Loss of luggage

What will travel insurance cover?


Sometimes, holidaymakers can be in for a nasty surprise. Karen and Gerald had not imagined that their trip to New Zealand would get off to such as bad start. Soon after their luggage was deposited in the hotel lobby, it disappeared without a trace.

After the twenty-hour flight from Zurich to Auckland, Karen was not as alert as she would otherwise have been. And her exhausted husband was staring into space instead of keeping an eye on the luggage. This was perfect for the thieves. They involved the couple in a conversation at reception, while accomplices quickly cleared away the luggage trolley – then disappeared with the cases.

Who pays what?

They still had their papers, wallets and mobile phone in their rucksacks. That was the good news. They were also reassured by the fact that they had taken out travel insurance before they left. They also had luggage insurance, which was included in their contents insurance – and a credit card, which also offered some protection. The trouble was, they didn’t know which insurance policy covered what.

Contents insurance

The contents insurer informed Karen and Gerald that their luggage was covered up to 2,000 francs, with a deductible of 300 francs to pay. When they originally took out their insurance, they selected the “luggage” option, which cost them 20 francs extra each year

However, their luggage would have been covered without this option, because the incident fell under the cover provided by “simple theft away from home”. Nevertheless, choosing the luggage option also worked in Karen and Gerald's favour, as it included benefits such as payment of an immediate advance for urgently required items such as personal hygiene products – or for the snorkel, that they now needed to buy for a trip they had already booked.

Credit card

The trip was paid for on Gerald’s credit card, so he contacted the provider. He discovered that luggage is not insured as standard – they would have had to include the “luggage” option, which cost 70 francs per year extra.

Travel insurance

Because Karen and Gerald travel several times a year, they had taken out an annual travel insurance policy. They found out that the “luggage” option entitled them to up to 2,000 francs compensation in the event of loss or damage. Although the deductible was 200 francs, the option was not particularly cheap at 170 francs per year.

What they decided

Karen and Gerald eventually reported the loss to their travel insurance provider. For the future, though, they both decided that the “luggage” option in their contents insurance was sufficient, and will cancel the option on their annual travel policy at the next opportunity.

Are you looking for full insurance cover for your trip? If so, it’s worth having your insurance policies checked and revised by experts, free of charge.

 

Travel insurance tips

  • How to make a claim – quickly and easily
    • Report the incident to your insurance company immediately – don’t wait until you get home from your holiday. You can also claim for any telephone costs arising in connection with the claim. Tip: Many insurance companies have an online form for reporting the basic details of the incident as a first step – the agency will then contact you. This can be useful when there is a time difference, for example.
    • Report the incident to the local police straightaway, because the insurance company will always require a police report.
    • You will also need to fill out the insurance company's claim form – you can download this from the website or it will be sent to you when you report the loss or damage. It includes a section for listing stolen items. Alternatively, you can prepare your own list.
    • Stolen items will be reimbursed at their original value. This means that you will receive the amount you need to purchase a new product of the same value.
      Note: Keep all the receipts for any replacement items you need to purchase at your holiday destination, such as toiletries, clothes, camera and suitcase.

    Then, when you return, send in the original receipts for the stolen items as soon as possible. If this is not possible for every item, the insurance company will determine an amount for the listed items and may ask for more details.

    Beware of exclusions: Valuables like jewellery or expensive photography equipment are not usually considered luggage and will quickly exceed the sum insured anyway. You should insure them separately for the appropriate value and not keep them in your suitcase. Contents insurance offers suitable options to cover you for simple theft away from home.

  • Save on luggage insurance – how much do you really need?
    • Some insurance companies offer separate luggage insurance options. Cover ranges from 2,000 to 10,000 francs or more. This is ideal for holidaymakers who want to insure their luggage separately for each individual trip. The cost is around 50 to 200 francs per trip.
    • There are a range of (annual) travel insurance policies that offer a "luggage option”. The benefits and premiums vary considerably and should be checked and compared in detail.
    • You can add the “luggage” option to the travel cover on your credit card, although some premium cards include this as standard. For your claim to be successful, you must have paid for 60 to 80 per cent of your trip using the credit card. The cost is around 70 francs per year.
    • Most contents insurance plans also include an option for insuring your luggage. Comparis saving tip: Holidaymakers who have contents insurance anyway and whose luggage value is not excessive can take advantage of this option and avoid the expensive alternatives. This costs from 20 francs per year.

For more information about the “luggage” option within contents insurance, see the product descriptions of the individual insurance providers in our contents insurance comparison.

If your current contents insurer does not provide this option, it is worth switching.

La valise a disparu

Que rembourse l'assurance voyage ?


Un voyage peut réserver de bien mauvaises surprises. En partant à la découverte de la Nouvelle-Zélande, Carine et Gérard n'avaient pas imaginé le début de leur voyage comme cela : à peine déposés dans le hall de l’hôtel, les bagages ont disparu sans laisser de traces.

Après vingt heures de vol jusqu’à Auckland, l'attention de Carine n’était plus au top. Son mari aussi, épuisé par le voyage, n’avait plus très bien les yeux en face des trous pour veiller sur les valises. Au plus grand bonheur des malfrats : pendant qu’ils engageaient la conversation avec nos deux touristes à la réception, leurs complices faisaient disparaître le chariot à bagages en un clin d'œil – et prenaient la poudre d’escampette avec toutes les valises.

Qui paye quoi ?

