Tyres

When should I fit winter tyres?

TIPS
| By Andrea Auer |
Source: iStock / imagedepotpro

In Switzerland, you are not required by law to fit winter tyres. But if you want to avoid hassle with your insurance company, make sure you're using the right tyres. Comparis explains when you should switch to winter tyres and what else to watch out for.

In Switzerland, the October-to-Easter rule reminds motorists when it is advisable to drive on winter tyres and when it’s time to change them. However, this is not set in stone. The ideal time varies from region to region. If you live in the mountains, you will need to change them sooner than if you live in an urban area.

You can also use the weather as your guide: if the outdoor temperature falls below seven degrees Celsius, it's time to switch to winter tyres.

Our tip: Book an appointment at your garage or tyre centre in good time. If you leave it until the first snowfall, you may have to wait a long time before they can fit you in.

Are winter tyres compulsory?

In Switzerland, there is no legal requirement to fit winter tyres. However, according to the Swiss Road Traffic Act (Art. 29) (not available in English), all vehicles on Swiss roads must be in a roadworthy condition. This is the responsibility of the car drivers themselves.

During the cold season, winter tyres are the safest choice. They are made of a rubber compound specially designed for winter driving. Their tread also ensures increased driving stability and greater safety when braking in wintry conditions.

Find new tyres now

Are all-season tyres permitted in Switzerland?

All-weather or all-season tyres are allowed in Switzerland. However, for safety reasons, you should think carefully before purchasing a set. Even though the quality of products developed in recent years has greatly improved, all-season tyres are still considered a compromise solution. Tyres with excellent summer characteristics underperform in winter, and vice versa.

Our tip: Only buy all-season tyres if you know you can do without your car if weather conditions dictate.

What is the legal minimum tread depth?

In Switzerland, the legal minimum tread depth for car tyres is 1.6 millimetres. However, Touring Club Switzerland (TCS) and other experts recommend a tread of at least 4 millimetres for winter tyres. The recommended depth for summer tyres is 3 millimetres. The recommendations are the same for all-season tyres – 4 millimetres in winter and 3 millimetres in summer.

Our tip: Not sure if the tread depth on your winter tyres is sufficient? You can easily check it using a two-franc coin. Place the coin in the groove of the tyre. If you can see the base of Helvetia, it’s time to purchase new tyres.

Will my insurance pay out if I have an accident on summer tyres?

If you cause an accident when driving on unsuitable tyres, the insurance company may reduce the payout or recover the loss from you. You may also be fined or even have your driving licence suspended. The relevant authority decides on the extent of the penalty based on the police report.

Good to know: Tyres that are very unevenly worn are not considered roadworthy and may not be accepted by the police or – in the event of a claim – your insurance company.

Compare car insurance now

Are winter tyres legally required in neighbouring countries?

Different rules apply in the countries bordering Switzerland. As a general rule, winter tyres are not compulsory in France. However, the French authorities can sometimes require you to fit them, and this is indicated by road signs. The situation is somewhat different in Germany and Austria: if there is snow, slush or ice on the roads, winter tyres are required by law.

In Italy, winter tyres are generally compulsory, but each province sets its own rules individually.

Our tip: If you intend to travel to a neighbouring country between October and April, you are advised to fit winter tyres to your vehicle. This will save you any hassle with foreign authorities and is ultimately safer for you.

Pneus

Quand passer aux pneus d’hiver ?

CONSEILS
| Par Andrea Auer |
Photo : iStock / imagedepotpro

En Suisse, il n’y a pas d’obligation légale en matière de pneus d’hiver. Mais les automobilistes qui ne veulent pas avoir de problème avec leur assurance circulent avec les pneus adaptés. Comparis explique à quel moment il est bon de changer de pneus et présente les points à observer.

D’octobre à Pâques, mieux vaut monter les pneus d’hiver. Telle est la règle d’or pour se rappeler quand effectuer le changement de pneus. Mais il ne faut pas non plus la prendre au pied de la lettre. Car le bon moment varie d’une région à l’autre. Si vous vivez en montagne, par exemple, vous devrez sans doute faire le changement plus tôt que les citadins.

