose un grand nombre d’excellentes productions. Ce service a gagné une notoriété mondiale grâce à sa série politique « House of Cards ». Le succès a été renouvelé en 2016, avec « Narcos ». Aujourd'hui, Netflix n'est pas seulement synonyme d’un vaste répertoire de films mais représente aussi, et surtout, des contenus propres et exclusifs. Contrairement à ses concurrents, au nombre desquels on compte par exemple Amazon Prime Video, Netflix fonctionne sur pratiquement tous les terminaux. Peu importe que l’on souhaite regarder depuis une smart TV, un smartphone d’une plateforme quelconcque, une tablette ou une console de jeu, Netflix dispose d’une application pour tous ces usages.

Y a-t-il de la publicité sur Netflix ?

Non. Les films et séries sont diffusés sans aucune publicité et peuvent être arrêtés et repris à tout moment si l'utilisateur le souhaite.

Conclusion

Netflix est intéressant pour les grands amateurs de films et de séries. Pour les personnes qui ne regardent un film ou une série que de temps en temps, l'offre n'a pas vraiment d'intérêt. Tout comme pour ceux qui ne sont pas satisfaits du programme de télévision. Netflix a également de la concurrence avec la télévision différée (Replay-TV) comme la proposent Zattoo, Wilmaa, Swisscom, Sunrise et UPC.

Fait surprenant, Netflix ne livre aucune information concernant le choix de films et de séries sur son site Internet. Les personnes intéressées n'y ont accès qu'une fois qu'elles ont entré leur numéro de carte de crédit. L’avis de la rédaction Comparis : le jeu en vaut la chandelle.