Home ownership

Condominium ownership – what do I own and what are my rights?

INFORMATION
|
Want to paint your balcony railings red? You'll need the permission of the condominium owners’ association to change the external appearance of the building. Source: iStock / nikada

When you buy an apartment in a building, you are also purchasing a share of the plot of land and of the communal areas outside your own four walls. This ownership comes with rights and obligations.

Owing to a lack of space, it’s virtually no longer possible to build detached, single-family dwellings in many places. The alternative is condominium ownership, either through the construction of new buildings or the conversion of older apartment buildings to create freehold apartments. 

What is condominium ownership?

Condominium ownership is a special type of co-ownership. When you purchase an apartment, you acquire a share of the building and/or land at the same time. This share is recorded in the land register, and is important for determining the distribution of costs.

Ownership, exclusive rights and rights of special use

As the owner of the property, you have free access to your own apartment and any rooms that belong to it, such as a cellar or designated attic space. You are also allowed to make any alterations to these areas. However, this “exclusive right” ends at the door of the apartment, the windows and the balcony railings. Any communal property may only be used or altered with the consent of the other co-owners. This communal property includes:

  • Façade
  • Staircase
  • Front door of the building
  • Garden seating area
  • Green spaces
  • Roof terrace

Would you like exclusive use of particular areas or rooms? If so, you can apply for a right of special use. The relevant area or room remains the property of the condominium owners’ association – but you have sole use of it. However, the owners’ association may decide that you are also solely responsible for the upkeep of the area or room. 

The majority vote applies

The condominium owners decide jointly on the use of and changes to communal rooms and areas. This is usually done at condominium owners’ association meetings, which are organized regularly by the administrator. For structural changes to any communal part of the building, the agreement of the majority of condominium owners is required. This also includes such alterations as erecting a canopy or satellite dish on the balcony. If the owners’ association votes to go ahead with a particular conversion, renovation or purchase, all parties are obliged to pay their share. Similarly, all condominium owners must also share the cost of operating and maintaining communal areas and equipment such as the heating system or lift.

In for a penny, in for a pound – check existing decisions and rules

So before you buy: always check what decisions have already been made by the condominium owners – because new owners are automatically bound by these decisions and will have to pay their share. There are, however, some limits in place to hold back over-eager renovators: in order for the decision to make structural changes to be carried, a certain proportion of condominium owners must vote in favour. This proportion depends on the type of proposed change: is it necessary, useful or a luxury? These and other rulings are set out in the condominium owners’ association regulations. Study them carefully before you buy the apartment. 

As a condominium owner, what belongs to me?

Within your own apartment, you are free to do whatever you like. You can even move your internal walls to divide your home up as you wish – as long as you do not touch load-bearing walls, which are common property. Condominium owners also have exclusive rights over internal plasterwork and power cables. By contrast, the law states that the following property is always communally owned:

  • Land: courtyards, gardens, car parking spaces, outdoor seating areas, green areas, etc.
  • Parts of the building vital to its structure: foundations, load-bearing walls, retaining and enclosing walls, load-bearing ceilings, roof, etc.
  • Building elements that determine the external appearance of the building: external plasterwork, windows, window grilles, roller shutters, canopies, external balcony facings or railings, etc.
  • Communal fittings and equipment: front door to block, stairways, lifts, central heating, washing and drying rooms, communal rooms (e.g. hobby rooms), communal aerials, all supply and disposal pipes (up to connection leading into individual homes), etc.

Still looking for your dream property? Keep checking the online property marketplace at comparis.ch:

Propriété

La propriété par étages : qu’est-ce qui m’appartient et quels sont mes droits ?

INFO
|
Peindre en rouge le garde-corps du balcon ? Pas sans avoir posé la question à la communauté : on ne peut modifier de son propre chef aucun des éléments qui caractérisent l’extérieur du bâtiment. Photo : iStock / nikada

En faisant l'acquisition d’un appartement en propriété par étages (PPE) vous achetez, en plus de vos quatre murs, une part du terrain et de la construction. Avec des droits et des obligations.

Comme le terrain est rare, construire une maison est difficile dans beaucoup de lieux. L’alternative : la propriété par étages – sous forme de nouvelle construction ou d’anciens bâtiments résidentiels reconvertis en appartements en propriété. 

Une propriété par étages, qu’est-ce que c’est ?