Heureusement, tous deux avaient encore papiers, porte-monnaies et portables dans leur sac à dos. L'assurance voyage, conclue avant de partir, avait également de quoi rassurer. Sans oublier l'assurance bagages incluse dans l'assurance ménage, et la carte de crédit qui couvrait aussi certains cas. Mais voilà : ils n'avaient pas la moindre idée de quelle assurance couvrait quoi.

L’assurance ménage

L'assureur ménage de Carine et Gérard les informe que leurs bagages sont couverts jusqu’à un montant de 2000 francs et qu’une franchise de 300 francs s’applique. À la conclusion de l'assurance, ils avaient sélectionné l’option « bagages », pour un supplément de 20 francs par an. 

Pourtant, leurs bagages auraient tout autant été couverts sans cette option, l’évènement en question tombant sous la couverture « vol simple à l'extérieur ». Toutefois, l’option bagages de Carine et Gérard présente, entre autres, l'avantage d’une avance immédiate pour les affaires de première nécessité tels que les affaires de toilette – ou le tuba, qu’ils doivent se procurer pour l’excursion snorkeling qu’ils ont déjà réservée.

La carte de crédit

Le voyage a été réglé avec la carte de crédit de Gérard, il se tourne donc vers l’organisme de crédit. Il apprend que les bagages ne sont pas toujours inclus – ils ne sont couverts qu’avec l’option « bagages », qui coûte 70 francs de plus par an.

L'assurance voyage

Carine et Gérard partant plusieurs fois par an, ils ont pris une assurance voyage annuelle. Ils apprennent qu'avec l’option « bagages », ils sont remboursés jusqu’à 2000 francs en cas de sinistre. La franchise est de 200 francs, mais l’option n’est pas donnée puisqu'elle revient à 170 francs par an.

Il est temps de mettre de l’ordre dans tout ça.

Carine et Gérard déclarent finalement le dommage à leur assurance voyage. À l’avenir, ils prendront l’option « bagages » dans l'assurance ménage uniquement et la résilieront dans l’assurance voyage annuelle à la prochaine occasion

Vous cherchez une protection globale pour votre voyage ? Dans ce cas, il est judicieux de faire évaluer et optimiser gratuitement vos assurances par des experts.

 

Conseils sur l'assurance voyage

  • Une prise en charge rapide et efficace en cas de sinistre – mode d’emploi
    • Signaler le dommage à l'assurance dès qu’il survient – pas seulement au retour des vacances. Si vous avez des frais de téléphone en lien avec le sinistre, vous pourrez également demander leur remboursement. Conseil : de nombreuses assurances disposent d’un formulaire en ligne pour le signalement initial du sinistre et des principales informations sur l’évènement – puis, l’agence vous contactera. Cela peut être très pratique, p. ex. en cas de décalage horaire.
    • Signaler immédiatement le dommage au poste de police local, car dans tous les cas, l'assurance demande un rapport de police.
    • Le formulaire de déclaration de sinistre de l'assurance est également obligatoire – il est téléchargeable sur le site Web, s’il n’est pas envoyé après le signalement. Il contient un champ dans lequel l'énumération des objets volés doit être effectuée. Vous pouvez également dresser une liste.
    • Les objets volés sont remboursés à leur valeur à neuf. En d'autres termes, le remboursement correspond à la somme nécessaire à la nouvelle acquisition d’un produit neuf comparable.
      Nota : conservez tous les reçus des objets qui doivent déjà être rachetés sur le lieu de vacances, p. ex. les produits de toilette, les vêtements, les valises et l'appareil photo.

    Et puis, une fois de retour, envoyez sans tarder les factures originales des objets volés. Si cela ne peut être fait dans son intégralité, l’assurance fixera un montant pour les choses énumérées et demandera sans doute des précisions.

    Gare aux exclusions : dans la plupart des cas, les objets de valeur de type bijoux ou matériel photo onéreux ne comptent pas comme bagages ou dépassent rapidement le plafond de la couverture d'assurance. Ces objets devraient être assurés séparément à leur valeur et ne pas être rangés dans la valise. Pour les cas de vol simple à l'extérieur, il existe des options spéciales dans l’assurance ménage.

  • Faites des économies avec l'assurance bagages : dans quels cas est-elle judicieuse ?
    • Certaines compagnies d'assurance proposent des assurances bagage à part. La couverture va de 2000 à 10 000 francs ou plus. Idéal pour les voyageurs souhaitant assurer leurs bagages à leur valeur individuelle et décider au cas par cas. Coût : entre 50 et 200 francs par voyage.
    • Il existe plusieurs assurances voyage (annuelles) proposant une « option bagages ». Les primes et prestations variant fortement, il est bon de les examiner en détail et de les comparer.
    • Il est possible d’étendre la protection voyage de la carte de crédit avec l’option « bagages » ; avec certaines cartes premium, celle-ci est déjà incluse. Conditions pour le dédommagement : 60 à 80 % du voyage doit avoir été réglé avec la carte de crédit. Coût : environ 70 francs par an.
    • La majorité des assurances ménage proposent aussi une assurance bagages en option. L’astuce Comparis pour faire des économies : en souscrivant cette option complémentaire, les voyageurs qui disposent déjà d’une assurance ménage et qui n'emportent pas de bagages d’une valeur dépassant la moyenne peuvent faire l’économie d’autres formules plus onéreuses. Coût : à partir de 20 francs par an.

Vous trouverez plus d’informations sur l’option « bagages » de l'assurance ménage dans les descriptions produit des différents prestataires de notre comparatif d'assurance ménage.

Si votre assurance ménage n’offre pas cette possibilité, il est plus intéressant de changer.