Outre la règle « d’octobre à Pâques », vous pouvez aussi vous orienter à la météo : si la température extérieure chute en-dessous de sept degrés Celsius, c’est le moment de passer aux pneus d’hiver.

Notre conseil : prenez rendez-vous chez le garagiste assez tôt. Car si vous attendez les premières chutes de neige, vous risquez de vous retrouver sur une longue liste d’attente.

Les pneus d’hiver sont-ils obligatoires ?

En Suisse, il n’y a pas d’obligation de monter des pneus d’hiver. Reste que selon la loi fédérale sur la circulation routière (art. 29), « les véhicules ne peuvent circuler que s’ils sont en parfait état de fonctionnement ». En tant qu’automobiliste, cela engage votre responsabilité.

Quand le thermomètre chute, les pneus d’hiver constituent l’option la plus sûre. En effet, ces pneus sont fabriqués à partir d’un mélange de gomme spécialement conçu pour l’hiver. De plus, leur profil offre une meilleure tenue de route et davantage de sécurité en cas de freinage sur les routes hivernales.

Trouvez de nouveaux pneus

Les pneus toute saison sont-ils autorisés en Suisse ?

Oui, les pneus toute saison ou quatre saisons sont permis en Suisse. En revanche, cela mérite réflexion à l’achat pour des raisons de sécurité. Les pneus toute saison sont toujours et encore considérés comme un compromis – même si les nouveaux modèles ont beaucoup gagné en qualité ces dernières années. Les pneus ayant d’excellentes caractéristiques pour l’été sont moins performants en hiver, et vice-versa.

Notre conseil : n’achetez des pneus toute saison que si vous pouvez vous passer de la voiture en fonction de la météo.

Quelle est la profondeur de sculpture minimale réglementaire ?

En Suisse, la profondeur de sculpture minimale prescrite pour un pneu automobile est de 1,6 millimètre. Cela dit, les experts et le TCS conseillent une profondeur de 4 millimètres minimum pour des pneus d’hiver. Pour les pneus d’été, on conseille 3 millimètres. Idem pour les voitures équipées de pneus quatre saisons : 4 millimètres en hiver, 3 millimètres en été.

Notre conseil : vous n’êtes pas sûr que la sculpture de vos pneus hiver soit encore suffisante ? Pour le savoir, il suffit d’une pièce de deux francs. Placez la pièce de monnaie dans le profil du pneu. Si la ligne inférieure d’Helvetia est visible, vous devriez acheter de nouveaux pneus.

L’assurance intervient-elle en cas d’accident survenant avec des pneus d’été ?

Si vous causez un accident et que vos pneus sont en mauvais état, votre assurance peut réduire vos prestations ou faire recours. Par ailleurs, vous risquez une amende, voire un retrait de permis. La sévérité de la sanction dépend de la décision de l’autorité compétente sur la base du rapport de police.

Bon à savoir : les pneus usés de façon inégale sont considérés comme étant en mauvais état de fonctionnement et peuvent être contestés par la police ou, en cas de dommage, par l’assurance.

Comparez les assurances auto

Les pneus d’hiver sont-ils obligatoires dans les pays voisins ?

Dans certaines régions limitrophes, la réglementation est différente : en France, par exemple, les pneus d’hiver ne sont pas systématiquement obligatoires. Cependant, les autorités françaises peuvent exiger des pneus d’hiver de manière ponctuelle, via des panneaux de signalisation. En Allemagne et en Autriche, c’est selon : dès que la route est couverte de neige (ramollie) ou de verglas, les pneus d’hiver sont de rigueur.

Les pneus d’hiver sont en revanche obligatoires de manière générale en Italie. Cela dit, les provinces gèrent cette obligation de manière autonome.

Notre conseil : les automobilistes se rendant dans un pays voisin entre octobre et Pâques font bien de monter les pneus d’hiver – de quoi éviter des ennuis avec les autorités locales et surtout, de quoi jouer la carte de la sécurité.