La propriété par étages (PPE) est une forme particulière de copropriété. En faisant l’acquisition d’un appartement en PPE vous achetez, en plus de vos quatre murs, une part du terrain et de la construction. Cette part est inscrite au livre foncier. Elle est par ailleurs essentielle pour la répartition des coûts.

Propriété, droit exclusif et droit de jouissance exclusive

En tant que propriétaire, vous disposez librement de l’appartement qui vous appartient et de ses annexes tels que la cave ou le grenier. Vous êtes également libre d’y effectuer des transformations. Mais ce « droit exclusif » ne s’applique plus en ce qui concerne la porte d’entrée, les cadres des fenêtres ou le garde-corps du balcon. Car pour utiliser ou modifier la propriété de la communauté, il faut l’accord des copropriétaires. Cela concerne p. ex. les parties suivantes :

  • Façade
  • Escaliers
  • Porte d’entrée
  • Terrasse du jardin
  • Espaces verts
  • Terrasse sur le toit

Vous souhaitez utiliser certaines surfaces ou certains locaux sans les partager avec d’autres ? Dans ce cas, vous pouvez demander d'avoir «un droit de jouissance exclusive». Les surfaces ou locaux appartiennent alors toujours à la copropriété, mais vous pouvez les utiliser à vous seul(e). En revanche, vos copropriétaires peuvent vous demander, par décision commune, d'en assumer à vous seul(e) l’entretien. 

La communauté applique les décisions prises à la majorité

Les propriétaires par étages décident ensemble de l’utilisation et de la modification des surfaces et locaux à usage commun, le plus souvent lors d’une assemblée générale de copropriétaires. Cette assemblée générale a lieu périodiquement, sur invitation du gérant ou de la gérance. Dans tous les cas, les aménagements architecturaux sur l’une des parties communes nécessite toujours d’obtenir au préalable l’accord de la majorité des copropriétaires. Cela concerne aussi la pose d’un store ou d’une parabole satellite sur un balcon. Inversement, les transformations, rénovations ou acquisitions communes décidées collectivement impliquent la participation de toutes les parties. Cela vaut bien évidemment aussi pour les coûts d’exploitation et l’entretien des parties et installations communes telles que le chauffage ou l’ascenseur.

Tous décisionnaires, tous responsables, mais tout ne requiert pas le même quorum

C’est pourquoi, avant l’achat, contrôlez impérativement les décisions déjà prises par la copropriété, car le nouveau propriétaire y est automatiquement associé et devra donc s’acquitter de sa part. Les trop grands adeptes de travaux de rénovation ne sont toutefois pas libres : pour voter des aménagement architecturaux, il faut qu’une part précise des copropriétaires soit représentée. La part de votes favorables nécessaire dépend du type de mesure en question : est-elle indispensable, utile ou plutôt un luxe ? Ces dispositions et d’autres sont inscrites au règlement de la copropriété PPE. Pensez à le lire attentivement avant d’acheter. 

Qu’est-ce qui m’appartient dans la PPE ?

En tant que propriétaire, vous pouvez administrer, utiliser et aménager votre appartement comme bon vous semble – dans la mesure où il ne s’agit pas de murs porteurs – lesquels appartiennent à la communauté – vous pouvez même déplacer des cloisons. Le crépi intérieur et les lignes électriques de l'appartement relèvent également du  droit exclusif . En revanche, du point de vue de la loi, vous êtes tenu(e) de « préserver l’état irréprochable et l’aspect extérieur soigné » de l’immeuble :

  • Sols : cours, jardin, places de stationnement extérieures, terrasses, espaces verts, etc.
  • Parties élémentaires du bâtiment : les fondations, les murs porteurs, les murs de soutènement et les murs d’enceinte, les plafonds porteurs, le toit, etc.
  • Éléments du bâtiment qui déterminent son aspect extérieur : le crépi extérieur, les fenêtres, les barreaux de fenêtres, les volets roulants, les stores pare-soleil, les façades ou les garde-corps de balcons, etc.
  • Installations et aménagements à usage commun : la porte d’entrée de l’immeuble, la cage d’escalier, l’ascenseur, le chauffage central, la buanderie, les espaces communs (p. ex. l’atelier), l’antenne collective, toutes les conduites d’alimentation et d'évacuation (jusqu’au raccordement dans chaque appartement individuel), etc.

Vous n’avez pas encore trouvé le bien de vos rêves ? Consultez régulièrement l'Espace immobilier en ligne de comparis.ch :